Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Bank account customer reviews

Overall rating
7.7/10
Price
7.5/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Convenience
7.2/10
Trust
8.0/10
Based on 429 Great Southern Bank bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Great Southern Bank bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Good rates, average service, bad app

    Great customer service, once you can actually speak to someone on the phone. Some elements of their products require you to physically attend a branch, however they don't have many, and their trading hours are very limited. App is a bit clunky and average in features compared to other banks. Good interest rates compared to the bigger banks too

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Remarkable

    I love Great Southern Bank for its outstanding customer service, efficient online and mobile banking choices, competitive product range and overall steadfastness. The bank's customised strategy and credibility meeting my monetary necessities have made my banking journey beneficial and rewarding.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sonia, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    exceptional Service

    Great Southern Bank offers superior banking experience, a wide range of products tailored to your requirements, user-friendly digital banking choices, competitive rates and a strong dedication to community participation making it a favourable choice for customers pursuing a trustworthy banking experience.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sonia, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Security for my account

    Always h r lpful when I ring also when unusual amount was trying to be drawn they blocked till could verify it was me made me feel they have my safety at heart highly recommend

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janice, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Great bank to be with

    I have been a customer for over 40 years the staff are friendly when I go into a branch and are ready to answer any questions I have had problems with my debit card and they were quick to help.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sylvia, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Good old fashioned bank with new ideas

    Good old fashioned in branch service when needed& a great selection of different accounts. Also never any problems with phone banking

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kerry, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Highly recommended

    I have been with GSB for many many years now and their service is wonderful, home loans are great and are not outsourced to overseas call centres.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ainsley, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Poor customer service

    I have been a client of Great Southern Bank (formerly CUA) for 35 years. They were great. I would call if I needed to and a friendly staff member would effortlessly help. Not so now. I have wasted hours on my phone to get things sorted. I have an E Saver account with a small interest rate of just over 1% and I rang to see what that interest rate was. The person on the phone would not tell me as they did not have my birthdate recorded after 35 years. I asked for the account with the highest rate and was told it was also an E saver. I wondered why my account did not have this rate. After many calls and a few weeks I was told it was easy to transfer my account on the phone. I asked for my interest to be backdated to my first enquiry and was told no it could not. Now moving to hopefully a more efficient, caring organization that is customer focused like they used to be.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Suzann, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Good face to face customer service

    Great Southern Bank provides face to face service at their branches Although the amount of branches has decreased, there is still one local to me. I find that the staff are helpful, they listen to my needs, and assist when required. They are still like the local credit union and seem to provide personal service and value their customers.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sharron, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Poor customer service.

    After 35 years with Great Southern Bank (formerly CUA) I am now told I need to provide my birthdate to talk with someone. Over 35 years I have talked with many staff and have items actioned but now need to fill in a form and provide 100 points of id by certification. I can't believe that they have lost this information and now I have to take time to organize this. The call itself took 25 minutes for someone to tell me this. This first person could not turn on their mic. I think the call center may have been outsourced overseas as I did not have these problems in the past. I will be moving.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Suzann, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    GSB - a great bank

    Great Southern Bank (ex-CUA) is a customer focused bank. They will (or at least have for me previously), recommend products that will save you money (they recommended that I change from an EFTPOS debit card to a VISA debit card). I haven't seen many banks that do this sort of customer support. The fees are also very affordable.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Originally a credit union

    I originally opened an account with GSB when they were still CUA, I picked them as they were a credit union and appealed to me wanting to get away from the bigger banks.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    April, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Online bank is super helpful

    I like that this bank is mostly online as I travel a lot so having that solid online support is extremely helpful for me. On top of that, any time I have gone in person, the attendants have been very helpful and understanding.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brigette, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    GSB does not honour interests of old customers.

    I am disappointed in Gt Southern Bank. I had my whole house money deposited over 6 years ago with them. My mother has had an account with them for 60 years. While she was sick and the month she died Dec 22, I was too busy to check if a recurring $250 deposit actually went through. It didn't.. So my interest for the month was $58.50 and the interest earnt with same amount with AMP was $900! I did ask would a concession be made due to my mother dying that month. But no. So I have withdrawn my cash and am doing far better with their competitors. I would not recommend depositing your money into Great Southern Bank. Thank you Mozo for this opportunity to share.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lois, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Would recommend this bank to family & friends.

    I have been using this bank for over 40 years are very easy to deal with. Online banking is easy to navigate. Mortgage interest rates are competitive with other banks. Only thing against them is a lack of conveniently located branches.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Frank, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Orange Everyday

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID, PayTo
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Options Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Spend Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Wallet, PayID, Samsung Pay, Fitbit Pay, Garmin Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Browse all 237 bank accounts in Mozo's comparison database.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.