Hume Bank home loan reviews

Hume Bank
Hume Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

9.6 / 10

based on 21 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Hume Bank

Recent Hume Bank home loan reviews

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I have banked Hume Bank for 20 years

Hume Bank offers low fees and I like that they are also community owned.

Full review

Hume Bank offers low fees and I like that they are also community owned.

    Price   8 / 10

Less

Virginia, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very good

Very competitive rates, features, and customer service .

Full review

Very competitive rates, features, and customer service .

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rick, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

great service

they are the best

Full review

they are the best

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Adrian, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding product and superb personal service

I have had a mortgage with the fabulous Hume Bank for 14 years. They offer a seriously competitive rate and there's a borrow back scheme if I get in front with my payments (which I used to more than once). It was clearly explained to me that this...

Full review

I have had a mortgage with the fabulous Hume Bank for 14 years. They offer a seriously competitive rate and there's a borrow back scheme if I get in front with my payments (which I used to more than once). It was clearly explained to me that this was a very cost-efficient saving technique. Also, when my work conditions got tough, it was really simple for me to move to an interest-only payment for a few months until things improved. Best of all, the level of service was absolutely outstanding: tellers remember my name, interviews are always relaxed, phone contact is quick, direct and always personal. I couldn't recommend Hume Bank highly enough.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Olwen, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Wide variety, low fees

I love my bank. They aren't a "big 4" but they look after "little me" - flexible affordable service, huge variety to suit everyone's needs. How many banks do you know that pass on full interest rate cuts to home loans? Who else pays you to get...

Full review

I love my bank. They aren't a "big 4" but they look after "little me" - flexible affordable service, huge variety to suit everyone's needs. How many banks do you know that pass on full interest rate cuts to home loans? Who else pays you to get cash out? Who pays your ATM fees on your behalf? I know someone!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mel, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Unbeatable customer service

Their customer service is flawless! Right from the start they have been so helpful as I had no idea about home loans so they helped me through it step by step . They set me up with an offset account which suits my situation perfectly. I do a lot...

Full review

Their customer service is flawless! Right from the start they have been so helpful as I had no idea about home loans so they helped me through it step by step . They set me up with an offset account which suits my situation perfectly. I do a lot of traveling and I've had to call a few times from overseas for different reasons and each time the phone is answers by a person0, no holding, no push buttons for which department I want. And they have resolved my predicament every single time!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and great rates

No account fees on your other accounts and the interest rate is fantastic. Their customer service is brilliant. Always happy and willing to help and answer any question. Their prompt work in the fraud department is fantastic.

Full review

No account fees on your other accounts and the interest rate is fantastic. Their customer service is brilliant. Always happy and willing to help and answer any question. Their prompt work in the fraud department is fantastic.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good rates and fantastic customer service.

I am very happy with this product because the application process was easy, staff very helpful and friendly and the rates were competitive. I have had a home loan with the Hume twice before and I was very pleased then too. I have been a member of...

Full review

I am very happy with this product because the application process was easy, staff very helpful and friendly and the rates were competitive. I have had a home loan with the Hume twice before and I was very pleased then too. I have been a member of the Hume for 20 years and have never had a complaint with either staff or any of the products or services and love that when I call a staff member answers and not a machine!! Can't say enough positive things about this organisation.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leeanne, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic all round!!

Very happy with our bank...The fantastic, helpful staff and the competitive rates makes it very appealing and overall, very friendly bank. Being on the smaller side, I feel it's more personal service too. Just overall very happy and we have been...

Full review

Very happy with our bank...The fantastic, helpful staff and the competitive rates makes it very appealing and overall, very friendly bank. Being on the smaller side, I feel it's more personal service too. Just overall very happy and we have been with them for over 20 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nikki, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Superb, individual service

Hume gives me a great, flexible product at a competitive price and gives me the most fantastic service I've ever had from a financial organisation. (It's not an institution, so I won't call it one! )

Full review

Hume gives me a great, flexible product at a competitive price and gives me the most fantastic service I've ever had from a financial organisation. (It's not an institution, so I won't call it one! )

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Olwen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Interest Saver Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No fees, and everyone very helpful and efficient

Hume Building Society is wonderful. I have needed money on two occasions. I approached the bank and it was organised within two days, and money was in my account. I have a mortgage as well as a savings account and there are absolutely NO fees at...

Full review

Hume Building Society is wonderful. I have needed money on two occasions. I approached the bank and it was organised within two days, and money was in my account. I have a mortgage as well as a savings account and there are absolutely NO fees at all. I have 12 withdrawals a month and 8 cheques a month without cost. Also, when statements are needed Hume print them out efficiently with cost. I would advise anyone to use the Hume Building society.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shirley, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Draw back facility is an advantage.

The Hume Building Society staff make it easy. They are available at short notice for face to face appointments & always over the phone. The home loan has the draw back facility which enables you to be ahead in your payments, but draw back if...

Full review

The Hume Building Society staff make it easy. They are available at short notice for face to face appointments & always over the phone. The home loan has the draw back facility which enables you to be ahead in your payments, but draw back if needed. I highly recommend this product.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Interest Saver Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They look out for the little guy.

Been with the big banks over the years. Hume will equal any off them in rates and great service. No extra charges, everything is up front.

Full review

Been with the big banks over the years. Hume will equal any off them in rates and great service. No extra charges, everything is up front.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Donna, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Interest Saver Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent all round service !! Hume rock ....

Gosh all i can say is the time I have been with the hume building society, they have been so helpful, honest and explain everything in detail. They also help you with the best deal for you, what suits your needs and where you can save money on for...

Full review

Gosh all i can say is the time I have been with the hume building society, they have been so helpful, honest and explain everything in detail. They also help you with the best deal for you, what suits your needs and where you can save money on for you, its really fantastic customer service, there is, in my opinion no other bank like it. Well done Hume you are awesome !!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nikki, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Service friendly staff & homely environment

It is a delight to do business with and the staff are so friendly towards you and nothing is too much for them to do

Full review

It is a delight to do business with and the staff are so friendly towards you and nothing is too much for them to do

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

James, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Hume Building Society Consistently Offers The Best Customer Service Hands Down. Their Products Are Simple & User Friendly, & Most Of All, Extremely Competitive! I Moved To Albury 12 Years Ago & Hume Building Society Has Been There With Me For...

Full review

Hume Building Society Consistently Offers The Best Customer Service Hands Down. Their Products Are Simple & User Friendly, & Most Of All, Extremely Competitive! I Moved To Albury 12 Years Ago & Hume Building Society Has Been There With Me For The Whole Journey. I Have Used Many Of Their Services, Including My Home Loan, Personal Loans, Credit Cards, Savings Accounts, Kids Saving Accounts & General Debit Accounts. Hume Building Society Has One Of The Most User Friendly Internet Banking Systems. All Of My Products Are Easily Accessible, & @ Any Time I Can View, Transfer, Alter Any Direct Debits Internally Or Externally As Easy As Click, Click, Click!!! I Love Hume Building Society & Would Recommend Them To Anyone In My Region :) Thumbs Up To Hume Building Society :)

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wayne, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We have had three home loans with this bank and never had any problems..They have helped us in any way if we have asked them and also been very courteous when they have

Full review

We have had three home loans with this bank and never had any problems..They have helped us in any way if we have asked them and also been very courteous when they have

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Val, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I like the hume because they give great friendly service. Their rates are always below the big banks. They give back plenty to the community.

Full review

I like the hume because they give great friendly service. Their rates are always below the big banks. They give back plenty to the community.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

local people, very good service, very good rates

Full review

local people, very good service, very good rates

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David, Victoria, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

low rate, wonderful service

Full review

low rate, wonderful service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They have been great.

Full review

They have been great.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed about 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave

    interest rate

    3.76% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.77% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Special rate of 3.66% p.a. comparison rate applies to a maximum LVR of 80%
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause for eco-upgrades to your home or maternity leave
    • Interest rate: 3.76% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 79 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Queensland Country Credit Union Discount Ultimate Home Loan Special (Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Package)

    Queensland Country Credit Union Discount Ultimate Home Loan Special (Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Package)

    • Available for Owner Occupied or Residential Investment purposes
    • Fully featured home loan including 100% offset and redraw (Owner Occupied loans only)
    • Bank with Queensland’s largest regionally based, Member-owned Credit Union

    interest rate

    3.61% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.97% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Available for Owner Occupied or Residential Investment purposes
    • Fully featured home loan including 100% offset and redraw (Owner Occupied loans only)
    • Bank with Queensland’s largest regionally based, Member-owned Credit Union
    • Interest rate: 3.61% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.97% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $350.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    9.4

    Based on 22 Queensland Country Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 498 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top