HBF logo

HBF Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 52 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HBF home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Fantastic Customer Service; I fully recommend them

    After a recent house fire (meter box caught fire) contacted HBF immediately after the fire brigade had left and they (HBF) authorised me to get in emergency electricians straight away to replace all the wiring, meter box etc. This was done and once the job was completed sent the receipt etc to HBF and I was refunded several thousand dollars, with no problems within 72 hours. All contacts with HBF, they were very empathetic and helpful. Good to know they are there when you need them and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to others.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Graham, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Bad claims , bad assistance, no patience to listen

    I have been with HBF health for 24 years and home for about 15 years. I am going to cancel both health and home insurance very soon. They changed my health cover to the lowest and most basic without making any attempt to reach me. And even during Covid, they gave me incorrect information regarding hardship and as such I had missed out . The lady attending to my in-person query, promised to get back to me, but as expected failed to call me back to upgrade me and other queries. As for home I had never made a claim, first time my dishwasher failed to work due to a power brown out, they did nothing, no attempt to speak to my technician. Insuring it is not a fusion of motor, although it is definitely a fusion of some sort due to the brown out. I am sick and tired trying to speak to these consultants, as they deny and make excuses, like they get a commission by ensuring you do not get paid out.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jenni, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Read small print.

    Read the small print before signing anything.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    The worst insurer I’ve had to deal with

    Complaint made with AFCA, HBF made the process of making a claim (Landlords policy - rent arrears) unbearable. They honoured the claim after AFCA intervention. I’ve cancelled my other HBF policies as a result and would strongly urge anyone considering HBF to consider their options.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Josh, Western Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Competitive premiums and great customer service.

    Had to make a claim. It was quick and easy with no issues.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rae, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Great agents to help out most of the time

    Easy to make claims and reliable.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Clarence, Western Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    HBF are Brilliant

    HBF is so easy. They are an excellent insurance company. I recently had to claim for my house and contents. They are 11/10.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sally, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Hbf- Only insurer to offer fortnightly installment

    Hbf car insurance met my needs to allow me to pay fortnightly payments for my car's as I had 3. Thus needed 3 × full comprehensive policies, 1× house insurance policy and 1× contents insurance policy. At the time they were the only insurer offering fortnightly payments. The next best was quarterly- half yearly which didn't appeal to me at that point in time as I was paid wages fortnightly, mortgage payments paid fortnightly, car payments paid fortnightly and so on. Fortnightly it was.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Brendan, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Excellent service and value for money

    I like HBF for their fast, friendly and efficient service. Claiming was a breeze and they follow up after a claim to check not just once, but several times throughout the process that the work is being carried out. Only thing to watch out for is if you have policy in joint names and one of you cancel, then the other party looses their insurance too.

    Value for money
    Less
    Elizabeth, Western Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Fantastic customer service with competitive rates

    This insurer has face to face contact, which I prefer and it is also a not for profit organisation. Any time I have had dealings with this provider I am met with a smile and a friendly chat. I am made to feel welcome and nothing seems too much trouble for the staff.

    Value for money
    Less
    Patricia, Western Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    HBF is very easy to deal with

    Though i've never had to claim anything and this makes me nervous. There's a huge price hike as soon as you specify special goods ie. a very expensive computer.

    Value for money
    Less
    Jana, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Easier to get insured with HBF than others

    So far I've had a positive experience with HBF. They offer better packages that are suited to me but I haven't made a claim before.

    Value for money
    Less
    Jason, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Great customer service

    They look after you and they have good customer service

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Marianne, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Experienced fantastic customer service

    Always have efficiently and kind service from this company

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Patty, Western Australia, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • HBF Home Insurance

    Never had a problem

    They were very good when I made a claim a while back.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mellinda, Western Australia, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.