Thumbnail icon for St.George

St.George Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.4/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1483 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good products and service.

    Banked with St. George for years now. It is always competitive and the service is good.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Martha, Western Australia, reviewed 10 days ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Can't compete with other providers.

    Could be better.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Alina, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away if you don't want any stress!

    Absolutely terrible! They seem to be under resourced but still keep taking applications. I submitted my application for a refinance but it never got looked at for the next 4 days. I sent follow up emails to ask if someone had followed up. No answer. I had to withdraw my application eventually and when I sent an email after 4 days that I was withdrawing my application with immediate effect, I got a response straight away "Ok, no problem. Thanks for letting me know". What a waste of time.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gautam, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 9 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Lied to Multiple Times and Still No Answer

    I submitted a home loan application with my broker for St George around a month before settlement was expected on my off the plan property. We were told that without a settlement date, they wouldn't look at it. Once settlement was called (with 6 business days notice) they finally looked at my account. Each day, the told me that we would have an answer, but then decided to make us jump through a new hoop. I incredibly stupidly let slip that I was pregnant (12 weeks) which opened up more speculation into my marital status and my partners financial situation (he is not part of the loan, this is my property), and then finally they settled on my superannuation contributions as being an issue for not wanting the approve the loan. We are now 2 business days away from settlement, I have lodged complaints, my broker has told me there should be no issues with my account, but I still don't have an approved application. We are now scrambling to pull enough money together to pay the settlement outright by raiding our businesses and having money contributed from our parents. It's a small loan just over $400k, and I was assured by my broker that I should be able to borrow double the amount. The customer service has been appalling and I have been consistently lied to. It was 2 days before Christmas, I'm pregnant and completely distraught. I will be submitting an application with ANZ as I have been assured that they are much more able to deal with small business owners than St George is.

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    P, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service.

    STG Bank are really helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kristy, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great bank.

    Great bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Donna, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy to use.

    Easy to do online banking, helpful customer service over the phone.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kathy, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Amazing customer service.

    From the initial point of contact when requesting information about home loans right up to getting our home loan and beyond, St George bank and our bank manager have been nothing short of amazing. Helpful, always willing to go above and beyond for us and answering my many, many questions!

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Erin, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very flexible.

    Excellent bank.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kath, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service.

    I paid off my home, a rental property and nearly paid off a second rental. Never had any trouble with them.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Trusted bank.

    Trusted bank, been banking for a few years, no major issues.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tina, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Excellent customer service.

    Great customer service and small town country feel.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Carmen, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    High interest rates.

    Dont communicate. Interest rates are high and not competitive.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Eleanor, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service.

    Great service.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Renie, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Ended up working out in the end.

    It's not close to where we live and when we are trying to keep on top of financial challenges, a bank close by would be better.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Damien, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan - Refinance

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      2.95% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.97% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $150

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      3.03% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.06% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $299

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 543 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.