MyState Bank logo

MyState Bank Savings account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 191 savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured savings account from MyState Bank

Bonus Saver Account

Maximum rate
1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
standard interest rate
0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
Govt Deposit Guarantee
Yes up to $250,000

Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Glide transaction account.

Promoted

Recent MyState Bank savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    MSB no longer advise bonus interest unlocked

    For some reason, MyState Bank no longer messages you to say bonus interest in unlocked for the month. Each month I complain, and each month I get the same generic excuse that " we have a known issue with the system at the moment". This known issue has been going on for almost a year now. I'll be taking this up with the banking ombudsman.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Loren, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Don't bother

    Absolutely no ATMs. Closed a very busy branch at Kings Meadows which has badly affected a large demographic of the elderly & disabled. They could easily have left the fee-free atm in situ but no, greed & cynical indifference won. TV ads are so patronising & insulting I grab the remote every time. Onbiously aimed at very thick millennials.

    Price
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jane, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Love them!

    MyState is always very easy to deal with they’re helpful and they’re local.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tanzyin, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Sent details twice and card wasn’t activated.

    Sent details twice and card wasn’t activated until I called and they said they had my details but they hadn’t added them to the account. It took over 4 months. Closing account now. Bank has now left a message on my phone. More problems I’m sure. Useless bank. Save time and go elsewhere.

    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • MyState Bank Special eSaver Account

    Love my bank

    I love my bank easy to deal with no bad comment.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jeremy, Tasmania, reviewed 9 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Hidden fees

    Bad bank, hidden fees, won't let you transfer money.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rhys, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Security crap for large sums of money

    The customer service folk who answer the phone are lovely, delightful and respectful. Always answering questions. Warning: We have $250,000 deposited (from a house sale) and we wanted some interest until we found our next forever home. We thought …easy peezy. Four days before we need the money we find. 1. To get the money in four hours we need to fill in a form and EMAIL it back with a $15 fee. WHAT? Where is the security. 2. We do above and ask for a call back. We got one at 3.55 (ten min after we sent email). They now require us to EMAIL our drivers licences. WHAT…and now it is after 4pm you can’t have the money straight away. We have contacted the bank and advised them there is such a thing as Secure Upload. They are currently looking into it. Currently? This form of upload has been available for years and years and years. We are furious. We are scared. Their own website tells you not to email them anything of a secure nature. We had to …we did. We wrote off and explained our upset. Answer “Oh you can ask for a secure password if you want one?” Like hello no one offered us that when we were begging for help. As retirees this amount is HUGE to us. We value and look after our security. Now we are scared as heck.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Study the T's & C's for landmines!

    Be very careful of the dishonour fee's... These also apply to scheduled payments! - I set up a direct deposit in to another bank account of mine. Ended up racking over $100 dollars in fees because there wasn't enough funds available in the everyday (glide) account. - It's not possible to set up a scheduled payment from the saver account to the everyday account. - Staff were understanding and refunded a portion of the fee. - The system is clunky (coding error messages appear in the UX for example) & designed to entrap users in to these fee's. No warning/notification if there is insufficient funds in account set up for scheduled payment. It just rolls over and over accumulating fees. Had I not checked back on the account after a week, I could have easily racked up many more dishonour fees's. Also, the hoops you need to jump through to get the bonus interest are a pain in the rear. I'm switching and I won't be recommending MSB to anyone.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rhys, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    Great!

    They are helpful, polite, ready to explain anything you want to know about and taught me about internet banking which is so convenient when you don’t drive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elsa, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    Dropping %%%

    Got an email today staying they're dropping the rate of the bonus saver account again. Last year max bonus was 2.4-2.6% and as of October 1, it's 1.5% p.a. UBank have a lot better rates and if you're 18-29 Westpac have a big 3%. I joined Westpac 3 days ago and I'm glad I did!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Martin, Tasmania, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    Good bonus rate and simple app

    Good bonus rate and simple app!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darcy, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    Please support because they support us!

    Good product when linked to Glide Transaction Account. Worth supporting because they recognise the need to to reward customers with a much better interest rates. Well done guys, thank you.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • MyState Bank Savings Account

    Competitive interest rate.

    Good interest rate with not too onerous conditions. Hopefully no drop in the rate soon.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • MyState Bank

    MyState is a good bank

    I love my bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Debra, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • MyState Bank

    I may leave, as they are hard on lending

    I have been a member there for over 30 years. Once I approached them for a 1000 dollar credit card and since then they have always said no assessment, l am on a disability pension. I will be leaving soon.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tracy, Tasmania, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.00% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate of 1.00%. Deposit $2,000 each month and make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000.

      Promoted
    • Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      1.50% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      1.00% p.a.(for $0 to $250,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus variable rate is available for the first four months.

      Promoted
    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.35% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate of 1.35%. Deposit $2,000 each month, make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account and enable the Lock Saver feature. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000. 32 days notice for withdrawal and T&C's apply.

      Promoted
    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Glide transaction account.

      Promoted
    • Grow Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.35% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make at least 1 deposit per month and no more than 1 withdrawal, including internal transfers or external payments.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 211 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.