G&C Mutual Bank logo

G&C Mutual Bank Savings account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 30 savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent G&C Mutual Bank savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • G&C Mutual Bank iNet Saver

    No help to stop fraud payments.

    I was trying to contact the bank on a Saturday morning to stop a payment which I stupidly got scammed into. They only operate during business hours so my $500 is long gone if it was salvageable. I contacted lost cards but they couldn't help as she stated they are a third party service. Not good enough!

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shauna, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank iNet Saver

    Good interest rates & service to customers

    I've been with G&C Mutual Bank for 49 years and they have given me excellent service with home loans, personal loans and the management of my money. I have had my salary deposited with them since that option became available. I would definitely recommend them as a banking institution.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Internet security abysmal

    I have been a customer with G&C (formerly SGECU) for many, many years. I was shocked recently how easy it was for someone to actually hack into my internet banking account and steal a substantial sum of money. Nearly two months have passed and I'm still waiting for a resolution. On calling to ask why it is taking so long I received a rather bewildered response from customer service rep - "I don't know why (!?)" After emailing their complaints department, I received a rather short reply - "We are still waiting on the other bank to respond." The other bank being the host to the fraudulent account my money was transferred to. I also received the stock reply - "We are taking your claim very seriously, but need to follow bank protocols..." It's ironic that G&C's protocols seem to better serve those criminals who hacked my account than myself as a genuine customer - they are more likely to have disappeared a long time ago before G&C took the time to act. How can you possibly trust this bank with your money?

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Service and attitude gone to wreck and ruin

    I have been with the SGE Credit union since 1986 and was happy with them till it went to G&C mutual bank. As is normal with take overs, renaming etc, the first thing that suffers is customer service as the priority then becomes cutting staff and better monies for the directors. I think all the staff have now been issued with idiot cards that they have to read out and comply with no matter what, the biggest joke of all is the tape you listen to when waiting on the line "We at G&C want to hear your suggestions on how to improve our service ha ha". My answer to that is give me the service you gave me 20 years ago. While I am at it why does a tax cheque 10 days to clear? Anyway enough said I am now going to another bank I can't handle the frustration any longer.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ben, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Not impressed, wouldn't tell my friends!

    Have been with this credit union since 1982, when it was SGE credit union. Now that I am an old pensioner, I get the impression, we matter less as a customer.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maureen, Queensland, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver

    Very friendly

    The staff treated me as a friend and always remembered about things that we had talked about. Very personal treatment. The only thing I dislike about this bank is that I no longer have a branch close by.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elaine, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Awesome

    Great service, only problem is they only have one branch located in Newcastle and can sometimes be difficult to get there.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dorelle, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver

    Great customer service with competitive products

    My credit union is strong on support and products for all members.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Warren, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank iNet Saver

    Great credit union, leaves banks behind

    Just great and convenient for me.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Allan, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Comparable Interest Rates/Lower Fees

    I really don't have any problems with my savings account as such. It just needs to have better interest rates, and lesser overdrawn fees.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jacqueline, Victoria, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver

    Fantastic service and great rates

    I have had a savings account with this organisation for 40+ years and find them to be honest, trustworthy and fantastic to deal with be it in person, over the phone or online. I have never had cause to complain about their products or their service, not something I can say about the banks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elvia, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Competitveness

    I like SGE Credit Union because they are a credit union run for people by people. Their customer service is outstanding and always try to meet with their memeber needs and expectations. I love that they are smaller than a bank and can offer competitve rates and streamlined access to their customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Terrible

    When I first signed up for the account I had an overdraft on my account, within two times of exeeding overdraft it was shut down. There are only a handful of branches in NSW, I think 5 in total. Get charged ATM fees for using other credit union ATMs, also because of lack of branches when you need to access money in case of a lost card for example, an inter-agency withdrawal cost you three times, one from the participating credit union which is roughly 15-20 dollars then to top it off the SGE charges you the same amount the other branch has charged. Dreadful bank...

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    William, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    On line Banking always available with an overdraft facility and debit card.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account

    Would be convenient if there were more branches.

    They are ok for a credit union but the cons are if you live a busy lifestyle like I do it's hard to get in there when there is only one in the area over half an hour drive away it really makes me want to change to a bank that is more convenient. Also they no longer keep cash on the premises which is very inconvenient if you need to withdraw over a thousand dollars in one day. The Pros are Every time I have needed to talk to someone they are polite and helpful when I call. There has been an occasion when I had insufficient funds in my account for a direct debit so the bank honored the payment and charged me a $10 fee.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jasmine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Bonus Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate when at least $20 is deposited each month and five Visa Debit transactions are made each month using linked Everyday or Glide transaction accounts.

      Promoted
    • Boost Saver with Go Account

      Maximum rate
      1.50% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Intro bonus rate of 1.50% for first 3 months, reverting to 1.20% after. Deposit $2,000 each month and make 5 eligible payments from your Go Account. If you are between 18 and 25 deposit $1,000.

      Promoted
    • High Interest Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      1.35% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      0.25% p.a.(for $0 to $250,001)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted
    • Fast Track Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.05% p.a. (for $1 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.05% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Ongoing bonus rate applied if in the previous month $1,000 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked account.

      Promoted
    • Grow Saver

      Maximum rate
      0.65% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Make at least 1 deposit and no more than 1 withdrawal, including internal transfers or external payments.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 223 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.