Thumbnail icon for Macquarie

Macquarie Home loan reviews

Overall rating
5.9/10
Price
6.3/10
Features
5.7/10
Customer service
5.9/10
Convenience
5.2/10
Trust
6.1/10
Based on 133 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Macquarie home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    2.74% interest for construction loan.

    2-year 2.74% interest only for a construction loan. It was the fastest bank to approve during the pandemic and they were on the ball to get us set up whilst we rebuild our home. No cons so far.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wouldn’t change.

    A lot more competitive than the big banks.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tess, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    The worst retail bank and lenders in the market!

    This bank is the worst bank I have experienced for home loans. From start to end. It has no physical locations to deposit money, and has issued credit and bank cards in different names on multiple occasions. While other banks suggest and provide a halt on mortgage payments due to Covid, they suggested I sell my property and pay out my mortgage with them. I was told I was a risk now that I was no longer employed. Macquarie was concerned about the mortgage being defaulted. You have to wait a loooooong time to speak to someone. Calls will be transferred from one department to another as the customer service is not able to assist with issues. Their app was faulty on numerous occasions last year. They take a long time to release any money out. The list is too looooong. They just do not care about you. They are cheap for many reasons! They should stick to investments not retail banking services! Do what is right not what is easy!

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Geti, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Lots of bonuses, however actually too many

    Branches are non existent, phone while answered quickly it is difficult to obtain information. I am sure it have great features, however there are actually too many to go through.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Julie, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good mobile and online banking features

    Simple mobile and online bank app. Very easy to analyse and understand where the money has been spent. Rates are very competitive compared to the big four. Initial customer service over email was a little confusing at first (set up the account incorrectly). however once it was fixed, i have not had any issues.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Monica, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great features and great online platform to bank.

    Easy online platform, great customer service with Australian customer service people, competitive rates and great features such as 9 offset accounts with home loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ainslie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A good bank.

    So far, a very easy bank to deal with. Only setback is that they are online only, so no bank branches.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Carol, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive rates with great customer service

    The loan set up process was really easy and they offer competitive rates. The app is easy to follow and use. Their customer service team are easy to reach without long wait times and are helpful and skilled.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kiara, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Competitive rate and good features.

    We have been really happy with Macquarie. It's a bit of a pain not having easy access to a 'physical' branch here in Victoria, but we haven't had any problems and have a very competitive rate.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Emily, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fast and efficient service

    Online only mortgage provider. Better interactions than my previous provider.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Corey, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive rates and secure bank.

    Although not as large as the 'Big 4' retail banks, Macquarie is a much more diversified banking entity that offer very competitive rates on retail loans and credit cards and I would recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sean, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service.

    As a whole, is ok. Has most of the bells and whistles like multiple offset accounts with a rewards credit card. However they don't have ATMs which makes depositing cash into your account a bit difficult unless you are able to visit one of their branches (open only Monday-Friday). I think they have one in most states so it's not like they have an abundance of branches. BPay payments are available however you can't schedule them for future dates which is absolutely stupid. On the upside, their online banking is brilliant and customer service is done by someone in Australia and they are always very helpful.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Angie, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent choice for those who want flexibility.

    The product we use with Macquarie is quite flexible and the options to have multiple offset accounts allow us to pool our money in a way that makes managing our funds easy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Alex, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Simple app

    So far so good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Dawn, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Understanding of adverse situations.

    After experiencing unexpected hardship they assisted in every way possible. Their rates are fantastic and so is their customer service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Less
    Allira, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 538 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.