Bank of Queensland logo

Bank of Queensland Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 89 personal loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank of Queensland personal loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan

    Fantastic staff, competitive rates

    The pros of this bank is they are competitive with there interest rates, have fantastic staff that go beyond and above to help you.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Katie, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Disgraceful.

    Disgraceful product. Had $90 left on my loan as I had been making extra payments. Instead of them taking the final payment - decided to leave it and only charge their $7.50 monthly account keeping fee. This was their plan for the term of the loan. What great value! I received no correspondence, ended up contacting them myself. I was told their system doesn't support courtesy emails in these situations. I work as an accountant - as if BOQ has nothing to do with the implementation of their own financial system. Corresponding with clients is a pretty basic function guys, but I'm assuming it would make your scam less lucrative. I will never use these guys again, they don't care about their customers. Not interested in helping anyone at all in the current financial climate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Samantha, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Excellent products and customer service

    BOQ has the best customer service I have experienced in my 30 years of banking as an essential worker In the health sector. Great products and services and a branch near my home. Every time I have had to call for a general enquiry or to postpone a repayment my phone call has been answered within seconds. And the service has always been outstanding. I have high commendations for my bank & I highly recommend them to every Australian.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Helen, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan

    Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

    The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wilson, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    The best

    Great bank - friendly

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sam, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    They have at least a competitive rate

    The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shaun, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan

    I recommend BOQ to anyone - they are terrific.

    Staff went above & beyond to help me get what I needed even when I had almost given up getting the info I needed to be approved. Cassy explained everything I was unsure of & in such a manner that I could understand. & I wasn't rushed into signing anything until I was sure that I knew what was involved & was ready to sign, & I knew there were no 'hidden' fees or charges.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lyn, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    All round great bank

    Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tracie, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Great local bank

    Awesome bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chicquita, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Hi

    That always helpful

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sheerie, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Great service

    Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Russell, Western Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Fast access finance

    A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Frustrating experience

    Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can get a good credit rating in the future. I have a lot of business with BOQ so was happy to go as a joint lender with her. What a debacle. After 3 weeks of having to provide every little detail of pretty much every account I have with every financial institution, including past 3mths of statements for 4 other institutions etc etc I got totally fed up with the entire process. This process was way too bureaucratic and was incredibly time consuming as well as being frustrating. In the end I cancelled the application and just gave my daughter the funds from savings. What a total waste of time. My intention is to move away from BOQ at the earliest convenience and I would definitely NOT recommend BOQ to others.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mike, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan

    helpfl

    were very helpful @ all stages of obtaining the loan, and their after sales service was excellent. Very helpful to lead older people through all stages

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, South Australia, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan

    Incompetent with no consideration

    Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current monthly payment. Being a sub contractor that gets paid monthly I am at the mercy of the businesses paying me on time, I have a note on my account that indicates the situation and that payments are always made however can be two weeks late due to my situation. This bank doesn't give any consideration if you do the right thing and get ahead unlike my every day personal bank. Their staff do not look at your account before they contact you and are rude when they do call. Avoid boq like the plague.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ben h, , reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • No Fee Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 17.95% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $34,757.21 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.45% p.a.to 8.48% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.07% p.a.to 8.84% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.45% would cost $34,590.57 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      4.99% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      4.99% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.99% would cost $33,959.97 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.35% p.a.to 19.09% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.14% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,832.61 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.39% p.a.to 7.49% p.a.
      comparison rate
      6.39% p.a.to 8.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.39% would cost $35,126.40 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 227 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.