Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 404 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured bank account from Great Southern Bank

Everyday Edge Account

account fee
$0.00
Payment Options
Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
interest rate
0% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Great Southern Bank bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Doesn't protect your card

    The bank doesn't protect your card from fraudulent activity. I've had the same non-existent company twice now get my new card number and take out money. I've now created a new account with a different bank that offers 24/7 fraud protection. They obviously cannot say how this has happened... they provide a contact number that's not connected. This payment seems to only occur on a Saturday with a physical card even if you don't leave the house all day. CUA cards never had this problem till they switched over to Great Southern Bank. I've now lost all faith in this bank to protect my money. Don't choose this bank unless you're prepared to lose your money and have to fight tooth and nail to get it back.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rachael, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Great Bank

    I like this bank as they do not have any additional fees. They are always helpful in the branch as well as on the phone. I have been with this bank for many years and I recommend them to friends.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ana, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    unprofessional customer service

    Been banking with them for nearly 30 years, loyalty means nothing to them, same as the big four. Customer service people are condescending and unhelpful, just keep restating company policy, gave me wrong information, don't check their facts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joanne, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Poor Customer Service and Poor handling

    I've received a notification to update tax residency, tried to update online but it doesn't work (obviously their system is not great and you cant really do it online), so I've called them. In order to be able to access your account, you have to go through a mind boggling verification process. - The "Exact" date when the account is opened? (this is overwhelming, I'm wondering if the staffs knew their the opening date of their own personal bank account) - The "Exact" account balance in the account? (I have told them the approx. amount with more and less few hundreds dollar difference, but unacceptable). Apparently if you cant get that right, there wont entertain you and wont give you any other alternative more sensible security questions. This is truly ridiculous as I'm trying to comply and assist them from they what missed to update my details in the first place, and after all i've been through so far i felt being treated like a criminal/scammer. Then he passed me to another person (unsure why, but this saga is still far from over) - When was the last time i called the customer service? (He wanted me to provide them with the date. I've told them that i almost never call them before and definitely i've never called in the last 12 months. Yet, this is an acceptable answer). - Type of account i have with them? (I've told them it was Saving account, but again not acceptable as i need to know the exact name type of account, but funny thing i couldn't locate this info in my banking app nor my online app). He told me that he can't help and ask me to call back again once i have the information. This has been really overwhelming only just to add my tax residency and not my mistake to begin with. After a long conversation, he decided to update this details. Seriously, if this simple queries cant be fixed i will definitely withdraw all my money, close the account and bank it somewhere else. Lesson: You really need to think twice to bank with them as you most likely would be on your own when you encounter an issue with them.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jeff, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Average

    OK product & features with very limited branches, ATMs & customer service. Their online & mobile banking apps are below average & often frustrating compared to competitors. Customer Service is also rather disappointing, frustrating & non-responsive in a timely manner.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Derek, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Den of thieves

    Sent me a letter claiming on they have reason to believe I am a foreign citizen. Thus I must provide tax info to confirm with US Law and International Laws agreed to by Federal Parliament. I am not subject to foreign laws. Not giving some foreign third party my details. They have the contract for the account, which clearly shows I said australian residence for tax purposes, plus they used my Drivers Licence as ID. Complained to them. They just rehashed the same BS. Put the complaint through to the Ombudsman, but moved to another bank cause they threat to steal my money by blocking me then closing my account.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jason, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    unlawful actions to threaten customers

    They got their procedure wrong when converting from credit union to bank. Now they threaten customers with forced account closure if they don't provide a tax number. Complete disgrace in fact it may be unlawful.

    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tim, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Worst bank ever

    I have banked with CUA now GSB for over 30 years and I am now finally taking my business and banking elsewhere. In fact I’m not sure why I have remained loyal for so long. This bank does not care about your loyalty, nor do they care about customer service. You are treated as a number. Furthermore, they are disorganised, amateur and unreliable. Try going overseas and relying on them to be there for you if you have issues with their cards. Try getting them to locate money they have lost in a transaction. Keep your anti anxiety pills handy. Try finding a convenient branch, you won’t. Try finding someone to deal with your loan application in a timely manner, you won’t. Try getting them to respond to your emails. You won’t. Terrible, shocking horrendous service. Goodbye GSB.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Twishie, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Competitive with big banks

    I've been a member for close to 15 years along with the rest of my family and never had a reason to change even after researching other banks. Their app and website are user-friendly and the features are similar to what other banks offer i.e naming your accounts, and hiding savings accounts. Interest rates are competitive and there are no fees. The staff are always personable and offer to update your accounts to the latest product offerings to assist savings.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ellen, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    NOT a bank kowtowing to shareholders

    Easy to set up multiple accounts. You can 'hide' an account to build savings. Easy to move money between accounts Easy to set up and manage automatic payments through transfers and BPay. NOT a regular bank. They are not beholden to shareholders, working only for shareholders. They are not predatory.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Keep away from this bank

    Stay away from this bank. Made a purchase using PayPal, I had the order cancelled so great Southern bank decided to hold my funds for 10 working days. Keep away from this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Good online service but no branch close to my town

    They are very helpful and their online accounts are easy to navigate. The only down side is that they do not have a branch near me.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kathleen, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Bank Account

    Worst bank ever

    Applied online for a bank account for my young son. Uploaded his birth certificate and medicare card. They couldn't verify his identity online, so they emailed me a form to print, take to post office, verify and send, which I did. Didn't hear back anything from them for two weeks then got an email saying application had expired. Rang them up, on hold for 25 minutes, customer service lady said no record of the letter. I then asked her if she would like my application number, to which she answered she couldn't check that. I then gave her my application number, she said no record of mine or my son's name in the system. Told me I would have to go through the whole process again. No thanks I'll just go to a competent bank.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Clayton, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    They are amazing

    This bank is amazing the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and they also go out of their way to find an answer to your enquire.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jessica, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Everyday Account

    Poor and dishonest customer service

    I called to ask to receive a bank statement on Saturday. I was on hold for 25minutes before my call was taken. I was told I would have it by Monday. I called at 2pm Tuesday. The guy told me it takes 1-2 business days to receive it, so I should call closer to 5pm on the COB. I explained I was told I would have it by Monday, so the difference of calling at 2pm or 5pm was irrelevant, and seems strange to ask me to call back so close to COB, when it was not going to get completed past 5pm? He laughed and said they were very busy so it might take longer.. I am still waiting on this statement which is greatly holding me up in another area. Would not recommend this bank due to: Poor customer service, dishonest time frames, not sticking to time frames, not trustworthy, not convenient or even responsive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elisha, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Edge Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Account

      account fee
      $4.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $1,800 per month or account holder is under 25
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Classic Banking Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 109 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.