American Express logo

American Express Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 914 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from American Express

Platinum Edge Credit Card

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$195 $0 in the first year
Rewards program
Membership Rewards

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Easy to earn points

    The discovery card makes it really easy to earn Qantas points for my everyday expenses. No fee makes it even better

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gianni, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago
  • American Express Velocity Platinum Card

    Stay away

    Terrible to work with or help you out when times are tough. Now have a bad credit, when going through mental health issues.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Saade, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Good card!

    Most prestigious credit card

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Urbano, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Poor Customer Services by American Express.

    I had card cancelled without sending me the card. I called customer services in Philippine/Malaysia and very bad experience. Customer service people have very ordinary skills and terrible in dealing. I never see any company using Philippine/Malaysia customer services have skilled people. These only speak good english and behave like a Robot. I never see they resolve any issue. American Express making billion of $, charging marchents and customer so much money but want the cheap options for their customer services. I want everyone to check which cheap country optios for such big companies (billion dollar revenue) and using cheapest options without any good services. So frustrating these days companies only care about how much money they can save and customer there to suffer.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Asim, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Premium Card

    Great AMEX

    Its easy to use with apple pay and the pints are great. Direct debit is also easy to use and set up.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gerard, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    T&C's poorly advised

    To all Amex Card holders I suggest you make yourself aware of the disguised and poorly worded T&C's relating to ALL Amex offers. Their very recent "Amex Card delicious month" promotion allows your registered card to only partake in the 20% credit offer at a participating restaurant on virtually only ONE restaurant as it has a max. credit value of $25 per CARD...NOT PER RESTAURANT. Yes, their T&C's tell you this, however the terminology is very poorly worded. I spent a further $300 at 2 more restaurants and received NO CREDIT as I had already used my allocation on an earlier restaurant. Crazy situation..you would think Amex wanted you to use your card! ..not so apparently.

    Robert, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    American Express Failure.

    Not my first review for AMEX. Gold Card over 40 years of loyalty. Again they they are giving 5 days to pay or charging you a penalty. Initially, it was 1 month then 2 weeks NOW 3-5 days. Unreasonable and unprofessional. Result of contacting them and asking why no date stamp on envelope they read a script and then HANG up. 0/100 for professionalism.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    Worst customer service ever.

    They have the worst customer service I have ever seen in a credit card company. Don't even bother.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Ivan, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Great for shopping

    Amex from david jones is good credit card as you accumulate points by shopping at DJs and you can use your points to get great vouchers

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Khashayar, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card

    No value for money.

    Will not recommend Amex Platinum card. Use to be $1200 annual fee then it increased to $1450 and the benefits decreased. Before it was 1 to 1 Qantas point but now it's 2 to 1 Qantas point. Contacted customer service asking about reduce fee or better benefit during the Covid-19 period where we can't use our travel credits, lounge benefits, hotel stays etc. All I get was a cut and paste responses and said they understand what I am saying but their benefits are awesome and they will do nothing more. Worst credit card provider ever. Only know ways to milk their existing customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Donald, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    American Express Qantas Card - Thumbs up.

    I'm able to accumulate Qantas Frequent Flyer points at the same time I'm making purchases and paying regular bills such as insurance, rates, water. I really like their partner offers and bonus points.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Angela, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Easy and intuitive planning

    Awesome online portal and great they give you an option to pay off your balance in equal instalments with PlanIt.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    No annual fee

    No annual fee makes this really easy to use and I automatically pay it off each month.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Caitlyn, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • American Express Velocity Escape Card

    Great for points and rewards

    Great bank, lots of points and opportunity for bonus points. Great customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Melissa, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Bad customer service.

    Bad customer service. I wanted to change my credit limit recently as I incorrectly increased it but their policy states you can only increase your limit every 180 days so I have to wait another 180 days to change the limit. If you want to raise a complaint you have to physically post a letter and then the team leader of the customer service department wanted to argue with me that it takes the same amount of time as sending an e-mail.

    Natasha, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      6.99% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Vertigo - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 32 months and then 21.49% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $55 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Card

      Purchase rate
      12.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 32 months and then 21.74% p.a. (0% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Vertigo - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 32 months and then 21.49% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $55 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 213 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.