Thumbnail icon for American Express

American Express Credit card reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
5.6/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
5.8/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 893 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from American Express

Qantas Discovery Card

Purchase rate
20.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$0
Rewards program
Qantas Frequent Flyer

Promoted

Recent American Express credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great Card with one big downside

    Great credit card with good amount of points per purchase. However it isn't accepted everywhere which can be a hassle.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    James, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great card and very helpful

    Great card and service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Aaron, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    High reward credit card - Amex Qantas Explorer

    I love my Amex Qantas Explorer. It’s $450 but I get it back in Qantas credit, so it’s net net. There are generous Qantas points to be earned and bonus Amex offers with my favourite retailers. With Covid they have extended credits into 2021 before even asking. I’ve called about charges I haven’t recognised. They didn’t make me fill in lengthy forms they just took my word for it; a breath of fresh air. I’ve never had a bank make it so easy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Arianne, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Pathetic customer service

    Zero customer service. Took 4 weeks to get the card, apparently my details were lost and only followed up when I called. Subsequently my "account manager" offered to assist with booking travel. The assistance was simply providing a link to amex travel and no more. After my flight was booked and cancelled due to COVID-19 I was informed that no refund is available from AMEX, however United Airlines would provide a refund if I booked directly rather than through a third party that provided zero value.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Byron, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Premium Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great bonus points offer.

    The offer of 100,000 bonus Qantas points is great for those who love to travel, and a $3,000 minimum spend in three months is not unachievable for most if you put everything on the card.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Annie, New South Wales, reviewed 24 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Comes with fantastic frequent flyer points

    Great credit card, especially for travel.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Siân, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Accepted less places but rewarded well when it is

    AMEX has this embedded dislike from many retailers and despite efforts to be more user friendly, the card sadly isn't accepted as easily as Mastercard or VISA. That said their local initiatives that support local as well as generous rewarding for per point spent still makes this my preferred card to use. Another bonus is the $450 annual Qantas credit once you get over the equally hefty annual fee of $450. The fee is cancelled out by the credit which makes owning the card not so bad on a year by year basis.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Christopher, New South Wales, reviewed 30 days ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very happy customer.

    There is no fault with this credit card. The service is also amazing and the features are plentiful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anderson, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very good.

    Excellent!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    James., New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rewards program & quality service

    You get more rewards points which is a pro! Con is, its accepted at less businesses compared to other credit cards and it has higher interest rates.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Theo, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service and rewards

    Great customer service, can never fault them. Unfortunately not all places take Amex.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Javed, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Platinum Edge Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Love it

    Great card to use and awesome facilities that are given along with the card as well.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Harley, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Discovery Card review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great for the frequent flyer Qantas program

    The discovery card has really boosted our qantas points. We love the large amount of points we get from using it. I hope more establishments take Amex in the future as it has helped us get business flights and upgrades without being out of pocket.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lana, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • American Express Credit Card review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Good customer service.

    Good customer service, but high interest rates.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Kenneth, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Amazing perks but... keep your wits about you.

    They're reliable... but really annoying. The kind of bank you instinctively know will be around forever simply because they're so good at money management. Sneakily greedy. Online banking is woeful compared to the mainstream Aussie banks and they make it so difficult to pay your credit card on time. No Osko quick payments, it typically takes 3-5 working days just to transfer money from another bank. And forget about paying some today whilst you think about it, and some tomorrow... because - you won't believe this - they don't let you pay them again until 5 days later. What the?!? Yes. ...oh and watch out for the late fee! It will blindside you. Customer Service is fast, very fast, and yes they'll kindly reverse that fee for you, but watch your back, I mean bank statement - as they'll probably still hit you up with late interest charges. Its the insincere customer service that really gets under my skin: "I'm so sorry about those late fees (again), and thank you for the feedback (again), and don't forget you can just call and we'll sort it all out (again)". If only they truly understood good service... then I wouldn't have to call. Ever. Bottom line - if you're brilliant at money management then all the a.maze.ing rewards and perks are worth it. Just always keep your wits about you.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Lara, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 13 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Qantas Premier Platinum

      Purchase rate
      19.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $299 $199 in the first year
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Qantas Discovery Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Platinum Edge Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $195
      Rewards program
      Membership Rewards

      Promoted
    • frank Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 212 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.