American Express logo

American Express Credit card reviews

Overall rating
6.5/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 909 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from American Express

Qantas Ultimate Card

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$450
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    T&C's poorly advised

    To all Amex Card holders I suggest you make yourself aware of the disguised and poorly worded T&C's relating to ALL Amex offers. Their very recent "Amex Card delicious month" promotion allows your registered card to only partake in the 20% credit offer at a participating restaurant on virtually only ONE restaurant as it has a max. credit value of $25 per CARD...NOT PER RESTAURANT. Yes, their T&C's tell you this, however the terminology is very poorly worded. I spent a further $300 at 2 more restaurants and received NO CREDIT as I had already used my allocation on an earlier restaurant. Crazy situation..you would think Amex wanted you to use your card! ..not so apparently.

    Robert, Victoria, reviewed 28 days ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    American Express Failure.

    Not my first review for AMEX. Gold Card over 40 years of loyalty. Again they they are giving 5 days to pay or charging you a penalty. Initially, it was 1 month then 2 weeks NOW 3-5 days. Unreasonable and unprofessional. Result of contacting them and asking why no date stamp on envelope they read a script and then HANG up. 0/100 for professionalism.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed 21 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst customer service ever.

    They have the worst customer service I have ever seen in a credit card company. Don't even bother.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ivan, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great for shopping

    Amex from david jones is good credit card as you accumulate points by shopping at DJs and you can use your points to get great vouchers

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Khashayar, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No value for money.

    Will not recommend Amex Platinum card. Use to be $1200 annual fee then it increased to $1450 and the benefits decreased. Before it was 1 to 1 Qantas point but now it's 2 to 1 Qantas point. Contacted customer service asking about reduce fee or better benefit during the Covid-19 period where we can't use our travel credits, lounge benefits, hotel stays etc. All I get was a cut and paste responses and said they understand what I am saying but their benefits are awesome and they will do nothing more. Worst credit card provider ever. Only know ways to milk their existing customers.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Donald, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    American Express Qantas Card - Thumbs up.

    I'm able to accumulate Qantas Frequent Flyer points at the same time I'm making purchases and paying regular bills such as insurance, rates, water. I really like their partner offers and bonus points.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Angela, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy and intuitive planning

    Awesome online portal and great they give you an option to pay off your balance in equal instalments with PlanIt.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    No annual fee

    No annual fee makes this really easy to use and I automatically pay it off each month.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Caitlyn, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • American Express Velocity Escape Card

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great for points and rewards

    Great bank, lots of points and opportunity for bonus points. Great customer service.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad customer service.

    Bad customer service. I wanted to change my credit limit recently as I incorrectly increased it but their policy states you can only increase your limit every 180 days so I have to wait another 180 days to change the limit. If you want to raise a complaint you have to physically post a letter and then the team leader of the customer service department wanted to argue with me that it takes the same amount of time as sending an e-mail.

    Natasha, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Extremely poor service!

    I have used Amex credit card for the last ten years. 1. Not many small businesses accepting Amex! You can never trust it and you need to have a backup plan for payment. 2. They block your card with a drop of hat with the excuse of "preventing fraud", when you are there right at the time of payment, frustrated and happy to provide any opportunity to prove this is a genuine transaction, no one helps and even you never get any sympathy or apology (UK experience, March 2018). 3. The flight bonus is a joke! You need to purchase the ticket from the website they have affiliation with, and you realise the price of the ticket is way higher than the usual market, even after taking the Amex points and credit into consideration! 4. For tax purposes, I needed the last five years bank statements in "CSV" format, whilst NAB, Westpac and all other banks happily provide facility to access at least the last seven years, Amex even does not try and states their system does not allow beyond 18 months! In summary, Amex at any possible opportunity proves that it is not trustworthy, leaves the customer unsupported at the time of need and the points are useless. In an attempt to be fair, I have provided the feedback to the customer service as well.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mohsen, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Only headaches

    Every month I have issues with them. When making a payment it took more than a week to payment reflect into my account and although it was there fault they reduced my limit. Stay away!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hadi, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Beware Qantas Discovery promo offers with AMEX.

    Be aware of the Qantas promotional offers (eg.100000 points). Amex added $8,000 worth of false charges to my card during the promo period and took so long to remove them that I was forced to book an overseas holiday and spend on another card as the amex one was suspended. Amex took so long to rectify the mistakes then refused to honour the promotion, only asking me to spend more money on the card within 2 weeks as I was $800 short. This was not possible as I had just returned from an overseas holiday so they refused to honour the agreed promotion. Long story short, never got the 100000 points (sorry Qantas) and have had numerous random charges to my card since that were mistakes. Be very Careful with this card and check your statements constantly!

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dana, South Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Would not recommend.

    I'm in the process of cancelling this service. Customer service is lacking, and rewards are almost non existent. Disappointed.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Gus, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad service

    Overpaid my account by $10000 now after 8 phone calls and several emails I am told it will take 3 weeks to get my money back! You gotta be kidding me!

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Black Card

      Purchase rate
      20.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Kogan Rewards Points

      Promoted
    • Vertigo - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      6.99% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.49% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $55 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Freestyle Virtual Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      16.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $209 $0 - $149 based on credit limit, $5/month for balances over $20.
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 28 months and then 21.49% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 224 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.