Westpac logo

Westpac Credit card reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 4704 credit card reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured credit card from Westpac

Low Rate - Cashback Offer

Purchase rate
13.74% p.a.
Balance transfer rate
No current offer
Annual fee
$59 $0 in the first year
Rewards program

Promoted

Recent Westpac credit card customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Avoid Westpac for credit cards

    Be warned, don’t apply for a credit card through Westpac as they won’t take into account your savings, investments and other owned assets. They ONLY ask for your income and your expenses, and if you have other credit card limits even if you don’t use the cards and have nothing owing and no other debts they don’t care and will decline your application without asking about savings and investments nor take them into account. They also take over 2 weeks to consider your application. Do yourself a favour and apply for a credit card at other banks like NAB or ING Bank who treat you as a person and take into account your whole financial picture. Westpac don’t care and treat you entirely as just another number, pathetic service delivery and appalling customer service. Avoid Westpac at all costs!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nifty, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Love bad service? Then Westpac is the bank for you

    If you value slow process feedback, or no feedback at all 2 weeks after submitting your credit card application, and being told it will be “another 3 to 5 days” every time you call to determine progress of your application, then this is the bank for you! If you enjoy being treated like just another number in the millions even when you’ve banked with a bank for 40 years, waiting with uninformed anticipation as to whether your application for a $20k credit card limit is approved after paying off a $550,000 home loan with them in 10 years and they still can’t decide whether you’re reliable enough to handle a $20k limit despite having substantial owned assets and no debt, and a high income then head on down to Westpac and they’ll quickly delight you with their impersonal service delivery. Slow transfers that add an extra 24 hours to crediting funds to your account from another bank can instantly be yours if you join Westpac. A clunky online banking experience forms part of their offering along with inability to transfer to some mobile numbers and email addresses as part of their Osko Fast Payments system even though the PayID works with other banks, which is one of the worst offered by any major bank forms part of your banking service delivery by Westpac. Terse email responses by a rude Customer Service Manager when enquiring about products tailored to provide benefits to over 55’s are provided as part of your banking experience with Westpac. If you enjoy being treated like a nobody and having no response to your valid enquires including application for credit products, and value the experiences outlined above you will be thrilled with the experience Westpac can provide in all of these areas that only a big and faceless bank like Westpac can provide, a bank where they excel in not being accountable for providing any level of good service and what’s more they don’t care as they know there will be another person in the queue tomorrow that they can treat poorly and they will still have their job as they are not accountable to provide good service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Westpac Lite Card

    Worst and irresponsible banking service

    Applied for a credit card and got approved conditionally within 24 hours or so.. submitted every applications they asked for to submit and assured me that they would get back to me within next 48 hours...no response in time they had promised and again had to call to follow up and was told to wait till Monday, still not any update... I was assured by one of the complaints team's member that there will be an update by the next day and when i tried calling again today, still not any sign of progress on my credit card.... so frustrating..we rely on bank so much and they let us down time and again, so miserable service ...and they keep on saying ' 2 days is what it takes to finalise a credit card application request approval or rejection' ....Such a shame.

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Gaurab, New South Wales, reviewed 25 days ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Pathetic

    As a customer for 21 years, their online card service centre is pathetic. Numerous attempts and many hours to get a simple credit card has lead me to go elsewhere.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jon, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Altitude Platinum (Velocity Frequent Flyer)

    Terrible experience

    Terrible and rude customer service. Gave them all the documentation they required for a credit card application which I am more than qualified for in terms of income, no debts great credit score. But their demands were unreasonable including providing a notice of assessment for this years tax return which the ATO has not even requested lodgement for yet. Then after multiple calls and providing other documentation, got some standardised email that my application was rejected. Waste of my time and certainly won’t be banking with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Hopeless, No back up service

    Once Westpac sells a product and get you in, that is were the service stops. I would not trust them with a child's lunch money.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Do not bank with

    I applied for a Westpac credit card to use for funeral expenses. It said the card benefits included instant access once approved WRONG!!! I called a few times and chatted through the mobile app and got cut off so many times it was ridiculous. I have been a loyal customer for over a decade and they could not provide me with a response as to why they say instant access to money. Nor did they give me any other help other than tell me to wait for my physical card. I'm not happy at all the information was misleading to anyone thinking they could access funds

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lee, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Low Rate

    Thank

    Thank you

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Less
    Pha, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Okay but not the best.

    Seems to be too expensive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Heather, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Altitude Platinum (Velocity Frequent Flyer)

    Best support with attached travel agents.

    I love the hassle free help line in using my attached travel agent and when crediting flights was easy and hassle free.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matthew, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Altitude Platinum (Velocity Frequent Flyer)

    Happy with the devil I know.

    I have been with bank for more than 40 years and I value loyalty. I have no reason to change for small differences offered by other cards / banks.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Good customer service and online banking platform.

    Very poor rewards program where they keep moving the goalposts in terms of points required to redeem for cash or products. Unethical to say the least and to reward new customers with major reward points at the expense of existing customers is extremely disappointing. So much for loyalty.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Low Rate

    Recommended whilst branch remains open.

    1. Local and convenient 2. Service (counter) - excellent 3. Fees - nil 4. Friendly 5. Some waiting but normal for busy shopping centre

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Leo, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Credit Card

    Best bank evet!

    My bank is very user friendly. I have been apart of Westpac for about 4 yrs now and have never had a problem.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Julie, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Altitude Black (Altitude Rewards)

    Easy Access

    Very easy to access and have a local branch.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Debra, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months then 11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 12 months and then 11.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
      Annual fee
      $45
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Credit Card

      Purchase rate
      11.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      0% p.a. for 25 months and then 21.74% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $49 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Freestyle Virtual Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      16.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $209 $0 - $149 based on credit limit, $5/month for balances over $20.
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      23.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $99
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Low Rate - Cashback Offer

      Purchase rate
      13.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $59 $0 in the first year
      Rewards program

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 212 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.