Bank of Queensland logo

Bank of Queensland Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.5/10
Price
7.2/10
Features
6.8/10
Customer service
7.8/10
Convenience
7.7/10
Trust
7.6/10
Based on 538 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Bank of Queensland

Discount Fixed Rate

interest rate
1.89% p.a.
fixed 2 years
comparison rate
3.05% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Bank of Queensland home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Happy to play a waiting game & interrogation?

    I recently applied for a home loan through the Bank of Queensland. They have taken a ridiculous amount of time to complete the application, with very little contact made throughout the process, which in turn has created so much stress for me and the real estate agent holding the property. It is beyond me what they need when I have owned numerous properties, have an excellent credit history, and I've been in the same job for 33 years. I also have a substantial deposit. The stress is not worth it! It's changed my moods, my temperament around family, and my general concentration.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid at all costs

    Spent months back and forth,ridiculous paperwork requests. Rates ,charges ect. changed on every contact. Could not answer any questions. Requested business structure changes. No idea of what they required. Time wasters with no results. Avoid this bank. If they can't organise a applicant,god help you if they have your mortgage

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nathan, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Economy Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <70% LVR) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great staff, a few banks but lack ATMs.

    Staff are great and cash back was awesome. Not many ATMs and the phone app was designed in 2001. Absolutely shocking. You can't name your accounts. You can't lock a card if it's lost or stolen. No chat to ask any questions.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Less
    Dale, Victoria, reviewed 24 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst bank ever.

    Very much dislike this bank. We had a very bad experience recently. The bank did not listen to customers' needs and were very uncaring.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gwynne, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Lost the house because of BOQ home loans process.

    Biggest headache I have even had. They told us they would push our application through quickly and there will be a two day turn around. After we applied they said it will now be a five day turn around. 19 Days later (and two extensions on our cooling off period) and we are going to lose the house because they keep asking us to provide stupid documents and asking stupid questions (for example how my uni degree relates to my current job and previous job, provide evidence of your previous job title, provide your tax statements from 2018). Every time we provide them with what they want they take another 24 hours to process then come back with another stupid request. So disappointed we will miss out on the house and lose our deposit because we chose the wrong bank to go with. Never use this bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good in store customer service

    Great customer service, still waiting to hear back about interest rates for loans after a week.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Dwayne, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good personalised service.

    BOQ has good personalised service and has matched interest rates from competitors. Would be better if there were no ATM withdrawal fees as limited bank-owned ATMs, but other than that quite satisfied with the bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Guada, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    BOQ has great customer service.

    They should demolish their 10 fees on their home loans and be more competitive with interest rates.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Friendly staff.

    Customer service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mel, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Mortgage - interest rate.

    Customer service has been helpful in the past however interest rate is still quite high for the current market at 3.8%.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Denae, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Outdated but good customer service.

    Very outdated technology.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst Banking experience

    By far the worst banking experience I have ever come into contact with. Do not use this bank, save yourself the heartache. Try anyone else.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very bad bank

    Very bad.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mathew, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good bank but needs a big technology update ASAP

    Competitive interest rates and easy set-up of my loans, but the app and lack of apple pay is ridiculous. The app is so outdated, the safari version is better (barely). Having no apple pay in 2020 is just ridiculous.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lily, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Personal service.

    We have been with BOQ for a long time. The reason I have never changed is the personal service. I never have to show ID.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sonia, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Loan with Orange Advantage Orange Advantage

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      3.60% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.12% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 519 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.