QBE logo

QBE Home insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 96 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Featured home insurance from QBE

Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

Fire
Yes
Theft or burglary
Yes
Storm
Yes
Flood
Yes

Promoted

Recent QBE home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Does not follow their wording in the policy

    Avoid at all costs! Made a claim with QBE and they denied stating poor workmanship by previous owners. There was a very large sudden flow of water (covered for in the policy) which caused the damage. This was explained to QBE, yet no mention of it anywhere in the paperwork for why they are denying the claim. Bottom line: QBE will not cover for what is in the policy and find an excuse to get out of it.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Ripped off with excessive premium increases 47%!

    Excessive increase in Premiums. Here is the text of my complaint: Me to QBE on 7 Jan after raising the mater on 4 Jan and was told that building costs have increased amongst other 'unnamed factors'. I was told the matter would be resolved within the statuary 30 day period. "The essence of my complaint is the increase in Premiums over the last three years: We have made no claims. My wife is retired and is at home most of the time. 2020: $1307.67 2021: $1457.83, 11.5% 2022: $1930.98, 32.5% (or 47.67% over two years based on the 2020 figure) Whilst I acknowledge that building costs have increase due to current supply chain issues, this is certainly not a justification for the magnitude of the proposed increase." I got a "rejection response" of the 3rd Feb (My Policy due for renewal on 1 Feb. They had already taken out the 'new premium' from my credit card on 1 Feb while still in dispute.) When querying this they told me that there were other factors "such as flood risk". [Note: We live on a hill - no chance of this!] Part of the explanation letter states that "the premium increase has occurred due to risk pricing factors which have increased at your insured address" but later there is an acknowledgement that "I appreciate the zone has not changed since the policy inception".When pushed further - they tried to tell me inflation was a factor. Really!! (Inflation rates 2020 0.98%, 2021 2.5%). When I pointed this out and askerd for the real reasons - they said they couldn't tell me anything else because of 'commercial confidentiality'. When I get my premium back, I am going elsewhere.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • QBE Home Insurance

    QBE are really trustworthy

    QBE were really good in dealing with our fire claim including building, contents and machinery that was written off. Can really trust them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Libby, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Wonderful customer service

    Great customer service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Carol, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings

    Simple, no dramas.

    The most exciting thing I can say is that we've never needed to claim, so my only experience with them (other than paying, of course) has been when we moved from one house to another. That process was perfectly smooth, and apart from a virtual ream of paperwork (why are there 200+ pages?!?), it was exactly what you'd want it to be.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Ben, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Very good at lying, not at insuring.

    After 12 years with this company, I am only just now discovering that everything is a lie. My policy does not cover half the things we were told it would - but apparently thats okay because QBE made those changes after we had our policy so its on us to have known what they stopped covering. Call centre will tell you different things depending on who you speak to, claims officers can be rude while they drag their feet on doing their jobs. Premiums have gone up while service remains poor, all while fewer and fewer things are covered with each renewal. Incorrect information has to be corrected with every renewal, and CSOs must not know how to press save because the changes are never accurate or right when the next renewal arrives.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nunya, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • QBE Home Insurance

    Obtained cover via a broker.

    When we were running an AirBnB QBE was the only one that would insure us and for that reason, they are now our preferred insurer.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rex, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

    They are the best insurer i know and will help you

    I have been with them for many years and i have had no problems with them and when i had a claim they were the best,and you can trust them all the way.I like to add that when it come to home or contents they wiill go out of there way to help you with insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Errol, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Contents

    QBE are efficient and professional.

    From the time I claimed, the forms were emailed that day, after getting a report back from an electrician the amount was offered and accepted. The whole process was handled very well and professionally, I was impressed with QBE.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Aldo, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

    Awesome insurer!

    Always there, never had an issue. Up to date with renewals and customer service is fantastic

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Amanda, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

    Great all round insurer.

    They have complete cover, great claims service and good value for money. Very helpful staff

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Contents

    QBE, another profit fuelled insurer.

    I have been with QBE for over a decade and unfortunately seen the demise from knowing and understanding its members, into a corporate machine fuelled by profits. For rural coverage expect plenty of hoops to jump through and additional exclusions especially with water tanks and fire breaks, particularly if you live near crown land. The claims process is a lengthy task that takes unnecessary time to get things in order, however the positive side to this is QBE do pay much more than other insurers. Overall whilst I wouldn't highly recommend, I would definitely seek out the best price and compare each together. I would also ring them directly asking for better deals.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

    Competitive premiums throughout.

    QBE is the most awesome company for your home and contents as I've been with them for several years and never had problems.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Charles, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Buildings & Contents

    Broker recommended.

    They were the only insurer who would insure an AirBnB .

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Rex, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover - Contents

    Competitive premiums and good customer service

    I worked there for 10 years, so I am biased, but I think QBE is good.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jirra, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.