Bank First home loan reviews

Bank First
Bank First's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.7 / 10

based on 9 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Bank First

Recent Bank First home loan reviews

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Open and honest

Staff that go above and beyond to help

Full review

Staff that go above and beyond to help

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mia (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best customer service I have experienced

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have been my banking provider for over 20 years. From the very start they were friendly, easy to talk to and very approachable. When I had dealings with them in regards to my home loan I dealt with the same person...

Full review

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have been my banking provider for over 20 years. From the very start they were friendly, easy to talk to and very approachable. When I had dealings with them in regards to my home loan I dealt with the same person over the period of time completing the paperwork. Excellent advice was forthcoming in regards to consolidating all my loans which enabled me to get my finances in order and I am now able to make ends meet as well as saving for my retirement. I would not bank with anyone else.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Majella (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Standard Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Member-focussed services and fees

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank has always been there for the members. It is a bank owned by the members for the members. Their services are comprehensive and prices are fair and often less than other banks. They are easy to approach and give...

Full review

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank has always been there for the members. It is a bank owned by the members for the members. Their services are comprehensive and prices are fair and often less than other banks. They are easy to approach and give personal service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glenda (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Standard Fixed Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive rates, few extra charges

We have been with the VTMB for quite a few years now and have found them very good to work with both from a financial point of view and certainly for customer service.

Full review

We have been with the VTMB for quite a few years now and have found them very good to work with both from a financial point of view and certainly for customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shane (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, competitive fees

Great customer service, competitive fees, easy to use redraw facility, easy to use website and on line banking.

Full review

Great customer service, competitive fees, easy to use redraw facility, easy to use website and on line banking.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Virginia (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great home loan product and customer service

Making the switch to Westpac was easy. The customer service was great and they explained how the home loan package worked and all the benefits that came with it. I am happy to see the product works for us, with a lower interest rate than our...

Full review

Making the switch to Westpac was easy. The customer service was great and they explained how the home loan package worked and all the benefits that came with it. I am happy to see the product works for us, with a lower interest rate than our previous bank and online banking to see our redraw options from the payments we are making.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Katrina (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The best rates and helpful, friendly service.

I was with one of the Big 4 banks for 30 years and I moved to Vic Teachers Mutual Bank as all profits go back to all the account holders of the bank instead of outside shareholders and they beat the rates and the costs of the Big 4. The only...

Full review

I was with one of the Big 4 banks for 30 years and I moved to Vic Teachers Mutual Bank as all profits go back to all the account holders of the bank instead of outside shareholders and they beat the rates and the costs of the Big 4. The only drawback was no rewards program and no big network of branches. I can live without the handy branches as I do all my banking online these days and their online facilities are easy to use. I weighed up the cost of the rewards program, and the benefits of the lower rate and costs were greater than the perks of the rewards program.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michael (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Victoria Teacher's Mutual Bank- It pays to save!!

'Trust' and 'Bank' don't usually go together, However, Victoria Teachers Mutual bank's like no other! Redraw facility, friendly staff, low rates, Recommended to all family and mates! Could compare to local butcher, postie or...

Full review

'Trust' and 'Bank' don't usually go together, However, Victoria Teachers Mutual bank's like no other! Redraw facility, friendly staff, low rates, Recommended to all family and mates! Could compare to local butcher, postie or hairdresser, Teller knows me by first name and no lesser! Reminds me of good old days, when profits were not important and saving money pays! Commonwealth bank ATM's, we can use, Without fees, we don't lose! Website is easy and secure, 2 branches and no fewer. From credit union to bank, If it were sport, it would highly rank!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Complete Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

VTMB

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have provided banking for my family for over 35 years. Originally a credit union for the education industry, I was introduced through my father, a teacher, although now anyone can join. I find their products...

Full review

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank have provided banking for my family for over 35 years. Originally a credit union for the education industry, I was introduced through my father, a teacher, although now anyone can join. I find their products competitive, the ability to bank fee free (savings accounts and loans), they offer the rewards package and the customer service is great. While they only have two branches in Melbourne, you can access or deposit funds through any CBA ATM or branch.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Scott (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competitive and fantastic customer service

Fantastic rates on home loans where I can withdraw any excess monies deposited in case of an emergency. Great customer service and follow up on enquiries in regards to loans and accounts.

Full review

Fantastic rates on home loans where I can withdraw any excess monies deposited in case of an emergency. Great customer service and follow up on enquiries in regards to loans and accounts.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great rates but bad operating hours

We have used this product for over two years now. The product itself is great. Competitive rates & options for the customer. The bank itself is hard to work with. Only the one branch in Camberwell (Vic) opened 9am-5pm Monday to Friday, makes it...

Full review

We have used this product for over two years now. The product itself is great. Competitive rates & options for the customer. The bank itself is hard to work with. Only the one branch in Camberwell (Vic) opened 9am-5pm Monday to Friday, makes it hard to organise banking. Having better customer service would make life a lot easier.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Too good to risk changing

I have had three home loans with them. Have never considered changing!

Full review

I have had three home loans with them. Have never considered changing!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Client-focus, best features, rates, no hidden cost

The great flexibility of their unlimited fee-free redraw facilities (and for any amounts from $500) are enabling us to pay off our loan faster. Online banking allows us to transfer immediately from one account to another. So we can have all our...

Full review

The great flexibility of their unlimited fee-free redraw facilities (and for any amounts from $500) are enabling us to pay off our loan faster. Online banking allows us to transfer immediately from one account to another. So we can have all our money sitting in the home loan and simply transfer some back to our transaction account whenever we need to pay a bill. (Unlike many other banks there are no limits to the number of times you can do this and no fees for doing so.) Interest rates are competitive - but the lack of fees really means that you are paying less for the loan here. And customer service is brilliant. A bank with responsible attitudes and customer focus.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Janice (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly and helpful staff

Friendly and helpful staff. I was borderline to qualify for the home loan, but instead of just saying no, they asked for additional information, took it all into consideration and were able to approve a loan for me.

Full review

Friendly and helpful staff. I was borderline to qualify for the home loan, but instead of just saying no, they asked for additional information, took it all into consideration and were able to approve a loan for me.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rebecca (VIC), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Simple, no fuss loan with reliable bank.

Great customer service. Easy to set up and simple no fuss loan allowing me to make additional repayments and redraw. Banked with the bank for 10 years and no issues.

Full review

Great customer service. Easy to set up and simple no fuss loan allowing me to make additional repayments and redraw. Banked with the bank for 10 years and no issues.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angela (VIC), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and awesome service

The people are extremely helpful, understanding and know what they are talking about. They take their time to explain things and are the best. I have been banking with them for my most of my life and wouldn't change to another bank.

Full review

The people are extremely helpful, understanding and know what they are talking about. They take their time to explain things and are the best. I have been banking with them for my most of my life and wouldn't change to another bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (VIC), reviewed about 5 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates with excellent customer service.

While the product itself is comparable with the better range of mortgage loans; good rate, flexibility, security, etcetera, it is outstanding for the following reasons: There is easily understood documentation outlining features, terms and...

Full review

While the product itself is comparable with the better range of mortgage loans; good rate, flexibility, security, etcetera, it is outstanding for the following reasons: There is easily understood documentation outlining features, terms and conditions. It is backed up by careful, individually tailored client service by well trained staff. It functions under a Customer Service Charter which I have never heard of being breached.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lance (VIC), reviewed over 5 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They care and it shows

The VTMB (formally VTCU) are very competitive with rates, thorough with credit checks, deliver outstanding and client-centred service and are totally in touch with the market. I couldn't be happier having my loan with them.

Full review

The VTMB (formally VTCU) are very competitive with rates, thorough with credit checks, deliver outstanding and client-centred service and are totally in touch with the market. I couldn't be happier having my loan with them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Dallas (VIC), reviewed over 5 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Vic Teacher's Credit Union have been supporting teachers with many financial products. They are not concerned with a profit and therefore create their products to best suit their members - the customer! They are easily contactable through phone,...

Full review

Vic Teacher's Credit Union have been supporting teachers with many financial products. They are not concerned with a profit and therefore create their products to best suit their members - the customer! They are easily contactable through phone, email and internet banking and are very efficient. The only concern is that they have no ATM's or branches and you incur a fee for using other banks. This fee is well and truly covered by the savings on their products however.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracey (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I like this product because of the very strong principles the Victoria Teachers Credit Union has stood by since its inception. and that is members helping members to successfully achieve what they want to achieve; that way every member benefits.

Full review

I like this product because of the very strong principles the Victoria Teachers Credit Union has stood by since its inception. and that is members helping members to successfully achieve what they want to achieve; that way every member benefits.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Craig (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Vic Credit Union fantastic! They have saved me so much money on my home loan. I switched my home loan from one of the major banks & I have never looked back & I have recommended them to my family & friends. No fuss banking with very supportive staff.

Full review

Vic Credit Union fantastic! They have saved me so much money on my home loan. I switched my home loan from one of the major banks & I have never looked back & I have recommended them to my family & friends. No fuss banking with very supportive staff.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carolyn (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They have great products, are intent on providing quality customer service and are there for the customer not the shareholder.

Full review

They have great products, are intent on providing quality customer service and are there for the customer not the shareholder.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoff (VIC), reviewed about 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I was not able to set up an offset account, and the minimum redraw is $2000. Pricing is competitive with any listed prices from other banks - but they can't negotiate a better deal like a big bank can. Customer service is brilliant. Everything...

Full review

I was not able to set up an offset account, and the minimum redraw is $2000. Pricing is competitive with any listed prices from other banks - but they can't negotiate a better deal like a big bank can. Customer service is brilliant. Everything works just as you would expect it to. No fees to speak of (nothing you can't avoid). Beats any bank hands down.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed about 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The discounted rate and zero establishment or ongoing fees were a positive. Found the interest rate to be competitive but not the lowest out there. The redraw has no charges but is a minimum of $500 which you can get around easily by depositing...

Full review

The discounted rate and zero establishment or ongoing fees were a positive. Found the interest rate to be competitive but not the lowest out there. The redraw has no charges but is a minimum of $500 which you can get around easily by depositing back any additional amount you didn't want to take out. Very helpful during the initial process but support dropped off a bit once the product was in place.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Catherine (VIC), reviewed over 6 years ago

Bank First

Bank First home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service. It has the features that I want and a low interest rate.

Full review

Great customer service. It has the features that I want and a low interest rate.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darryl (VIC), reviewed over 6 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top