St.George logo

St.George Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1522 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Okay.

    Good for mortgage.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Ruth, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Ridiculous customer service.

    Spoke to a mobile lender who seemed to be assisting me well initially with a home loan refinance at a branch. All I needed to do was get back to him as to if I wanted to refinance on my home loan or investment property. After 5 phone calls over 6 days there was absolutely no response from him. His voicemail states he makes contact be end of business which is completely false. When I was at the branch he was training someone whilst going through my personal details. I didn’t mind at the time, however I now I feel he was only being professional for her benefit and my application was used to assist St George’s training program for new staff only with zero post customer service or follow up and zero benefit to me, the customer. St George have a great home loan but it means absolutely nothing if you can’t even apply for it. Ridiculous.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    S, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    St George - terrible, incompetent, deplorable

    St George are a terrible, incompetent, disgustingly bad bank to deal with. I have 3 home loans with them and after only 10 months I cannot stand the terrible service and constant issues so I'm changing banks. They are nothing short of a nightmare.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very impressed with my St George bank

    Recently refinanced with St George bank. The staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly if they tried. I received help setting up the account and scheduled payments and insurance policies. They made sure afterwards that I was happy with my service. I also had to wait an extra 10 minutes as they were running late for my appointment and I received a voucher to the local coffee shop to go and get a coffee while I waited.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    After trial & error, we always return to St George

    There are reasons I have become a long term customer with St George. We have had a number of home loans (refinancing, moving homes) and always find them to be easy to deal with, and have the personal touch that many big banks are lacking.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tammy, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    General Manager's ambition exceeds ability

    The arrogance and contempt of the team at St George is bewildering and incredibly disappointing - the GM makes creative writing look like a breeze when he describes on his profile page what StGeorge stand for, it really is a great example of ambition exceeding actual ability, an example of tainted and inflated views of frontline experiences! Absolute disgrace. The incompetencies and emotional ineptness of staff resulted in a bungled settlement meaning our 38 week pregnant daughter (who cares for rescue animals) was reduced to camping in a tent and continues to do so. Thanks St George you not only have created enormous stress and emotional damage - but you have also put the health of family including our unborn grand child at risk. Trust team at St George sleep well, because that is certainly something we are unable to achieve. Shame.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very good.

    It’s a shame they have closed the branches but so many banks have as well.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Anneke, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent service.

    I have banked with St George all my life. I have always found them reliable and helped me whenever I needed. I cannot fault them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great refinance option, low interest rate.

    We took up a refinance option and transferred our loan from another bank. We received an excellent interest rate and cash back. Very happy with application process and online account.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Gabrielle, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    I received excellent service all over the phone when setting up a new basic home loan.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    Carolyn, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Treated like gold at first, then forgotten

    The service and processing time to set up our home loan was fantastic and fast. We took the basic home loan and were told it would always be their base level home loan rate for variable products. Now they are offering NEW customers $4K to come to them and they offer the same product with a "special" 0.20 discount. They use their home loan contract to offer different discounts to different customers, so a basic home loan as advertised on their web site is not the same for each customer, and as rates drop they are not giving them to existing customers. The best part is we are now leaving them for a competitor and getting a rate 0.50% below their NEW basic home loan rate so we will be $3240.00 per year better off, after they paid us $4K to come to them only a year ago. Strange business model.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great bank and service.

    Online platform is easy to use. I live remotely so without a St. George bank I can use a BankSA. Great customer service but perhaps could be more proactive re home loan interest rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Helped us to get our first home!

    We first got a family pledge home loan (2006) which had minimal choices (compared to now), but helped us get our first home. They’ve helped us each time we’ve fallen behind (due to no work, no pay for maternity leave, etc). Have been fantastic overall.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic.

    St. George bank are amazing to deal with, staff are clear and have high communication skills.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR 60-80%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    St George has always been the bank of choice.

    I have been with St George all my life. I have had a home loan and all my savings and credit cards with them. My fiancé’s business banking is with NAB. We have just moved all business and his home loan over to St George. Can’t fault them.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.43% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.12% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 515 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.