Thumbnail icon for loans.com.au

loans.com.au Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
9.0/10
Features
8.1/10
Customer service
7.8/10
Convenience
7.3/10
Trust
7.6/10
Based on 651 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from loans.com.au

Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

interest rate
1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
comparison rate*
2.55% p.a.

Promoted

Recent loans.com.au home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Zero care for loyal customers.

    I've been with loans.com.au for over 5 years, with 3 mortgages & approximately $200k in savings. Over that time they've snuck the rate up on us to 1% above their advertised rate. When we rang them about it, they said someone would call us back within 5 working days. Still no word after a fortnight, they obviously don't care about retaining our business so we're moving our loans elsewhere. Good riddance.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Shirley, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not what they seem

    Don’t believe the hype. They will promise you a great deal but won’t deliver. There are far better providers out there.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jon, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad customer service.

    Once you are with them, you cant negotiate. Not friendly at all.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ano, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Special Offer Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    They passed on 0% of the RBA cut.

    It's worth noting that, unlike all the major banks, loans.com.au didn't pass on any of the latest Reserve Bank interest rate cut. As in, they passed on 0% of the RBA cut. Which is shameful to say the least.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Campbell, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great premiums, easy and efficient

    All over the phone, great rates, easy and efficient service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Deb, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great rate.

    Great rate, easy setup.

    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Expected better. Banks easier but higher rates

    Refinancing and been very tedious providing documents. They now want a guarantee from a person not a director of the Company (trustee). Taken 6 weeks and looks like will have to go elsewhere. I thought they were investment specialists, expected better.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to work with.

    Easy to work with and a great interest rate.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Naomi, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Avoid at all costs! Not as great as they seem!

    Beware! They will get your business and then hike up your rates within a few months quoting 'their cost of lending has risen' which is simply not true and only a guise to raise your rates. They will then proceed to treat you like garbage. When you try to ask why the rate change happened (even when the RBA is holding or cutting rates) they will lie to you and totally dismiss your concerns because they don't care now that you are paying a higher rate, they know you're stuck because it will cost you way too much to change again so soon. If you are a new customer they will lay on the charm, but once you are in it's a very different story. I WOULD AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ma, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Used to be good, but now look elsewhere.

    They have bad communication and faulty IT systems. They Increased rates out of cycle of RBA and give higher rates for existing customers. Look elsewhere for lenders.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor service and run by amateurs!

    Been with them for 5 years and have applied for a modest 50k top up to my loan and they knocked me back. Equity not an issue but servicing was even though I provided more in income than I was originally asked to provide. No logic used by these guys! Going elsewhere.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Good rate but for how long?

    Once signed on they didn't pass on the full rate cuts. However, they did pass it on for new customers, so as a loyal customer I am on a worse rate than new customers. The application process was also confusing and cumbersome, luckily I was not in any rush for the loan.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Stuart, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Transparent.

    What you see is what you get. Straightforward, transparent.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sandra, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy, efficient and competitive home loan.

    Our loan has helped us feel in control of our mortgage and save money on our biggest investment. A very easy way to manage money and our home loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Both their rates and service are amazing

    They have excellent service and great rates. They are 0.37% lower than my previous lender and they passed on the rate cut in full both times.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate*
      2.41% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.52% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.