QBE logo

QBE Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 476 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent QBE car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall happy with insurance we currently have

    Pretty happy with company, when last phoned to amend personal details they updated our policy and got a better rate customer service were good to deal with also.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Erin, South Australia, reviewed 18 days ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Not the best

    Expensive annually but claims process generally is fine.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ellie, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    Excellent company. Have had no issues so far. Easy

    Excellent company. Have had no issues so far. Easy to work with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nathan, New South Wales, reviewed 30 days ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    Fraudsters! They debited my annual premium TWICE.

    I set up direct debit for my annual comprehensive car insurance premium (having put money away every fortnight for 12 months) and received a confirmation email that the premium would be taken out on the due date. When I checked my bank account they had debited the full amount TWICE!!! This happened on a Thursday so I both emailed and contacted them via their website. No response. The next day I phoned and after 35 minutes on the phone (the consultant admitted it was their mistake and apologised) I was told they would schedule an urgent refund, but that I probably wouldn't have it in time for the weekend. True to form, it took over 5 days for me to receive my own money back. I couldn't afford to buy food or anything all weekend, and instead had to borrow money from friends and family (very embarrassing). They then had the nerve to email me the following week saying *I* had overpaid my premium (even though it was them who accessed my bank account TWICE, the second time without my authorisation). I escalated a complaint and it took them 10 days to even acknowledge it, and in their response they just said that they had already refunded the money and do not provide any compensation. Be careful as they are happy to steal your hard earned money then take their sweet time to give it back. And it's your problem if you get paid fortnightly and therefore can't afford to eat for 5 days. Thanks for nothing QBE.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Dissatisfied, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    I would never recommend QBE to anyone ever

    After being a QBE customer for close to 30 years with both our home and contents and our motor vehicle today we were told that they won’t insure a new car that we have just purchased because we have had 4 minor but at fault claims in the last 2.5 years. Our business and loyalty means nothing. We have not had a home or content claim in ten years. QBE has no problem taking our money for insurance policies but they don’t want to help you when you need it. Poor form QBE.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Domenica, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    glad to be with this company they are the best one

    I've never had to claim but I'm sure that there policy is honest and true I would highly recommend them to all people that have car insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Charles, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    Don’t use them

    QBE made claiming after the NSW floods a nightmare. Took weeks to even get the car collected to be assessed. My car was 2 weeks over a new car replacement and they didn’t care just read the PDS to me. It’s taken months after I lodged a complaint and the claim still isn’t resolved all they’ve done is delayed my claim when all they do is read the PDS they just want to save themselves money no customer care at all. They also charge the years premium even after they cancelled the policy as my car was written off so it’s not just the excess you have to pay when you claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    i have been with QBE for 30yrs all been very happy

    I have been with QBE for 30yrs all been very happy with services I have received.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Caroline, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    ...

    ....

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Johnny, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great

    Found them to be excellent value for money

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Karen, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great price and well known.

    I haven't had any issues with this insurer. They are good for the $ and well-known.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jacqueline, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    The only insurance company I would consider.

    I have been with QBE for 49 years.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    They are the best in the business

    They are the best insurer I know and will help you.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Errol, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    try it

    great value easy to talk to and very informative all over perfect

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Tracey, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • QBE Car Insurance

    Horrible to deal with.

    Was a QBE customer for approx 13 years and never claimed. I also had my onsite caravan and annex insured with them and when my annex got damaged in bad weather (I could not go to the caravan park to check on it due to covid restrictions), annex roof held water and sagged and got mould. I put in a claim and was refused saying it was wear and tear. They said it was because the annex was in the elements. Now this was insured as an onsite caravan and annex so yes it's outside 24/7. They refused the claim and I disputed it. Again they refused but offered to replace where my floor and carpet in the annex got damaged from the water dripping inside. Isn't that claiming liability? Yet no approval for the annex roof. I told them to shove it and changed my insurer immediately. Would never recommend them in a million years after being a customer for 13 years.

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Debbie, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.