Bank First bank account reviews

Bank First
Bank First's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.9 / 10

based on 79 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from Bank First

Recent Bank First bank account reviews

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

There fees are the cheapest that I have heard off

The branch network is minimal but with online banking that is not a problem.

Full review

The branch network is minimal but with online banking that is not a problem.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer owned banking

They are focused on their customers not the shareholders.

Full review

They are focused on their customers not the shareholders.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is second to none

Online and phone access is easy and the people you talk with are real. Call back is excellent. Never had any complaints regarding any of the queries I have asked them about.

Full review

Online and phone access is easy and the people you talk with are real. Call back is excellent. Never had any complaints regarding any of the queries I have asked them about.

    Price   10 / 10

Less

Annita, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and trustworthy

Superb customer service. Prompt anti fraud notifications

Full review

Superb customer service. Prompt anti fraud notifications

    Price   5 / 10

Less

Barbara, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very helpful

Great institution to be a part of

Full review

Great institution to be a part of

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gary, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Friendly service but a bit behind the times.

I like this bank because their customer service is great, but their rates are not competitive and they charge a fee if you use ATMs more than four times in a month.

Full review

I like this bank because their customer service is great, but their rates are not competitive and they charge a fee if you use ATMs more than four times in a month.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Clare, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service and great products

Amazing customer service and great products.

Full review

Amazing customer service and great products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rachel, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exemplary service, no fees, easy to bank with.

VTMB is fully cashed-up, they have no debt at all (teachers are pretty conservative savers after all), so I have no doubt that my funds are safe. They are a highly professional organisation who, at the same time, always offer exemplary service. ...

Full review

VTMB is fully cashed-up, they have no debt at all (teachers are pretty conservative savers after all), so I have no doubt that my funds are safe. They are a highly professional organisation who, at the same time, always offer exemplary service. They make it easy to do banking. Oh, and zero fees is a huge plus.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ray, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Great

Full review

Great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Simon, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates, easy to use service.

Two locations is not convenient. They let me compartmentalise my accounts into sub accounts which is great!

Full review

Two locations is not convenient. They let me compartmentalise my accounts into sub accounts which is great!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rebecca, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best.

Been a member of the Victorian Teachers bank for 35 years. Can't be beaten by any of the big banks.

Full review

Been a member of the Victorian Teachers bank for 35 years. Can't be beaten by any of the big banks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Russell, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service & products.

Banking with them since 1985 & have been consistently excellent. Products are excellent with low or no fees. Customer focussed with flexible, individual customer care.

Full review

Banking with them since 1985 & have been consistently excellent. Products are excellent with low or no fees. Customer focussed with flexible, individual customer care.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Have not used online facility

Always helpful. Often suggest better options for savings accounts. Very competitive rates. I fully trust them.

Full review

Always helpful. Often suggest better options for savings accounts. Very competitive rates. I fully trust them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank that really cares

The best bank in Australia. Always prompt with answers. Takes personal interest in what's best for the customers. One account that does all and where the bank is on the ball watching out for fraud.

Full review

The best bank in Australia. Always prompt with answers. Takes personal interest in what's best for the customers. One account that does all and where the bank is on the ball watching out for fraud.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customers come first

Because I OWN Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, just like all their other customers! And just like their other customers I benefit from outstanding customer service and a fair deal on rates and fees.

Full review

Because I OWN Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, just like all their other customers! And just like their other customers I benefit from outstanding customer service and a fair deal on rates and fees.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Symone, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is very efficient, user friendly

This bank has always been there for me. When I found myself in an extremely difficult short term fix financially I was helped very promptly and was very grateful. My family are also supported by this bank.

Full review

This bank has always been there for me. When I found myself in an extremely difficult short term fix financially I was helped very promptly and was very grateful. My family are also supported by this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dorothy, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant

they are so helpful and friendly

Full review

they are so helpful and friendly

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

How a bank should be

I get charged nothing to use this bank account, which is how it should be seeing that we, the customer no longer have a choice about our money going into the bank. The only issue I have is that I can not get an account balance before I withdraw...

Full review

I get charged nothing to use this bank account, which is how it should be seeing that we, the customer no longer have a choice about our money going into the bank. The only issue I have is that I can not get an account balance before I withdraw money.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kate, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great rates, effective communication, easy online access.

Full review

Great rates, effective communication, easy online access.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pauline, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Do not use!

The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased...

Full review

The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased and are rigidly applied. At least with big banks, if you don't like dealing with embittered call centre staff you can pop down to your local branch - but this is not the case with VTMB. Good luck locating one of their only two branches, finding parking there and actually getting one of their workers' attention! My experience is that no matter how you try to do business with thus bank, you'll be treated like a nuisance, charged punitive fees for troubling them, and encouraged to close all your accounts if you don't like it! Avoid!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Daniela, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service from all aspects, highly recommended

The customer service which I receive from my bank is the best I have ever received from any company/organisation. Easy options to talk to someone who is knowledgeable by phone and I can understand them!!! Easy to transfer money between accounts...

Full review

The customer service which I receive from my bank is the best I have ever received from any company/organisation. Easy options to talk to someone who is knowledgeable by phone and I can understand them!!! Easy to transfer money between accounts and easy Internet banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great

Good service

Full review

Good service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andrew waters, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible customer service

Only two branches right in the city so useless if you need to go in. Fees for overdrawn or dishonour etc are horrendous so don't overdraw by 15c or you will end up paying $17.50 for your mistake as I did. I have been trying to close my account for...

Full review

Only two branches right in the city so useless if you need to go in. Fees for overdrawn or dishonour etc are horrendous so don't overdraw by 15c or you will end up paying $17.50 for your mistake as I did. I have been trying to close my account for this reason, as I have switched to a better bank that treats their customers better than this, but can't even close my account as on the phone they tell me I need to request it in writing, but they have not responded to my 3 emails they told me to send. I have called to follow up each time and am asked to send again. They musn't want to return my $10 membership fee? When applying for my loan when I was an active customer the process was extremely slow. There are better banks. I was sucked in as I'm a teacher and thought they'd look after me, but there's no respect from them...just a number who accidentally took out 15ยข too much.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Michelle, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Other banks promise, Victoria Teachers delivers

I frequently travel to parts of Africa and I know it must be a challenge at times for my bank to cater to my specific needs. But they always do - and have done for the last 20 years that I've banked with them - and always with a...

Full review

I frequently travel to parts of Africa and I know it must be a challenge at times for my bank to cater to my specific needs. But they always do - and have done for the last 20 years that I've banked with them - and always with a smile. Flexible, customer-focused, personalised. Many banks promise it, Victoria Teachers Mutual bank delivers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sara, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

They are easy to deal with although they only have 1 branch in Melbourne, so they are not that accessible for face to face service. Fees are low and customer service is always great.

Full review

They are easy to deal with although they only have 1 branch in Melbourne, so they are not that accessible for face to face service. Fees are low and customer service is always great.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Carol, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Atm networks: MyState, The Rock
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.4

    Based on 78 MyState Bank bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases

    account fee

    $10.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 3502 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Atm networks: HSBC
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 175 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 518 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 3502 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 109 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top