Westpac logo

Westpac Savings account reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.2/10
Customer service
7.5/10
Convenience
7.9/10
Trust
7.5/10
Based on 4917 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Rewards saver doesn’t pay much in bonuses.

    I had a Westpac rewards saver. During Covid the bonus for saving was less than for keeping the account. In effect I was losing money and every time I wanted to take money out it cost $5. Customer service was good and phone lines were open at most times. The local branch I banked at closed so I had to travel further to a branch. I ended up closing the account and putting savings into superannuation.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, Victoria, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good reliable bank.

    Westpac is a well known bank. They are competitive with home loan rates, savings interest and credit cards. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly, always ready to assist with any problems or concerns. It is a concern that so many branches are closing. They seem to be few and far between.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Westpac Bump Savings (under 12) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Love Westpac.

    I love Westpac because the staff are so friendly and they all go out of their way to help their customers the best they can.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, Queensland, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good

    All family’s members are with westpac. Staff in customer service is kind and helpful. Always give you suggestions.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tina, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac eSaver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Depends which state you're in, low access to atms

    Cons are that the bank tellers have to meet a quota of how many savings accounts they open for customers and opening more accounts aren't in your best interest

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Matilda, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Life (18-29 years old) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend

    Excellent interest rate at 3% for 18-29 year olds, with fair conditions such as making at least 5 transactions per month. It is great that I only need to open one saving account and that within the app I can allocate my savings from this one account to multiple savings goals . My previous bank made me open multiple savings accounts to do this. This method is better for interests rates and makes it easier to transfer money. The customer service when setting up this account was fantastic with the rep providing as much info and explanations as possible.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac eSaver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Temora branch is the best

    the Temora branch are wonderful people always great you with a smile ,very polite happy ,easy to get on with and very helpful

    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Debra, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    read my opinion

    I like every one of the big 4 banks, you take your chances, some are better than others, but they do need to look and update their finance products options for people who do not work etc.. as government Centrelink payments are more guaranteed that job wages now and in the future.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Tasmania, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I could not trust this bank anymore

    The service is very terrible and not professional at all. I have got bad experience with one of the branch. I deposited the bank cheque (the cheque issued by Westpac) that I got it from my buyer. The teller who received it said it should be cleared in 3 business days (in this point I have felt already that the teller was not friendly at all when I asked something). After 4 days, the money was not in the account yet and when we tried to call the bank, no answer. On the fifth day, I went to the branch and asked about my cheque deposit. The branch manager told me that the cheque has been stopped on the same day when I deposited it and he called my buyer to issue another cheque but he gave the new cheque back to my buyer, “he did not inform me at all and he also did not deposited the new cheque in to my account”. This is so ridiculous procedure. My transaction with the buyer was completed already (I gave the car to the buyer and finished the transfer of ownership and gave her the receipt) since there was no problem when I deposited the cheque and even after 4 days. Luckily I know the buyer so I can ask her to pay me again but how about if the buyer run away. I am very disappointed with the service and procedure. The bank could not be trusted. If we do the business and use this bank, we might go bankrupt very soon based on my experience. The branch manager did not feel guilty at all.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nila, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    I like their logo colours

    It has an Eftpos machine close by. There are not enough banks and Eftpos machines around my area where I live. Their online banking is easy to use

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sussan, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac eSaver review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    No complaints.

    Just your average banking account. Very user friendly online portal. Rates are acceptable. Easy to setup.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Natasha, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Bump Savings (under 12) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very impressed.

    Fantastic customer service, friendly and knowledgeable. Easy to use banking app on line. Reasonable interest rate.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Patricia, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Like Westpac!

    Always get consistently great service over 20 years. Though unsure if their rates are good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Vanessa, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Bump Savings (under 12) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    They are ok with customer service.

    The interest rate is terrible. I do like the banking app though, it is easy to use. I have been with Westpac for over 18 years and no special offers or bonus. Considering it is a big bank, they could offer a little more for their customers.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Jess, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Savings Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t go with them.

    They are making millions in profits every year and I can’t even get 1%.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Janelle, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • AMP Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.25% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of at least $250.

      Promoted
    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.80% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Serious Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.30% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.15% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for first 3 months, reverting to 0.15% rate after

      Promoted
    • Flexi Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.25% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Increase balance by at least $300 in the month

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 227 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.