Westpac car loan reviews

Westpac
Westpac's overall rating for car loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.2 / 10

based on 49 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured car loan from Westpac

Recent Westpac car loan reviews

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service (see above)

I like the Westpac bank for the customer satisfaction and ease of information available, the staff could not do more for Myself and I have spoken to other Westpac customers and they have said the same, I intend to apply for more loans from Westpac...

Full review

I like the Westpac bank for the customer satisfaction and ease of information available, the staff could not do more for Myself and I have spoken to other Westpac customers and they have said the same, I intend to apply for more loans from Westpac Bank in the future.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoff (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent, very helpful service

It was my first loan and the process and requirements were explained very thoroughly and if needed, the support was there. The Westpac team is very helpful and although their interest rates aren't the best, its reassuring to know that if I am...

Full review

It was my first loan and the process and requirements were explained very thoroughly and if needed, the support was there. The Westpac team is very helpful and although their interest rates aren't the best, its reassuring to know that if I am uncomfortable with any of their services, there is no doubt that it will be solved.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lisa (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rate

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rates.

Full review

Reputable and trustworthy. Excellent interest rates.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

M (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Brilliant customer service in tough times.

Competitive rates, impeccable customer service, massively helpful when going through financial hardship, really went a long way to help me out.

Full review

Competitive rates, impeccable customer service, massively helpful when going through financial hardship, really went a long way to help me out.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Joshua (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Very happy with service

Full review

Very happy with service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Luke (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

It's a big bank, you have to push uphill sometimes

They have been helpful with a payment holiday during maternity leave, but it took many calls to reach the point where they understood our needs, over the years there have been many admin errors requiring repeated follow up to reset repayment rates.

Full review

They have been helpful with a payment holiday during maternity leave, but it took many calls to reach the point where they understood our needs, over the years there have been many admin errors requiring repeated follow up to reset repayment rates.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Siobhan (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best all round product that they service for us.

When I took this product out they had to compete against 2 other parties and they beat them in value and customer service, and I have reviewed this 4 times in the last 2 years, they still are totally competitive in the market place.

Full review

When I took this product out they had to compete against 2 other parties and they beat them in value and customer service, and I have reviewed this 4 times in the last 2 years, they still are totally competitive in the market place.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michael (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic customer service, best premiums going

In this product my personal banker was fantastic. He got the best competitive pricing for the time period and I looked around and could not do better.

Full review

In this product my personal banker was fantastic. He got the best competitive pricing for the time period and I looked around and could not do better.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Westpac is an exceptional banking corporation

Westpac is the bank for me. Reliable, trustworthy, honest, friendly and very convenient. I've always chosen Westpac in relation to finances and I will continue to do so because they have always assisted me as best they can with nothing but a smile...

Full review

Westpac is the bank for me. Reliable, trustworthy, honest, friendly and very convenient. I've always chosen Westpac in relation to finances and I will continue to do so because they have always assisted me as best they can with nothing but a smile and terrific customer service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angie (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service

They are nice.

Full review

They are nice.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Candace (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Terrible customer service

The amount of drama I went through to get my car loan was not worth it, I would never get another loan with Westpac.

Full review

The amount of drama I went through to get my car loan was not worth it, I would never get another loan with Westpac.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Shannon (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great products and nice customer service.

Like the variety of products, quality of service.

Full review

Like the variety of products, quality of service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Terry (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Okay

Have always banked with Westpac. Should probably have shopped around.

Full review

Have always banked with Westpac. Should probably have shopped around.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tracey (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good

They do not look after you well after the loan is given. They don't offer services to support you, they only remind you when payments are late but do not offer assistance on other ways to help sort out your payments. Once the loan is given, you...

Full review

They do not look after you well after the loan is given. They don't offer services to support you, they only remind you when payments are late but do not offer assistance on other ways to help sort out your payments. Once the loan is given, you don't get to hear from them again to check on other possibilities to get your loan payments quicker and affordable.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Asilo (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Person I dealt with was extremely helpful and friendly. Would use this bank again purely for the service I received from him. He moved branches recently so I have also moved to his new branch. General banking I do close to home, but any other help...

Full review

Person I dealt with was extremely helpful and friendly. Would use this bank again purely for the service I received from him. He moved branches recently so I have also moved to his new branch. General banking I do close to home, but any other help or advice I require I go to new branch.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Antonio (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Helpful, easy application process

On setup of loan details, were not transcribed correctly resulting in a delay of accessing of funds, however issues were rectified on the same day.

Full review

On setup of loan details, were not transcribed correctly resulting in a delay of accessing of funds, however issues were rectified on the same day.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Coralyn (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Too focused on profits and too hard on staff

High interest rate on car loan and too hard to freeze payments when hard times hit even if you are a long way in advance.

Full review

High interest rate on car loan and too hard to freeze payments when hard times hit even if you are a long way in advance.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Teena (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good experience, great price

Tried to get a car loan through Bankwest and was stuffed around for weeks having to talk to 3 different people and send them information 3 times. I then went to Westpac and had a cheque in my hand in 3 business days. They are great to deal with,...

Full review

Tried to get a car loan through Bankwest and was stuffed around for weeks having to talk to 3 different people and send them information 3 times. I then went to Westpac and had a cheque in my hand in 3 business days. They are great to deal with, would recommend.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly service, polite, understanding

I went in there and told them how much of a mechanical, expensive problem my old car was and they gave me a $17000 loan arranged in less than two weeks, considering I was not working yet. They really saved me, love my new Hyundai.

Full review

I went in there and told them how much of a mechanical, expensive problem my old car was and they gave me a $17000 loan arranged in less than two weeks, considering I was not working yet. They really saved me, love my new Hyundai.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Racheal (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and well organised

I like this bank as I can access my account when needed and be able to use it anywhere and anytime.

Full review

I like this bank as I can access my account when needed and be able to use it anywhere and anytime.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Natarsha (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Fantastic service, online banking is also great

Their customer service is very good. But interest rates are far too high for the average working class person. Long time customers should be rewarded with lower interest rates.

Full review

Their customer service is very good. But interest rates are far too high for the average working class person. Long time customers should be rewarded with lower interest rates.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Julie (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac Car Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Additional repayment options

After speaking to customer service, we found a loan that suited additional repayments that allowed me to pay off my loan sooner without any additional charges.

Full review

After speaking to customer service, we found a loan that suited additional repayments that allowed me to pay off my loan sooner without any additional charges.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jess (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive

Westpac are happy they serve you professionally.

Full review

Westpac are happy they serve you professionally.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Horrible customer service

I hate it.

Full review

I hate it.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jack (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Westpac

Westpac car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Have banked with Westpac for over 20 years and have always received great advice and service.

Full review

Have banked with Westpac for over 20 years and have always received great advice and service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer , reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Australian Military Bank Car Loan - Excellent Credit (Up to 5 years old, Variable)

    Australian Military Bank Car Loan - Excellent Credit (Up to 5 years old, Variable)

    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online
    • No penalty for early repayment

    Interest rate

    5.71% p.a.to 8.66% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.57% p.a.to 10.07% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online
    • No penalty for early repayment
    • Upfront fees: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $80,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.1

    Based on 18 Australian Military Bank car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • bcu Car Loan Special (Less than 5 years old, Variable)

    bcu Car Loan Special (Less than 5 years old, Variable)

    • Available for any cars up to 5 years old.
    • 1 hour fast approval
    • Redraw facility

    Interest rate

    5.90% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.82% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $8.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Available for any cars up to 5 years old.
    • 1 hour fast approval
    • Redraw facility
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Monthly fee: $8.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $65,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Latitude Car Loan (Fixed)

    Latitude Car Loan (Fixed)

    • Funds available in 2 business days from approval
    • One fixed regular payment with a clear end date. Use for cars, boats, caravans and horse floats.
    • Early termination fees apply

    Interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.10% p.a.to 16.06% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $295.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Funds available in 2 business days from approval
    • One fixed regular payment with a clear end date. Use for cars, boats, caravans and horse floats.
    • Early termination fees apply
    • Upfront fees: $295
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.1

    Based on 21 Latitude car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NRMA New Car Loan (Fixed)

    NRMA New Car Loan (Fixed)

    • No monthly fees and flexible repayment options
    • Quick and easy online application process
    • Low fix interest rates with terms up to 7 years

    Interest rate

    5.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees and flexible repayment options
    • Quick and easy online application process
    • Low fix interest rates with terms up to 7 years
    • Upfront fees: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $15,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old)

    RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old)

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee

    Interest rate

    6.17% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.72% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $395.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 191 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more car loans

Look for a specific type of car loan:

-- Choose loan type --

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top