G&C Mutual Bank savings account reviews

G&C Mutual Bank
G&C Mutual Bank's overall rating for savings accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.0 / 10

based on 9 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured savings account from G&C Mutual Bank

Recent G&C Mutual Bank savings account reviews

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Internet security abysmal

I have been a customer with G&C (formerly SGECU) for many, many years. I was shocked recently how easy it was for someone to actually hack into my internet banking account and steal a substantial sum of money. Nearly two months have passed and I'm...

Full review

I have been a customer with G&C (formerly SGECU) for many, many years. I was shocked recently how easy it was for someone to actually hack into my internet banking account and steal a substantial sum of money. Nearly two months have passed and I'm still waiting for a resolution. On calling to ask why it is taking so long I received a rather bewildered response from customer service rep - "I don't know why (!?)" After emailing their complaints department, I received a rather short reply - "We are still waiting on the other bank to respond." The other bank being the host to the fraudulent account my money was transferred to. I also received the stock reply - "We are taking your claim very seriously, but need to follow bank protocols..." It's ironic that G&C's protocols seem to better serve those criminals who hacked my account than myself as a genuine customer - they are more likely to have disappeared a long time ago before G&C took the time to act. How can you possibly trust this bank with your money?

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Rob (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Service and attitude gone to wreck and ruin

I have been with the SGE Credit union since 1986 and was happy with them till it went to G&C mutual bank. As is normal with take overs, renaming etc, the first thing that suffers is customer service as the priority then becomes cutting staff and...

Full review

I have been with the SGE Credit union since 1986 and was happy with them till it went to G&C mutual bank. As is normal with take overs, renaming etc, the first thing that suffers is customer service as the priority then becomes cutting staff and better monies for the directors. I think all the staff have now been issued with idiot cards that they have to read out and comply with no matter what, the biggest joke of all is the tape you listen to when waiting on the line "We at G&C want to hear your suggestions on how to improve our service ha ha". My answer to that is give me the service you gave me 20 years ago. While I am at it why does a tax cheque 10 days to clear? Anyway enough said I am now going to another bank I can't handle the frustration any longer.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Ben (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not impressed, wouldn't tell my friends!

Have been with this credit union since 1982, when it was SGE credit union. Now that I am an old pensioner, I get the impression, we matter less as a customer.

Full review

Have been with this credit union since 1982, when it was SGE credit union. Now that I am an old pensioner, I get the impression, we matter less as a customer.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Maureen (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very friendly

The staff treated me as a friend and always remembered about things that we had talked about. Very personal treatment. The only thing I dislike about this bank is that I no longer have a branch close by.

Full review

The staff treated me as a friend and always remembered about things that we had talked about. Very personal treatment. The only thing I dislike about this bank is that I no longer have a branch close by.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elaine (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome

Great service, only problem is they only have one branch located in Newcastle and can sometimes be difficult to get there.

Full review

Great service, only problem is they only have one branch located in Newcastle and can sometimes be difficult to get there.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dorelle , reviewed almost 3 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service with competitive products

My credit union is strong on support and products for all members.

Full review

My credit union is strong on support and products for all members.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Warren (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank InetSaver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great credit union, leaves banks behind

Just great and convenient for me.

Full review

Just great and convenient for me.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Allan (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Comparable Interest Rates/Lower Fees

I really don't have any problems with my savings account as such. It just needs to have better interest rates, and lesser overdrawn fees.

Full review

I really don't have any problems with my savings account as such. It just needs to have better interest rates, and lesser overdrawn fees.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Jacqueline (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service and great rates

I have had a savings account with this organisation for 40+ years and find them to be honest, trustworthy and fantastic to deal with be it in person, over the phone or online. I have never had cause to complain about their products or their...

Full review

I have had a savings account with this organisation for 40+ years and find them to be honest, trustworthy and fantastic to deal with be it in person, over the phone or online. I have never had cause to complain about their products or their service, not something I can say about the banks.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elvia (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitveness

I like SGE Credit Union because they are a credit union run for people by people. Their customer service is outstanding and always try to meet with their memeber needs and expectations. I love that they are smaller than a bank and can offer...

Full review

I like SGE Credit Union because they are a credit union run for people by people. Their customer service is outstanding and always try to meet with their memeber needs and expectations. I love that they are smaller than a bank and can offer competitve rates and streamlined access to their customers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Terrible

When I first signed up for the account I had an overdraft on my account, within two times of exeeding overdraft it was shut down. There are only a handful of branches in NSW, I think 5 in total. Get charged ATM fees for using other credit union...

Full review

When I first signed up for the account I had an overdraft on my account, within two times of exeeding overdraft it was shut down. There are only a handful of branches in NSW, I think 5 in total. Get charged ATM fees for using other credit union ATMs, also because of lack of branches when you need to access money in case of a lost card for example, an inter-agency withdrawal cost you three times, one from the participating credit union which is roughly 15-20 dollars then to top it off the SGE charges you the same amount the other branch has charged. Dreadful bank...

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

William (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Would be convenient if there were more branches.

They are ok for a credit union but the cons are if you live a busy lifestyle like I do it's hard to get in there when there is only one in the area over half an hour drive away it really makes me want to change to a bank that is more...

Full review

They are ok for a credit union but the cons are if you live a busy lifestyle like I do it's hard to get in there when there is only one in the area over half an hour drive away it really makes me want to change to a bank that is more convenient. Also they no longer keep cash on the premises which is very inconvenient if you need to withdraw over a thousand dollars in one day. The Pros are Every time I have needed to talk to someone they are polite and helpful when I call. There has been an occasion when I had insufficient funds in my account for a direct debit so the bank honored the payment and charged me a $10 fee.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Jasmine (NSW), reviewed about 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank Bonus Saver savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

We have been happy customers for almost 20 years!

We have been with SGE Credit Union for almost 20 years (I KNOW!) and have been very happy with them. They are great at matching and beating the interest rates of other banks for term deposits. Log in to their internet banking system is not always...

Full review

We have been with SGE Credit Union for almost 20 years (I KNOW!) and have been very happy with them. They are great at matching and beating the interest rates of other banks for term deposits. Log in to their internet banking system is not always easy but that actually gives me peace of mind knowing that they take their security seriously. They have lots of ATMs but few branches but we have learnt to work around this and do all my banking online with them. The times we have needed customer service they have quickly responded to emails or phone calls and promptly resolved any issues.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jo (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Disgraceful products for the average hard workers.

This credit union charges you to check the balance of your own money from one of their "user friendly" ATMs. Their general fees and charges are outrageous. We cannot wait to get away from this financial institution. They are a disgrace!!!

Full review

This credit union charges you to check the balance of your own money from one of their "user friendly" ATMs. Their general fees and charges are outrageous. We cannot wait to get away from this financial institution. They are a disgrace!!!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Donna (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A great low-cost fees and charges Credit Union. Good on-line banking and website. Only con is the lack of ATM's and suburban branches.

Full review

A great low-cost fees and charges Credit Union. Good on-line banking and website. Only con is the lack of ATM's and suburban branches.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Claire (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with and manage my account. Much better than being with a bank!

Full review

Easy to deal with and manage my account. Much better than being with a bank!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Cameron (TAS), reviewed over 6 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

I have banked with the SGE C/U all of my working life, (34 years) and have not been impressed by them with the ongoing amount of fees they charge for daily activity in the account. I am not impressed with them.

Full review

I have banked with the SGE C/U all of my working life, (34 years) and have not been impressed by them with the ongoing amount of fees they charge for daily activity in the account. I am not impressed with them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Iain (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They are just the best and although there have been other tempting offers they cannot compete with the SGE Credit Union

Full review

They are just the best and although there have been other tempting offers they cannot compete with the SGE Credit Union

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (TAS), reviewed almost 7 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Always give efficient online and telephone advice, flexible, responsive to customer needs, friendly and helpful staff.

Full review

Always give efficient online and telephone advice, flexible, responsive to customer needs, friendly and helpful staff.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anne (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Online website is excellent, face to face access is excellent.

Full review

Online website is excellent, face to face access is excellent.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christen (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

They only have main branch in Sydney, I use internet banking and or phone banking but my problem is when I need to withdraw cash- I can use our post office to put money in, but it is difficult if I need to take a large sum out - I can go to...

Full review

They only have main branch in Sydney, I use internet banking and or phone banking but my problem is when I need to withdraw cash- I can use our post office to put money in, but it is difficult if I need to take a large sum out - I can go to Parramatta branch if I order ahead but it would be better if there were more branches around the place - sometimes I like face to face especially where my money is concerned.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Josephine (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

there should be more branches.

Full review

there should be more branches.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kire (NSW), reviewed almost 8 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very easy online banking. Great customer service. They now have more ATMs.

Full review

Very easy online banking. Great customer service. They now have more ATMs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rebecca (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I have never had a problem. The girls that work at the Liverpool hospital branch are always ready to help. Keep up the great work.

Full review

I have never had a problem. The girls that work at the Liverpool hospital branch are always ready to help. Keep up the great work.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cath (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank savings account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

I am going to cancel my savings account with SGE after 25 years, as now I have to pay just to have this account. Very sad.

Full review

I am going to cancel my savings account with SGE after 25 years, as now I have to pay just to have this account. Very sad.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kathy (NSW), reviewed over 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account.
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 24 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    2.95% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 204 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

Back to top