HSBC logo

HSBC reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
6.5/10
Features
6.1/10
Customer service
6.5/10
Convenience
6.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1253 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC reviews

  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Pathetic customer care service.

    One of the pathetic banking experience I have had. The employees of HSBC lack basic professional manners. If you are having an account with HSBC, any transaction to deal with your account should be communicated to you. However these guys do end up sharing your confidential transaction details to other account holders. I mean this is crazy. Which bank would do so? Basic- 'that particular customer' details should be shared only with that card/account holder not with rest of the customers. Is this not a common sense? My internet banking account was closed, and that information was not given to me, and when enquired, they said the information was given to another account XXX holder, instead of me. Seriously?? I don't have words to express.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chait, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • HSBC Flexi Saver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good interest

    We chose this bank because the interest was higher than our previous bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jo, Western Australia, reviewed 28 days ago
  • HSBC Platinum Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Pray something never goes wrong.

    We had $20,000 dropped into our credit card account by mistake on a balance transfer. We then had to fight HSBC to get the money. Even though we were in credit by $16500. They said we could take the money out in $1000 per day limits and they would charge us 4% per withdrawal as they would deem it as a cash advance. They would not release the money until we closed the account in its entirety. We considered going to the police as technically it was stealing and we did report it to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. I thought Channel 7 would love a story like this. They held onto the money for over a week - why I don't know. But we missed several other payments because of this, phone etc. and have now been charged late fees because of it. We found the customer service people to lie and say anything that was convenient on the phone.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting behaviour bordering on fraudulent.

    I just spent 1 hour on the phone to them just to get the correct BPAY details so I could pay my credit card. Thats not unusual. My home loan came off a fixed term a month ago, into a time when interest rates are around 1.9% to 2.6% with other banks variable. They smacked me 4.75% and have still not finalised what my variable rate will be and it's been now 5 weeks after my loan came off fixed. They are purposely ensuring they took this time so they could just charge me whatever rate they wanted. I have had to threaten legal action and AFCA to even get them to offer me a better rate which is still more than what is advertised. AFCA took 1 year to credit mistakes with them on my accounts and it's still not finalised. It cost me my health, do not use them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and rate.

    I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and reduce the term of the loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Josephine, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Car Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rates

    Good customer service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Shannon, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    No fees, ever, for anything.

    Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HSBC Term Deposit review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Service can be better and more easy to access

    Not enough branches and not as convenient.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jen, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HSBC Building Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good if you are already an HSBC customer

    Well we have mortgage from HSBC and that is why we went with them. Prices are reasonable, yet not the best on the market and you will hardly ever hear from them unless there is a change in Product policy or you make a claim. They are very kind when you get in touch and try to help, not always successfully but you have to give them credit for trying.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lucie, , reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.