Thumbnail icon for NRMA

NRMA Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Value for money
7.4/10
Policy coverage
7.9/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Claims handling
7.9/10
Trust
8.1/10
Based on 2825 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent NRMA car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    NRMA - Do Not place you’re trust in this company

    All in this company is lost. I have been with NRMA for a number of years and have always paid my insurance on time however recently NRMA cancelled my policy without advising me and when I questioned the representative on why I was not notified he advised that I was sent a number of emails which I never received, however the representative was quick to add that they could be in my junk file. When I asked why I was not sent a letter or text they advised email was my preference which I would never have agreed to. My car insurance is not like a gym membership that can significantly change someone’s life! I have been driving my car uninsured for over 3 months unknowingly! I have always been a responsible person and have always had insurance and registered my car on time for over 30 years and not once Have I ever driven a car that was not insured. Thanks NRMA! In addition to this the representative told me my new policy was an additional $50 each month due to natural disasters, so my insurance went from $97 A month to $140 a month. Obviously I was very upset that not only was I driving my car uninsured for 3 months but NRMA wanted to charge me more. As you can understand I was most upset about how this issue was handled and contacted GIO, Budget Direct and AAMI. They all offered me between $60-$70 a month with the same excess! So I strongly do not recommend NRMA!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Safe and decent insurance.

    Had a claim, NRMA didn't hesitate. The approval of the claim took too long but they approved repairs ASAP.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anton, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Premiums in the normal range

    Exemplary service over a long period of years.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Philip, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent services and customer relations, etc.

    I have had no problems with the NRMA at all. But I am not pleased with the policies of all Car Insurers with regard to their differing Insurance Policy costs for "City" residents as against so-called "Country" residents. Example: I live in the Wollongong area which is recognised as "City" for Car Insurance, and so I have to pay more to insure my Car. My brothers live in the Shellharbour area which is counted as "Country", and they enjoy a lower cost for insuring exactly the same type of Car. We all have the exact same model of 2007 Ford Escapes. I just do not think that this is fair at all!

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alan, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Loyal and honest.

    I’ve been with NRMA for over 30 years. Yes they are more expensive than some but you get multi policy discounts and when it matters they are there for you. I tried another company for 1 year and unfortunately I had a mishap and needed to claim. They were cheaper than NRMA but that’s where I went wrong. After the claim they wrote me a letter to say they didn’t want me as a customer any more.....how’s that for loyalty? Exactly the same happened to a friend of mine also. So I say stay with who you know.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jan, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service, very helpful.

    Discounts are not free offered, need to ask and do own research. Loyalty discount is great to have but not much a saving.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sally ann, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    After 40 years they must be doing something right.

    I have insured with NRMA for 40 years. I have had several claims and there's never been a problem. Sometimes the cheapest isn't always the best.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jeffrey, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    The best in town.

    NRMA is a name you can trust. Now that two of my kids are driving both are insured with them also. Exceptional service.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Olivia, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive premiums and great customer service.

    NRMA have always provided the service required quickly, hassle-free and politely.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Coralie, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive rates.

    They offer good rates.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, Tasmania, reviewed 8 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They have competitive premiums.

    They fix my car as soon as possible.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Martha, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Value for what I pay for.

    NRMA gives me discount to for my green slip as part of being a member.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • NRMA Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Better than the rest.

    NRMA offered better coverage and at a lower price, I got quotes from 10 other companies and the closest was $200 dearer.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Ross, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Not always the cheapest but good customer service.

    NRMA is not always the cheapest but I have all my policies and roadside assistance policies with them. However, the customer service seems very good.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Katherine, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trust, never had any problems with them.

    NRMA is easy to deal with. They speak plain English and you speak with a real person.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Pamela, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.