Bank Australia savings account reviews

Bank Australia
Bank Australia's overall rating for savings accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.6 / 10

based on 149 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured savings account from Bank Australia

Recent Bank Australia savings account reviews

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great prices and very convenient

Banking with them means you aren't overcharged and they are also super convenient!

Full review

Banking with them means you aren't overcharged and they are also super convenient!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Leanne, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Very good and fast service.

Full review

Very good and fast service.

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Donato, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Ethical, member ownership, great customer service.

I love Bank Australia and hate the big four. I have used this bank for 40 years from when it was Ed. I love that they are ethical and don't invest in war or the destruction of the Great Barrier Reef etc. They rescued me twice when overseas without...

Full review

I love Bank Australia and hate the big four. I have used this bank for 40 years from when it was Ed. I love that they are ethical and don't invest in war or the destruction of the Great Barrier Reef etc. They rescued me twice when overseas without any hassles. They are secure and look out for my interests. I never had a problem with them, there is easy access, immediate response and polite warm interaction. I could not recommend them highly enough.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Online bank great for saving

Good bank to keep your money away from your everyday spending account, great interest rate.

Full review

Good bank to keep your money away from your everyday spending account, great interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jack, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Would not change

Been with them since it started as a credit union

Full review

Been with them since it started as a credit union

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Desma, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Hard to contact

Hard to contact.

Full review

Hard to contact.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kylie, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Online Saver savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

A good alternative to the big four

Pros - they seem human in communications Cons - lack of branches

Full review

Pros - they seem human in communications Cons - lack of branches

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tim, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to deal with.

Most of the tellers are very easy to talk to and listen to any concerns I might have and help me find a solution.

Full review

Most of the tellers are very easy to talk to and listen to any concerns I might have and help me find a solution.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joan, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Could improve some

Good customer service but money disapearse from my account sometimes

Full review

Good customer service but money disapearse from my account sometimes

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Diane, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

They changed when they became a 'bigger' bank.

They brought in monthly account fees last year for the first time. Whilst I was overseas I had a lot of difficulty transferring money due to the VIP token application they asked me to download. The amount of interest you can gain is ok but not...

Full review

They brought in monthly account fees last year for the first time. Whilst I was overseas I had a lot of difficulty transferring money due to the VIP token application they asked me to download. The amount of interest you can gain is ok but not better than other banks like ING.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Lincoln, Victoria, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

More.

Love the bank service.

Full review

Love the bank service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Veronica, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

This bank goes above and beyond

Full review

This bank goes above and beyond

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Meagan, South Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Positive social values, easy to deal with

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

Full review

Easy to deal with bank, with positive social values.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ben, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

im very good

i dont know

Full review

i dont know

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cynthia, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Terrible new statement design

Bank mecu have introduced a new statement layout. What an absolute shocker. Who is responsible for this? Any comparison with the previous layout will tell you it is a backward step. I thought a bank statement had three columns debit, credit and...

Full review

Bank mecu have introduced a new statement layout. What an absolute shocker. Who is responsible for this? Any comparison with the previous layout will tell you it is a backward step. I thought a bank statement had three columns debit, credit and balance. Not this one. Very difficult to reconcile. Not at all user friendly. Do something about it. Why must we constantly have change for changes sake?

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Malcolm, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Monthly account fee money grab

The $5 monthly account keeping fee is just a money grab.I am a pensioner so I must close my account .

Full review

The $5 monthly account keeping fee is just a money grab.I am a pensioner so I must close my account .

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Colin, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have never had a problem that mecu can't fix.

Full review

I have never had a problem that mecu can't fix.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rosemary, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Terrific

Would like the physical branch to be better placed. Terrific.

Full review

Would like the physical branch to be better placed. Terrific.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Betty, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A good bank

Friendly and easy to talk to.

Full review

Friendly and easy to talk to.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Noel, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Worst customer service ever

This bank is about as far left as the greens in their attitude to customers. They seem to think it is alright to look into all your personal business and then tell you what to buy (or they will penalise you). Stay away from this bank or you will...

Full review

This bank is about as far left as the greens in their attitude to customers. They seem to think it is alright to look into all your personal business and then tell you what to buy (or they will penalise you). Stay away from this bank or you will be sorry. It will take you days to get a loan approval.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is Number 1

Bankmecu has the best customer service that I have found in a bank.

Full review

Bankmecu has the best customer service that I have found in a bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not happy they changed banks from Regional One.

I do not think that there should be any fees on Savings Accounts as clients are putting money in which they get interest , which they sometimes pass onto the clients.

Full review

I do not think that there should be any fees on Savings Accounts as clients are putting money in which they get interest , which they sometimes pass onto the clients.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Joan, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia mySaver savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very trust worthy and do recommend

I like how the online banking is easily accessible .

Full review

I like how the online banking is easily accessible .

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jesse, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great interest rate

Excellent product that can be opened online, and provide excellent interest rate in todays market

Full review

Excellent product that can be opened online, and provide excellent interest rate in todays market

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jeff, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia savings account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Pass on cuts in interest rates

Banks are money hungry, not for the customer but for the CEO, love to charge fees, all about shareholders and not about the customer.

Full review

Banks are money hungry, not for the customer but for the CEO, love to charge fees, all about shareholders and not about the customer.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee anne, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 72 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Serious Saver

    HSBC Serious Saver

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes

    special rate*

    3.10% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)

    No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 1.40% bonus rate after

    standard interest rate

    0% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • No minimum deposit
    • Apply online in under 10 minutes
    • Special rate conditions: No withdrawals in the month. Bonus rate for first 4 months, reverting to 1.40% bonus rate after
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 320 HSBC savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    MyState Bank Bonus Saver Account

    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Deposits up to $250,000 per customer are guaranteed by the Australian Government
    • Enjoy bonus interest when you deposit $20 or more in to your Bonus Saver Account and make 5 or more eligible VISA Debit card transactions from your linked account each month

    special rate*

    2.60% p.a. (for $0 to $150,000)

    Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Deposits up to $250,000 per customer are guaranteed by the Australian Government
    • Enjoy bonus interest when you deposit $20 or more in to your Bonus Saver Account and make 5 or more eligible VISA Debit card transactions from your linked account each month
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 178 MyState Bank savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    UBank USaver with Ultra Transaction Account

    UBank USaver with Ultra Transaction Account

    • Bonus interest. Conditions apply
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees

    special rate*

    2.87% p.a. (for $0 to $200,000)

    Bonus interest only applies on funds held in linked USaver account if $200 deposited into either account in the month from an external source.

    standard interest rate

    1.81% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Bonus interest. Conditions apply
    • Visa Debit Card with Visa PayWave
    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus interest only applies on funds held in linked USaver account if $200 deposited into either account in the previous month from an external source and the combined balance is less than $200,000.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions:
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 670 UBank savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RaboDirect High Interest Savings Account

    RaboDirect High Interest Savings Account

    • Easy set up, online and mobile banking app
    • No fees, no minimum balance, no minimum monthly deposit and no minimum term
    • Kick start your savings with the 4 month introductory variable rate

    special rate*

    3.05% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

    standard interest rate

    1.80% p.a.(for $0 to $250,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Easy set up, online and mobile banking app
    • No fees, no minimum balance, no minimum monthly deposit and no minimum term
    • Kick start your savings with the 4 month introductory variable rate
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening, reverting to standard variable rate. Rate shown is for Personal customers and is subject to change. Different rates apply to Business/SMSF customers.
    • Access: Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 239 RaboDirect savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 217 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

Back to top