RACQ logo

RACQ Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
8.2/10
Value for money
7.7/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
8.3/10
Claims handling
8.0/10
Trust
8.2/10
Based on 1298 RACQ car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent RACQ car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Mixed qualities

    I think racq is 1 of the top car insurance providers , unfortunately they have become quite over priced ,especially for old cars . Even when u have been with them for yrs they don't give u any benefits in the sense of cheaper insurance fir being a reliable customer. If my car was new then I could understand over $900 yrly just for insurance, that's not even with road side assisst . But my car is 17yrs old . They also don't have an option for lower kilometres driven insurance. They do have great customer service .

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Amber, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Inconsiderate & insensitive in response to claims

    Great to deal with until there’s a claim and then they’re inconsiderate and make no attempt to keep communication clear and open. Forever chasing them up for simple things

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Holly, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    Easy and efficient

    RACQ insurance was easy to set up and generally have great customer service. They were able to get my car fixed in an appropriate timeframe.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Alex, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    Very happy with RACQ. Wouldn’t go anywhere else.

    Easy to deal with, staff are extremely friendly and do not try to rush through the phone calls. Very clear in their explanations.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Vicki, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    RACQ review

    Being with racq gives cheaper discounts on a lot of things, I had racv when I was in vic

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Carli, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Profit before people.

    All about profit and not about the customer. Had our car towed after an accident to there preferred provider still waiting on the repair after 9weeks with still no estimated completion date. Would they help us with a hire car until the repairs are completed absolutely not. Complaints process is atrocious was told we would get a result in 5-10days and waited weeks for them to only give us a hire car for two weeks, repairer says won’t have parts for at least another 4weeks. You should ensure your preferred repairer completes the work within a reasonable time frame or provide alternate transport until the job is done. Leaving my wife, myself and three kids stranded without transport. Thanks for nothing after almost 20 years of a loyal customer disgusted by your greed.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Clinton, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Ultimate cover are the best

    Fast response and very helpful

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Danielle, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Looks good until Claims Process, TERRIBLE!!!

    Go elsewhere, Claims department is next level TERRIBLE! paying for extras like hire car etc, somehow equates to only if available, regardless of wether you've paid for it or not. was left High and dry at a major time of need and had to organise my own towing and also had to go to extreme lengths to sort out myself, Call centre is merely a messaging service, it is not 24/7 service as advertised. claims can only be made during business hours regardless of wether you are completely stranded with a fully paid, full comprehensive policy, Read the small print, they will use every loop hole possible and the condescending attitude of the claims department just automatically go to "Would you like me to read out the Clause/Subclause located on page blah blah blah". Don't know what to say when you ask which clause states hire car is subject to availability. Absolutely DISGUSTING service. and ZERO value for money.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Daniel, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Do not pay for RACQ insurance

    Vehicle insurance claim took 8 months so far they are using Rodent damage to deny the claim when the damage is to suspension. Do not use these people or their products they find any way to deny the claims.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Trevor, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    To expensive but grate insurance if you can afford

    Found this company excellent exped the price Found the cost was just to high to keep using this company due to the cost of living for people who earn under $75, 000 per year

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Scott, Queensland, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great insurance

    Have no problem recommending racq to anyone have had no issues with any claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Carrie, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    Would not recommend at all

    I recently chose RACQ to insure my brand new BMW. On the day of driving out of the dealership, someone reversed into my car and caused a lot of damage. The incident was reported to police, there was video footage, and I was deemed to be not at fault. Hidden in the PDS was a clause saying I was not entitled to a hire car if the car was parked at the time of the accident. I have no idea what difference it makes, as ultimately the at fault party or the insurer are responsible for the damages. If I had chosen any other insurer they don’t have this clause - but because I chose RACQ I will be without a car for weeks while the vehicle is repaired. On top of this, the customer service has been very bad- misinformation, treated like I was doing the wrong thing, promises that weren’t kept. The whole experience has been terrible. I have taken my two polices back off them again and moved insurance companies after only a month with them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tom, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great company and staff members

    I like this insurance company and would recommend this to anyone because of the helpful knowledge the customer service team give when you’re in a pickle. I don’t like however, the online portal and apps, they need to be given more attention to.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rachel, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    RACQ should take tips from Youi

    While RACQ has been my provider for a while, they don't really have anything to do with me. My partner is with Youi and they actually call him and speak to him and see if he is happy, RACQ don't tend to care that much.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lizzie, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance

    Excellent customer service and support

    I have handled several claims through RACQ and they have always moved quickly and professionally to fulfil my claim. You couldn’t ask for more.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.