Bank of Queensland logo

Bank of Queensland Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 539 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Bank of Queensland

Economy Variable Home Loan

interest rate
1.98% p.a. variable
comparison rate
2.15% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Bank of Queensland home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Special Offer Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Unreliable, untrustworthy and inconvenient

    We were selling our house and buying a different one a few years back and had everything sorted and dates lined up, then BOQ told us we had to sign a particular document which then had to be sent via courier up to Queensland then sent back again with a turn around of about 3 days. This delayed settlement and at the time we asked to be compensated for it, they said should be fine we'll deal with that later. Got the transfer done and suddenly BOQ claimed they had no intention of giving any compensation (I'd had to take days off work for the juggling around of paperwork etc). Reported them to the Financial Services Ombudsman and eventually got compensated. Combined with the fact that there are very few actual branches in Victoria, and the fact that having to send physical copies of documents to Queensland totally nullifies their promotional campaign of "owner managers" being able to solve all your problems and deal with you on a personal level.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Christopher, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Happy to play a waiting game & interrogation?

    I recently applied for a home loan through the Bank of Queensland. They have taken a ridiculous amount of time to complete the application, with very little contact made throughout the process, which in turn has created so much stress for me and the real estate agent holding the property. It is beyond me what they need when I have owned numerous properties, have an excellent credit history, and I've been in the same job for 33 years. I also have a substantial deposit. The stress is not worth it! It's changed my moods, my temperament around family, and my general concentration.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Samantha, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR)

    Avoid at all costs

    Spent months back and forth,ridiculous paperwork requests. Rates ,charges ect. changed on every contact. Could not answer any questions. Requested business structure changes. No idea of what they required. Time wasters with no results. Avoid this bank. If they can't organise a applicant,god help you if they have your mortgage

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Nathan, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Economy Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <70% LVR, Debt to Income ratio <6)

    Great staff, a few banks but lack ATMs.

    Staff are great and cash back was awesome. Not many ATMs and the phone app was designed in 2001. Absolutely shocking. You can't name your accounts. You can't lock a card if it's lost or stolen. No chat to ask any questions.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Dale, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Worst bank ever.

    Very much dislike this bank. We had a very bad experience recently. The bank did not listen to customers' needs and were very uncaring.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gwynne, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Lost the house because of BOQ home loans process.

    Biggest headache I have even had. They told us they would push our application through quickly and there will be a two day turn around. After we applied they said it will now be a five day turn around. 19 Days later (and two extensions on our cooling off period) and we are going to lose the house because they keep asking us to provide stupid documents and asking stupid questions (for example how my uni degree relates to my current job and previous job, provide evidence of your previous job title, provide your tax statements from 2018). Every time we provide them with what they want they take another 24 hours to process then come back with another stupid request. So disappointed we will miss out on the house and lose our deposit because we chose the wrong bank to go with. Never use this bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Good in store customer service

    Great customer service, still waiting to hear back about interest rates for loans after a week.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dwayne, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Special Offer Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Good personalised service.

    BOQ has good personalised service and has matched interest rates from competitors. Would be better if there were no ATM withdrawal fees as limited bank-owned ATMs, but other than that quite satisfied with the bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Guada, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    BOQ has great customer service.

    They should demolish their 10 fees on their home loans and be more competitive with interest rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR)

    Friendly staff.

    Customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mel, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR)

    Mortgage - interest rate.

    Customer service has been helpful in the past however interest rate is still quite high for the current market at 3.8%.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Denae, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Outdated but good customer service.

    Very outdated technology.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vicky, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR)

    Worst Banking experience

    By far the worst banking experience I have ever come into contact with. Do not use this bank, save yourself the heartache. Try anyone else.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Very bad bank

    Very bad.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mathew, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Queensland Home Loan

    Good bank but needs a big technology update ASAP

    Competitive interest rates and easy set-up of my loans, but the app and lack of apple pay is ridiculous. The app is so outdated, the safari version is better (barely). Having no apple pay in 2020 is just ridiculous.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lily, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.