Advertisement

loans.com.au home loan reviews

loans.com.au
loans.com.au's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.2 / 10

based on 639 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from loans.com.au

Recent loans.com.au home loan reviews

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Transparent.

What you see is what you get. Straightforward, transparent.

Full review

What you see is what you get. Straightforward, transparent.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sandra, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Essentials Variable review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy, efficient and competitive home loan.

Our loan has helped us feel in control of our mortgage and save money on our biggest investment. A very easy way to manage money and our home loan.

Full review

Our loan has helped us feel in control of our mortgage and save money on our biggest investment. A very easy way to manage money and our home loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 24 days ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Smart Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Both their rates and service are amazing

They have excellent service and great rates. They are 0.37% lower than my previous lender and they passed on the rate cut in full both times.

Full review

They have excellent service and great rates. They are 0.37% lower than my previous lender and they passed on the rate cut in full both times.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Essentials Variable review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Extremely competititve and efficient online lender

I recently refinanced my home loan with loans.com.au when I realised my interest rate had become really uncompetitive due to my old lender not passing through rate cuts and even increasing my rate by small bits here and there over the past couple...

Full review

I recently refinanced my home loan with loans.com.au when I realised my interest rate had become really uncompetitive due to my old lender not passing through rate cuts and even increasing my rate by small bits here and there over the past couple of years. By moving to loans.com.au I was able to reduce my rate from well above 4% to just 3.64%, which adds up to a lot of dollars saved every year. The initial application with loans.com.au was all done online and was very easy. There was a little bit of hassle with sending in documents and arranging to be at home for the valuer to come inspect the property, but the time involved was well worth the savings! The staff have been great to deal with, both through the application and with day to day stuff. For instance the other day I made a mistake with a transfer from our home loan account to the wrong bank account and loans had picked it up and reversed it before I even got on the phone to them about it! Highly recommended.

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy application, great rates, great service.

It was great to be able to assess whether or not we were eligible for a loan online, without having anyone calling us to hassle us. The application process was all online and therefore painless, the rates are excellent. The loan is basic, with...

Full review

It was great to be able to assess whether or not we were eligible for a loan online, without having anyone calling us to hassle us. The application process was all online and therefore painless, the rates are excellent. The loan is basic, with an offset account attached to a debit card, so we're not having to put up with all the 'bells and whistles' that we're not interested in.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dianne, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Do Not Even Contemplate Using

We contacted loans.com.au to refinance a home loan. We are both in our 50's and from a previous conversation prior to putting in an application were told there would not be any descrimination on age. WRONG! BEWARE - when putting in an...

Full review

We contacted loans.com.au to refinance a home loan. We are both in our 50's and from a previous conversation prior to putting in an application were told there would not be any descrimination on age. WRONG! BEWARE - when putting in an application and then speaking with a consultant make them do a preliminary approval BEFORE allowing them to do a credit check. We were hoodwinked and misled and they did the credit check before doing their homework first and advise us if they could help us. As it turns out they are descriminating on our age and would only lend for a 16 year term. Worse still we now have an inquiry on our file we did not want because they do not give a sh##. I am seriously thinking about going to COSL and the FBAA - this is a practice that needs to be stopped. Every borrower needs to know where they stand before credit checks are done and placed on credit files. What even got under our skin more the woman clearly did not care less. Just an "oh well" attitude. Our recommendation is find a good broker who actually cares and avoid this lender.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Irked off, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The best rates with great online facility

The most competitive rates in the market, they have a very efficient and simple offset facility. They do not have physical banks, they have an arrangement with other entities in the banking sector to meet physical bank requirements.

Full review

The most competitive rates in the market, they have a very efficient and simple offset facility. They do not have physical banks, they have an arrangement with other entities in the banking sector to meet physical bank requirements.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Steve, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Essentials Variable review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rate and service

Great rate.

Full review

Great rate.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Thi, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Essentials Variable review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bait of low interest introduction

They trapped me by offering 3.98 six months ago and now I just received a letter that they increased the interest by 0.15 per cent justifying reserve bank advice for banks . But loans.com.au is not a bank. best thing is they still advertising same...

Full review

They trapped me by offering 3.98 six months ago and now I just received a letter that they increased the interest by 0.15 per cent justifying reserve bank advice for banks . But loans.com.au is not a bank. best thing is they still advertising same loan as me for 3.99 % but mine is 4.13% then when I asked about this , they said that is management decision and for some these do not apply but for some it does. Truthfully customer representative acknowledged management treat 2 different ways to its customers. Now I am searching for a different lender

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Jude, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Essentials Variable 90 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Essentials Variable review

Overall rating   0 / 10

They hook me up with cheap rate then increase it

I signed up with loans.com.au less 3 months ago with the rate of 3.99%. However I find out they have quietly increased the rate by 0.15% without any kind of notice tonight. I can only find this out through their online system. This is absolutely...

Full review

I signed up with loans.com.au less 3 months ago with the rate of 3.99%. However I find out they have quietly increased the rate by 0.15% without any kind of notice tonight. I can only find this out through their online system. This is absolutely unacceptable and not the right way to do business. This is bait advertisement to hook customer up with low rate then raise the rate whenever they want. The worst part is they are still advertising 3.99% to hook up more customer and once you hook up they will raise the rate immediately. By reading other posts, their explanation might be due to tighter restriction by APRA, however loans.com.au is not a bank and does not require the higher capital reserves that have seen the big 4 banks push up rates. Otherwise they won't be selling the same loan at the same rate of 3.99%. They are obviously using this as excuse to rip off their existing customer. Please be wary of this when considering signing up with them. There are still plenty of banks offering rates below what they offer on the market and I am looking to switching my loan now.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Wes, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good online experience.

Great rates, good add on benefits. Disorganised and slow admin. They forgot to tell us that stamp duty was not included in the loan at the last minute once committed. Panic to find 30K just before settlement!

Full review

Great rates, good add on benefits. Disorganised and slow admin. They forgot to tell us that stamp duty was not included in the loan at the last minute once committed. Panic to find 30K just before settlement!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Michael, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Remarkable rates, adequate service

This was a straight refinance of investment properties. There were some issues along the way (~3 months to settlement), but I could see much of the delay was caused by my prior lender. The interest rate was easily 1% less than what I was paying...

Full review

This was a straight refinance of investment properties. There were some issues along the way (~3 months to settlement), but I could see much of the delay was caused by my prior lender. The interest rate was easily 1% less than what I was paying elsewhere which is remarkable. After 4 months with them it's smooth sailing and great rates so I'd highly recommend these folks. But if you have a complicated or time-urgent settlement then this may not work for you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bruce, Western Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Overall a great experience

I was thrilled to receive such fantastic service from my loan manager Karen Lu & Angela. I had a very quick settlement and they managed to ensure the process kept moving forward with such short timeframes and kept me informed along the way. The...

Full review

I was thrilled to receive such fantastic service from my loan manager Karen Lu & Angela. I had a very quick settlement and they managed to ensure the process kept moving forward with such short timeframes and kept me informed along the way. The settlement team delays made for a stressful last couple of days, however it was all completed in time.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jodie, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Cheap loan - long process - too many fees

On top up mortgages they will still want to have your house re valued - borrowed an extra 20,000 and took 4 weeks - drove me nuts. They should also offer a credit card.

Full review

On top up mortgages they will still want to have your house re valued - borrowed an extra 20,000 and took 4 weeks - drove me nuts. They should also offer a credit card.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Maree, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Offset Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Offset Variable review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Buyer Beware! My recommendation is Stay away!

Attracted by their misleading advertising but the process was a nightmare.

Full review

Attracted by their misleading advertising but the process was a nightmare.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

Less

Louie, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    2.88% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 2.88% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 639 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.84% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.84% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 7 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.80% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.80% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    10.0

    Based on 1 Athena home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A low hassle online home loan.
    • Tic:Toc’s award winning platform means you could save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Unlimited free redraws and extra repayments.

    interest rate

    2.79% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.80% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A low hassle online home loan.
    • Tic:Toc’s award winning platform means you could save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Unlimited free redraws and extra repayments.
    • Interest rate: 2.79% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.80% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: Optional - $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    9.0

    Based on 1 Tic:Toc home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer

    interest rate

    2.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.77% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $596

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer
    • Interest rate: 2.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $596
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $850,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 23 Homestar home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 536 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top
 
Advertisement