Bank Australia savings account reviews

Bank Australia
Bank Australia's overall rating for savings accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.5 / 10

based on 35 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured savings account from Bank Australia

Recent Bank Australia savings account reviews

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Online bank great for saving

Good bank to keep your money away from your everyday spending account, great interest rate.

Full review

Good bank to keep your money away from your everyday spending account, great interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jack (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Would not change

Been with them since it started as a credit union

Full review

Been with them since it started as a credit union

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Desma (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Hard to contact

Hard to contact.

Full review

Hard to contact.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kylie (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

A good alternative to the big four

Pros - they seem human in communications Cons - lack of branches

Full review

Pros - they seem human in communications Cons - lack of branches

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tim (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to deal with.

Most of the tellers are very easy to talk to and listen to any concerns I might have and help me find a solution.

Full review

Most of the tellers are very easy to talk to and listen to any concerns I might have and help me find a solution.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joan (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Could improve some

Good customer service but money disapearse from my account sometimes

Full review

Good customer service but money disapearse from my account sometimes

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Diane (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

They changed when they became a 'bigger' bank.

They brought in monthly account fees last year for the first time. Whilst I was overseas I had a lot of difficulty transferring money due to the VIP token application they asked me to download. The amount of interest you can gain is ok but not...

Full review

They brought in monthly account fees last year for the first time. Whilst I was overseas I had a lot of difficulty transferring money due to the VIP token application they asked me to download. The amount of interest you can gain is ok but not better than other banks like ING.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Lincoln (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

More.

Love the bank service.

Full review

Love the bank service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Veronica (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

This bank goes above and beyond

Full review

This bank goes above and beyond

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Meagan (SA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Positive social values, easy to deal with

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

Full review

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ben (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Terrible new statement design

Bank mecu have introduced a new statement layout. What an absolute shocker. Who is responsible for this? Any comparison with the previous layout will tell you it is a backward step. I thought a bank statement had three columns debit, credit and...

Full review

Bank mecu have introduced a new statement layout. What an absolute shocker. Who is responsible for this? Any comparison with the previous layout will tell you it is a backward step. I thought a bank statement had three columns debit, credit and balance. Not this one. Very difficult to reconcile. Not at all user friendly. Do something about it. Why must we constantly have change for changes sake?

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Malcolm (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Monthly account fee money grab

The $5 monthly account keeping fee is just a money grab.I am a pensioner so I must close my account .

Full review

The $5 monthly account keeping fee is just a money grab.I am a pensioner so I must close my account .

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Colin (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have never had a problem that mecu can't fix.

Full review

I have never had a problem that mecu can't fix.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rosemary (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Terrific

Would like the physical branch to be better placed. Terrific.

Full review

Would like the physical branch to be better placed. Terrific.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Betty (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A good bank

Friendly and easy to talk to.

Full review

Friendly and easy to talk to.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Noel (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Worst customer service ever

This bank is about as far left as the greens in their attitude to customers. They seem to think it is alright to look into all your personal business and then tell you what to buy (or they will penalise you). Stay away from this bank or you will...

Full review

This bank is about as far left as the greens in their attitude to customers. They seem to think it is alright to look into all your personal business and then tell you what to buy (or they will penalise you). Stay away from this bank or you will be sorry. It will take you days to get a loan approval.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is Number 1

Bankmecu has the best customer service that I have found in a bank.

Full review

Bankmecu has the best customer service that I have found in a bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not happy they changed banks from Regional One.

I do not think that there should be any fees on Savings Accounts as clients are putting money in which they get interest , which they sometimes pass onto the clients.

Full review

I do not think that there should be any fees on Savings Accounts as clients are putting money in which they get interest , which they sometimes pass onto the clients.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joan (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very trust worthy and do recommend

I like how the online banking is easily accessible .

Full review

I like how the online banking is easily accessible .

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jesse (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Pass on cuts in interest rates

Banks are money hungry, not for the customer but for the CEO, love to charge fees, all about shareholders and not about the customer.

Full review

Banks are money hungry, not for the customer but for the CEO, love to charge fees, all about shareholders and not about the customer.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee anne (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

We have been members since Maroondah Credit Union, we liked the customer service of both the credit union and now Bank Mercu. We have always found them courteous and treat us like humans, not just a number. Online banking is done well, we love...

Full review

We have been members since Maroondah Credit Union, we liked the customer service of both the credit union and now Bank Mercu. We have always found them courteous and treat us like humans, not just a number. Online banking is done well, we love their system of Direct Debit accounts. The only disappointment I feel is that if you need to go to deposit a cheque, it is a long way to go. I have 2 cheques sitting in my bag now, waiting to be deposited, but have to wait until I can get to Eastland. Thank you bank Mercu for your service, and for looking after us over the years.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glenise (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is brilliant

They always look after me , sending me updates on offers and have borrowed lots of money off them at very good interest rates , and they have lovely people working for them that are friendly and helpful.

Full review

They always look after me , sending me updates on offers and have borrowed lots of money off them at very good interest rates , and they have lovely people working for them that are friendly and helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vic (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Always happy, friendly and helpful.

Very easy to bank with. Extended opening hours, friendly and plenty available staff.

Full review

Very easy to bank with. Extended opening hours, friendly and plenty available staff.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sylvia (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Personal banking in a low fee environment

bankMECU is a community owned bank that was formerly a credit union. A benefit of this history is that the savings account comes with low fee chequebook to deal with those occasions when online payments are not available. As one of the smaller...

Full review

bankMECU is a community owned bank that was formerly a credit union. A benefit of this history is that the savings account comes with low fee chequebook to deal with those occasions when online payments are not available. As one of the smaller banks, it has few branches or ATMs but, to a large extent, those problems can be overcome by recourse to online payments or use of a cheque. Members of bankMECU have the advantage of dealing with staff who have a concern for their customers and will not extract harsh penalties for occasional financial oversights.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Keith (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not competitive with bigger banks and 4/10 service

The bank is ran by grumpy people. Sometimes in a good mood, but most of the time they make you want to not be there. My son had a savings account with $300 and didn't add to it for a year and $150 was left :( I can't think of any pros for my bank.

Full review

The bank is ran by grumpy people. Sometimes in a good mood, but most of the time they make you want to not be there. My son had a savings account with $300 and didn't add to it for a year and $150 was left :( I can't think of any pros for my bank.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Stephen (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account.
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 24 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    0.50% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    2.95% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Maxi Saver

    St.George Maxi Saver

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required

    special rate*

    2.70% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    bonus rate for first 3 months

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening
    • Access: Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account with this provider
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 724 St.George savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Westpac eSaver

    Westpac eSaver

    • Unlimited access to your money
    • Earn interest on every dollar
    • No monthly account service fee

    special rate*

    2.51% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 5 months from account opening

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Unlimited access to your money
    • Earn interest on every dollar
    • No monthly account service fee
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 5 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account with this provider. $5 fee applies for all transactions except phone and internet banking
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1602 Westpac savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 210 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

Back to top