Macquarie credit card reviews

Macquarie
Macquarie's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.3 / 10

based on 48 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from Macquarie

Recent Macquarie credit card reviews

Macquarie

Macquarie Black Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service across the board

Innovative and proactive. Excellent service across the board

Full review

Innovative and proactive. Excellent service across the board

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anthony, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Confusing & unpredictable

Applied for C/C, after a month, got mail of application knocked back, even when I have $200k income. Then out of the blue, got email message my credit card is coming! Not sure can trust a crowd like this.

Full review

Applied for C/C, after a month, got mail of application knocked back, even when I have $200k income. Then out of the blue, got email message my credit card is coming! Not sure can trust a crowd like this.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Ted, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Only been with Macquarie for 6 months, so still 'testing the waters'.

Full review

Only been with Macquarie for 6 months, so still 'testing the waters'.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Katie, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rewards programme

I have my mortgage with them and got a credit card, they offer great rewards programme for every point you get, point accumulate and you can get vouchers from the top high street stores like Myers, David jones, job hi fi, Priceline etc. I'm very...

Full review

I have my mortgage with them and got a credit card, they offer great rewards programme for every point you get, point accumulate and you can get vouchers from the top high street stores like Myers, David jones, job hi fi, Priceline etc. I'm very happy with them.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service but high fees

High fees and interest rate. Only one reward. Service is good.

Full review

High fees and interest rate. Only one reward. Service is good.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Neil, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great product, terrible service

I have had a bpay go wrong due to the web site dropping out it has been 4 weeks and still have not had money refunded. I rang the moment it happened and was treated like a fool which I am not. I rang again yesterday and they said it would be...

Full review

I have had a bpay go wrong due to the web site dropping out it has been 4 weeks and still have not had money refunded. I rang the moment it happened and was treated like a fool which I am not. I rang again yesterday and they said it would be another two weeks very upset.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sue, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive rates, poor service.

I had 11 unauthorized transactions made on this account. When I called the number to advise the provider of the problem, the person I eventually spoke to was helpful. However none of what he said he would do has happened a week later. When I call...

Full review

I had 11 unauthorized transactions made on this account. When I called the number to advise the provider of the problem, the person I eventually spoke to was helpful. However none of what he said he would do has happened a week later. When I call this number again, all I get is put on hold and no help! Who else can I report to?

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Max, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Time to update my card

The card doesn't have paypass which is annoying and the Macquarie website doesn't show live debits and credits - quite frustrating as I have to wait for the next month's statement to see what has and hasn't come out of the card.

Full review

The card doesn't have paypass which is annoying and the Macquarie website doesn't show live debits and credits - quite frustrating as I have to wait for the next month's statement to see what has and hasn't come out of the card.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melissa, , reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Gpod

Very good

Full review

Very good

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

George skaf, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great Card for Qantas FF

This is a good product for accruing Qantas frequent flier points as the earn rate is 1:$1. Annual fees are average to high among this type of Qantas FF credit card. However there's a sign up bonus of up to 40,000 points which is worthwhile.

Full review

This is a good product for accruing Qantas frequent flier points as the earn rate is 1:$1. Annual fees are average to high among this type of Qantas FF credit card. However there's a sign up bonus of up to 40,000 points which is worthwhile.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mike, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great rewards program, but clunky systems

Hard to contact to resolve issues out of banking hours. Systems appear inferior to some other banks. Eg. No mobile app for easy bank account access.

Full review

Hard to contact to resolve issues out of banking hours. Systems appear inferior to some other banks. Eg. No mobile app for easy bank account access.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Terry, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Avoid!

Avoid this card. I earn 185K a year, and have done so for the last 4 years, have a Platinum Card with a 10k limit and 0 balance with NAB, 160K in my mortgage offset, 200k equity in my house and no other debt. They put me through the wringer, then...

Full review

Avoid this card. I earn 185K a year, and have done so for the last 4 years, have a Platinum Card with a 10k limit and 0 balance with NAB, 160K in my mortgage offset, 200k equity in my house and no other debt. They put me through the wringer, then declined, so I agree their assessment criteria is pathetic, as clearly I can service this card. Applied to NAB and card in my hand a week later. Phone staff helpful for NAB unlike Macquarie. Avoid at all costs, as I will for all Macquarie products from now on.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Mark, , reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie RateSaver Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent support services and competitive rates

Macquarie bank is a reputable banking institution that is always evolving and willing to assist and provide services tailored to my needs. They have an easy to use online system with 24/7 customer support, who are willing to assist in any way...

Full review

Macquarie bank is a reputable banking institution that is always evolving and willing to assist and provide services tailored to my needs. They have an easy to use online system with 24/7 customer support, who are willing to assist in any way possible. I have not had any issues and when I have queries they are tended to immediately.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jemma, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible service in the dark ages

Absolutely terrible - do not make the mistake. I had the card 2 weeks, with a bank set limit, and paid out a small balance on my CBA card due to a 0% interest offer, as well as a small cash transfer for a mortgage settlement buffer. As a result...

Full review

Absolutely terrible - do not make the mistake. I had the card 2 weeks, with a bank set limit, and paid out a small balance on my CBA card due to a 0% interest offer, as well as a small cash transfer for a mortgage settlement buffer. As a result my limit was halved with no consultation, then the card was blocked again with no consultation. Ring the overseas call centre and spend hours explaining the situation until I get on to a manager at Macquarie who tried to help but gets back to me two days later stating the block will not be removed for 3 months and I have to provide all credit assessment information again. Keep in mind I had the card only 2 weeks, the info was all provided a month or so previously in application, I also spent only a quarter of the original credit limit with a view to paying it out at the end of the month. 90% of the money I spent was put directly back into a Macquarie account, and using the Macquarie 'other card balance' button. I spent about $200 in reality, and got treated this way. Insulting and unfair, poor service and management. It also takes THREE DAYS to pay money into the card as Macquarie insist you bpay, it cannot be transferred from account to account.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Not, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible customer service

After being stuffed around for a month submitting pay slips, rent statements and following them up by phone almost daily, I completed my ID check at Australia Post (at their request; they sent me a letter to do so) but was rejected. And this was...

Full review

After being stuffed around for a month submitting pay slips, rent statements and following them up by phone almost daily, I completed my ID check at Australia Post (at their request; they sent me a letter to do so) but was rejected. And this was AFTER they told me that I should expect something in the mail within the next couple of days. Absolutely disgusting service, their turnaround was slow and by comparison, while waiting for this card, I managed to apply for another one and have everything arrive to me within 1 week. I agree with another poster's assessment that their credit assessment is crude at best - they do not want people who can pay their bills off on time. The points offer is good if you can get it, otherwise there are far better products on the market and no need to subject yourself to this level of service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Terry, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

On line banking a JOKE, 5 years behind Westpac

Takes 3 days to transfer funds to credit card, what a joke.

Full review

Takes 3 days to transfer funds to credit card, what a joke.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jonathan , , reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Incompetent service

Bonus points nowhere after 60 days. Three phone calls, still being escalated. 60 days incredible in the first place! Incompetent.

Full review

Bonus points nowhere after 60 days. Three phone calls, still being escalated. 60 days incredible in the first place! Incompetent.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Monchichi, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Good & trustworthy provider to do business with.

Full review

Good & trustworthy provider to do business with.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sidney, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Worst service - never recommend!

Worst service ever experienced. It took 2 weeks to get approved and it has been another 2 weeks but haven't got the card yet!

Full review

Worst service ever experienced. It took 2 weeks to get approved and it has been another 2 weeks but haven't got the card yet!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Indian, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good financial product but poor customer service

I have had a number of instances where the overseas contact centre have let me down with their service including one serious privacy breach.

Full review

I have had a number of instances where the overseas contact centre have let me down with their service including one serious privacy breach.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Great security and monitoring on my card. Knowledgeable customer service personnel. Annual fees are a bit high and the interest rate is not very competitive.

Full review

Great security and monitoring on my card. Knowledgeable customer service personnel. Annual fees are a bit high and the interest rate is not very competitive.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

You Hit It On The Head! Well-done.

Straightforward, no lies, easy to know what I am paying.

Full review

Straightforward, no lies, easy to know what I am paying.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie credit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Suck you in

They suck people in with promises of points and prestige, then force you to use their terrible online systems, have customer service staff who say one thing yet do nothing and waste your time and money trying to resolve issue after issue.

Full review

They suck people in with promises of points and prestige, then force you to use their terrible online systems, have customer service staff who say one thing yet do nothing and waste your time and money trying to resolve issue after issue.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Matthew, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Extraordinarily high fees and interest rates

Macquarie Bank Visa fees and interest rates are extraordinarily high compared to other Banks. I am currently looking to change my credit card supplier!!

Full review

Macquarie Bank Visa fees and interest rates are extraordinarily high compared to other Banks. I am currently looking to change my credit card supplier!!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Lisa, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Platinum Card (Qantas Frequent Flyer) credit card review

Overall rating   2 / 10

I'm getting rid of this as soon as possible

A shame they have to use the card services outsourced company. When they call there is a pause for about 5-10 seconds where you can't hear anything. When they finally connect, they follow the scripts like robots. Not good enough customer...

Full review

A shame they have to use the card services outsourced company. When they call there is a pause for about 5-10 seconds where you can't hear anything. When they finally connect, they follow the scripts like robots. Not good enough customer service in these switched on days. Consumers are not stupid. We vote with our wallets.

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • 10% off your 1st Woolworths shop on selected dates once a month
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME frank Credit Card

    ME frank Credit Card

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - No Annual Fee Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 11.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 201 ME credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    • Receive 55,000 bonus Qantas Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Earn 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 55,000 bonus Qantas Points (T&Cs apply)
    • Earn 1.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on eligible purchases
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $450
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 860 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425

    Go to site

    More info

    • 120,000 bonus Qantas Points and $150 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $7,500 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $7,500 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.49% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6049 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Purchase Rate and Balance Transfer Offer

    Virgin Money Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer Card - Purchase Rate and Balance Transfer Offer

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months
    • 0% p.a. on purchases for up to 14 months
    • Receive a $129 Virgin Australia gift voucher each year

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 6 months and then 20.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months then 20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $129

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months
    • 0% p.a. on purchases for up to 14 months
    • Receive a $129 Virgin Australia gift voucher each year
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 6 months and then 20.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $129
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months then 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 20.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2.7%, Min $2.70
    • Rewards description: Points are credited to the Velocity Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    5.8

    Based on 202 Virgin Money credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 217 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top