Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie
Macquarie's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.3 / 10

based on 105 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Macquarie

Recent Macquarie home loan reviews

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

Full review

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Stephen, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rate & easy to understand options

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

Full review

Good online access. No branch option but we have no need so works for us

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Susie, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very prompt and understanding

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

Full review

I have been customer with the bank for 20 years and have no issues with them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Le, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

Full review

Great home loan but I hate not having a branch here in Queensland.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kirsty, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy access, limited features.

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

Full review

The bank is usually early accessible, not long wait times on hold. Loan features could be improved.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Nerida, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best option available at the time taken out

Best option available at the time taken out.

Full review

Best option available at the time taken out.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Grant, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good basic product.

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

Full review

Product is basic, but does what's needed.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Guy, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Too many fees

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

Full review

Almost $400 in annual fees. Interest rates aren't very good and they charged an exit fee when I refinanced, which I thought the government abolished a few years ago.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ray, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

A wolf in sheep's clothing

When I was looking to purchase a home, I was successfully self employed running a transport business, no one would finance me even though I had three years of 25k/mth going through an IMB account Macquarie took me on even when I had applied to one...

Full review

When I was looking to purchase a home, I was successfully self employed running a transport business, no one would finance me even though I had three years of 25k/mth going through an IMB account Macquarie took me on even when I had applied to one to many banks before approaching them. So to explain my direction here; all home loans are pretty much the same governed on how personally financial a client is, for a "bank" to show enough faith in me ( a stranger no less) and take my hand in a shake that means so much on your first home purchase was very significant, nearly all younger first home buyers are motivated by providing a house (usually to an existing family unit) as a necessity to cost effectiveness versus rentals, with a lower mortgage repayment than rent, that could mean the difference between fresh bread or "toast again" for dinner.The moral to this is: a lot of banks in whatever way you would like to disguise it are the opposite of what they claim to be, instead of being the "suiters" they are effectively the "kings daughter" picking and choosing clients, making the less wealthy work harder, and ultimately giving the client a mortgage which in turns puts a lot of pressure and emotional burden usually as a last hope effort of gaining a home on a less fortunate or priveledged individial. All this based on a very less than honest marketed wholesome agenda portrayed in advertising. To sell to the "Australian" in this country is to know your communities, any hard working "Aussie" would blindly show loyalty over a slightly better deal because of the actual culture, as a result, the banks in my opinion would profit more long term with higher annual sign up data and repeat customer numbers which would outway the short-mid profit margin at the most bi-annually, serious thinking for both CEO's and Marketing proffessionals alike

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Haven't had any problems whatsoever.

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

Full review

I'm looked after by a broker that deals with my home loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive with interest rates

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

Full review

Their interest rate is very competitive and they did what they could for me. The only thing I don't like about this bank is they don't offer Mortgage Insurance.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carol, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

Great

Full review

Great

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Selina, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One of the best customer service

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

Full review

I changed from St.George to Macquarie Bank,and I couldn't be any happier with the way they handle everything, was first class.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carlos, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Exceptional

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

Full review

Knowledgeable, intelligent easy home loan.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brad, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Home Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Average

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard...

Full review

I really dislike Macquarie Bank as we changed from the CBA as we needed to refinance as we started a business. We were mislead from the beginning as they told us the No docs loan we took out would only ever pay 1% higher than the standard variable rate. It has been at least 2 - 4% higher for the duration of the loan. They will not entertain any reduction in the rate. I would not recommend this bank to anyone.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Yvonne, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.28% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.30% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.28% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.30% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    3.34% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.30% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 3.34% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.30% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (1 Yr Fixed)

    UBank UHomeLoan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (1 Yr Fixed)

    • Fast, easy apply
    • No ongoing fees
    • Repayments will not change during fixed period

    interest rate

    2.99% p.a.
    fixed 1 year

    comparison rate*

    4.09% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Fast, easy apply
    • No ongoing fees
    • Repayments will not change during fixed period
    • Interest rate: 2.99% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $20,000 p.a.
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates

    interest rate

    3.39% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.22% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates
    • Interest rate: 3.39% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.22% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $450
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $5,000 p.a
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 510 Bank of Queensland home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR less than 80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR less than 80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    interest rate

    3.43% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.25% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate: 3.43% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.25% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 901 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 535 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top