Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
7.9/10
Features
7.7/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
8.2/10
Based on 381 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Great Southern Bank

Fixed Rate Loan

interest rate
1.97% p.a.
fixed 3 years
comparison rate
3.86% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Great Southern Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Thank you.

    First time customer with CUA with whom I successfully negotiated a new home loan. CUA was recommended to me by friend paralegal as one of the few banks she never had any issues with when it came to settlement and they did not disappoint. From start to finish CUA made the whole process as stress free as possible, my loans officer kept me updated and was always easy to contact, all phone conversations were with real people who were all friendly and helpful. Even with one contract termination and unreasonably short settlement date for eventual purchase CUA met all deadlines in ridiculously short time frame. Do not have one single negative comment to make.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Fabienne, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good option for basic requirements

    CUA gives you a dedicated broker to manage your mortgage and accounts, which is a great and efficient service. They do however seem to be somewhat reluctant to pass on the latest rate cuts to their customers. It is great that they offer limited fees, but they need to be more competitive with interest rates.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lauren, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Absolutely worst experience with a bank

    Building on our children's property to the value of R500 000 +(a very large extension) we wanted to go on title on the property. I approached their mortgage broker on the 5th November 2020 to get this organised. Because they have a mortgage on the property CUA required us to be on the loan (all title holders have to be on the loan if there is a mortgage). We all had to apply for a new loan. This loan was not going to change at all i.e. my husband and I were not going to borrow any money from CUA, just use our own savings to build. They also required us to put money into the loan to get title even though we are going to add so much value to the property - in fact more than the percentage we are asking for. Well we are still waiting. 3 months and 6 days have passed. We still don't have title to the property. I have done everything they have asked - filled in all their forms, paid in the money. Our build was postponed as we need to be on title to build. We are probably incurring delay costs. This is just unbelievable!!!. We require nothing from CUA and yet they are pushing us around to such an extent. At one point they even asked for all our savings so that they could control the build (i.e. the invoicing and receipting) They wanted all of our savings! As said above, we are not borrowing a cent from them and the control they want over us is just unwarranted!

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karene, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay clear!

    OMG! Where should I start- don't touch them! We transferred our investment loan to them Because they didn't charge extra for investment loans and assured us that there weren't plans to change that even though the company we were with and most other companies had- well that lasted long enough to get the loan set up then- you guessed it they changed. We moved from a variable account to a one year fixed term with no charges but when the year was up there were charges no matter we decided to do- fixed term again or variable they wanted to charge hundreds to 'set it up'. Trying to speak to someone is a nightmare - if you don't have at least half an hour to spare for them to actually answer the call don't even bother trying! Then we decided we'd had enough of extra charges and poor customer service and decided to look elsewhere- our new loan is 2% less! saving us thousands, but they struck again! The signed loan contract stated that the discharge fee would be $200- no .... they changed it to $500!!!Apparently a signed contract doesn't mean a thing- they can charge whatever they like- Even the big banks only charge $250! What a rip off! Stay clear!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very bad experience with CUA. Incredibly tardy.

    First time I have dealt with this bank. Absolutely awful - We are just trying to go on title on a house already owned by our daughter and son-in-law. Purchasing 40% of the house. I would have thought we could just put 40% of the purchase price into the loan and buy 40% title that way + stamp duty and legal fees. We are building on the property so I would have thought we could just draw the money out through the building stages as we build and add value. The build is going to cost a lot more than what we will be putting into the loan so a lot of extra money is going into the property. We have absolutely no debt on houses, cars or cards and yet it has taken over 2.5 months so far for them to process this, delaying our build and my frustration knows no bounds. They keep saying it is an extremely complex transaction. I don't see that it is. Just see them as incredibly inefficient and useless. Don't use them if you can avoid them.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karene, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The are the best bank there is

    I love CUA. I have been with them for over 20 years and they have always helped me when I needed it.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Patricia, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy to use

    Service is ok. The product is ok. The availability of branches is not good.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Works for members not shareholders.

    Being a credit union, it isn't driven by profit for shareholders. It's more of a people's bank. So I believe that makes them less likely to be done for money laundering, hounding the families of dead members and other nefarious conduct.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A friendly, easy to use bank.

    They have been really easy to deal with. You talk to real people quickly when you call and the customer service is great. The website is really easy to navigate.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Fantastic support and great flexibility.

    We love the flexibility offered. Customer service in the branch is outstanding.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steven, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Personalised customer care with real people

    Refinanced with CUA for my home loan about 12 months ago and really wish that I had made the switch sooner. The application was simple to initiate and the communication during the entire loan review and setup process was excellent. Our application was approved quickly and the personalised experience with real CUA staff who answered my calls instead of an automated voice program Made everything so easy. I have nothing but good things to say about CUA!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kylie, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy, understanding and supportive

    We have had nothing but great support from the team of our local CUA branch during this hard times if covid-19. They have a been understanding and have a very competitive interest rate! I highly recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Just okay. Would shop around on the market

    Once you've signed up don't expect to be offered the new lower rates. They are always available to new customers only. It appears they offer lower rates in order to entrap people into higher loan amounts later. Otherwise using the online banking site is fine and easy to use. In terms of getting pre-approval for a home loan - it was pointless. I had to go through everything again in order to be, yet again, approved for the loan amount after home purchase. Very stressful to set up. Would recommend shopping around first before making a home loan commitment with this credit union.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Belinda, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service.

    Very efficient in their dealings. I like them for my home loan.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Lesley, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good experience with them so far

    As there are not many branches so face to face queries and transactions can be difficult. When i have popped into a branch, their staff were very helpful.

    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kerri, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate
      2.31% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Loan with Orange Advantage Orange Advantage

      interest rate
      1.84% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      3.73% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 514 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.