Thumbnail icon for G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Savings account reviews

Overall rating
6.4/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
5.3/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
5.2/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 29 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent G&C Mutual Bank savings account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • G&C Mutual Bank InetSaver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good interest rates & service to customers

    I've been with G&C Mutual Bank for 49 years and they have given me excellent service with home loans, personal loans and the management of my money. I have had my salary deposited with them since that option became available. I would definitely recommend them as a banking institution.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Peter, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Internet security abysmal

    I have been a customer with G&C (formerly SGECU) for many, many years. I was shocked recently how easy it was for someone to actually hack into my internet banking account and steal a substantial sum of money. Nearly two months have passed and I'm still waiting for a resolution. On calling to ask why it is taking so long I received a rather bewildered response from customer service rep - "I don't know why (!?)" After emailing their complaints department, I received a rather short reply - "We are still waiting on the other bank to respond." The other bank being the host to the fraudulent account my money was transferred to. I also received the stock reply - "We are taking your claim very seriously, but need to follow bank protocols..." It's ironic that G&C's protocols seem to better serve those criminals who hacked my account than myself as a genuine customer - they are more likely to have disappeared a long time ago before G&C took the time to act. How can you possibly trust this bank with your money?

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Service and attitude gone to wreck and ruin

    I have been with the SGE Credit union since 1986 and was happy with them till it went to G&C mutual bank. As is normal with take overs, renaming etc, the first thing that suffers is customer service as the priority then becomes cutting staff and better monies for the directors. I think all the staff have now been issued with idiot cards that they have to read out and comply with no matter what, the biggest joke of all is the tape you listen to when waiting on the line "We at G&C want to hear your suggestions on how to improve our service ha ha". My answer to that is give me the service you gave me 20 years ago. While I am at it why does a tax cheque 10 days to clear? Anyway enough said I am now going to another bank I can't handle the frustration any longer.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not impressed, wouldn't tell my friends!

    Have been with this credit union since 1982, when it was SGE credit union. Now that I am an old pensioner, I get the impression, we matter less as a customer.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Maureen, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Very friendly

    The staff treated me as a friend and always remembered about things that we had talked about. Very personal treatment. The only thing I dislike about this bank is that I no longer have a branch close by.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elaine, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Awesome

    Great service, only problem is they only have one branch located in Newcastle and can sometimes be difficult to get there.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dorelle, , reviewed about 5 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service with competitive products

    My credit union is strong on support and products for all members.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Warren, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank InetSaver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great credit union, leaves banks behind

    Just great and convenient for me.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Allan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Comparable Interest Rates/Lower Fees

    I really don't have any problems with my savings account as such. It just needs to have better interest rates, and lesser overdrawn fees.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Jacqueline, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic service and great rates

    I have had a savings account with this organisation for 40+ years and find them to be honest, trustworthy and fantastic to deal with be it in person, over the phone or online. I have never had cause to complain about their products or their service, not something I can say about the banks.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elvia, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitveness

    I like SGE Credit Union because they are a credit union run for people by people. Their customer service is outstanding and always try to meet with their memeber needs and expectations. I love that they are smaller than a bank and can offer competitve rates and streamlined access to their customers.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Terrible

    When I first signed up for the account I had an overdraft on my account, within two times of exeeding overdraft it was shut down. There are only a handful of branches in NSW, I think 5 in total. Get charged ATM fees for using other credit union ATMs, also because of lack of branches when you need to access money in case of a lost card for example, an inter-agency withdrawal cost you three times, one from the participating credit union which is roughly 15-20 dollars then to top it off the SGE charges you the same amount the other branch has charged. Dreadful bank...

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    William, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    On line Banking always available with an overdraft facility and debit card.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Christine, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Savings Account review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Would be convenient if there were more branches.

    They are ok for a credit union but the cons are if you live a busy lifestyle like I do it's hard to get in there when there is only one in the area over half an hour drive away it really makes me want to change to a bank that is more convenient. Also they no longer keep cash on the premises which is very inconvenient if you need to withdraw over a thousand dollars in one day. The Pros are Every time I have needed to talk to someone they are polite and helpful when I call. There has been an occasion when I had insufficient funds in my account for a direct debit so the bank honored the payment and charged me a $10 fee.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Jasmine, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    We have been happy customers for almost 20 years!

    We have been with SGE Credit Union for almost 20 years (I KNOW!) and have been very happy with them. They are great at matching and beating the interest rates of other banks for term deposits. Log in to their internet banking system is not always easy but that actually gives me peace of mind knowing that they take their security seriously. They have lots of ATMs but few branches but we have learnt to work around this and do all my banking online with them. The times we have needed customer service they have quickly responded to emails or phone calls and promptly resolved any issues.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Fast Track Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      2.15% p.a. (for $1 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.35% p.a.(for $1 and over)
      account fee per month
      $0.00

      Ongoing bonus rate applied if in the previous month $1,000 or more is credited to the linked Day2Day Plus account and 5 eligible transactions are made by the linked account.

      Promoted
    • Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      2.36% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      1.40% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      account fee per month
      $0.00

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening on the first $250,000 deposited. For new Saver customers only.

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      1.85% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.01% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)
      account fee per month
      $0.00

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Savings Maximiser

      Maximum rate
      1.95% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.25% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      account fee per month
      $0.00

      For customers who have an Orange Everyday and deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month

      Promoted
    • Growth Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      1.95% p.a. (for $0 and over)
      standard interest rate
      0.20% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      account fee per month
      $0.00

      Grow your balance by $200 or more and make no more than one withdrawal in the month.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 237 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.