Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
6.3/10
Features
5.9/10
Customer service
6.6/10
Convenience
5.7/10
Trust
7.1/10
Based on 20 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and rate.

    I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and reduce the term of the loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Josephine, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    They are only interested in a bit more money

    If I pay off the loan early I pay a fee. As I am paid fortnightly, I am paying half of my monthly repayment each fortnight but the are two months in the year when there are three fortnightly pays. I must be going to pay my loan early and so the bank when make the early payment fee.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Malcolm, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Battler of earth

    I am a single father with 2 boys trying to make ends meet in this chaotic world I deserve a chance for me my boys

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Cameron , , reviewed about 5 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Very satisfactory

    The Bank is trustworthy and operates very professionally and has access world wide. A good bank to deal with.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Barry, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Service

    Hsb only one to give me a loan

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Flo, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Local knowledge, global reach

    Little waiting time in branches, customer service in store is precise and value added. Competitive sales and products and knowledge of personal/business banking solutions for Australia and world is outstanding.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Interest free

    Very good product from HSBC with interest free personal loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bob, Queensland, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    All laid out in clear English

    Convenient to use their cards at most stores/retailers.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Grant, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Grrr

    Most difficult and misleading bank I have ever dealt with.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    Simplified Process

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Karthikeyan, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    They have been wonderful from the very first day. Application was easy and they never hassle you by constant call that other banks do.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Tamara, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    It was so good to have your bank grant you a personal loan within a couple of weeks of arriving as an immigrant all very new to the situation. Great stuff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10

    This was a great bank product. Happy with the service.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Less
    Justin, Victoria, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10

    The debt monthly calculation (of fixed interest rate loan) is not clear. I am not sure how they calculate it each month as it is always different. It needs to be clear so customers feel secure with them. I feel that I pay more than what the interest rate was supposed to be.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Rima, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • HSBC Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    Very easy to apply on-line to get a personal loan from HSBC. Very straight forward. Customer service was immediate and it was easy to deal with staff.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Susan, Queensland, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      8.00% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $150.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.79% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.83% p.a.to 17.15% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
      fees
      $299.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.79% would cost $11,380.22 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.89% p.a.to 23.07% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $300.00upfront
      and
      $10.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,490.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.35% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $250.00upfront
      and
      $0.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.99% would cost $36,738.90 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.99% p.a.to 18.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.25% p.a.to 20.16% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
      fees
      $250.00upfront
      and
      $13.00/month

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,663.67 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 223 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.