Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
6.5/10
Features
6.1/10
Customer service
6.6/10
Convenience
6.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1228 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC reviews

  • HSBC Bank Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad service and not Australian standard.

    This is a bank rooted in the 1980s. They are mired in red tape in the guise of customer security. However it is just to make it more difficult for the customers. Would you believe that they still require signatures in the 21st century? They are the only bank which requires a lot of personal information (i.e. country of birth) which Australian banks do not require. If you refuse to answer on privacy grounds, you wont be able do anything (even for a change of one of your details). The staff are incredibly inflexible, unhelpful and rude.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jd, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • HSBC Platinum Qantas Credit Card review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Credit card reliability is vitally important.

    The most important thing, in my humble opinion, is the ability to rely on your card when in a tough situation. When overseas in March, our Prime Minister told all Australians travelling overseas to return home. Our card could not be authenticated to book our return flight.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not deal with HSBC

    This is a bank like I have never dealt with before. They never return calls, they never return emails they never seem to know what you have asked or what you want to achieve. They are supreme at ducking and diving. The only time I have had response is when I got AFCA involved and even then they ignored AFCA. Do not go with HSBC it is less than desirable, it will ruin your life, destroy any spare time you have as you will be dealing with all the myriad of problems that HSBC banking will cause you and if your a person that pays close attention to charges, changes and the bank upholding their contracts you will be spending all available time as I have to correct them with no success. 4 years of hell on earth.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shirl, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shockers.

    Went to close my account today in person due to the balance of my account being in excess of online closure limits but more importantly because I found another bank with a much better interest rate. Was treated like a pariah, they wouldn't accept my uploaded drivers license, which is a service provided by the Australian Government and is accepted by anyone and everyone else. Have never had a problem before. In this pandemic environment and current technology, they still wanted the hard card so they could handle it and possibly infect me which meant I had to go home and back again so they could do so. The account I had did not pay my account the quoted interest rate, they had a million excuses, they talk like robots, couldn't give any reasonable explanations to any of my questions, don't know what they are talking about and this included branch staff members and online customer service. They quoted incorrect fees versus what they actually charged me, yes they charge you to take your money out. I could go on and on but in short, I have had many accounts with many different banks, HSBC is without a doubt the worst. Highly recommend you go elsewhere.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Fred, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and rate.

    I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and reduce the term of the loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Josephine, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Car Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rates

    Good customer service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Shannon, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    No fees, ever, for anything.

    Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Term Deposit review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Service can be better and more easy to access

    Not enough branches and not as convenient.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jen, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • HSBC Building Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good if you are already an HSBC customer

    Well we have mortgage from HSBC and that is why we went with them. Prices are reasonable, yet not the best on the market and you will hardly ever hear from them unless there is a change in Product policy or you make a claim. They are very kind when you get in touch and try to help, not always successfully but you have to give them credit for trying.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lucie, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.