Thumbnail icon for American Express

American Express Credit card reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
5.5/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 878 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from American Express

Qantas Ultimate Card

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$450
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    The worst I have experienced.

    Avoid this product. David Jones American Express application was so bad, I have top credit rating however they treated me like a criminal. They have no idea of processes or even basic customers service.

    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sheila, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • American Express Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Disappointing, frustrating, incompetent and so on.

    I applied for a Low Interest credit AMEX card, just the basic one, and I thought I could transfer my balance from my ANZ card, which had a higher rate. I filled out the application online and it was approved literally straight away. There was absolutely no indication of any problem or difficulty, so I thought the whole thing went through. A couple of days later I got a letter from the bank saying I was approved to transfer only a fraction of my request to the AMEX card, which was approved for a totally ridiculous 1000 credit limit only!! Even a high schooler would have received more, I think, with no income whatsoever. Once I received the letter and the card, I rang up straight away and wanted to cancel the deal. I was advised the credit limit cannot be changed since it's done by the machine, then also the transfer of the amount cannot be stopped, since it is also done by the machine, regardless of if you accepted the offer or not!! You would think, if you don't get what you applied for, someone will give you a call and let you know, and try to find out if you still want to go ahead with the deal or not. I mean, this would be a proper customer service procedure. They "assumed" - or the machine assumed - it is OK just to go ahead. I rang immediately, I cancelled my card, which was not even activated. It also makes me wonder how a balance can be transferred to a card which is not even active, but as I was told again, the machine is doing it. Yap, they cannot interfere with the machine! They cannot help me, sorry. I felt like I was going to explode, I was so bloody frustrated. AMEX shame on you, a ridiculously, inadequate, inefficient and incompetent lot. I advise not to start with them. I will never again, for sure.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ilona, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Extras alluring but no competitive edge.

    Love the extras but interest rate not competitive.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Gill, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Wastage of time and money.

    An American express person told me over the phone in November the last date to use the travel credit is the 14th of Feb 2020. On the 12th of Feb 2020 I was trying to book a hotel with me travel credit but American Express told me I no longer have the travel credit. And this time they told me last day to use the travel credit was January 2020. I lost my 400 AUD by the misinformation given to me. It is a total fraud. Plus I wasted 2 hours explaining this to American Express but no results. Waste of time and money.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Salman, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great rewards, not all vendors accept.

    Great rewards, but not all vendors accept Amex.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Lee, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Explorer® Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good card for the rewards.

    Great card. The benefits make this card a good choice.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jason, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Amex offers great service and rewards.

    American Express offers great rewards, communicates very well and their website is easy to use and follow. Customer service is second to none, regardless of the card type you have.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marc, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent benefits for a modest fee.

    Excellent deals and products for a modest fee that can be essentially redeemed for a $450 travel voucher.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kai, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Low Rate Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic customer service.

    I had an old Amex and wanted to change to a low rate option. Called customer service and it was the best experience I’ve had with a financial institution. So easy to deal with...

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anthony, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • American Express Velocity Platinum Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great for perks.

    Great card, great benefits, just a bit expensive but if all used it’s worth it.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Velocity Escape Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not accepted anywhere and often adds a fee for me.

    It's not accepted anywhere and often adds a fee for me to use that card. There are no branches, only over the phone and internet banking.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great convenience.

    Is a very convenient credit card for paying bills and collecting FF points.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service and card features.

    I have been an American Express member via the platinum card for over 10 years and they have always served me well.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy to use

    Very easy to use. Sometimes I feel that my card is not secure

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mere, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good service

    I like it because they have good service.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Veronica, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Orange One Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Discovery Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Gold Low Rate

      Purchase rate
      10.80% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 219 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.