Thumbnail icon for RACQ

RACQ Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.3/10
Value for money
7.7/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
8.4/10
Claims handling
8.1/10
Trust
8.3/10
Based on 1217 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent RACQ car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Amazing

    I love this insurer. I’ve never had an issue with RACQ, given that I have had roadside membership with them for 15 years. There was no other insurer I would have picked as I’d always heard good things and very happy with my insurance product.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Superb insurance company.

    We have been with RACQ for over 30 years and in that time they have matched any better rate deals and more importantly they've been there when we needed them. Claims and staff are so supportive and the rewards platform is simply the best. A top notch company.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    amazing insurer

    I was with a previous insurer and they were charging through the roof, I love RACQ as they care for their customers. I know I am covered for my vehicle when I put my kids in the car.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tracey, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Racq are great

    Great!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great car assistance.

    I'm happy with RACQ because they are very organised, and can reach you wherever you are if you get stuck and need assistance.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sinem, Queensland, reviewed 16 days ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Easy to call and change policy.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    So many pros, no cons.

    I have been with RACQ since I started driving - so 20 years now. In that time I have had two claims - one my fault, and the other someone else's. Both times they were great in accessing my claim. I'm on the coverage that allows a rental vehicle too, which is fantastic. I honestly don't have any cons to speak of. It's all pro from me!

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Charlene, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent.

    Very good insurer and you will have all the added benefits of joining RACQ, movie tickets etc.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome service and value

    I have been with RACQ since my first car! They have always made all enquiries easy and pleasant. I speak from experience for not at fault accidents to basic enquiries like updating details.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Terrible

    Absolutely terrible service. Can’t even guarantee their work! I booked a car I was interested in buying for a pre-purchase mechanical inspection and a cost of $249. Had to wait quite a while to get it inspected. When the mechanic finally inspected it the vehicle he ticked almost everything (including Air Con and Aux Drive belts) as green on the final report. I purchased the vehicle thinking that the mechanic actually did his job and went over the vehicle. Next few days I start hearing a squeal coming from the drive belt. Take it to another mechanic who says it needs a drive belt replacement as the belt is cracked, stretched and old. Even take pictures and get a report. Call up RACQ and ask “What the Hell’ after sending them all the evidence. Basically get told by the shitty senior customer relations rep that because I don’t have photographic evidence and sound recordings from the exact day of the mechanical inspection (I wasn’t even there as I sent them to the sellers house as they are mobile mechanics) that they couldn’t guarantee their work, there was nothing they would do and that somehow it was my fault. Yeah sure, like a drive belt just becomes cracked, old and stretched over night. I told them in no uncertain terms that I wanted my vehicle re-inspected because now I had purchased a car which could potentially have a bunch of other stuff wrong with it seeing as the initial inspection didn’t seem to have been done very well. Got told tough luck and not going to happen. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 years however I have now moved my insurance away from these guys after being treated like trash. I would advise all to do then same. Oh and if any RACQ reps are reading this and before you try and lie and say “You cant find a record of me being a member” or some other BS my old policy number was 51883267PG and the number of the crappy pre-inspection report is 6315054. Shame RACQ!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Aaron, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy.

    Very good service and backup.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gavin, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not great value. Mediocre customer service.

    Average car insurance. Not good value for money and mediocre customer service.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Keith, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Call RACQ.

    I will never travel again without RACQ!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great premiums for both car and home insurance.

    Great customer service over the phone when arranging my policy. Best rate I could get. Better than the insurer I had been with for years.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Grant, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • RACQ Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great!

    They are good.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.