American Express credit card reviews

American Express
American Express's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.6 / 10

based on 863 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Top 5 credit cards 2015

Featured credit card from American Express

Recent American Express credit card reviews

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service was great.

Just had this card terminated by the bank and I am not sure of the reason why but the American Express cannot be used anymore.

Full review

Just had this card terminated by the bank and I am not sure of the reason why but the American Express cannot be used anymore.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michael, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

American Express

American Express credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Would recommend to others

Very easy to use.

Full review

Very easy to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ian, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

American Express

American Express Explorer® Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

American Express is great.

Full review

American Express is great.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wayne, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago

American Express

American Express credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Love American Express

I would recommend to everyone.

Full review

I would recommend to everyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Deniz, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great card if you travel at least once a year

If you know that you're going to travel at least once a year domestically, this card is ideal. However, I did like it better when they gave you a free flight instead of the travel credit of $200 you get now. Combined with the AMEX More offers...

Full review

If you know that you're going to travel at least once a year domestically, this card is ideal. However, I did like it better when they gave you a free flight instead of the travel credit of $200 you get now. Combined with the AMEX More offers this card gives you a LOT. If you pay off your card in full every month, you're actually ahead when using this card. The main gripe with AMEX however, is that they do not extend their great bonus points offers on new cards/products to existing card holders. Big drawback

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Del, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good benefits, Bad customer service

The card itself is good value with the Qantas frequent flyer points, and there are a lot of benefits with partners and tickets. The only downside is the customer service. On multiple occasions I've had really horrid experiences with Amex's...

Full review

The card itself is good value with the Qantas frequent flyer points, and there are a lot of benefits with partners and tickets. The only downside is the customer service. On multiple occasions I've had really horrid experiences with Amex's phone customer service. The most recent occasion was after having a wallet stolen and wanting to cancel the card and get another, the phone operator was completely unsympathetic, rude and ended up hanging up on me when I asked to speak to somebody else.

    Price   3 / 10

Less

Ebony, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

They have always looked after my interests, through stolen cards overseas and copied cards that were then used overseas. Each time I have rung, they calmly solve the situation.

Full review

They have always looked after my interests, through stolen cards overseas and copied cards that were then used overseas. Each time I have rung, they calmly solve the situation.

    Price   7 / 10

Less

Anita, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

American Express

American Express Explorer® Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   2 / 10

The staff are unhelpful

staff

Full review

staff

    Price   1 / 10

Less

Jaysan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

American Express

American Express credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service and easy to deal with great rewards

great service easy to deal with great rewards

Full review

great service easy to deal with great rewards

    Price   4 / 10

Less

Norbert, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

American Express

American Express credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent products and services

É um cartão de crédito excelente

Full review

É um cartão de crédito excelente

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Marilene, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

American Express

American Express credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Worthwhile rewards and awesome customer service.

There are very few places where I cannot use my Amex card. I appreciate the good customer service I receive from Amex whenever I call, the free travel insurance, and the ability to accumulate Frequent Flyer points at the rate of 1.5 points for...

Full review

There are very few places where I cannot use my Amex card. I appreciate the good customer service I receive from Amex whenever I call, the free travel insurance, and the ability to accumulate Frequent Flyer points at the rate of 1.5 points for every $1 spent.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Eleanor, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Annual fees

Assessibility

Full review

Assessibility

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dominic, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago

American Express

American Express Essential Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

can't withdraw cash at ATM

Good rewards system, no fees. BUT - can't withdraw cash at ATM, and can't use at many places. Good for ebay purchases.

Full review

Good rewards system, no fees. BUT - can't withdraw cash at ATM, and can't use at many places. Good for ebay purchases.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jennifer, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good Customer Service

Best in the town

Full review

Best in the town

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sierra, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Interest is really high. But a good company

Full review

Interest is really high. But a good company

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Courtney, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Velocity Platinum Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Lots of points and great benefits

I'm really happy with Amex because I'm able to quickly accumulate enough points to buy flights and gift cards. They often have promotions for new customers, so I'd recommend holding out for one of those. The card I have allows you to have one free...

Full review

I'm really happy with Amex because I'm able to quickly accumulate enough points to buy flights and gift cards. They often have promotions for new customers, so I'd recommend holding out for one of those. The card I have allows you to have one free domestic flight every year which is a great bonus.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Cass, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very convenient, easy to sign up and easy to use

Very convenient, easy to sign up and easy to use app

Full review

Very convenient, easy to sign up and easy to use app

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tom, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Essential Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer is better

I like this bank. It's very convenient and trustworthy, the bad thing is I lost my credit card last time and they forget to send it to me.

Full review

I like this bank. It's very convenient and trustworthy, the bad thing is I lost my credit card last time and they forget to send it to me.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lingyao, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great product - if only it worked everywhere

Great product but, as always, American Express cards are only accepted in some locations. Makes it inconvenient. Overall the Apple Pay feature makes it totally worthwhile.

Full review

Great product but, as always, American Express cards are only accepted in some locations. Makes it inconvenient. Overall the Apple Pay feature makes it totally worthwhile.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sapna, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good reward points, security is good. Inflexible.

I am not very happy with American Express because I am often charged a surcharge when I use the card. Also lots of stores do not accept American Express but the reward points are quite good. People should be aware of the limitations with this...

Full review

I am not very happy with American Express because I am often charged a surcharge when I use the card. Also lots of stores do not accept American Express but the reward points are quite good. People should be aware of the limitations with this particular card. However, the security features are quite good. I did have a Visa Card and my identity was stolen once before.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Margaret, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They make me actually feel like a valued customer.

I've been an AMEX customer for a long time and have both a credit and charge card with them. The best thing about AMEX is that they don't operate like other banks. For example, I accidentally paid another card I had with them that had a zero...

Full review

I've been an AMEX customer for a long time and have both a credit and charge card with them. The best thing about AMEX is that they don't operate like other banks. For example, I accidentally paid another card I had with them that had a zero balance by mistake which meant I missed the payment date for current card. Instead of slapping me with a missed payment charge, they called me to check everything was OK and then saw what I had done and transferred that balance to the card I was supposed to pay.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mike, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Low Rate Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to use

Online phone app is awesome.

Full review

Online phone app is awesome.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bronwyn, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good so far

Just taken out an American Express Platinum Edge Card

Full review

Just taken out an American Express Platinum Edge Card

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Gregory, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Velocity Platinum Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very good service

The issue is that not many places accept the card in Australia . But I travel a lot

Full review

The issue is that not many places accept the card in Australia . But I travel a lot

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Harry, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

American Express

American Express Qantas Discovery Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No yearly premium. Great monthly deals.

Great card. No yearly fee and frequent flyer points. Have been getting great monthly deals as well. Not accepted by all retailers and others want to charge an amount to use it. I try to avoid those retailers.

Full review

Great card. No yearly fee and frequent flyer points. Have been getting great monthly deals as well. Not accepted by all retailers and others want to charge an amount to use it. I try to avoid those retailers.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Graham, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 863 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    Australian Military Bank Low Rate Visa Credit Card

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 additional cardholder fee
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Visa payWave for convenient contactless purchases under $100
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 45
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 19.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: $4.50
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 45 Australian Military Bank credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    Bankwest Breeze Platinum Mastercard

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $99

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 13 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Complimentary Credit Card Travel Insurance (T&Cs apply)
    • No foreign transaction fees on online and overseas purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $99
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 13 months then 12.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 1027 Bankwest credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Low Rate

    ANZ Low Rate

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.

    purchase rate

    12.49% p.a.

    annual fee

    $58

    Go to site

    More info

    • $1,000 minimum credit limit
    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 15 months (T&Cs apply)
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $58
    • Purchase rate: 12.49% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6066 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 218 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top