Bank First bank account reviews

Bank First
Bank First's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.4 / 10

based on 25 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from Bank First

Recent Bank First bank account reviews

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is second to none

Online and phone access is easy and the people you talk with are real. Call back is excellent. Never had any complaints regarding any of the queries I have asked them about.

Full review

Online and phone access is easy and the people you talk with are real. Call back is excellent. Never had any complaints regarding any of the queries I have asked them about.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Annita (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and trustworthy

Superb customer service. Prompt anti fraud notifications

Full review

Superb customer service. Prompt anti fraud notifications

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (VIC), reviewed 12 months ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very helpful

Great institution to be a part of

Full review

Great institution to be a part of

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gary (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Friendly service but a bit behind the times.

I like this bank because their customer service is great, but their rates are not competitive and they charge a fee if you use ATMs more than four times in a month.

Full review

I like this bank because their customer service is great, but their rates are not competitive and they charge a fee if you use ATMs more than four times in a month.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Clare (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service and great products

Amazing customer service and great products.

Full review

Amazing customer service and great products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachel (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exemplary service, no fees, easy to bank with.

VTMB is fully cashed-up, they have no debt at all (teachers are pretty conservative savers after all), so I have no doubt that my funds are safe. They are a highly professional organisation who, at the same time, always offer exemplary service. ...

Full review

VTMB is fully cashed-up, they have no debt at all (teachers are pretty conservative savers after all), so I have no doubt that my funds are safe. They are a highly professional organisation who, at the same time, always offer exemplary service. They make it easy to do banking. Oh, and zero fees is a huge plus.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ray (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates, easy to use service.

Two locations is not convenient. They let me compartmentalise my accounts into sub accounts which is great!

Full review

Two locations is not convenient. They let me compartmentalise my accounts into sub accounts which is great!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rebecca (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best.

Been a member of the Victorian Teachers bank for 35 years. Can't be beaten by any of the big banks.

Full review

Been a member of the Victorian Teachers bank for 35 years. Can't be beaten by any of the big banks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Russell (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service & products.

Banking with them since 1985 & have been consistently excellent. Products are excellent with low or no fees. Customer focussed with flexible, individual customer care.

Full review

Banking with them since 1985 & have been consistently excellent. Products are excellent with low or no fees. Customer focussed with flexible, individual customer care.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Have not used online facility

Always helpful. Often suggest better options for savings accounts. Very competitive rates. I fully trust them.

Full review

Always helpful. Often suggest better options for savings accounts. Very competitive rates. I fully trust them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank that really cares

The best bank in Australia. Always prompt with answers. Takes personal interest in what's best for the customers. One account that does all and where the bank is on the ball watching out for fraud.

Full review

The best bank in Australia. Always prompt with answers. Takes personal interest in what's best for the customers. One account that does all and where the bank is on the ball watching out for fraud.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customers come first

Because I OWN Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, just like all their other customers! And just like their other customers I benefit from outstanding customer service and a fair deal on rates and fees.

Full review

Because I OWN Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, just like all their other customers! And just like their other customers I benefit from outstanding customer service and a fair deal on rates and fees.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Symone (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is very efficient, user friendly

This bank has always been there for me. When I found myself in an extremely difficult short term fix financially I was helped very promptly and was very grateful. My family are also supported by this bank.

Full review

This bank has always been there for me. When I found myself in an extremely difficult short term fix financially I was helped very promptly and was very grateful. My family are also supported by this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dorothy (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

How a bank should be

I get charged nothing to use this bank account, which is how it should be seeing that we, the customer no longer have a choice about our money going into the bank. The only issue I have is that I can not get an account balance before I withdraw...

Full review

I get charged nothing to use this bank account, which is how it should be seeing that we, the customer no longer have a choice about our money going into the bank. The only issue I have is that I can not get an account balance before I withdraw money.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kate (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great rates, effective communication, easy online access.

Full review

Great rates, effective communication, easy online access.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pauline (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Do not use!

The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased...

Full review

The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased and are rigidly applied. At least with big banks, if you don't like dealing with embittered call centre staff you can pop down to your local branch - but this is not the case with VTMB. Good luck locating one of their only two branches, finding parking there and actually getting one of their workers' attention! My experience is that no matter how you try to do business with thus bank, you'll be treated like a nuisance, charged punitive fees for troubling them, and encouraged to close all your accounts if you don't like it! Avoid!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Daniela (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service from all aspects, highly recommended

The customer service which I receive from my bank is the best I have ever received from any company/organisation. Easy options to talk to someone who is knowledgeable by phone and I can understand them!!! Easy to transfer money between accounts...

Full review

The customer service which I receive from my bank is the best I have ever received from any company/organisation. Easy options to talk to someone who is knowledgeable by phone and I can understand them!!! Easy to transfer money between accounts and easy Internet banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible customer service

Only two branches right in the city so useless if you need to go in. Fees for overdrawn or dishonour etc are horrendous so don't overdraw by 15c or you will end up paying $17.50 for your mistake as I did. I have been trying to close my account for...

Full review

Only two branches right in the city so useless if you need to go in. Fees for overdrawn or dishonour etc are horrendous so don't overdraw by 15c or you will end up paying $17.50 for your mistake as I did. I have been trying to close my account for this reason, as I have switched to a better bank that treats their customers better than this, but can't even close my account as on the phone they tell me I need to request it in writing, but they have not responded to my 3 emails they told me to send. I have called to follow up each time and am asked to send again. They musn't want to return my $10 membership fee? When applying for my loan when I was an active customer the process was extremely slow. There are better banks. I was sucked in as I'm a teacher and thought they'd look after me, but there's no respect from them...just a number who accidentally took out 15¢ too much.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Other banks promise, Victoria Teachers delivers

I frequently travel to parts of Africa and I know it must be a challenge at times for my bank to cater to my specific needs. But they always do - and have done for the last 20 years that I've banked with them - and always with a...

Full review

I frequently travel to parts of Africa and I know it must be a challenge at times for my bank to cater to my specific needs. But they always do - and have done for the last 20 years that I've banked with them - and always with a smile. Flexible, customer-focused, personalised. Many banks promise it, Victoria Teachers Mutual bank delivers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sara (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

They are easy to deal with although they only have 1 branch in Melbourne, so they are not that accessible for face to face service. Fees are low and customer service is always great.

Full review

They are easy to deal with although they only have 1 branch in Melbourne, so they are not that accessible for face to face service. Fees are low and customer service is always great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Carol (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates, ease of use and good service

I bank with VCTU as they stated that as a credit union, interest rates are low, bank fees are low and can be made even lower if you follow the bank's suggestions. Convenience of use of ATMs, local branch within walking distance. If your funds/...

Full review

I bank with VCTU as they stated that as a credit union, interest rates are low, bank fees are low and can be made even lower if you follow the bank's suggestions. Convenience of use of ATMs, local branch within walking distance. If your funds/ income is ok the ability to obtain a loan: house, bridging finance, credit is there to access. Polite over the counter service. Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Listen to and act on complaints or requests. Also the ability to have multiple accounts within the same account, for example a Christmas Club, online savings account, credit card , so it is easy to have income allocated to separate accounts and also it is easy to transfer funds between accounts.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Denise (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent bank, will stay with them always

Excellent customer service, always friendly, reliable and helpful and you always feel like a valued customer, not an annoyance!

Full review

Excellent customer service, always friendly, reliable and helpful and you always feel like a valued customer, not an annoyance!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kerry , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service second to none

Victeach have been a wonderful help to me especially with their service with insurance and any general enquiries I may have. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for another bank.

Full review

Victeach have been a wonderful help to me especially with their service with insurance and any general enquiries I may have. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for another bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exemplary service to customers in every respect

A friendly community oriented credit union which has expanded in time to become a formidable competitor with major banks, yet maintains its standards to provide exemplary service to customers in every respect.

Full review

A friendly community oriented credit union which has expanded in time to become a formidable competitor with major banks, yet maintains its standards to provide exemplary service to customers in every respect.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, fees can sting

Great service but be careful to keep transactions to a minimum in order to avoid fees.

Full review

Great service but be careful to keep transactions to a minimum in order to avoid fees.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 113 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top