Thumbnail icon for Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Personal loan reviews

Overall rating
6.8/10
Price
6.7/10
Features
6.0/10
Customer service
7.2/10
Convenience
7.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 87 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank of Queensland personal loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent products and customer service

    BOQ has the best customer service I have experienced in my 30 years of banking as an essential worker In the health sector. Great products and services and a branch near my home. Every time I have had to call for a general enquiry or to postpone a repayment my phone call has been answered within seconds. And the service has always been outstanding. I have high commendations for my bank & I highly recommend them to every Australian.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Helen, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Premiums not competitive customer service needy.

    The interest rates are too high and the bank is not flexible with payment dates as they charge fees every time the payment falls on a weekend.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Wilson, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    The best

    Great bank - friendly

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sam, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    They have at least a competitive rate

    The old fashioned service is still availale at my branch, they all know me by name. They also take calls with no notice. If they can help you they will go above and beyond and with a smile on there face

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shaun, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    I recommend BOQ to anyone - they are terrific.

    Staff went above & beyond to help me get what I needed even when I had almost given up getting the info I needed to be approved. Cassy explained everything I was unsure of & in such a manner that I could understand. & I wasn't rushed into signing anything until I was sure that I knew what was involved & was ready to sign, & I knew there were no 'hidden' fees or charges.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lyn, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    All round great bank

    Great customer service, competitive rates, they go the extra mile.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Tracie, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great local bank

    Awesome bank.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chicquita, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Hi

    That always helpful

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sheerie, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service

    Great service, they all say hello by name when they see you no matter how long since being at branch.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Russell, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Fast access finance

    A good lender, cheap rates and interest but lacking in trust and reliability somewhat.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Richard, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Frustrating experience

    Up until this year I had a fantastic BOQ Bank Manager who went out of his way to be of assistance, unfortunately he is moving on and I was reassigned to another branch in Brisbane. I was attempting to get a small loan for my daughter so she can get a good credit rating in the future. I have a lot of business with BOQ so was happy to go as a joint lender with her. What a debacle. After 3 weeks of having to provide every little detail of pretty much every account I have with every financial institution, including past 3mths of statements for 4 other institutions etc etc I got totally fed up with the entire process. This process was way too bureaucratic and was incredibly time consuming as well as being frustrating. In the end I cancelled the application and just gave my daughter the funds from savings. What a total waste of time. My intention is to move away from BOQ at the earliest convenience and I would definitely NOT recommend BOQ to others.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    helpfl

    were very helpful @ all stages of obtaining the loan, and their after sales service was excellent. Very helpful to lead older people through all stages

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Personal Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Incompetent with no consideration

    Boq is the worst bank I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. I received a loan as part of a motorbike finance, I am currently two years ahead in the repayments however I keep receiving phone calls if I am 2 days late on my current monthly payment. Being a sub contractor that gets paid monthly I am at the mercy of the businesses paying me on time, I have a note on my account that indicates the situation and that payments are always made however can be two weeks late due to my situation. This bank doesn't give any consideration if you do the right thing and get ahead unlike my every day personal bank. Their staff do not look at your account before they contact you and are rude when they do call. Avoid boq like the plague.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben h, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    CUSTOMER SERVICE

    I RECENTLY HAD A PERSONAL LOAN WITH THE BANK OF QUEENSLAND AND FINALLY PAID OF THE FINAL PAYMENT IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. THE BANK HAVE ALWAYS BEEN POLITE AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Anita, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Bank of Queensland review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Yes

    Excellent bank in the world, great rates, great staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Demet pullukcu, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Low Rate Personal Loan

      interest rate
      8.00% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      8.21% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.00% would cost $36,647.51 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.65% p.a.to 26.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.65% p.a.to 28.6% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      7.45% p.a.to 16.95% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      9.07% p.a.to 18.53% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 2 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.45% would cost $37,300.55 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Personal Loan

      interest rate
      5.75% p.a.to 21.99% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      6.47% p.a.to 25.11% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.75% would cost $35,190.18 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Unsecured Personal Loan

      interest rate
      6.49% p.a.to 8.79% p.a.
      comparison rate*
      7.84% p.a.to 9.36% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.49% would cost $35,459.64 including fees.

      Promoted

    *The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 227 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more personal loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.