Westpac logo

Westpac Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 902 personal loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    Extremely poor communications

    Absolute worst service I have ever come across with a bank.  Total incompetence of the most worrying kind for any customer with this bank. Communication rating -10 with -10 being the worst score.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dennis, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Great bank, would highly recommend

    Great online banking and simple to use.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tracy, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan

    Only interested in profit, not service or people.

    They are only interested in profit, not service. The wait to get money from teller is too long. Not enough machines. Won't lower credit card rate and won't lend to casual workers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kay, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan

    Terrible costumer service

    I have been a Westpac customer for almost 5 years and i thought it might be a good idea to apply for Personal loan from the bank that has all my information. Unfortunately, I was wrong. The customer service is terrible. I have been waiting to hear from them for almost 2 months and every time I need to call ask for an update they put me on hold for almost half hour It is a very frustrating process and if I could undo everything right now I wouldn't hesitate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Sara, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan

    Staff where very helpfull!

    Staff where very helpfull!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tim, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Supportive and helpful.

    They helped me consolidate my debt into a personal loan so I didn't have to pay a high interest rate on my credit card as they assessed my account and saw I was trying to pay it off but then the interest would hit and it was not going anywhere. So I am very grateful they helped me.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sabah, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    Wouldn’t bank with anyone else

    I like this bank best they are simple easy to use and explain everything so well to you.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janice, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Line of credit facility, a rip off product.

    This is a line of credit type loan. I have access to it but don’t use it. The interest rate is terrible and on top of that they charge a $10 a month accounting fee which is of course a de facto interest charge over and above the original one. I have asked them for a better deal and been told they don’t have one. It is a disgusting product whose sole purpose is profit gouging.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Do your research

    When trying to find out information after signing the contract it was extremely hard to find someone to help me. It seemed everyone I spoke to told me they would call me back. It took probably five attempts to get someone to help me or provide the correct information. After I closed my account I found out it stayed open despite owing no money on it, now having put two missed payments on my credit score. I am extremely unimpressed. The bank would also not help extending payments when in hardship. I was told I had to wait until the payment was missed before being able to apply for an extension, therefore affecting my credit rating, rather than trying to help their customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Keirah, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    It's just a bank to use for everyday living.

    It is just a bank. The one thing I don't like about any bank is they don't look out for their own customers. They're big on getting new customers but once you're with them they don't advise you about any new products that may work better for your needs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Deena, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan

    Broad product availability, less customer focused.

    Westpac is the least objectionable of the big 4 banks in terms of ease of service, resolution of issues and accessibility and product availability. I would suggest that if you need to go with a big 4, that they provide the best suite of products and are willing to consider matters with some flexibility to the customer needs. Although there are limited product features and competitiveness in terms of rates, this is made up for with higher convenience and ease of access to a broad range of products.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Started with Westpac, still with Westpac.

    I’ve been with Westpac for nearly 20 years and have never had a problem with them that couldn’t be resolved quickly.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Easy to use Flexi Loan with great customer service

    Overall I find it a very convenient personal loan. As it is a flex loan, it allows me to take only what I need, up to $10,000, and only pay interest on the amount I have borrowed. When I have no money owing, it is not closed, but stays available for me to use like a credit card. One negative would be that the interest rates went up 4% after the first year and the monthly service fee also went up by $3. This encourages me to use it much less often.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan

    Exceptional customer service.

    They helped me when my previous bank of more than two decades would not and their customer service was exceptional.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Helen, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Shop around and find someone that you can trust.

    While my wife was going through cancer they sent a letter to say they would suspend payment for 6 months. They did not. We had no income. We took out insurance to ensure against loss of job and medical so we thought. Wasted $7000. Lost my job still having to pay so wife had to go back to work early to pay the bills. Advice buyer be aware.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Andrew, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.45% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.07% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.45% would cost $34,590.57 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.39% p.a.to 7.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.39% p.a.to 8.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.39% would cost $35,126.40 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      4.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      4.99% p.a.to 14.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.99% would cost $33,959.97 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 25.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.47% p.a.to 29.2% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.35% p.a.to 19.09% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.14% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,832.61 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 226 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.