BankSA personal loan reviews

BankSA
BankSA's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.6 / 10

based on 22 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from BankSA

Recent BankSA personal loan reviews

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly staff but not many branches available

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

Full review

Systems are not always user-friendly for aged people.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Terry (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

BankSA

BankSA Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hate this bank

Been a customer for 31 years and after falling behind in repayments after mother passed away and I was unwell, bank was threatening me with legal action for $1700

Full review

Been a customer for 31 years and after falling behind in repayments after mother passed away and I was unwell, bank was threatening me with legal action for $1700

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Deborah (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and competitive rates.

A great bank for south aussies :)

Full review

A great bank for south aussies :)

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gavin (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Keep doing what you're doing!

I love Bank SA!

Full review

I love Bank SA!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Briony (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service and competitive prices!

The account fees and interest rate were competitive with other banks and I was allowed the flexibility to pay the loan off earlier than the timeframe in the contract with no additional penalties for doing so.

Full review

The account fees and interest rate were competitive with other banks and I was allowed the flexibility to pay the loan off earlier than the timeframe in the contract with no additional penalties for doing so.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Nicole (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Quick and easy to use and apply

Full review

Quick and easy to use and apply

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Vasilios (SA), reviewed about 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good product that has met our needs. Convenient.

The service to my wife when buying this product was courteous and efficient. A pleasure to work with. Differentiating on price is difficult in the Australian banking sector, however service is another thing entirely!

Full review

The service to my wife when buying this product was courteous and efficient. A pleasure to work with. Differentiating on price is difficult in the Australian banking sector, however service is another thing entirely!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tim (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service.

BankSa went out of their way to assist us with our recent personal loan. It was fast, simple and a very happy experience.

Full review

BankSa went out of their way to assist us with our recent personal loan. It was fast, simple and a very happy experience.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Caroline (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service, easy to use online banking

Easy to access lots of branches, great service and lots of products to suit your needs.

Full review

Easy to access lots of branches, great service and lots of products to suit your needs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Simon (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service!

This bank has been very understanding and helpful with my money issues the last few months, they have helped me and have worked at my pace until I am back on track!

Full review

This bank has been very understanding and helpful with my money issues the last few months, they have helped me and have worked at my pace until I am back on track!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paige (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Put my needs before theirs

I was phoned by my personal banking officer to check on how I was going with the loan and loan repayments even though I hadn't missed a repayment and suggested we could review it because a better product had become available which would make...

Full review

I was phoned by my personal banking officer to check on how I was going with the loan and loan repayments even though I hadn't missed a repayment and suggested we could review it because a better product had become available which would make significant saving for me over the term of the loan. I was very impressed as the bank was thinking of me and not their bottom-line. Certainly not like past experience with other banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Glenn (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Did not explain

We took out a personal loan for our son to buy a car which was fine but then the bank said it would be a great idea to change the loan into his name for a credit rating which we did. Not only were we charged $550.00 initially but the interest rate...

Full review

We took out a personal loan for our son to buy a car which was fine but then the bank said it would be a great idea to change the loan into his name for a credit rating which we did. Not only were we charged $550.00 initially but the interest rate was higher, this was absolutely disappointing as it took the loan back up. When we questioned as to why they did not let us know they said that they thought it was standard that we should know, I mean I am not a banker.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Sharon (SA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Bank SA is my bank with ears that hear!

A Bank is a Bank but not Bank SA, it is a great Bank! Helpful, honest and guess what the staff have ears and they hear! They hear what you say, ask and listen then surprise surprise......they answer your questions and provide any information that...

Full review

A Bank is a Bank but not Bank SA, it is a great Bank! Helpful, honest and guess what the staff have ears and they hear! They hear what you say, ask and listen then surprise surprise......they answer your questions and provide any information that would help and clarify what was asked! It's the EARS.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lynda , reviewed almost 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates, wonderful customer service

I liked Bank SA because the interest rate for my personal loan was very competitive, as a matter of fact it was the lowest interest rate I found among other banks including People's Choice who are known to be very competitive with interest rates....

Full review

I liked Bank SA because the interest rate for my personal loan was very competitive, as a matter of fact it was the lowest interest rate I found among other banks including People's Choice who are known to be very competitive with interest rates. The customer service is wonderful, they are very helpful and understanding to the customers needs and very flexible when it comes to the repayments which is handy for those who like to budget! The only con I can think of is re-financing the loan (to get more out), i did this and it was more difficult than expected but none the less they got the job done for me.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rodger (SA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Below Average

Bank charges are way too severe Some staff/loan consultants give wrong information resulting in additional un-wanted fees for existing loans and are unwilling to return phone calls, or to help rectify problems with existing accounts.

Full review

Bank charges are way too severe Some staff/loan consultants give wrong information resulting in additional un-wanted fees for existing loans and are unwilling to return phone calls, or to help rectify problems with existing accounts.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Robert (SA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Unbelievable!

Applied for a personal loan, within 6 hours were informed of our application which was granted.

Full review

Applied for a personal loan, within 6 hours were informed of our application which was granted.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Darissa (SA), reviewed about 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Who you get counts

BankSA personal loans are reasonable. Depending on who you talk to, customer service will vary your experience. One rep I talked to went out of her way and was fantastic. Another person I had talked to didn't really help.

Full review

BankSA personal loans are reasonable. Depending on who you talk to, customer service will vary your experience. One rep I talked to went out of her way and was fantastic. Another person I had talked to didn't really help.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jocolyn , reviewed about 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low interest

BankSA provide great loans, with low interest rates. Also very quick and professional in the set up of the loan.

Full review

BankSA provide great loans, with low interest rates. Also very quick and professional in the set up of the loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service, always kind

This bank was my local bank. The pros were I didn't have to tell them all my details every time I went to the bank because they knew who I was anyway. Which could be a con as well. They were also always quick and easy to deal with. Always kind and...

Full review

This bank was my local bank. The pros were I didn't have to tell them all my details every time I went to the bank because they knew who I was anyway. Which could be a con as well. They were also always quick and easy to deal with. Always kind and looked after me the best they could.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tegan (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very efficient and professional

BankSA made things very easy for me when I wanted to consolidate my finances into one personal loan. Not only were the rates very competitive but they also conducted the process extremely efficiently.

Full review

BankSA made things very easy for me when I wanted to consolidate my finances into one personal loan. Not only were the rates very competitive but they also conducted the process extremely efficiently.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Julia (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fantastic assistance when in need

We needed help managing our debt and things were really not looking good. The loan manager at the bank really did everything she could to get us a good loan. She pushed as hard as she could with her superiors to get us a loan when other banks...

Full review

We needed help managing our debt and things were really not looking good. The loan manager at the bank really did everything she could to get us a good loan. She pushed as hard as she could with her superiors to get us a loan when other banks wouldn't. Without her and the bank's backing, we would probably be in bankruptcy by now which is not how we wanted to start off in our daughter's life. We are really truly grateful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Steph (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer sevice

My partner had a very bad accident in oct2012 he got crushed by a hay cutter and was seriously got hurt and is still getting over it and is still having surgery this will be his second operation. Since then he has been laid off from his job, I...

Full review

My partner had a very bad accident in oct2012 he got crushed by a hay cutter and was seriously got hurt and is still getting over it and is still having surgery this will be his second operation. Since then he has been laid off from his job, I also had to give up my work as I am about to go in and have a knee replacement, I got in contact with the bank about my loan and spoke to them about hardship and they were more than helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tanya (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great loan if you have property collateral

I currently have a personal portfolio loan (this means that I have used my full ownership in my home as security) and its a great product. It is a fixed at 7% interest over a maximum repayment period of seven years. I currently have a direct debit...

Full review

I currently have a personal portfolio loan (this means that I have used my full ownership in my home as security) and its a great product. It is a fixed at 7% interest over a maximum repayment period of seven years. I currently have a direct debit payment system that pays back the loan each fortnight, but you can also pay extra back over the counter, via phone banking (linked to other accounts) or via your visa card or debit card. This product also comes with optional income protection that will automatically cover your minimum repayments should you fall ill, become incapacitated or die. I have used this particular type of loan three times now over a twenty year period and am very happy with its set up and how it can assist people like myself.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ira (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent customer service

I like this bank and particularly their country branch at Yorketown, mainly due to the every friendly staff - nothing is too much for them to do for you - well done.

Full review

I like this bank and particularly their country branch at Yorketown, mainly due to the every friendly staff - nothing is too much for them to do for you - well done.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

BankSA

BankSA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low interest and a comfortable and affordable loan

I have always had the most friendly service, they understood my financial hardship and were not judgemental.

Full review

I have always had the most friendly service, they understood my financial hardship and were not judgemental.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval

    interest rate

    7.39% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.74% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.39% would cost $36,224.29 including fees.

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 5 IMB Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.46% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.46% would cost $11,432.64 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    interest rate

    7.49% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.04% p.a.to 16.15% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.49% would cost $36,439.75 including fees.

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Residential Property, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $25,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 RACV personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    7.65% p.a.to 21.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $0.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 191 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top