Thumbnail icon for Virgin Money

Virgin Money Savings account reviews

Overall rating
4.2/10
Price
7.5/10
Features
3.8/10
Customer service
4.0/10
Convenience
3.4/10
Trust
4.0/10
Based on 37 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Virgin Money savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Go somewhere more modern

    Slow, clunky, outdated, insecure security questions that everyone in my family knows the answer to. Money transfers take forever even though supposed to be instant, charges for transferring. Old fashioned, annoying outdated website.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible system and cust service. Lost my money!

    It took Virgin Money 2 months to finally open my saver account! And after they did, I deposited $10 to verify my account and they LOST IT! When you call customer service, you talk to someone in an Indonesian call centre who says "I'm sorry, but I can't find your account on my system." And to top it off, in my online Virgin bank user area, when I click transfer money, it says "I'm sorry, this feature is only available to Virgin Money credit card customers.' What! Do yourself a favour and stay away from Virgin money. And a bit of advice to Virgin: Stick to Flying Planes! And thanks Mozo for keeping Aussie's safe!!!!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Josh, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money Reward Saver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Perfect.

    I trust my bank 100%.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Nicole walden, , reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrifying service! Lost my money!

    Stay away! I spend 2 months trying to open a saver account, over 10 phone calls later they only opened the account in my name and not my wife's name as well. And they lost the $1 activation deposit, and when I ask about that, they say they don't have a record of my account!!! Oh yeah, and when I go to transfer money out of the account, it says that feature is only available to Virgin credit card customers. I have now switched to AMP, my account was opened in 2 days.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Selwyn, Queensland, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Give it a miss

    Have spent the past 4 weeks just trying to open a virgin online saver account (and, yes, I am very familiar with the procedure - have opened two other online accounts recently without any problems). After numerous phone calls (to a call centre - no joy there), and emails (to which I get no reply whatsoever) will give it a miss. If opening an account is this troublesome, do not fancy my chances of good service once I do have an account.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Judy, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Stealthy savings - out of sight, out of mind

    Virgin Money provide a great online savings account that you can just set and forget. I only use their online account for nest egg savings so that I can't see the money when I log into my everyday bank accounts and the money just piles up in there. Their interest rate could be better but I'm happy with my "stealth" savings account nevertheless.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Asti, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    good bank

    ok

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Western Australia, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Horrible Service and Faulty Product - AVOID!!!

    I was duped into signing up with Virgin Money based on a promotion that they were running where if you saved $1000 a month for three months then you received $50. The interest rate that was offered as a bonus rate at the same time was quite competitive so I signed up and also signed up to the automatic savings plan. The automatic savings plan never kicked in - so I failed to meet the criteria for the $50. I also lost my pin letter and despite several calls to customer support it took about 6 weeks to get a new one. So far closing this account has been the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I requested this online because you cannot do it over the phone - I was then advised about a week later that my account was inactive so I had to transfer a dollar to reactivate it. I was advised when this cleared (within 3 days) I would be called and then my account would be closed. I was not however called - so after a week I called - only to be told that again I cannot close this over the phone so I need to submit another request online. Virgin money customer service staff have no authority to do anything it appears on your account and sadly while they offer to help there seems to be nothing that they can actually do. From my personal experience I would say that the entire structure of this product offering is flawed and the customer service bundled with it is extremely frustrating to navigate. Pro's: None Con's: Product offered Poor Customer Service Website Security Procedures Back End Systems

    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Virgin Money review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Not recommended, not trustworthy

    Pro: High interest rate Con: Non-user friendly website, unreliable, false bonus offer, by-the-book customer service I received an email offer to open a Virgin Saver account with competitive interest rate, and a bonus of $50 will be given if I deposited min $1000 per month for 3 consecutive months before 29 Feb 2012. So I opened the account in Nov 2011 and even went further convincing my spouse to open one as well. The bonus was promised to be credited by end of Mar 2012, but no bonus comes into our accounts until mid Apr. So I called, and the Customer Service courteously told me that their back office was closed already, so she would get them check and credit the bonus within 3-5 working days. No news and no bonus came, so I called again 10 days later. The CS said she would ask their team to investigate and I could get the outcome within a week. Still no one called, so I rang again. At first the CS said that the promotion ended on 31 October, but after I mentioned that I had the promotion print-out showing that it ended on 30 Nov, she said she would check again. She came back telling me that the result of their "thorough investigation" was that I was not eligible for the bonus. There is no further explanation why, the result was simply "not eligible". I am disappointed to say the least. Three phone calls, zero call back, zero bonus and zero explanation why. I have followed the requirements for the bonus -- opened the account within the promotion period, and deposited the minimum amount for 3 consecutive months before 29 Feb. So I am eligible for the bonus. I decided to close the account, also my spouse's, and will not consider an offer from Virgin Money anymore.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Stay away, dont even bother

    Where to start... these guys are the worst! Signing up to their savings account was a nightmare. They send you 3 postal letters, each containing a secret pin number which arrived spaced out in 3 weeks. You need all these pins to activate your account. Their savings promotion is a scam, they promised $50 bonus if you deposited a minimum of $1000 per month for 4 months. The bonus never came... Now I'm trying to close my account and withdraw all my funds, it's been 4 weeks and still cannot get a resolution. The worst thing about all this is their customer service, in which they have none. No matter how many emails or phone calls you leave them they always seem to surprise you and leave you in the dark. One email was replied addressed to Kristine, my name is not Kristine, which makes me think they just copy and paste replies. Trust you money elsewhere people, if you ever want to see it again.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10

    With one of the worst online banking interfaces around and competitiveness in interest rates slowly declining I would only recommend signing up if they give another $100

    Price
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   3 / 10

    Duped into opening a savings account on the promise of a $50 top up from Virgin. Offer not honoured. Have just closed my account with them. Disappointed

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    Attracted by their rates with on line saver. Sudden rate changes and no notification of what rate I am getting on my savings on their website. No messages in their message section of website showing changes in rates. Deceptive and not to be trusted. This doesnt mean your money is not safe as it still is gov guaranteed until feb 2012 There are much better more reliable and transparent banks to deal with

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    Great rates and seem to want to keep existing customers.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Frank, New South Wales, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Virgin Money Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    Citibank resellers. Avoid. Everything that's terrible about Citibank without actually being a recognized bank. Only reason to bank with them is to take advantage of limited special offers or cash bonuses for opening accounts. After you've claimed that, take all the money out and run away!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Western Australia, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.35% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.90% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Fast Track Starter Account

      Maximum rate
      3.00% p.a. (for $1 to $10,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate applied and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked accountif in the previous month $200 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account.

      Promoted
    • Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make 5 or more successful card purchases per calendar month using your Up debit card and digital wallets (ATM transactions excluded).

      Promoted
    • Fast Track Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.05% p.a. (for $1 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate applied if in the previous month $1,000 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked account.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 224 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.