Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 397 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured bank account from Great Southern Bank

Everyday Snap Account

account fee
$0.00
Payment Options
Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
interest rate
0% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Great Southern Bank bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Worst bank ever

    I have banked with CUA now GSB for over 30 years and I am now finally taking my business and banking elsewhere. In fact I’m not sure why I have remained loyal for so long. This bank does not care about your loyalty, nor do they care about customer service. You are treated as a number. Furthermore, they are disorganised, amateur and unreliable. Try going overseas and relying on them to be there for you if you have issues with their cards. Try getting them to locate money they have lost in a transaction. Keep your anti anxiety pills handy. Try finding a convenient branch, you won’t. Try finding someone to deal with your loan application in a timely manner, you won’t. Try getting them to respond to your emails. You won’t. Terrible, shocking horrendous service. Goodbye GSB.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Twishie, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Competitive with big banks

    I've been a member for close to 15 years along with the rest of my family and never had a reason to change even after researching other banks. Their app and website are user-friendly and the features are similar to what other banks offer i.e naming your accounts, and hiding savings accounts. Interest rates are competitive and there are no fees. The staff are always personable and offer to update your accounts to the latest product offerings to assist savings.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    NOT a bank kowtowing to shareholders

    Easy to set up multiple accounts. You can 'hide' an account to build savings. Easy to move money between accounts Easy to set up and manage automatic payments through transfers and BPay. NOT a regular bank. They are not beholden to shareholders, working only for shareholders. They are not predatory.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Keep away from this bank

    Stay away from this bank. Made a purchase using PayPal, I had the order cancelled so great Southern bank decided to hold my funds for 10 working days. Keep away from this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Good online service but no branch close to my town

    They are very helpful and their online accounts are easy to navigate. The only down side is that they do not have a branch near me.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kathleen, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Worst bank ever

    Applied online for a bank account for my young son. Uploaded his birth certificate and medicare card. They couldn't verify his identity online, so they emailed me a form to print, take to post office, verify and send, which I did. Didn't hear back anything from them for two weeks then got an email saying application had expired. Rang them up, on hold for 25 minutes, customer service lady said no record of the letter. I then asked her if she would like my application number, to which she answered she couldn't check that. I then gave her my application number, she said no record of mine or my son's name in the system. Told me I would have to go through the whole process again. No thanks I'll just go to a competent bank.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Clayton, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    They are amazing

    This bank is amazing the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and they also go out of their way to find an answer to your enquire.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jessica, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Poor and dishonest customer service

    I called to ask to receive a bank statement on Saturday. I was on hold for 25minutes before my call was taken. I was told I would have it by Monday. I called at 2pm Tuesday. The guy told me it takes 1-2 business days to receive it, so I should call closer to 5pm on the COB. I explained I was told I would have it by Monday, so the difference of calling at 2pm or 5pm was irrelevant, and seems strange to ask me to call back so close to COB, when it was not going to get completed past 5pm? He laughed and said they were very busy so it might take longer.. I am still waiting on this statement which is greatly holding me up in another area. Would not recommend this bank due to: Poor customer service, dishonest time frames, not sticking to time frames, not trustworthy, not convenient or even responsive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elisha, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Horrible customer service and process for fraud

    I am a 15+ year customer of CUA. Held multiple loans and accounts with them. I experienced fraud activity on my card this week. In the past 24hrs on hold over an hour to talk to someone, to be told I needed to contact each merchant myself and to complete a hand written form for each transaction. There are over 27. They advised may take 40+ business days to resolve. Despite 12 more transactions pending they told me they could not stop them. This is $8,000+ and still going. Can not talk to anyone. Am on hold now 30+ minutes to try talk to a manager. They just transferred me again to the fraud dept. Have reported the fraud to the police, they are appalled at the service and advised me to change banks asap. Note, their fraud dept is not linked to the Bank at all, so I wasted my time talking with them (45mins) , they can just lodge a report, I then had to call customer service (35min on hold x 3 times). They did not pick up this fraudulent activity.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maureen, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Bizarre possibly fraudulent

    This bank refuses to provide its SWIFT code when asked. This is absolutely bizarre.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Leonie, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Stay away if you are looking for a business acc

    No customer service on weekends. I made a large transaction for my business on a Friday, they sent me a fraud text and locked up my account . I called as advised late on Friday jumped all of the hoops as requested to verify the transaction, once completed I was told my account would be unlocked. 24 hours later my account is still locked, There is no access to proper help on the weekend so have to wait till Monday to get this fixed... Infuriating . Stay away from this bank if you are a business customer. They have two tiers of access one for personal account holders which will give you full and reasonable access to your transaction data at least 2 years. For business account holders it is a cut down online interface 6 months transaction data and no more, I asked them about a fix for this problem and was told there are no plans on the horizon to fix this. Their contempt for their small business customers is breathtaking. This is the last straw for me as it is now the second time they have locked my account before a weekend. I am looking for a new bank.

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Darren, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Unreliable

    I came to CUA because I got tired of being messed around by my previous banks automated screening and blocking of credit card transactions. Now it seems CUA are adopting the same lousy policy where I never know if any transaction I make will be declined or not. I am not able to whitelist any sites and today after I tried to purchase something online it was declined twice and when I contacted CUA online to try and get the transaction allowed I was told that the onus was on me to contact CUA by PHONE and request the transaction be allowed. Finally when I went back to the checkout for the site I was trying to purchase from I found that my card is now BANNED by them because of multiple declined transactions. I do not know what use a bank is if their transaction account has a 50% chance of allowing transactions :-( Unfortunately I am in the midst of a number of large financial transactions right now and it would be a pain to pull everything out of my account and spin the wheel again to find a reliable bank, or I would have closed the account on the spot. Useless organisation - renamed to Great Southern Bank or not, they are barely a bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Just a Fantastic financial institution

    I’ve been with credit union Australia for about 4 years since I moved to Rockhampton I will not go near the big 4 as I believe you are only a number to the big 4. Credit union Australia bend over backwards to give the best result from my everyday account to my health insurance to my car insurance I highly rate C.U.A.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rohan, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Exceptional customer service and product offering

    I’ve been banking with CUA for over 20 years and find them to be very responsive to my needs. Excellent range of services offered and exceptional customer service every time. Branches are not as prolific as other institutions but with online banking, post offices and atm affiliation with other banks banking is easy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Bernadette, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    better than any bank

    The largest branch network in Australia and the longest trading hours 6 days a week and superb on-line facilities as well

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Options

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Orange Everyday

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Go Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Snap Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 98 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.