Thumbnail icon for BankVic

BankVic Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.5/10
Price
7.9/10
Features
6.9/10
Customer service
8.4/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
8.9/10
Based on 36 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent BankVic home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • BankVic Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good rate but I recommend shopping around.

    Good rate and I like the redraw function, but when I made an enquiry about reducing the rates, they ignored my emails.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Lawrence, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great people, expertise and excellent service.

    BankVic (formerly Police Credit) is an excellent, honest and competitive bank with an emphasis on customer service. We have had our personal and home loans through them for several years and have had other people, such as our conveyancer describe them as being excellent to work with. When you call them you can always get a person that you can have a conversation and joke with if you like and everything gets sorted quickly. Their products offer a great balance of features and competitiveness. They won't be the cheapest in the market but they don't sting you with hidden fees and charges either. Improvements; the main things they could improve are their network of fee-free ATMS and their online platform. They especially need to implement 2-factor authentication for the banking platform, as I think they are probably the only bank that doesn't at this point. Although, they do ring you quickly re any suspect transactions.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • BankVic Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) (Premium Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    More than a Bank. Customers always come first.

    Very customer oriented. BankVic originally established as a Co Operative with a fundamental philosophy of returning profits to its member base. That ideal has continued since recently becoming a Bank. Very competitive Interest Rates on all Savings and Loan Accounts. Nil Annual or Administrative Fees.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • BankVic Base Variable Home Loan Special 2 Year Rate (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Really is members first service

    BankVic was recommended by friend and I couldn't be happier. Both setting up a new account and taking out a home loan was hassle free - no pressure process. I compare that to my original first choice lender (one of big banks) who took on role of 'faux friend' but was later unresponsive to my queries and questions as first time lender. After gaining pre-approval I nonetheless disregarded them and couldn't be happier. Customer service is first rate. They're easy to get hold of and speak with and are professional and genuine in providing service. Products themselves are easy to understand. In my base a 'basic variable home loan'. Easy to log in to my account and see the status of my banking details. Important communications (approvals - rate reductions!) are sent out via SMS - but they never try to sell me additional products. I'm just a satisfied customer - rare - but not yet extinct breed if you're banking with BankVic.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • BankVic Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    good customer follow up

    low fees reasonable interes rates

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • BankVic Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Friendly and patient

    The staff ensure the customer is looked after every step of the way. They are happy to discuss debt consolidation and budgeting. The staff do not rush customers through a transaction or query, but spend adequate time explaining products and services.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Elizabeth, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • BankVic Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The Best Bank

    I love my bank (BankVic). Just wish they had more branches.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Morgsvic, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • BankVic Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very competitive, friendly and helpful

    Have been with BankVic for some 35 years and in that time have had no complaints. They even went so far as to loan me 100% of my home loan until the first home loan came through. No fees, always get friendly local people to help with any questions. I just wonder why more people don't bank with them and keep making huge profits for the big 4.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Personable, efficient and professional service

    BankVic have great customer service. They are reliable, informative and very helpful. The only negative is that they don't have many branches open on Saturdays.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marie, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • BankVic Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    It cares about its members

    If I spend a large part of my life and a large part of my earnings paying back a loan, I would like to give it to a bank that cares about me. BankVic makes sure I put my money in the right place.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Dionne, Victoria, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premium Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Customer service is above and beyond

    Staff are amazingly helpful, not what you would normally expect from a bank, great follow up to make sure I am still happy with service, let me know if there is now a better option for my circumstances. Love them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cherrie, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible valuation

    BankWest underestimated property valuation far from other banks. I had applied for refinance and found Bankwest undervaluing property atleast 50k less than other banks. How come such a big difference? Shame on business for not giving a fair go to customers and not even reasoning why.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Western Australia, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best customer service!

    I love BankVic! Great rates, friendly service and a range of competitive products.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premium Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Awesome, personal five star service

    Police Credit Co-op (now Bank Vic) has been our choice of a banking partner for 30+ years. Now our adult children also bank with this organisation. We have tried 'bank mortgages' but always return to Bank Vic. The service is exceptional, the rates are consistently within the lowest available by a significant amount, rate reductions are passed on very quickly, the on-line banking services are constantly being improved and the security on our account is without exception. The members are the shareholders so the benefits stay with us. Face-to-face banking is available via Westpac branches. What else could you need in a financial institution?

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • BankVic Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Rates were excellant and the service on the phone

    I asked for a home loan by the phone and it was set up for me with only one visit to sign the paper work, and they rang me to let me know it had been approved. No Fuss No Bother and always notified of any increases or decreases right away. I have been with the PC union for about 16 to 18 years now and could not speak more highly of them, they are always very polite and very help full. Something the big banks should take note of.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sue, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 543 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.