Toyota Insurance logo

Toyota Insurance Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
6.3/10
Value for money
6.6/10
Policy coverage
6.5/10
Customer service
6.3/10
Claims handling
5.6/10
Trust
6.1/10
Based on 74 Toyota Insurance car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent Toyota Insurance car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    STAY CLEAR of this insurance

    The policy is a great price but DO NOT be fooled once you make a claim if you have issues after that they will wipe your hands off it and you'll be taking it to the ombudsman to get your vehicle repaired to the standard it was before handing it over to them. I will definitely not be reinsuring any of my vehicles with them after my experience. The customer service is appalling a wait of over 7 weeks for them not to not even look at vehicle yet reject the claim of the damages their repaired caused. I have full proof as well.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rob, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
    Reply from Toyota Insurance

    Hi Rob,

    We are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to reach out directly and investigate this. If you could please send your full name and contact number to the following email address: social.marketing@tfal.com.au, our team can get in touch.

    Thank you,
    Toyota Insurance

  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Disappointed and switching to different insurer

    I have had Toyota care insurance for 7 years. Recently I got a crack in my windscreen and contacted Toyota to submit a claim. I thought I had one free windscreen replacement on my cover but it turns out I needed to pay for it out of pocket and if I had claimed it my premium had gone up. I was disappointed in this because I was a loyal Toyota customer and previously would not have considered buying any other vehicle + insurance. I got the windscreen replaced and got a new wiper blade put on the car. There was something not quite right about my windscreen wiper and when I got it serviced the girl at the front counter said it was all fixed. I went home and then the next day used my windscreen wiper when driving around town. Turns out the windscreen wiper had now snapped off from the main attachment and was swinging in the breeze. I took it back to Toyota and they refused to acknowledge that it had been anything to do with them and that there wasn't anything wrong with the wiper when they saw it. Which I told them was not true. The mechanic then hid out the back and refused to come and chat to me. And they were going to charge me another $300 to get a whole new wiper attachment. Extremely disappointing and I have ordered a new car (not Toyota) and will be switching to a different insurer when this car arrives.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kate, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
    Reply from Toyota Insurance

    Hi Kate,

    we are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with your experience. We would appreciate the opportunity to reach out directly and investigate this. If you could please send your full name and contact number to the following email address: social.marketing@tfal.com.au, our team can get in touch

    Thank you,
    Toyota Insurance

  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Completely happy,with comprehensive cover,

    I have been with this company for many years,I have never felt neglected,if ever I had a claim they were there,very happy customer,even though there May be cheaper companies out there,I would not change

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Caroline, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Expensive poor customer service

    Very hard to get in touch for an extremely long time to resolve the claim not available when I need help with skyrocketing prices in the policy.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Terry, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Can not fault Toyota Insurance.

    My car insurance is through Toyota Insurance and I wouldn’t change. I have only had to put in one claim but it was done so quick and easily! I was a fresh 18 year old with a new car who knew nothing about insurance claims and I needed a windscreen replacement and all the hard work was done by them and I paid no out of pocket cost. Toyota insurance even chose where my windscreen was going to be replaced, all’s I had to do was confirm a date and time it could be done. The customer service team are so lovely and such a pleasure to deal with, always go above and beyond. Through Covid they even offered Covid hardship options to lessen the financial stress through these unknowing and unfortunate times. This is my second car I have insured through Toyota and when I traded in my old Toyota the claim to end my insurance for my first car was done that same day and the balance that was owing to me was also paid directly to my bank account that same day. Nothing but good things to say! I know I can rely on Toyota Insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Bethany, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago
    Reply from Toyota Insurance

    Hi Bethany,

    Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you were happy with your experience and we appreciate the positive feedback. Have a great day.

  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    None

    Nono

    Munkhbat, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
    Reply from Toyota Insurance

    Hi Munkhbat,

    We'd like to understand how we could have improved your experience. Our Customer Solutions team is available on 13 72 00 if you wish to chat through any further comments, concerns, or suggestions.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    A great insurer, cost effective.

    Easy to arrange, easy to claim and a good price too.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Zoe, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Not happy at all!

    Why did I choose Toyota? I don’t know, I’m so angry. My car was stolen Saturday the 21st. I made a police report and made a claim with Toyota. They gave me a rental for two weeks or till the car was recovered. It was found on Monday the 23rd so I called to let them know but because I had already paid $750 for the excess, now I can’t get my money back even though the car was found with no damage. So in a matter of fact I’ve paid $750 for 4 days of car rental, what a rip off!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Andrea, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Terrible.

    They totally suck and haven't got a clue.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tricia, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Out going

    They are a very good insurance company and I would recommend anyone to go with them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Beverley, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Quite happy with what I have

    I liked the new for old replacement in the first 2 years and also one windscreen replacement each year for not much extra.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Professional and easy to use

    I was recently in a minor car accident and not at fault. The insurance company dealt with it swiftly and on the same day I was able to organise a smash repair.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Lisa, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Great service when applied for policy.

    Great service and competitive price.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Ronda, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Happy with insurance.

    Great team.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Muhammad, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Toyota Insurance Car Insurance

    Excellent service

    Toyota Financial Services are a great alternative for your car insurance needs. Specifically, they are easy to deal with and are great with claims handling and quoting.

    Value for money
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.