St.George term deposit reviews

St.George
St.George's overall rating for term deposits

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 62 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

Featured term deposit from St.George

Recent St.George term deposit reviews

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

The term deposit is average amongst the major banks but the cashier really went out of her way to find me the best deal possible off her own bat. She called the branch office to see if I could get a better rate than the advertised one.

Full review

The term deposit is average amongst the major banks but the cashier really went out of her way to find me the best deal possible off her own bat. She called the branch office to see if I could get a better rate than the advertised one.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mr (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly and courteous customer service

I like this bank because of the follkowing positive attributes: Courtesy, convenience, customer service

Full review

I like this bank because of the follkowing positive attributes: Courtesy, convenience, customer service

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Don (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Customer service confusing and not always correct

St George was our bank of choice for our accounts in particular our term investment now called incentive saver. All accounts with the exception of the incentive saver were in both names. The incentive saver account was taken out when I was ill...

Full review

St George was our bank of choice for our accounts in particular our term investment now called incentive saver. All accounts with the exception of the incentive saver were in both names. The incentive saver account was taken out when I was ill with breast cancer and long term reconstruction. This account was in my husbands name. When my husband passed away 4 months ago St George froze that account. They wanted me to go through probate. My husband and myself were inseparable and were married 51 years. I was his carer and the only beneficiary of his will. What I had to go through to have that money put in my name was intolerable emotionally and physically. I had to contact my solicitor and do a paper trail to show that this money also belonged to me. Thankfully my solicitor was very helpful and provided what I needed. It was not an easy road grieving the loss of my beautiful husband and having to fight to get my own money. I was told many things that were not true like its the law, any amount over 75 thousand in one name has to go through probate, this was later changed to 50 thousand. I was also told there had to be dire circumstances for them to waive probate. I asked what he sees dire circumstances were, however not one person could tell me. No wonder. Was confused and upset. I decided to fight, it was the fight or flight syndrome. I eventually won the battle but not without a personal tell. My husband would have been appalled.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Dianne (NSW), reviewed 12 months ago

St.George

St.George Investment Cash Account term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Term deposit, good rate, great customer service

Best term deposit rate today, good reliable bank.

Full review

Best term deposit rate today, good reliable bank.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carolyn (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Been with them for 30 years. Always competitive.

Not as many branches. Deposit of cheques not available in Kings Cross.

Full review

Not as many branches. Deposit of cheques not available in Kings Cross.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Green (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good interest rate

Good product...High interest rate.

Full review

Good product...High interest rate.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Elaine (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Closed the account

Very poor interest rates!!!!

Full review

Very poor interest rates!!!!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Rebecca (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer relations

Excellent, efficient, personal, friendly service.

Full review

Excellent, efficient, personal, friendly service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Creative friendly and helpful

There it someone at the entrance to welcome you and assist you to where you have to go or who to see. The staff are always dressed neatly, same colour but in different combinations and look very professional. They are always very polite and assist...

Full review

There it someone at the entrance to welcome you and assist you to where you have to go or who to see. The staff are always dressed neatly, same colour but in different combinations and look very professional. They are always very polite and assist you in your transactions and ask if there is any thing else that they can help you with and make you feel at ease. I have always enjoyed going to my bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynette (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Did not hide the pitfalls of the products presented.

Full review

Did not hide the pitfalls of the products presented.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

I have dealt with st. geroge bank for 40 years and they are an excellent bank. Very courteous and helpful.

Full review

I have dealt with st. geroge bank for 40 years and they are an excellent bank. Very courteous and helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Low savings rate

The savings rate for St. George are slightly lower than the other banks. However they provide great customer service so there are no problems.

Full review

The savings rate for St. George are slightly lower than the other banks. However they provide great customer service so there are no problems.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Venessa (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fantastic customer service and very competitive

The branch is small and the staff are very friendly. When I go in they are aware of my accounts and are ready to give advice, especially with interest on term deposits. Unfortunately the branch has just closed. However, you can go to the Post...

Full review

The branch is small and the staff are very friendly. When I go in they are aware of my accounts and are ready to give advice, especially with interest on term deposits. Unfortunately the branch has just closed. However, you can go to the Post office or Westpac to do your banking. However, if you need to speak to someone about Term deposits, you are have to ring elsewhere or the closest town which is one and a half hours away.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Shelley (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Ok

Interest could be a bit better, even though market down at moment. Long time customers should be offered better rates

Full review

Interest could be a bit better, even though market down at moment. Long time customers should be offered better rates

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Martin (ACT), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good rate of 7%, they charge you for withdrawing

Term deposit is great,until you want to make a withdrawal. Then they charge you for taking your own money out.

Full review

Term deposit is great,until you want to make a withdrawal. Then they charge you for taking your own money out.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Your savings will not keep up with inflation

Term deposits are no longer the best choice for most people. I don't like the way this one auto renews at less than premium interest.

Full review

Term deposits are no longer the best choice for most people. I don't like the way this one auto renews at less than premium interest.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tara (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

100% Trust & 100% impressed

I got my super which was a pittance, just over $10,000 & walked into my local St George Bank & asked about a term deposit & is a long term the best value. The lady checked on the PC & told me which would benefit me best & when it came due to take...

Full review

I got my super which was a pittance, just over $10,000 & walked into my local St George Bank & asked about a term deposit & is a long term the best value. The lady checked on the PC & told me which would benefit me best & when it came due to take the money or reinvest, they rang me & advised me of what would be best for me. 100% impressed.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   6 / 10

A bank you can trust and have confidence in

The St George bank has always been very helpful and attentive. We have peace of mind and confidence using this bank and we have no intention of ever changing banks. We know our investment is safe. The location is great and we can park close by but...

Full review

The St George bank has always been very helpful and attentive. We have peace of mind and confidence using this bank and we have no intention of ever changing banks. We know our investment is safe. The location is great and we can park close by but the online service is very convenient and suited to our needs.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jenifer (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very Competitive and Safe

Very competitive rates on short term 4 months Term deposit, would be one of the highest at the moment and you're dealing with a bank with a government guarantee.

Full review

Very competitive rates on short term 4 months Term deposit, would be one of the highest at the moment and you're dealing with a bank with a government guarantee.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jorge (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Efficient and secure.

Once established you can adopt 'set and forget' mentality if you so desire. Deposits are automatically renewed at the expiration date. You do have the option to alter the duration / amount / interest rate if you wish the 'hands on'...

Full review

Once established you can adopt 'set and forget' mentality if you so desire. Deposits are automatically renewed at the expiration date. You do have the option to alter the duration / amount / interest rate if you wish the 'hands on' approach. Interest can be credited to a linked account, or accumulate. Overall I find this an easy, hassle free way to invest at a reasonable interest rate.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Margaret (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

St George is the bank for me

My term deposits at St George satisfy me and my husband. Their interest rates are comparable to those of other organisations. It is also great that you get to know some of the staff, thus ensuring friendly smiles on every visit.

Full review

My term deposits at St George satisfy me and my husband. Their interest rates are comparable to those of other organisations. It is also great that you get to know some of the staff, thus ensuring friendly smiles on every visit.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Patricia (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service

When ever I speak with a representative they have always answered and helped me with what ever questions I have.

Full review

When ever I speak with a representative they have always answered and helped me with what ever questions I have.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Constance (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Outstanding service

Staff guided me through the process and came up with a more competitive rate.

Full review

Staff guided me through the process and came up with a more competitive rate.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very happy with service

Easy to do branches, easy to get to, very happy with service.

Full review

Easy to do branches, easy to get to, very happy with service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris , reviewed about 2 years ago

St.George

St.George term deposit review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Top service

When inquiring the staff were very helpful as I wanted a long term deposit but the staff explained the shorter one had better interest rates so I went with their advice.

Full review

When inquiring the staff were very helpful as I wanted a long term deposit but the staff explained the shorter one had better interest rates so I went with their advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Term deposit comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    ING DIRECT Term Deposit

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover

    interest rate*

    3.00% p.a.
    1 year

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ING DIRECT fees
    • Deposit from $10K to $5 million
    • Loyalty Bonus Rate on rollover
    • Minimum deposit: $10,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 55 ING DIRECT term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Citibank Term Deposit

    Citibank Term Deposit

    • Minimum investment $75,000, 31 day notice period applies
    • No establishment or account keeping fees
    • Feel secure in your investment, with guaranteed returns at maturity.

    interest rate*

    2.95% p.a.
    6 months

    Go to site

    More info

    • Minimum investment $75,000, 31 day notice period applies
    • No establishment or account keeping fees
    • Feel secure in your investment, with guaranteed returns at maturity.
    • Minimum deposit: $75,000
    • Maximum deposit: $2,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    9.0

    Based on 3 Citibank term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Term Deposit

    Bank Australia Term Deposit

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity

    interest rate*

    2.85% p.a.
    2 years

    Go to site

    More info

    • High interest rate
    • Short investment term of 3 months for investments over $5K
    • Interest paid at maturity
    • Minimum deposit: $5,000
    • Maximum deposit: $500,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: no
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 3 Bank Australia term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    Bankwest Online Term Deposit

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process

    interest rate*

    2.70% p.a.
    6 months

    Go to site

    More info

    • No fees
    • Invest anything from $1,000 to $5 million
    • 100% secure online application process
    • Minimum deposit: $1,000
    • Maximum deposit: $5,000,000
    • Can interest be paid to another bank?: yes
    • Automatic rollover: yes
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 47 Bankwest term deposit reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 73 term deposits in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all term deposits

Look for a specific type of term deposit:

* Different interest rates apply to different amounts or different interest payment frequencies.

Back to top