Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie
Macquarie's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.3 / 10

based on 105 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Macquarie

Recent Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

Full review

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Stephen, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rate & easy to understand options

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

Full review

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Susie, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very prompt and understanding

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

Full review

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Le, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

Full review

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kirsty, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy access, limited features.

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

Full review

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Nerida, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best option available at the time taken out

Best option available at the time taken out.

Full review

Best option available at the time taken out.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Grant, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good basic product.

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

Full review

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Guy, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Too many fees

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

Full review

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ray, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

A wolf in sheep's clothing

When I was looking to purchase a home, I was successfully self employed running a transport business, no one would finance me even though I had three years of 25k/mth going through an IMB account Macquarie took me on even when I had applied to one...

Full review

When I was looking to purchase a home, I was successfully self employed running a transport business, no one would finance me even though I had three years of 25k/mth going through an IMB account Macquarie took me on even when I had applied to one to many banks before approaching them. So to explain my direction here; all home loans are pretty much the same governed on how personally financial a client is, for a "bank" to show enough faith in me ( a stranger no less) and take my hand in a shake that means so much on your first home purchase was very significant, nearly all younger first home buyers are motivated by providing a house (usually to an existing family unit) as a necessity to cost effectiveness versus rentals, with a lower mortgage repayment than rent, that could mean the difference between fresh bread or "toast again" for dinner.The moral to this is: a lot of banks in whatever way you would like to disguise it are the opposite of what they claim to be, instead of being the "suiters" they are effectively the "kings daughter" picking and choosing clients, making the less wealthy work harder, and ultimately giving the client a mortgage which in turns puts a lot of pressure and emotional burden usually as a last hope effort of gaining a home on a less fortunate or priveledged individial. All this based on a very less than honest marketed wholesome agenda portrayed in advertising. To sell to the "Australian" in this country is to know your communities, any hard working "Aussie" would blindly show loyalty over a slightly better deal because of the actual culture, as a result, the banks in my opinion would profit more long term with higher annual sign up data and repeat customer numbers which would outway the short-mid profit margin at the most bi-annually, serious thinking for both CEO's and Marketing proffessionals alike

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Haven't had any problems whatsoever.

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

Full review

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive with interest rates

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

Full review

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carol, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

Great

Full review

Great

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Selina, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One of the best customer service

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

Full review

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carlos, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exceptional

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

Full review

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brad, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Average

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard...

Full review

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard variable rate. It has been at least 2 - 4% higher for the duration of the loan. They will not entertain any reduction in the rate. I would not recommend this bank to anyone.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Yvonne, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 7 Virgin Money home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $400

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $400
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 901 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist

    interest rate

    3.67% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist
    • Interest rate: 3.67% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 243 Heritage Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 522 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top