Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
6.5/10
Features
6.1/10
Customer service
6.5/10
Convenience
6.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1238 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC reviews

  • HSBC Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bullying liars!

    I opened an "interest free credit card" with these bullies on 02/02/2017. I made the first payment on time and yet there were unsubstantiated charges on the next statement. This literally continued for the next 3 years. The item I purchased "interest free" was paid off more than 18 months ago and they have continued to levy fees and charges. Despite an ongoing review of the matter, they have lodged a number of late payment records on this account and singlehandedly destroyed my credit rating. I operate a number of other utilities and cards and all a near perfect. Do not go near these people as they will damage your ability to do business and not give a damn.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Albert, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great interest rates & good for people without PR.

    HSBC was a great option as one of us wasn't a citizen nor permanent resident at the time we applied. They were one of very few providers that allowed this. They've also lowered our variable rate three times in about 15 months, usually passing on RBA rate decisions. Compared to our friends, we have one of the lowest home loan interest rates.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Pia, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago
  • HSBC Everyday Global Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Overall - HSBC is one of the best banks I’ve used.

    I love the everyday global card because before covid I used to travel a lot and it was convenient. I also love their 2% cash back rewards program. The two things I find annoying about HSBC - there is only one branch in Perth and their hours are minimal so I can never go to the branch because I am always at work. Although to counteract that, their customer service line is open 24/7. The second thing is the fact that every time I create a new payee I have to download and put in a stall. Which is a pain when you want quick and easy transfers. One thing for HSBC to consider is that their app is very hard to navigate and not very user friendly (and I am a very tech-savvy person).

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Serious Saver review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    HSBC Serious Sav account seriously not transparent

    Serious Saver said it was offering 2 percent followed by variable rate after four months. However, it turns out the 'introductory offer' (only for those who don't have an account with them) is also variable. Hang on, if you offer an 'introductory offer' that is variable, say in clear terms that it may vary from the day you begin banking with them. That's what happened. I put a large amount in this account but in less than a month, the rate dropped 0.5 %. And it could go down again, and again. An 'introductory offer' is a clever disguise for HSBC. I also put some money into the Macquarie Savings account offering a 'welcome rate' (again for those who have no prior account with Macquarie). The difference is, the 2 percent is fixed. HSBC needs to be more transparent.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jo, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service and rate.

    I researched to find the best rate with a bank that I felt I could trust. HSBC were the best option for me. They provide me with updates, statements and reminders via email and text message. I have the flexibility to pay off additional amounts and reduce the term of the loan.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Josephine, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Car Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rates

    Good customer service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Shannon, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Day to Day Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    No fees, ever, for anything.

    Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HSBC Term Deposit review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Service can be better and more easy to access

    Not enough branches and not as convenient.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jen, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HSBC Building Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good if you are already an HSBC customer

    Well we have mortgage from HSBC and that is why we went with them. Prices are reasonable, yet not the best on the market and you will hardly ever hear from them unless there is a change in Product policy or you make a claim. They are very kind when you get in touch and try to help, not always successfully but you have to give them credit for trying.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lucie, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.