St.George logo

St.George Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 1527 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR 60-80%)

    Customer service seems to be forgotten

    I find the service varies so much between each branch. Rather than go to my closet branch I drove to the next closet branch as the service at my local was so unfriendly and felt like I was treated like a dummy, this was not a one-off, they team could learn from the other staff at the branch. The branch needs a good shake up learn how to smile would be a great start.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Donna, New South Wales, reviewed 20 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Big No for Home Finance!!

    Our broker suggested this bank due to its low interest rates. But, it turned out to be a biggest mistake. If a normal bank takes 2 weeks to process the document, this bank takes 2 to 3 months. No response from the branch. My wife waited for nearly 5 hours before getting a response on phone, but nothing productive. Never ever go for this bank for Home Financing.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Prashant, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    St George = terrible client relationship

    St. George provide competitively priced products but customer support is terrible. I recently sold my house with settlement occurring on 19 July. St George's representative collected the buyer's bank check at the settlement ceremony and released property to the buyer. It is now three days later and my internet banking account with St George is not reflecting that the mortgage has been discharged or credited my account with the balance from the sale. It took an hour on the phone to find out status of settlement. I was given some long winded answer about the delay being caused by one of the many teams in St George. I don't really care about internal operational delays at St George, there is no justification for the delay and a make good payment of interest payable for the three days should occur. On another occasion I was enquiring about a mortgage to purchase another property. St George does not allocate loan applications to a single relationship manager and as a result each time I called during the application process I had to start again with a new person. Further no ticket or reference number is generated and almost no information is retained in their CRM system. This is basic client relationship stuff! I get the sense that you have reduced your workforce and outsourced customer support to the Phillipines under cover if COVID all while collecting government support payments and cheap government funding which has assisted all banks to achieve record profits. St George's infrastructure appears outdated and your customer service model is not responsive. Like all banks St George is going to loose market share to the more agile non-bank sector. I will never deal directly with St George ever again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    James, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Absolutely

    Do not use this bank. They are useless and very unprofessional. Always on hold for hours, and most representatives have very limited English. They just don't seem to care and blame another department for every problem. Closed all accounts and will never bank with St George again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Laz, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Pathetic processes, zero intelligence

    They made me jumps through the hoops for over 4 months for simple refinance and increased the interest rate few days before my settlement date. Complete disregard for the customer - they should stick to approved rates - they change the rates after approvals. Frustrated and annoyed.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shakeel, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Okay.

    Good for mortgage.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ruth, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Ridiculous customer service.

    Spoke to a mobile lender who seemed to be assisting me well initially with a home loan refinance at a branch. All I needed to do was get back to him as to if I wanted to refinance on my home loan or investment property. After 5 phone calls over 6 days there was absolutely no response from him. His voicemail states he makes contact be end of business which is completely false. When I was at the branch he was training someone whilst going through my personal details. I didn’t mind at the time, however I now I feel he was only being professional for her benefit and my application was used to assist St George’s training program for new staff only with zero post customer service or follow up and zero benefit to me, the customer. St George have a great home loan but it means absolutely nothing if you can’t even apply for it. Ridiculous.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    S, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    St George - terrible, incompetent, deplorable

    St George are a terrible, incompetent, disgustingly bad bank to deal with. I have 3 home loans with them and after only 10 months I cannot stand the terrible service and constant issues so I'm changing banks. They are nothing short of a nightmare.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sally, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Very impressed with my St George bank

    Recently refinanced with St George bank. The staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly if they tried. I received help setting up the account and scheduled payments and insurance policies. They made sure afterwards that I was happy with my service. I also had to wait an extra 10 minutes as they were running late for my appointment and I received a voucher to the local coffee shop to go and get a coffee while I waited.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Susan, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    After trial & error, we always return to St George

    There are reasons I have become a long term customer with St George. We have had a number of home loans (refinancing, moving homes) and always find them to be easy to deal with, and have the personal touch that many big banks are lacking.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tammy, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    General Manager's ambition exceeds ability

    The arrogance and contempt of the team at St George is bewildering and incredibly disappointing - the GM makes creative writing look like a breeze when he describes on his profile page what StGeorge stand for, it really is a great example of ambition exceeding actual ability, an example of tainted and inflated views of frontline experiences! Absolute disgrace. The incompetencies and emotional ineptness of staff resulted in a bungled settlement meaning our 38 week pregnant daughter (who cares for rescue animals) was reduced to camping in a tent and continues to do so. Thanks St George you not only have created enormous stress and emotional damage - but you have also put the health of family including our unborn grand child at risk. Trust team at St George sleep well, because that is certainly something we are unable to achieve. Shame.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package)

    Very good.

    It’s a shame they have closed the branches but so many banks have as well.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anneke, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Excellent service.

    I have banked with St George all my life. I have always found them reliable and helped me whenever I needed. I cannot fault them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan

    Great refinance option, low interest rate.

    We took up a refinance option and transferred our loan from another bank. We received an excellent interest rate and cash back. Very happy with application process and online account.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gabrielle, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%)

    Great customer service.

    I received excellent service all over the phone when setting up a new basic home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Carolyn, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.