Bank of Queensland personal loan reviews

Bank of Queensland
Bank of Queensland's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 26 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from Bank of Queensland

Recent Bank of Queensland personal loan reviews

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

Full review

The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Wilson (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The best

Great bank - friendly

Full review

Great bank - friendly

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sam (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have at least a competitive rate

The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

Full review

The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shaun (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

All round great bank

Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

Full review

Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tracie (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great local bank

Awesome bank.

Full review

Awesome bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chicquita (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

Full review

Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Russell (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fast access finance

A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

Full review

A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Richard (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Frustrating experience

Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can...

Full review

Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can get a good credit rating in the future. I have a lot of business with BOQ so was happy to go as a joint lender with her. What a debacle. After 3 weeks of having to provide every little detail of pretty much every account I have with every financial institution, including past 3mths of statements for 4 other institutions etc etc I got totally fed up with the entire process. This process was way too bureaucratic and was incredibly time consuming as well as being frustrating. In the end I cancelled the application and just gave my daughter the funds from savings. What a total waste of time. My intention is to move away from BOQ at the earliest convenience and I would definitely NOT recommend BOQ to others.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Mike (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Incompetent with no consideration

Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current...

Full review

Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current monthly payment. Being a sub contractor that gets paid monthly I am at the mercy of the businesses paying me on time, I have a note on my account that indicates the situation and that payments are always made however can be two weeks late due to my situation. This bank doesn't give any consideration if you do the right thing and get ahead unlike my every day personal bank. Their staff do not look at your account before they contact you and are rude when they do call. Avoid boq like the plague.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Ben h , reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly, happy staff ready to help you

Easy going, approachable staff with all the knowledge I need get my banking done.

Full review

Easy going, approachable staff with all the knowledge I need get my banking done.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Martin , reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing interest rate and deal with one person

BOQ Specialist branch is set up specifically for dentists/doctors/vets. The processing and set up time is only a few days and there is someone who you can email any time, I know him by name. They are very quick, professional and have given me what...

Full review

BOQ Specialist branch is set up specifically for dentists/doctors/vets. The processing and set up time is only a few days and there is someone who you can email any time, I know him by name. They are very quick, professional and have given me what I asked for. I am very happy!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anna (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

They are always quick to help resolve any problems and are really professional about it.

Full review

They are always quick to help resolve any problems and are really professional about it.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Luke , reviewed about 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service, quality bank

Bank of Queensland have excellent service combined with quality and peace of mind and I found this and more on "Mozo" Australia's money saving zone.

Full review

Bank of Queensland have excellent service combined with quality and peace of mind and I found this and more on "Mozo" Australia's money saving zone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sean (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and customer service

Queenslanders Credit Union has been great for me. I've had several loans with them and they've never done me wrong.

Full review

Queenslanders Credit Union has been great for me. I've had several loans with them and they've never done me wrong.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alex , reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Unique banking with benefits

The Bank of Queensland has owner managers. I know my bank manager and am able to speak directly to him about my choices and any problems I may incur.

Full review

The Bank of Queensland has owner managers. I know my bank manager and am able to speak directly to him about my choices and any problems I may incur.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sasha (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome

Very happy and very helpful. They are understaning, we were very pleased they helped us on the same day and the money was in the bank the next day.

Full review

Very happy and very helpful. They are understaning, we were very pleased they helped us on the same day and the money was in the bank the next day.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jaymie (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best communication throughout

Best communication throughout.

Full review

Best communication throughout.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angie (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent bank, I have all my accounts with BOQ

Have always provided first class service and have gone out of their way to assist with any queries.

Full review

Have always provided first class service and have gone out of their way to assist with any queries.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service, very community-oriented

BOQ is open with people. They are genuinely nice and approachable as a bank and they are easy to get along with for the everyday Jane like me.

Full review

BOQ is open with people. They are genuinely nice and approachable as a bank and they are easy to get along with for the everyday Jane like me.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

About its customers

It is a bank that cares about its customers

Full review

It is a bank that cares about its customers

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hopeless

You have to go into a branch to set up internet banking to be able to pay more off your loan. But the closest branch is about 1 hour away and they don't open at all on the weekends only Monday to Friday.

Full review

You have to go into a branch to set up internet banking to be able to pay more off your loan. But the closest branch is about 1 hour away and they don't open at all on the weekends only Monday to Friday.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and the cheapest car loan

I did research, research and more research before I bought a new car. It paid off - I got the perfect car and perfect car loan! No application fees and the cheapest rate I found, easy to deal with and great service!!

Full review

I did research, research and more research before I bought a new car. It paid off - I got the perfect car and perfect car loan! No application fees and the cheapest rate I found, easy to deal with and great service!!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kayla (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

No advice managing account

If Centrelink recipient no loans, granted no access to credit cards. Bank did not change acc when bank deleted my type of acc replaced by a new acc. Catch is new type has no acc keeping fees old is obsolete & still attracts bank fees.

Full review

If Centrelink recipient no loans, granted no access to credit cards. Bank did not change acc when bank deleted my type of acc replaced by a new acc. Catch is new type has no acc keeping fees old is obsolete & still attracts bank fees.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great manager

Our bank manager is very helpful at all times.

Full review

Our bank manager is very helpful at all times.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Vikki (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service with complete control

Bank of Queensland is amazing because I have absolutely all my trust in them I joined a month ago and am in love they give me control of my money I have nothing bad to say except they aren't open long enough.

Full review

Bank of Queensland is amazing because I have absolutely all my trust in them I joined a month ago and am in love they give me control of my money I have nothing bad to say except they aren't open long enough.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Hope (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,727.56 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.46% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.46% would cost $11,517.82 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    Latitude Low Rate Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured)

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply

    interest rate

    10.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $13.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 10.99% would cost $41,413.45 including fees.

    • Available to new Latitude personal loan customers only
    • Applicants must be mortgage holders or homeowners
    • Applicants need an excellent credit score to apply
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $13.00
    • Exit fee: $150.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    4.4

    Based on 63 Latitude personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    interest rate

    7.49% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.04% p.a.to 16.15% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.49% would cost $36,896.51 including fees.

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Residential Property, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $25,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 RACV personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 10.55% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 11.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,834.19 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 190 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top