Thumbnail icon for loans.com.au

loans.com.au Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Price
9.1/10
Features
8.1/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Convenience
7.3/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 647 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from loans.com.au

Smart Home Loan 80

interest rate
2.63% p.a. variable
comparison rate*
2.65% p.a.

Promoted

Recent loans.com.au home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great premiums, easy and efficient

    All over the phone, great rates, easy and efficient service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Deb, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great rate.

    Great rate, easy setup.

    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Queensland, reviewed 18 days ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Expected better. Banks easier but higher rates

    Refinancing and been very tedious providing documents. They now want a guarantee from a person not a director of the Company (trustee). Taken 6 weeks and looks like will have to go elsewhere. I thought they were investment specialists, expected better.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to work with.

    Easy to work with and a great interest rate.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Naomi, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Avoid at all costs! Not as great as they seem!

    Beware! They will get your business and then hike up your rates within a few months quoting 'their cost of lending has risen' which is simply not true and only a guise to raise your rates. They will then proceed to treat you like garbage. When you try to ask why the rate change happened (even when the RBA is holding or cutting rates) they will lie to you and totally dismiss your concerns because they don't care now that you are paying a higher rate, they know you're stuck because it will cost you way too much to change again so soon. If you are a new customer they will lay on the charm, but once you are in it's a very different story. I WOULD AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ma, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Used to be good, but now look elsewhere.

    They have bad communication and faulty IT systems. They Increased rates out of cycle of RBA and give higher rates for existing customers. Look elsewhere for lenders.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • loans.com.au Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor service and run by amateurs!

    Been with them for 5 years and have applied for a modest 50k top up to my loan and they knocked me back. Equity not an issue but servicing was even though I provided more in income than I was originally asked to provide. No logic used by these guys! Going elsewhere.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Good rate but for how long?

    Once signed on they didn't pass on the full rate cuts. However, they did pass it on for new customers, so as a loyal customer I am on a worse rate than new customers. The application process was also confusing and cumbersome, luckily I was not in any rush for the loan.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Stuart, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Transparent.

    What you see is what you get. Straightforward, transparent.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sandra, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy, efficient and competitive home loan.

    Our loan has helped us feel in control of our mortgage and save money on our biggest investment. A very easy way to manage money and our home loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Both their rates and service are amazing

    They have excellent service and great rates. They are 0.37% lower than my previous lender and they passed on the rate cut in full both times.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Extremely competititve and efficient online lender

    I recently refinanced my home loan with loans.com.au when I realised my interest rate had become really uncompetitive due to my old lender not passing through rate cuts and even increasing my rate by small bits here and there over the past couple of years. By moving to loans.com.au I was able to reduce my rate from well above 4% to just 3.64%, which adds up to a lot of dollars saved every year. The initial application with loans.com.au was all done online and was very easy. There was a little bit of hassle with sending in documents and arranging to be at home for the valuer to come inspect the property, but the time involved was well worth the savings! The staff have been great to deal with, both through the application and with day to day stuff. For instance the other day I made a mistake with a transfer from our home loan account to the wrong bank account and loans had picked it up and reversed it before I even got on the phone to them about it! Highly recommended.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy application, great rates, great service.

    It was great to be able to assess whether or not we were eligible for a loan online, without having anyone calling us to hassle us. The application process was all online and therefore painless, the rates are excellent. The loan is basic, with an offset account attached to a debit card, so we're not having to put up with all the 'bells and whistles' that we're not interested in.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Do Not Even Contemplate Using

    We contacted loans.com.au to refinance a home loan. We are both in our 50's and from a previous conversation prior to putting in an application were told there would not be any descrimination on age. WRONG! BEWARE - when putting in an application and then speaking with a consultant make them do a preliminary approval BEFORE allowing them to do a credit check. We were hoodwinked and misled and they did the credit check before doing their homework first and advise us if they could help us. As it turns out they are descriminating on our age and would only lend for a 16 year term. Worse still we now have an inquiry on our file we did not want because they do not give a sh##. I am seriously thinking about going to COSL and the FBAA - this is a practice that needs to be stopped. Every borrower needs to know where they stand before credit checks are done and placed on credit files. What even got under our skin more the woman clearly did not care less. Just an "oh well" attitude. Our recommendation is find a good broker who actually cares and avoid this lender.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Irked off, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    The best rates with great online facility

    The most competitive rates in the market, they have a very efficient and simple offset facility. They do not have physical banks, they have an arrangement with other entities in the banking sector to meet physical bank requirements.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flexible Home Loan Member Package

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.45% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 550 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.