Thumbnail icon for RACQ

RACQ Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.3/10
Value for money
7.7/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
8.3/10
Claims handling
8.0/10
Trust
8.2/10
Based on 1208 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent RACQ car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible

    Absolutely terrible service. Can’t even guarantee their work! I booked a car I was interested in buying for a pre-purchase mechanical inspection and a cost of $249. Had to wait quite a while to get it inspected. When the mechanic finally inspected it the vehicle he ticked almost everything (including Air Con and Aux Drive belts) as green on the final report. I purchased the vehicle thinking that the mechanic actually did his job and went over the vehicle. Next few days I start hearing a squeal coming from the drive belt. Take it to another mechanic who says it needs a drive belt replacement as the belt is cracked, stretched and old. Even take pictures and get a report. Call up RACQ and ask “What the Hell’ after sending them all the evidence. Basically get told by the shitty senior customer relations rep that because I don’t have photographic evidence and sound recordings from the exact day of the mechanical inspection (I wasn’t even there as I sent them to the sellers house as they are mobile mechanics) that they couldn’t guarantee their work, there was nothing they would do and that somehow it was my fault. Yeah sure, like a drive belt just becomes cracked, old and stretched over night. I told them in no uncertain terms that I wanted my vehicle re-inspected because now I had purchased a car which could potentially have a bunch of other stuff wrong with it seeing as the initial inspection didn’t seem to have been done very well. Got told tough luck and not going to happen. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 years however I have now moved my insurance away from these guys after being treated like trash. I would advise all to do then same. Oh and if any RACQ reps are reading this and before you try and lie and say “You cant find a record of me being a member” or some other BS my old policy number was 51883267PG and the number of the crappy pre-inspection report is 6315054. Shame RACQ!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Aaron, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy.

    Very good service and backup.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gavin, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not great value. Mediocre customer service.

    Average car insurance. Not good value for money and mediocre customer service.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Keith, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Call RACQ.

    I will never travel again without RACQ!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great premiums for both car and home insurance.

    Great customer service over the phone when arranging my policy. Best rate I could get. Better than the insurer I had been with for years.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Grant, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great!

    They are good.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent customer service.

    Very effective and efficient. They will never leave you with worries.

    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Tererai, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    All good

    We are happy with their service

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Wilson, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Perfect

    I have been with them for years and would not go anywhere else.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Hester, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive prices and excellent customer service.

    Very competitive prices. The cheapest around at the time. Excellent when I had a car accident. They took care of everything for me. The claim was sorted promptly.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leonnie, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good service

    Have had good claims service with claims.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Linda, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good

    RACQ are good.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    They're not to bad

    RACQ are quite professional in response to any call.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Impeccable service

    Living in Central Rural Qld, RACQ was our first choice. They have come to our rescue many times, they are very quick to respond and always in a timely manner, so we are not parked out in the beating hot sun for long. If you live in Qld, RACQ is the insurer for you.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Barbs, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Have been with RACQ since the 1970s

    I am happy to stay with RACQ.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.