Advertisement

Bank of Queensland personal loan reviews

Bank of Queensland
Bank of Queensland's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.8 / 10

based on 86 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from Bank of Queensland

Recent Bank of Queensland personal loan reviews

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

Full review

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Wilson, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The best

Great bank - friendly

Full review

Great bank - friendly

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sam, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have at least a competitive rate

The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

Full review

The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shaun, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I recommend BOQ to anyone - they are terrific.

Staff went above & beyond to help me get what I needed even when I had almost given up getting the info I needed to be approved. Cassy explained everything I was unsure of & in such a manner that I could understand. & I wasn't rushed into signing...

Full review

Staff went above & beyond to help me get what I needed even when I had almost given up getting the info I needed to be approved. Cassy explained everything I was unsure of & in such a manner that I could understand. & I wasn't rushed into signing anything until I was sure that I knew what was involved & was ready to sign, & I knew there were no 'hidden' fees or charges.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lyn, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

All round great bank

Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

Full review

Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

    Price   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tracie, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great local bank

Awesome bank.

Full review

Awesome bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chicquita, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Hi

That always helpful

Full review

That always helpful

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sheerie, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

Full review

Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Russell, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fast access finance

A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

Full review

A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Richard, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Frustrating experience

Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can...

Full review

Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can get a good credit rating in the future. I have a lot of business with BOQ so was happy to go as a joint lender with her. What a debacle. After 3 weeks of having to provide every little detail of pretty much every account I have with every financial institution, including past 3mths of statements for 4 other institutions etc etc I got totally fed up with the entire process. This process was way too bureaucratic and was incredibly time consuming as well as being frustrating. In the end I cancelled the application and just gave my daughter the funds from savings. What a total waste of time. My intention is to move away from BOQ at the earliest convenience and I would definitely NOT recommend BOQ to others.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Mike, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

helpfl

were very helpful @ all stages of obtaining the loan, and their after sales service was excellent. Very helpful to lead older people through all stages

Full review

were very helpful @ all stages of obtaining the loan, and their after sales service was excellent. Very helpful to lead older people through all stages

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Incompetent with no consideration

Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current...

Full review

Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current monthly payment. Being a sub contractor that gets paid monthly I am at the mercy of the businesses paying me on time, I have a note on my account that indicates the situation and that payments are always made however can be two weeks late due to my situation. This bank doesn't give any consideration if you do the right thing and get ahead unlike my every day personal bank. Their staff do not look at your account before they contact you and are rude when they do call. Avoid boq like the plague.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Ben h, , reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

CUSTOMER SERVICE

I RECENTLY HAD A PERSONAL LOAN WITH THE BANK OF QUEENSLAND AND FINALLY PAID OF THE FINAL PAYMENT IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. THE BANK HAVE ALWAYS BEEN POLITE AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT.

Full review

I RECENTLY HAD A PERSONAL LOAN WITH THE BANK OF QUEENSLAND AND FINALLY PAID OF THE FINAL PAYMENT IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. THE BANK HAVE ALWAYS BEEN POLITE AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Anita, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Yes

Excellent bank in the world, great rates, great staff.

Full review

Excellent bank in the world, great rates, great staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Demet pullukcu, , reviewed almost 5 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) Unsecured Personal Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Fair go and a chance to show i am different now.

Fees

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Neville, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Symple Loans Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Symple Loans Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    interest rate

    5.75% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.89% p.a.to 23.07% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,490.18 including fees.

    • Interest rate: 5.75% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 6.89% p.a.to 23.07% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $35.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Interest rate: 6.99% p.a.to 28.69% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 7.69% p.a.to 29.55% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $15.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits: Application fee is $200 for loans under $5,000.
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 4 Harmoney personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply

    interest rate

    9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    11.22% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $13.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.99% would cost $39,265.82 including fees.

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply
    • Interest rate: 9.99% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 11.22% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $13.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $35.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $300 in first half of loan, $0 in second half.
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    • Security required: Residential Property, Various, Vehicle
    • Other benefits:
    Overall rating

    4.7

    Based on 191 Latitude personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • OurMoneyMarket Low Rate Personal Loan (Excellent Credit) (Fixed, Unsecured)

    OurMoneyMarket Low Rate Personal Loan (Excellent Credit) (Fixed, Unsecured)

    interest rate

    8.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

    • Interest rate: 8.00% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $35.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    6.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.89% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $299.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 6.89% would cost $11,396.66 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Interest rate: 6.89% p.a.
    • Comparison rate*: 8.89% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years
    • Upfront fee: $299
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Late payment fee: $30.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Early repayment penalty: $0.00
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Other benefits:
    Overall rating

    5.0

    Based on 1 RateSetter personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 220 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top
 
Advertisement