Bank First debit card reviews

Bank First
Bank First's overall rating for debit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.8 / 10

based on 18 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured debit card from Bank First

Recent Bank First debit card reviews

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank I have ever dealt with.

Very helpful. Querying any possible "dodgy" transactions. Low fees (none if you are careful).

Full review

Very helpful. Querying any possible "dodgy" transactions. Low fees (none if you are careful).

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank and we are happy with all they offer

Great customer service when we ring, shame there aren't many branches on this money tree. Limited bank fees and many loan options available at competitive interest rates. Good savings accounts and never had any trust issues.

Full review

Great customer service when we ring, shame there aren't many branches on this money tree. Limited bank fees and many loan options available at competitive interest rates. Good savings accounts and never had any trust issues.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christa (VIC), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Old fashioned service

I have been with the VTCU for years. Talking to someone is easy and they know their products. Also, if there's a problem or a better way to do something they will tell you. With other banks I've had to be the expert and tell THEM what I...

Full review

I have been with the VTCU for years. Talking to someone is easy and they know their products. Also, if there's a problem or a better way to do something they will tell you. With other banks I've had to be the expert and tell THEM what I want. Smaller bank = better service.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Milka (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great convenience

Excellent product.

Full review

Excellent product.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service & effective web access.

My bank's debit/credit card is not accepted at all atms, which poses problems for access in country victoria. Sometimes when you are travelling around central / northern vic. You don't actually have a lot of choice of ATMs, this can be awkward...

Full review

My bank's debit/credit card is not accepted at all atms, which poses problems for access in country victoria. Sometimes when you are travelling around central / northern vic. You don't actually have a lot of choice of ATMs, this can be awkward when you need to access cash immediately. However, the web & mobile device apps are easy to use and the branch staff are as helpful as they can be.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kim (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic support

Great online customer service. My dealings have always been positive with fantastic & knowledgeable support from this bank.

Full review

Great online customer service. My dealings have always been positive with fantastic & knowledgeable support from this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lesley (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic option for easy purchasing without debt

The convenience of a credit card without the debt. My own money made available whenever and wherever I need it. With the reliability and customer-focus of VTMB to back it up.

Full review

The convenience of a credit card without the debt. My own money made available whenever and wherever I need it. With the reliability and customer-focus of VTMB to back it up.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laura (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank, I have always recommended them

I have banked with them a long time, they have always been excellent.

Full review

I have banked with them a long time, they have always been excellent.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Denyse , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank, great people, great service, low fees

VTMU is a very good bank, so simple and easy to use. Great bank, great service and no fees, would be crazy to go with any other bank. VTU for life.

Full review

VTMU is a very good bank, so simple and easy to use. Great bank, great service and no fees, would be crazy to go with any other bank. VTU for life.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Caitlin , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Well designed, useful product with great support

The Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank debit card is a great product. Everyone offers this service nowadays, but VTMB were one of the first banks in Australia to offer VISA debit cards without fees. For someone who does a lot of online shopping such...

Full review

The Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank debit card is a great product. Everyone offers this service nowadays, but VTMB were one of the first banks in Australia to offer VISA debit cards without fees. For someone who does a lot of online shopping such as myself, having a VISA card that only withdraws from my savings account, rather than credit, is incredibly convenient. The VTMB is still a rather small player in the Australian finance scene, and this is reflected in their excellent customer service and support.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rohan (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Standout features, community oriented

VTMB are a community oriented bank. I love the personal feel of the bank. Every time I need to call them, I always feel like I am being taken care of. They have standout interest rates, which made borrowing money for my first ever overseas holiday...

Full review

VTMB are a community oriented bank. I love the personal feel of the bank. Every time I need to call them, I always feel like I am being taken care of. They have standout interest rates, which made borrowing money for my first ever overseas holiday a breeze. They were supportive and helped me set up my loans and accounts with ease.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Georgia (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Service that leaves me smiling

This bank excels in customer service whenever I need to call them and always resolves the problem on the first call. Their products are excellent and provide ways to minimise fees. Other banks clearly just want to get you off the phone and on to...

Full review

This bank excels in customer service whenever I need to call them and always resolves the problem on the first call. Their products are excellent and provide ways to minimise fees. Other banks clearly just want to get you off the phone and on to the next customer but this bank has real credibility with Victorians in particular and this has been a long term situation.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Helen (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Service beyond the call of duty - excellent

Excellent service.

Full review

Excellent service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

William (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and secure internet banking

My Bank is the VTU Mutual Bank and I have never had a problem with them. They provide internet banking, free use of selected ATMs and the lowest bank charges I have ever heard of.

Full review

My Bank is the VTU Mutual Bank and I have never had a problem with them. They provide internet banking, free use of selected ATMs and the lowest bank charges I have ever heard of.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Doug (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall Vic Teachers Mutual Bank is a great bank

I basically like this bank because it seems to genuinely value its members and is very competitive on interest rates, investment options. My one disappointment has been that my Debit /paywave card developed a malfunction in the chip 2 weeks after...

Full review

I basically like this bank because it seems to genuinely value its members and is very competitive on interest rates, investment options. My one disappointment has been that my Debit /paywave card developed a malfunction in the chip 2 weeks after it was issued so every transaction requires 3 attempts and you cannot use the paywave function. In fairness I haven't yet reported this to the bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly bank

The staff are always so helpful and friendly. Luckily I live close to one of the branches - this could be a negative point if you didn't work or live close to one of their two branches. The internet and phone banking are excellent. I like that I...

Full review

The staff are always so helpful and friendly. Luckily I live close to one of the branches - this could be a negative point if you didn't work or live close to one of their two branches. The internet and phone banking are excellent. I like that I can use Commonwealth bank tellers. Their products are great - christmas account, insurance, credit cards. They have competitive pricing and the fees are not too bad!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Belinda (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Flexible options & customer services

So far I have not had one thing to complain about with them.

Full review

So far I have not had one thing to complain about with them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jean (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

This bank has always provided me with what I need from my debit card and money.

Full review

This bank has always provided me with what I need from my debit card and money.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reliable, no thrills, low cost as long as you watc

Fees do kick in after a number of transactions done on EFTPOS. Woolworths also won't accept credit card transactions on a debit card which is annoying.

Full review

Fees do kick in after a number of transactions done on EFTPOS. Woolworths also won't accept credit card transactions on a debit card which is annoying.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fees

I like my bank as my account has no fees. Awesome!

Full review

I like my bank as my account has no fees. Awesome!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

You will never, ever feel like a number with VTMB.

VTMB is a member-first bank. In comparison to my experiences with other banks, I have never felt more like a valued member than I do with VTMB. Profits go back into making the bank better for members, not into rich Executive pockets. Interest...

Full review

VTMB is a member-first bank. In comparison to my experiences with other banks, I have never felt more like a valued member than I do with VTMB. Profits go back into making the bank better for members, not into rich Executive pockets. Interest rates are the lowest I have ever been offered, and I can bank completely fee-free! Why wouldn't you want to join?!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Provides an excellent debit card service. With an excellent overdraft service. Well done.

Full review

Provides an excellent debit card service. With an excellent overdraft service. Well done.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Voted best among peers year after year, can't beat

I have used the service all my working life. No complaints.

Full review

I have used the service all my working life. No complaints.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Flexible and great customer service

Victoria Teachers have amazing service. If I buy something online (say from the UK or USA), I'll often get a call within minutes just checking that it isn't fraudulent. I bank (or have banked) with bigger banks, but there's a reason Victoria...

Full review

Victoria Teachers have amazing service. If I buy something online (say from the UK or USA), I'll often get a call within minutes just checking that it isn't fraudulent. I bank (or have banked) with bigger banks, but there's a reason Victoria Teachers are my everyday account.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Felix (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank First

Bank First debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service and products

Their fees are reasonable and they have great service but most of all their interest rates for credit cards are consistently the best. Unless they increase their credit fees, I will be sticking with them for another 20 years.

Full review

Their fees are reasonable and they have great service but most of all their interest rates for credit cards are consistently the best. Unless they increase their credit fees, I will be sticking with them for another 20 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Caroline (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    NAB, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, Commonwealth

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1842 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
Back to top