Thumbnail icon for NRMA

NRMA Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
8.0/10
Customer service
8.3/10
Claims handling
7.9/10
Trust
8.1/10
Based on 380 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent NRMA home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't beleive everything you are told

    When signing up they offer the world. After many years of paying insurance and i try to make a claim they introduce new reason so they don't have to pay. I know I'm only one of many that this has happened too but, worse when I have supported then when others have been through this. Best to find an open upfront insurer.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Queensland, reviewed 19 days ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Quality affordal insurance with piece of mind

    Been a member with NRMA some 45 years. They've provided quality insurance with personal touches in our ups and occasional claims through the years. They provide help when it was needed most. There example made the rest of the family choose reliable affordable insurance with piece of mind.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Onno, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Terrific service.

    The response to my claim was great. Good communication and understanding. The whole process was easy and the staff showed compassion.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    NRMA is a company I trust as they have always dealt with my claims quickly and fairly.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Average premiums and usually pay claims.

    They are your average run of the mill insurance company, nothing special but consistent.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They’re always there when you need them.

    Well established and professional.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Loretta, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Discounts for loyalty and multiple policies. Great coverage and easy claim process. Prices a little higher than other quotes but coverage seems better than most other insurers.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Bronwyn, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Honest, reliable and dependable.

    Best premiums available and the only two claims (storm damage) made in 40 years were approved immediately. Faultless insurer for mine.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Charles, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Reasonable service, good security.

    Reasonable rates, great coverage and good customer service.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Nick, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Reliable

    I know they are more expensive but have been with them for 35 years and am staying.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Barb, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    NRMA is amazing. I wouldn't switch insurers.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marilyn, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good service but service has slipped

    Calling NRMA's customer service line to resolve a claim or make a complaint is like entering a pot luck. I would rate the building company handling my claim quite poor as they are very slow.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Ray, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service for everyone

    NRMA are very good.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • NRMA Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Really bad

    NRMA sent unqualified people to complete work at my home resulting in further damage. Initial assessor did not do the job right. Had to fight for an independent assessor. Stress has contributed to medical issues. The days off work due to illness resulted in me losing my job.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Holly, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • NRMA Home Plus Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible claims management - 12 month battle

    In 2015, a massive hailstorm blocked all my roof gutters and sent a torrent of water through my ceiling. Initially NRMA were quick to respond, but when the repairers they used created problems - a foul stench that could not be cleared - it took OVER 12 MONTHS to get them to sort it out during which time one bedroom was totally unusable. Over and over again, they dropped the ball. I had to chase them literally dozens of times. They must have spent thousands of dollars trying determine to cause of the smell, instead of just stripping back the paintwork and starting again like I asked. In the end, they commissioned a "forensic engineer" who drew a blank, until I sent him a link to a UK website where they described exactly this scenario and exactly what to do about it. FINALLY he agreed to amend his report to recommend they repaint. Problem solved. But I will never ever get home insurance from NRMA Insurance again.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.