Thumbnail icon for American Express

American Express Credit card reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 898 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from American Express

Qantas Discovery Card

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$0
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Only headaches

    Every month I have issues with them. When making a payment it took more than a week to payment reflect into my account and although it was there fault they reduced my limit. Stay away!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hadi, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Beware Qantas Discovery promo offers with AMEX.

    Be aware of the Qantas promotional offers (eg.100000 points). Amex added $8,000 worth of false charges to my card during the promo period and took so long to remove them that I was forced to book an overseas holiday and spend on another card as the amex one was suspended. Amex took so long to rectify the mistakes then refused to honour the promotion, only asking me to spend more money on the card within 2 weeks as I was $800 short. This was not possible as I had just returned from an overseas holiday so they refused to honour the agreed promotion. Long story short, never got the 100000 points (sorry Qantas) and have had numerous random charges to my card since that were mistakes. Be very Careful with this card and check your statements constantly!

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dana, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Would not recommend.

    I'm in the process of cancelling this service. Customer service is lacking, and rewards are almost non existent. Disappointed.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Gus, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad service

    Overpaid my account by $10000 now after 8 phone calls and several emails I am told it will take 3 weeks to get my money back! You gotta be kidding me!

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • American Express Essential Credit Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Low charges and no annual fees

    Its a simple no frills credit card with reasonably low interest rate and no annual fees.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Danial, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great Card with one big downside

    Great credit card with good amount of points per purchase. However it isn't accepted everywhere which can be a hassle.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great card and very helpful

    Great card and service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Aaron, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    High reward credit card - Amex Qantas Explorer

    I love my Amex Qantas Explorer. It’s $450 but I get it back in Qantas credit, so it’s net net. There are generous Qantas points to be earned and bonus Amex offers with my favourite retailers. With Covid they have extended credits into 2021 before even asking. I’ve called about charges I haven’t recognised. They didn’t make me fill in lengthy forms they just took my word for it; a breath of fresh air. I’ve never had a bank make it so easy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Arianne, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Pathetic customer service

    Zero customer service. Took 4 weeks to get the card, apparently my details were lost and only followed up when I called. Subsequently my "account manager" offered to assist with booking travel. The assistance was simply providing a link to amex travel and no more. After my flight was booked and cancelled due to COVID-19 I was informed that no refund is available from AMEX, however United Airlines would provide a refund if I booked directly rather than through a third party that provided zero value.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Byron, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Premium Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great bonus points offer.

    The offer of 100,000 bonus Qantas points is great for those who love to travel, and a $3,000 minimum spend in three months is not unachievable for most if you put everything on the card.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Annie, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Comes with fantastic frequent flyer points

    Great credit card, especially for travel.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Siân, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Accepted less places but rewarded well when it is

    AMEX has this embedded dislike from many retailers and despite efforts to be more user friendly, the card sadly isn't accepted as easily as Mastercard or VISA. That said their local initiatives that support local as well as generous rewarding for per point spent still makes this my preferred card to use. Another bonus is the $450 annual Qantas credit once you get over the equally hefty annual fee of $450. The fee is cancelled out by the credit which makes owning the card not so bad on a year by year basis.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very happy customer.

    There is no fault with this credit card. The service is also amazing and the features are plentiful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anderson, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very good.

    Excellent!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    James., New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rewards program & quality service

    You get more rewards points which is a pro! Con is, its accepted at less businesses compared to other credit cards and it has higher interest rates.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Theo, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Balance Transfer Offer

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 22 months and then 20.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $129 $64 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 20 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Premier Platinum

      Purchase rate
      19.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $299 $199 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • frank Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 213 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.