Thumbnail icon for St.George

St.George Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1501 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The Staff, are the stars of the show

    All well and good to have a good Bank, but even better, when the staff are the stars! I've had to deal with two "St George Stars" in the past 2 years, firstly with a deceased estate, secondly, with information for my elderly parents. Patience, information and understanding were all deciding factors that made my experience easy and worry free. St. George staff, are by far, the friendliest and most informative people I have come across within the banking sector.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liz, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Very good bank.

    I've paid off two houses with St George and nearly finished paying off a third house. Never had any trouble with them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Local walk in branch.

    St George has a local branch in my town and always gives excellent service. I know I can go into my local branch and any problems will be sorted out in a prompt and friendly manner.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anne, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service and accomodating.

    Very accommodating and don't mess around when it comes to pricing. They don't play any games and will be quite straight with you as to what the best is that you can get with them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Henry, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good user friendly app, expensive annual fee.

    I like their app, I don't like the pricing, I don't need a credit card but yet it is sold as a feature along with my home loan.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Erin, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent customer service and competitive rates

    St George bank have a moderately competitive interest rate on a principal/interest home loan. Very friendly in store customer service. The only downside is they have closed the Victoria Point branch.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Carmen, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Great customer service, bad bank policies.

    After not missing a payment for over 20 years, we fell onto hard times and asked for assistance and were directed to the hoop jumping arena. In the end we were advised to sell and walk. We got back into money with seconds to spare and saved our own house by ourselves. The ladies and gentlemen who can't make decisions were very helpful. Banks policies need to change.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Responsive, ready to talk, proactive in options.

    Simple to deal with, very accommodating and understanding when circumstances change, i.e. need a top up to manage home repairs. Very happy.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Trustworthy.

    Customer service is fine without being outstanding. Their rates are not the most competitive in the market. Good strong trustworthy brand.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great insurance for your home and landlord

    I had never asked for a rate drop in all the years that I have had the loans, and when I did ask I was disappointed with what they offered me (never been behind in payments, I am actually ahead). I think recently with Covid 19, other banks have dropped it quite low to be in the 2% range whereas St.George have not. Once this Covid 19 is over I will most probably re-mortgage. I do commend them on their customer service people ringing and asking if they could offer anything better to review everything and change it for the better, good initiative. I did express what I wanted but I feel other banks are giving better deals hence the re-mortgaging once Covid 19 is over.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Ven, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Not happy with variable rate.

    My rate takes a long time before lowering and is still above 3%. I'm going to look into changing providers.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Simone, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    OK.

    Only allows me to down pay the loan by $5000 per year.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ian, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Home loan.

    I like the redraw and offset account available, however their rates are on the high side. If it was not so difficult to change to anther provider I would have done so already. Just go somewhere else I would not recommend this bank for home loans.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent Customer Service and great value loans!

    I recently consolidated my owner occ and investment home loans to St George. The whole process was very seamless. The staff from St George was awesome to deal with and was there to provide 10/10 service throughout. They were able to answer all my numerous questions and often provided valuable advice than I used to get from mortgage broker. The whole process was hassle free. I had previously been to Athena and was frustrated before I went with St George.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anish, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive interest rates.

    Competitive interest rates saw us change to St.George from CBA. They don't really offer much difference other than that.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anita, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Star Essentials Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.39% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 547 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.