Thumbnail icon for St.George

St.George Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1510 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Helped us to get our first home!

    We first got a family pledge home loan (2006) which had minimal choices (compared to now), but helped us get our first home. They’ve helped us each time we’ve fallen behind (due to no work, no pay for maternity leave, etc). Have been fantastic overall.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Mandy, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic.

    St. George bank are amazing to deal with, staff are clear and have high communication skills.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Susan, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 22 days ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    St George has always been the bank of choice.

    I have been with St George all my life. I have had a home loan and all my savings and credit cards with them. My fiancé’s business banking is with NAB. We have just moved all business and his home loan over to St George. Can’t fault them.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 24 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    User friendly bank, reasonable rates.

    St.George bank has a very user friendly website for home loan access to all home loan details. Call centre is in australia so you deal with local people. Cons - a little slow to drop rates & is about mid way with all the banks re-competitive rates.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Would not recommend St George.

    The process has been anything but seamless, every step of the way there has been a problem that I have had to deal with and follow up with multiple phone calls and emails with little to no response most of the time. They have stuffed up every payment made to the builder so far. I had to pay extra on the day of settlement, 2 hours prior or my land wouldn't have settled and if it wasn't for the fact I was friends with my settlement agent I wouldn't have known there was an issue as my St.George banker's response to my settlement agent when advised of the short fall was "I have to go into a meeting", all because they couldn't get their calculations right to begin with. Then when it was discovered they owed me money it took constant following up to get the money back only to find they had done it as a loan advance and now I am paying interest on money that I shouldn't of had to part ways with in the first place. I would not recommend anyone to go with this bank when looking into house finance.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Alicia, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service.

    I've paid off two home loans with St George and I've got 4 years to go on a third home loan and have no complaints with them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    I know there are better deals out there.

    High interest rates compared to other banks and very slow to reduce rates when the Reserve Bank does so.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Pam, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good basic loan for first time home owners

    As first time home owners who didn’t know a lot about the home buying/loan process we went through a mortgage broker, who organised this loan for us. It was all very easy and seamless. The loan itself is exactly what the name says: basic. No monthly fees and low rates, with no bells and whistles. Apparently you can make extra repayments and there’s a redraw facility but we haven’t been told how to do it - we’ll have to look into it. We contacted them recently with a question and it took 2 days for them to return our call. I assume this is due to COVID but that wasn’t great.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Personalized service

    Great customer service and reliability. Always available to review home loan and other products and services.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Christine, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The Staff, are the stars of the show

    All well and good to have a good Bank, but even better, when the staff are the stars! I've had to deal with two "St George Stars" in the past 2 years, firstly with a deceased estate, secondly, with information for my elderly parents. Patience, information and understanding were all deciding factors that made my experience easy and worry free. St. George staff, are by far, the friendliest and most informative people I have come across within the banking sector.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liz, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Very good bank.

    I've paid off two houses with St George and nearly finished paying off a third house. Never had any trouble with them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Local walk in branch.

    St George has a local branch in my town and always gives excellent service. I know I can go into my local branch and any problems will be sorted out in a prompt and friendly manner.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anne, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service and accomodating.

    Very accommodating and don't mess around when it comes to pricing. They don't play any games and will be quite straight with you as to what the best is that you can get with them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Henry, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good user friendly app, expensive annual fee.

    I like their app, I don't like the pricing, I don't need a credit card but yet it is sold as a feature along with my home loan.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Erin, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent customer service and competitive rates

    St George bank have a moderately competitive interest rate on a principal/interest home loan. Very friendly in store customer service. The only downside is they have closed the Victoria Point branch.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Carmen, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Nov
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Nov

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.
      fixed 4 years
      comparison rate
      2.90% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.