Thumbnail icon for Bank First

Bank First Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.8/10
Price
8.5/10
Features
8.1/10
Customer service
9.2/10
Convenience
7.7/10
Trust
9.1/10
Based on 44 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank First home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank First First Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Helpful customer service.

    I have to work hard at it but they will match any bank interest home loan rate I find.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kris, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Open and honest

    Staff that go above and beyond to help

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mia, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best customer service I have experienced

    Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have been my banking provider for over 20 years. From the very start they were friendly, easy to talk to and very approachable. When I had dealings with them in regards to my home loan I dealt with the same person over the period of time completing the paperwork. Excellent advice was forthcoming in regards to consolidating all my loans which enabled me to get my finances in order and I am now able to make ends meet as well as saving for my retirement. I would not bank with anyone else.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Majella, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Bank First Standard Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Member-focussed services and fees

    Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank has always been there for the members. It is a bank owned by the members for the members. Their services are comprehensive and prices are fair and often less than other banks. They are easy to approach and give personal service.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Glenda, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Adequate

    I think the main con for this bank is the lack of branches. It can make it very difficult when and if you need to go in.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank First review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very competitive rates, few extra charges

    We have been with the VTMB for quite a few years now and have found them very good to work with both from a financial point of view and certainly for customer service.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shane, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank First review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service, competitive fees

    Great customer service, competitive fees, easy to use redraw facility, easy to use website and on line banking.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Virginia, Victoria, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Bank First review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great home loan product and customer service

    Making the switch to Westpac was easy. The customer service was great and they explained how the home loan package worked and all the benefits that came with it. I am happy to see the product works for us, with a lower interest rate than our previous bank and online banking to see our redraw options from the payments we are making.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Katrina, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Caring customer service

    This bank doesn't see you as a customer they treat you like a friend. They are concerned with your well being. It is nothing for them to stop are have a chat about life. They are very caring. While I was unwell, having suffered a nervous breakdown, the staff members were genuinely concerned for my well being. They were supportive and understanding. They made me feel safe and did not judge me. The act of kindness to me assisted in me becoming well again. I glad I turned to them, because the person who should have cared for and nutured me, my husband did not. The journey to recovery was a long one, a whole year. In that time I was hospitalised and was driven the the depths of despair. I also found out during this period that my husband of 25 years was having sexual affair with a woman he met on the internet while I was in hospital. This devastated me. I also discovered that she is not the first. When I looked back over the years there have been many. I always found out some information and he would deny any allegations that I made, stating that I was possessive of him and jealous. He said that the suggestion that he was unfaithful was ridiculous and that if I continued to accuse him of infidelity he would leave me. This weekend his own mother told me that he has lied to me for years. I now believe that my years of infertility is due to him sleeping around with other women. We had tried IVF treatment for 13 years without success. God, I've been such a fool. But no more, I'll be meeting with my solicitor this week to end this fares of a marriage and I know that the Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank will be there with me as I begin a new life as a happy, single woman. I'll be selling my home and I know that the bank will help me when I buy my own home.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lucia, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    The best rates and helpful, friendly service.

    I was with one of the Big 4 banks for 30 years and I moved to Vic Teachers Mutual Bank as all profits go back to all the account holders of the bank instead of outside shareholders and they beat the rates and the costs of the Big 4. The only drawback was no rewards program and no big network of branches. I can live without the handy branches as I do all my banking online these days and their online facilities are easy to use. I weighed up the cost of the rewards program, and the benefits of the lower rate and costs were greater than the perks of the rewards program.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Victoria Teacher's Mutual Bank- It pays to save!!

    'Trust' and 'Bank' don't usually go together, However, Victoria Teachers Mutual bank's like no other! Redraw facility, friendly staff, low rates, Recommended to all family and mates! Could compare to local butcher, postie or hairdresser, Teller knows me by first name and no lesser! Reminds me of good old days, when profits were not important and saving money pays! Commonwealth bank ATM's, we can use, Without fees, we don't lose! Website is easy and secure, 2 branches and no fewer. From credit union to bank, If it were sport, it would highly rank!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    VTMB

    Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have provided banking for my family for over 35 years. Originally a credit union for the education industry, I was introduced through my father, a teacher, although now anyone can join. I find their products competitive, the ability to bank fee free (savings accounts and loans), they offer the rewards package and the customer service is great. While they only have two branches in Melbourne, you can access or deposit funds through any CBA ATM or branch.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very competitive and fantastic customer service

    Fantastic rates on home loans where I can withdraw any excess monies deposited in case of an emergency. Great customer service and follow up on enquiries in regards to loans and accounts.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Too good to risk changing

    I have had three home loans with them. Have never considered changing!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Bank First Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Great rates but bad operating hours

    We have used this product for over two years now. The product itself is great. Competitive rates & options for the customer. The bank itself is hard to work with. Only the one branch in Camberwell (Vic) opened 9am-5pm Monday to Friday, makes it hard to organise banking. Having better customer service would make life a lot easier.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Back to Basics Special

      interest rate
      2.54% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.
      fixed 4 years
      comparison rate
      2.90% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.