Thumbnail icon for ING

ING Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Price
7.7/10
Features
7.1/10
Customer service
7.7/10
Convenience
7.2/10
Trust
7.7/10
Based on 729 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent ING home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage, Principal & Interest) (Orange Advantage) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    ING way to go!

    I like ING bank as their customer service which has been outstanding for us, products on offer are fairly pretty good but there's is never any pressure which is why iwe rate ING so highly.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed about 13 hours ago
  • ING Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy, transparent banking for diverse needs

    ING are very transparent with their services, products and fees - which is the foundation of trust-based banking that initially drew me into banking exclusively with them. ING products and services meet all my diverse banking needs - from a high interest savings account, home loan, everyday banking and insurance. As time goes on and my needs evolve, I envision transitioning into using more ING services. ING's user-friendly online platforms allow me to manage all of these services and products from my personal devices anywhere in the world, which suits my busy lifestyle. I have never felt more at ease managing money using their secure online platform. Staff responsiveness and general customer relations are exceptional, (including call-centre and online) despite COVID adersely impacting many like corporations I understand that there are limitations to service due being branch-less, but I am happy to work around these in order to enjoy low-cost no frills, low/no cost banking! I would not bank with anyone else, and will continue to advocate for more Australians to make the move to ING!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kathleen, Queensland, reviewed 5 days ago
  • ING Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent product and really good app technology.

    Great, easy to use online app. Good flexibility. Was good rates at the time we got it (2.5 years ago) but not as competitive now. Offset accounts feature is good and ability to have fixed and variable portions. No ATM fees which is great.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Katya, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • ING Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Treatment of long-time customers shocking & shabby

    Treatment of long-time customers is shocking and shabby. I used to bank with ING - simple products and easy to use generally though you have to be disciplined with something like the Mortgage Simplifier as it is all in one pot - the home loan and the offset. Beware if you want to leave them. I had my home loans with them. We were looking to refinance and buy a new property. All tracking along well initially but at the 11th hour of moving forward, they changed their rules unilaterally to not lend at all to those running a business. Doesn't matter I was a long-time customer with all my finances there and all paid on time every time just a straight 'we can't help you and further more, you have to move.' Found another bank (better rate and features too actually) during the refinancing and their discharge - there were suddenly more fees added without notice including their legals that I have no say over and that changed since those that were sent to me when I took out the home loan. Will never go back and managed to remove all my savings and super from them too. What a shoddy way to treat a long time customer. Only seem to be interested in shiny new ones!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Emma, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Brilliant - would definitely recommend IMG!

    Brillian, I have contacted customer service a number of times and they have been very helpful. Rates are competitive much better than the big 4 banks.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Anne, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
  • ING Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Genuinely helpful.

    As far as banks go, I'm really happy with ING, especially the customer service peeps, they are so lovely and helpful. Also, I never pay ATM fees, I get 50c when I withdraw $200+ cash out. They have helped immensely when I was struggling to pay my mortgage and I can split the loans, as well as enjoying redraw on my variable home loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, Victoria, reviewed 27 days ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Fast and efficient.

    I was surprised to see how fast and effective the team was at responding to questions/attending needs, despite the fact that ING does not have a branch anywhere. At first, I truly thought it'd be a hassle to get in touch with someone in case of emergency, but they have proved to be way more fast and efficient than any other bank I used to work with.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Tiff, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • ING Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid like the plague

    Will offer new customers a better rate than existing customers. Always lags behind the market rate when it drops. Custom complaints just repeats the same "we appreciate your feedback" while ignoring what you are saying. Avoid them!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    J ack, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • ING Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Inconsiderate Bank

    We are first time home buyers and did not have a good experience with the bank after settlement. They show very poor customer service and consideration towards their customers even in difficult time such as this. There was a .2% increase in the interest rate just a week before our settlement while none of the banks were increasing rates. There was no communication from ING regarding the rate increase. We have gone back and forth with the bank with no hope of them even considering our situation during these tough times. I agree they have a clause in their agreement to lock in the rate but change of rate without any notice would merit some consideration. While the customer service is courteous they have done nothing to help us. I would not recommend this bank ever.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Aniie, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage, Principal & Interest) (Orange Advantage) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    ING offers competitive rates and easy to use app.

    ING have a very competitive offering, and their app is easy to use and lets you set up multiple accounts as well.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daria, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage, Principal & Interest) (Orange Advantage) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t do it.

    Being a longstanding banking customer and after being conditionally approved for a mortgage to suck us in, ING ran us around and then let us down on finance. This meant we missed our finance deadline finding out a day before the clause was due. After being told everything was good right up till then we have been quite upset. According to a broker I found out after that they are assessing you at at much higher rates. (Something like 8% compared to 5.5% at the other banks). Poor communication, lack of understanding for clients position has taken me from a strong promoter of ING to a major detractor and I would not recommend anyone deal with them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great product, bad pricing

    Love dealing with ING in most areas. Online functionality is first class and customer service is usually on point. The issue I have with ING is that they sucker you in with a great upfront rate, but then never reprice it. They only offer great rates to new customers and existing customers don't get the benefit. So if you want a good rate and are happy to refinance in a couple of years ING is the way to go.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Greg, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    ING... best modern banking service around.

    ING's online banking is very convenient for our modern lifestyle with no fees for using other banking ATMs. ING's home loan rates are equal to the best around and they are very approachable with great customer service, being contactable 24 hours a day for most if not all services. Very happy with ING.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Everything on ING you need.

    I am pleased with them, particularly the lack of ATM fees. They are very good if you have any problems. We switched earlier this year to lower interest rate. Still not as low as we would like. They are always courteous and willing to help. Mapping on website easy to get around

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Debra, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage, Principal & Interest) (Orange Advantage) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Unethical and un-compassionate.

    Horrible! Would give 0 stars if I could. Uncompassionate and uncaring. Long term loyal customer and have never missed a payment. However I am completely dissatisfied with the actions of this global "caring" bank". Given the current economy and challenges we are all facing, it is amazing no compassion is shown. Every financial institution is fighting for our business offering competitive home loans both in the fixed and variable options. This bank is not willing to look at any flexibility in the fixed home rate even though I'm getting charged close to 4% and some institutions are offering just over 2%. Although I said I'm happy to re-enter into a new contract with ING, they still want to charge me the enormous breakout cost close to $9000 to sign up to another contract with them. WOW! Losing a customer and their network forever over $9000. That money might not be a lot for you banks but at the moment, that money goes a long way to help every day folks. Okay ING, thanks for nothing and after a couple more months, you will never have my business again and I'll be sure to share my unfortunate experience.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Back to Basics Special

      interest rate
      2.68% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.69% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 537 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.