Westpac logo

Westpac Savings account reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.2/10
Customer service
7.5/10
Convenience
7.9/10
Trust
7.5/10
Based on 4923 savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Life (18-29 years old)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best interest rate in market, easy to use app

    Best interest rate in market, easy to use app and easy to transfer between transaction and savings account.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Taylor, New South Wales, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent

    When I do go into a branch, I find the branch very happy and helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Diana, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    An excellent bank.

    I have been a Westpac customer for over 50 years and have always had good customer service. They have always helped when needed.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Julie, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Bump Savings (under 12)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Extremely happy with Westpac service.

    Went into to the Westpac Riverton Branch today with my 13 year old son to open a savings account for him, and was helped by a who provided excellent Customer Service. He was patient, professional and friendly. My son was very comfortable with him and I certainly think he should be awarded consultant of the year. We were extremely happy with the overall service Westpac has provided once again. Keep it up!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ash, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    It’s a good bank.

    I’ve been with the bank for over 25 years.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Amy, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Rewards saver doesn’t pay much in bonuses.

    I had a Westpac rewards saver. During Covid the bonus for saving was less than for keeping the account. In effect I was losing money and every time I wanted to take money out it cost $5. Customer service was good and phone lines were open at most times. The local branch I banked at closed so I had to travel further to a branch. I ended up closing the account and putting savings into superannuation.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good reliable bank.

    Westpac is a well known bank. They are competitive with home loan rates, savings interest and credit cards. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly, always ready to assist with any problems or concerns. It is a concern that so many branches are closing. They seem to be few and far between.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Bump Savings (under 12)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Love Westpac.

    I love Westpac because the staff are so friendly and they all go out of their way to help their customers the best they can.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good

    All family’s members are with westpac. Staff in customer service is kind and helpful. Always give you suggestions.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tina, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Depends which state you're in, low access to atms

    Cons are that the bank tellers have to meet a quota of how many savings accounts they open for customers and opening more accounts aren't in your best interest

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Matilda, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Life (18-29 years old)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend

    Excellent interest rate at 3% for 18-29 year olds, with fair conditions such as making at least 5 transactions per month. It is great that I only need to open one saving account and that within the app I can allocate my savings from this one account to multiple savings goals . My previous bank made me open multiple savings accounts to do this. This method is better for interests rates and makes it easier to transfer money. The customer service when setting up this account was fantastic with the rep providing as much info and explanations as possible.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Tasmania, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Temora branch is the best

    the Temora branch are wonderful people always great you with a smile ,very polite happy ,easy to get on with and very helpful

    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Debra, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    read my opinion

    I like every one of the big 4 banks, you take your chances, some are better than others, but they do need to look and update their finance products options for people who do not work etc.. as government Centrelink payments are more guaranteed that job wages now and in the future.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Tasmania, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I could not trust this bank anymore

    The service is very terrible and not professional at all. I have got bad experience with one of the branch. I deposited the bank cheque (the cheque issued by Westpac) that I got it from my buyer. The teller who received it said it should be cleared in 3 business days (in this point I have felt already that the teller was not friendly at all when I asked something). After 4 days, the money was not in the account yet and when we tried to call the bank, no answer. On the fifth day, I went to the branch and asked about my cheque deposit. The branch manager told me that the cheque has been stopped on the same day when I deposited it and he called my buyer to issue another cheque but he gave the new cheque back to my buyer, “he did not inform me at all and he also did not deposited the new cheque in to my account”. This is so ridiculous procedure. My transaction with the buyer was completed already (I gave the car to the buyer and finished the transfer of ownership and gave her the receipt) since there was no problem when I deposited the cheque and even after 4 days. Luckily I know the buyer so I can ask her to pay me again but how about if the buyer run away. I am very disappointed with the service and procedure. The bank could not be trusted. If we do the business and use this bank, we might go bankrupt very soon based on my experience. The branch manager did not feel guilty at all.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nila, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    I like their logo colours

    It has an Eftpos machine close by. There are not enough banks and Eftpos machines around my area where I live. Their online banking is easy to use

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sussan, Tasmania, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.20% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.20% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Deposit $2,000 each month and make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000.

      Promoted
    • Serious Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.30% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for first 3 months, reverting to 0.15% rate after

      Promoted
    • Grow Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.65% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make at least 1 deposit and no more than 1 withdrawal, including internal transfers or external payments.

      Promoted
    • Online Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $500,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.35% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 223 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.