Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie
Macquarie's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.2 / 10

based on 39 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Macquarie

Recent Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

Full review

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Stephen (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rate & easy to understand options

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

Full review

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Susie (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very prompt and understanding

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

Full review

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Le (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

Full review

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kirsty (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy access, limited features.

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

Full review

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Nerida (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best option available at the time taken out

Best option available at the time taken out.

Full review

Best option available at the time taken out.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Grant (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good basic product.

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

Full review

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Guy (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Too many fees

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

Full review

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ray (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Haven't had any problems whatsoever.

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

Full review

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive with interest rates

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

Full review

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carol (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One of the best customer service

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

Full review

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carlos (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exceptional

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

Full review

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brad (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Average

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard...

Full review

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard variable rate. It has been at least 2 - 4% higher for the duration of the loan. They will not entertain any reduction in the rate. I would not recommend this bank to anyone.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Yvonne (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Macquarie Bank is the go ahead with home loans

Great customer service but when the rates drop, the customer should be notified immediately by SMS, email or even a recorded phone message.

Full review

Great customer service but when the rates drop, the customer should be notified immediately by SMS, email or even a recorded phone message.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sebastian (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great rates.

Like this bank because it is competitive with interest rates and fees. Can't wait for it to release its smartphone App!

Full review

Like this bank because it is competitive with interest rates and fees. Can't wait for it to release its smartphone App!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Absolutely stress free

I like this bank. Minimal fuss at start up. Emails and phone calls when direct transfers have occurred. Great way to save with mortgage offset account.

Full review

I like this bank. Minimal fuss at start up. Emails and phone calls when direct transfers have occurred. Great way to save with mortgage offset account.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kristina (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Although I deal with Macquarie bank on line and occasionally by phone I find them as easy to deal with as a face to face with any other bank. They are very competitive and in fact better for home loan than others I contacted at the time of renewal.

Full review

Although I deal with Macquarie bank on line and occasionally by phone I find them as easy to deal with as a face to face with any other bank. They are very competitive and in fact better for home loan than others I contacted at the time of renewal.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Inconvenient banking for the masses

We transferred a majority of our finance to Macquarie at the prompting of our mortgage broker after previously being with ANZ for many years. Our experience with Macquarie has generally been woeful. We waited so long for our finance that the...

Full review

We transferred a majority of our finance to Macquarie at the prompting of our mortgage broker after previously being with ANZ for many years. Our experience with Macquarie has generally been woeful. We waited so long for our finance that the bank had to request new valuations as the original ones were out of date (the valuations were older than 3 months!)and these were at our expense also. Our finance on our new home build was approved unconditionally and then revoked without telling us, so when it came time to pay the builder, they wouldn't pay and this has delayed the build of our home. We only discovered that the application had been put on hold at our enquiry and then trying to rectify the matter was complicated and no one seemed to know what to do. It seemed like our financial matter went to the bottom of the "too hard" basket. The Macquarie Customer Service Officers would not speak to us and would only speak to our Mortgage Broker but they would not return her calls. Then they wouldn't return our calls and each time you called, you spoke to a different officer and had to explain the problem again. Between me, my wife and the insurance broker we literally spent hours on the phone chasing and waiting. All three of us are busy with work, children and a million other things we should have been doing but Macquarie were quite comfortable bouncing us around and wasting our time. Meanwhile, our builder sat and waited for his payment and the build on our house stalled. It ended up with the State Manager of Macq who also struggled with it. At this point we still haven't got the money but do have another unconditional finance letter but this is not necessarily worth anything with this financier as they change their mind without notice. As previously mentioned, their timeframes are non existent and if your issue is too difficult, they simply avoid you and any return communication. Their internet banking interface is confusing and definitely not user friendly. We have one account to withdraw from and a different account to deposit to for each loan, it is overly complicated especially when compared to ANZ. Their customer service is below par. We do not have a single, accessible agent to deal with for all of our financing matters but must join the queue each time (if they decide to deal with us and not just our broker. It is OUR finance, not our brokers!) We have not been treated as a valuable asset they are making a significant amount of money from, but as though we have no other choice. We do expect to be treated well and for their to be clarity and some flexibility in our dealings. The relationship is a partnership in my opinion and not a master/ servant environment. I would compare their customer service to Telstra (if you have dealt with Telstra within the last 10 years you would understand. Once I cut ties with them in 2005, I have not had any Telstra services in my family that were not required). In their defence, my wife lost her ATM card recently and we were able to put the card on hold. When she found it again, we could take it off hold instead of cancelling and awaiting new cards and PIN's. This was very convenient and trouble free. Overall, I am not happy with Macquarie at all. I think they are keen for new business but cannot handle it once received. I believe they need to get their house in order if they want to increase market share in the residential market sector. Their products are not tailored to the residential market and need a significant amount of work before they are acceptable to the masses. If you are relatively happy where you are but somewhat attracted by the interest rates, be careful as the detractors with adding all your eggs to this basket (Macquarie) are many. The stress and hassles are not worth the effort if you have other worthwhile options.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

B (WA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Saving Time is just as Important as saving Money

Macquarie Bank was very obliging in taking over my mortgage when my husband passed away unexpectedly in 2013. The time limit was crucial and found their process very easy to follow and understand. Looking back I wish I would of had the opportunity...

Full review

Macquarie Bank was very obliging in taking over my mortgage when my husband passed away unexpectedly in 2013. The time limit was crucial and found their process very easy to follow and understand. Looking back I wish I would of had the opportunity to delve deeper into other financial institutions, but at the end of the day quite happy with the Macquarie Bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Karen (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great interest rate

Macquarie Bank offered a good fixed term rate for 3 years which I just finished. They were great to communicate with and kept me up to date with the balance.

Full review

Macquarie Bank offered a good fixed term rate for 3 years which I just finished. They were great to communicate with and kept me up to date with the balance.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jane (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Fair

Getting a new residential loan. The bank has asked for additional information on three different occasions. I am hoping we are in the final stages of the process.

Full review

Getting a new residential loan. The bank has asked for additional information on three different occasions. I am hoping we are in the final stages of the process.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Brad (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Absolute rubbish!

Give them a loan to do, for 6 weeks, they can not say yes or no, keep asking for more info, after I have provided them, weeks goes past without any response. Settlement date came and went, still no response. When asked to hurry up, then they said...

Full review

Give them a loan to do, for 6 weeks, they can not say yes or no, keep asking for more info, after I have provided them, weeks goes past without any response. Settlement date came and went, still no response. When asked to hurry up, then they said they won't approve the loan as they have problem with the house as security (over a minor defect) that cost $900 to fix, which they have quote for (which they asked and did not look at for weeks after they received it. Had to cash settle, never ever again.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Hector (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive and trouble free

The interest rates are competitive and the rewards are good. They provide internet banking in line with their customer's needs and up to today's standards. Banking with them has been simple and trouble free.

Full review

The interest rates are competitive and the rewards are good. They provide internet banking in line with their customer's needs and up to today's standards. Banking with them has been simple and trouble free.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good interest rate but very basic net banking.

Good interest rate but very basic net banking.

Full review

Good interest rate but very basic net banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Amei (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service

Macquarie have the best general enquiries team I have ever come across. It doesn't matter who you speak to or at what time of day the issue is resolved quickly courteously and professionally. Well done Macquarie!

Full review

Macquarie have the best general enquiries team I have ever come across. It doesn't matter who you speak to or at what time of day the issue is resolved quickly courteously and professionally. Well done Macquarie!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wendy (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top