American Express logo

American Express Credit card customer reviews

Overall rating
6.5/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 926 American Express credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Featured credit card from American Express

Qantas Ultimate Card

Purchase rate
23.99% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$450
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    No happy this Amax credit card

    I just recently received the Amax card, after 30 day they asked me to pay full amount of 1,750 it’s the annual fee that I didn’t used , I pay a little bit but they suspended my account. Called the customer service but still no option to help. Dissatisfied….

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rose, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Flexibilities are amazing but protection limited.

    The rewards systems and flexibility is the main appeal. However, processes are long especially in regards to disputes. There is lack of protection and communications.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Caitlin, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    AMEX is awesome for QANTAS points

    Loved my AMEX card and how helpful they have been with any issues or even once a scam. It's easy to use and see my points accumulating. Perhaps the app needs an update or fresh look though.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bass, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Great card for all

    Fantastic customer service and bonus offers, love getting money off every month with certain deals. The essential is the best as there is no annual fee.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jamie, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • American Express

    Overall good card

    Good rewards points that you can use to pay interest charges. But not all businesses accept american express so it limits its use. Would be handy for travel though.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Trent, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Premium Card

    Okay

    I just feel it's quite a vanilla offering. They've become complacent, and should strive to offer more.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luciano, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Great card to travel with

    It’s a great card to travel with. And the customer service has always been great

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Barry, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • American Express

    Amex is the go to for no annual fee rewards cards

    Since joining last year in 2022, American Express earns my highest recommendation due to the support team's outstanding customer service and the benefits of their Essentials Credit Card. This card impressively provides 1.25 Membership Reward points (excluding government transactions which provides 1 point) per dollar spent without any annual fee, effectively offering a 0.06% cashback on virtually all purchases. These points never expire, allowing you to accumulate them for long-term benefits. Additionally, the exclusive deals they offer for selected stores via their app and website help you reduce your costs on everyday purchases, adding extra value to the card. However, some merchants might not accept American Express cards and foreign transaction fees apply will apply for overseas purchases (in person/online) similar to most other credit cards. Overall, American Express stands out as a reliable choice for those seeking exceptional customer service, a no fee card that still rewards you for spending and discounts on everyday shopping.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jared, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • American Express Low Rate Credit Card

    Please don’t apply for American Express

    Please do not apply for this credit card.one of worst system and not friendly customer service plus there is help for customer when they are in bad situation, financially and mentally so please stay away from this American Express cards

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rahul, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Travel credit expired w/o reminder

    I've been with them for years. I paid a $450 annual fee on the Ultimate card for the $450 travel credit. I messed up the date of the travel credit expiration. They sent spam promotion emails every 1 or 2 days but didn't manage to send email reminders to remind me of the expiring credit. The reason I messed up the date is, I applied for the card in the middle of the month, but they charged the renewal card fee at the end of the month. After years, I cannot remember the date I applied but I can only see the fee charge date, so I expected it's the date that the credit expires, but it's not. Anyway, they should've done this easily but they choose not to. Cancelled my card straight away.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    Terrible customer service

    So you go along for months, paying in full, using their preferred payment method until it suddenly stops working. You get a message to ‘contact card member service’ You call them to find out they are ‘closed’ even though the web page says they are open. You get on a text chat and after 40 minutes of wasted time you finally get someone who tells you it’s your problem, your web browser, your computer. You try a different web browser in a different computer, and it still doesn’t work. But you are reassured it’s ‘your problem’ You request the issue be looked into to find that a month later you will need to go through the same hour long process to pay for bill. Pointless nonsense, too many hoops to jump through. Stick with your bank, o matter how frustrated you are with them, they somehow seem to manage to work things out, but Amex… 2 months later it’s still my problem their web page won’t process my payment!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Trent, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Robbery

    Amex, a company of huge calibre, has shamelessly stolen $450 from me. I paid the $450 yearly fee, which translates into a travel credit. I contacted Amex to ask when this year's fee would be charged, so I could make sure I used the travel credit in time. They said it would be April 19th; however, the travel credit had expired on March 31. I had been hospitalised for spinal surgery and could not walk, never mind take care of any of my financial responsibilities. I am aware of multiple cases of travel credit extensions without any extenuating circumstances. In this exceptional situation, they decided not to lift a finger to help me use the travel credit I had paid for and was entitled to. They manipulated the situation but removing the travel credit 3 weeks before the actual renewal, creating intentional confusion. Beyond disappointed, will not be dealing with them ever again.

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Diana, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Easy to earn points

    The discovery card makes it really easy to earn Qantas points for my everyday expenses. No fee makes it even better

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gianni, Queensland, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • American Express Velocity Platinum Card

    Stay away

    Terrible to work with or help you out when times are tough. Now have a bad credit, when going through mental health issues.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Saade, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Good card!

    Most prestigious credit card

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Urbano, Queensland, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Card - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.49% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.74% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Platinum Edge Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $195 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Explorer® Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $395
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • Velocity Platinum Card

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $375
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 193 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.