Thumbnail icon for Westpac

Westpac Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
6.9/10
Price
6.2/10
Features
6.0/10
Customer service
7.3/10
Convenience
7.7/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 896 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Car Loan (Fixed, Secured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wouldn’t bank with anyone else

    I like this bank best they are simple easy to use and explain everything so well to you.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Janice, South Australia, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Line of credit facility, a rip off product.

    This is a line of credit type loan. I have access to it but don’t use it. The interest rate is terrible and on top of that they charge a $10 a month accounting fee which is of course a de facto interest charge over and above the original one. I have asked them for a better deal and been told they don’t have one. It is a disgusting product whose sole purpose is profit gouging.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Do your research

    When trying to find out information after signing the contract it was extremely hard to find someone to help me. It seemed everyone I spoke to told me they would call me back. It took probably five attempts to get someone to help me or provide the correct information. After I closed my account I found out it stayed open despite owing no money on it, now having put two missed payments on my credit score. I am extremely unimpressed. The bank would also not help extending payments when in hardship. I was told I had to wait until the payment was missed before being able to apply for an extension, therefore affecting my credit rating, rather than trying to help their customers.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Keirah, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    It's just a bank to use for everyday living.

    It is just a bank. The one thing I don't like about any bank is they don't look out for their own customers. They're big on getting new customers but once you're with them they don't advise you about any new products that may work better for your needs.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Deena, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Broad product availability, less customer focused.

    Westpac is the least objectionable of the big 4 banks in terms of ease of service, resolution of issues and accessibility and product availability. I would suggest that if you need to go with a big 4, that they provide the best suite of products and are willing to consider matters with some flexibility to the customer needs. Although there are limited product features and competitiveness in terms of rates, this is made up for with higher convenience and ease of access to a broad range of products.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Started with Westpac, still with Westpac.

    I’ve been with Westpac for nearly 20 years and have never had a problem with them that couldn’t be resolved quickly.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy to use Flexi Loan with great customer service

    Overall I find it a very convenient personal loan. As it is a flex loan, it allows me to take only what I need, up to $10,000, and only pay interest on the amount I have borrowed. When I have no money owing, it is not closed, but stays available for me to use like a credit card. One negative would be that the interest rates went up 4% after the first year and the monthly service fee also went up by $3. This encourages me to use it much less often.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Ryan, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Exceptional customer service.

    They helped me when my previous bank of more than two decades would not and their customer service was exceptional.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Helen, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shop around and find someone that you can trust.

    While my wife was going through cancer they sent a letter to say they would suspend payment for 6 months. They did not. We had no income. We took out insurance to ensure against loss of job and medical so we thought. Wasted $7000. Lost my job still having to pay so wife had to go back to work early to pay the bills. Advice buyer be aware.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good

    Not bad, easy to get.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Robert, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good.

    They will solve any problem you have.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Luciana, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank with competitive rates.

    Fairly good bank. Does what they need to do. They offer good competitive rates and cheap options for repayments.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kimberley, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Quick response time.

    I like the fact that I could apply online and have an immediate response.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sylvia, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy process online.

    I did a personal loan online and it only took 15 minutes. It was very easy process and had my funds in 24 hours.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lara, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Westpac Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good customer service in branch.

    Friendly staff. I don't like that they are inflexible. I also don't like their recent scandal with money laundering.

    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Frances, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $35,599.71 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.49% p.a.to 8.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.84% p.a.to 9.34% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,459.64 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.95% would cost $11,107.53 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.99% p.a.to 25.69% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.79% p.a.to 26.65% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,208.67 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.75% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.96% p.a.to 8.69% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.75% would cost $35,580.23 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 228 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.