Bankwest personal loan reviews

Bankwest
Bankwest's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.2 / 10

based on 51 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Top 5 personal loans 2015

Featured personal loan from Bankwest

Recent Bankwest personal loan reviews

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Typical Bank

It's not that I don't like the bank, it's more to do with the fact I have been with the bank for about 25 years and I can not recall ever receiving a call to ask how I was going and them offering advice on how to reduce my interest rate.

Full review

It's not that I don't like the bank, it's more to do with the fact I have been with the bank for about 25 years and I can not recall ever receiving a call to ask how I was going and them offering advice on how to reduce my interest rate.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shane (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Bankwest aren't as good as they used to be

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

Full review

Bankwest do not have a check system in place to verify card withdrawals on the internet which allows fraudulent transactions to be made by dealers without authority from account owners.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoffrey (WA), reviewed 11 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not a great bank for me

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

Full review

It took 8 months to refinance, there are incompetent staff. They have been unable to tell us why fees were charged unless we were asked. Everything is outsourced. No apologies, just rude.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Archana (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

BankWest seem to be compatible.

They've given me a loan and at the start because I did it over the phone I will be honest I had to run around a bit , however the staff were very accommodating. I do get charged late fees or have been where as my NAB. Bank doesn't . That's only...

Full review

They've given me a loan and at the start because I did it over the phone I will be honest I had to run around a bit , however the staff were very accommodating. I do get charged late fees or have been where as my NAB. Bank doesn't . That's only one feature I'm not happy with. I can get through fairly easily and they've been helpful. I'd have to say to all banks as they don't seem to mention other services available and I found out afterwards, it would be nice if their staff offered other solutions to my needs if they thought it would help. Otherwise both BankWest and NAB have been pretty good, but BankWest have a lower interest rate.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Donna (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service.

They have always made it easy to add extra money to pay it off sooner.

Full review

They have always made it easy to add extra money to pay it off sooner.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Hayley (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy and friendly

Changed from Commonwealth as their fees were huge. Bankwest are so easy to deal with and always able to help.

Full review

Changed from Commonwealth as their fees were huge. Bankwest are so easy to deal with and always able to help.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kate (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Would recommend

They are great.

Full review

They are great.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jodie (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and competitive rates

Great products.

Full review

Great products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tania (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Everyone is great.

Being with Bankwest for a long time, very happy with everything and everyone.

Full review

Being with Bankwest for a long time, very happy with everything and everyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Don't like their service

Don't like their service.

Full review

Don't like their service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Glad I never switched

Tried to apply for a small loan with a good income that could comfortably meet the repayments with a good credit rating but was rejected. Their lending criteria is a bit stricter than other banks and make you jump through too many hoops.

Full review

Tried to apply for a small loan with a good income that could comfortably meet the repayments with a good credit rating but was rejected. Their lending criteria is a bit stricter than other banks and make you jump through too many hoops.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Paula (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Bad service

I earn good money and at the time I was with this bank and despite only wanting a small loan they rejected it even though I had a high full time job. too many papers and questions to fill out.

Full review

I earn good money and at the time I was with this bank and despite only wanting a small loan they rejected it even though I had a high full time job. too many papers and questions to fill out.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Helen (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Loyalty

Great service and products.

Full review

Great service and products.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Emily (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

OK could be better

Very high interest on redraw loan.

Full review

Very high interest on redraw loan.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Erin (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Easy to get, harder to pay off

The personal loan although a small amount loan, seems way over priced in interest, the loan contract was confusing.

Full review

The personal loan although a small amount loan, seems way over priced in interest, the loan contract was confusing.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Richard (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic move from other bank

Very happy with rate, customer service and Internet banking.

Full review

Very happy with rate, customer service and Internet banking.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joanna (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy to setup

Good customer services, easy to setup any account once you already have one.

Full review

Good customer services, easy to setup any account once you already have one.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jarrad (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reliable

Flexible and approachable. Counter service is lacking.

Full review

Flexible and approachable. Counter service is lacking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Wan (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Never had better service.. very friendly and helpful. All staff very pleasant.

Full review

Never had better service.. very friendly and helpful. All staff very pleasant.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joy (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant!!

I have had two car loans through bankwest - brilliant all round. Just not a local branch nearby.

Full review

I have had two car loans through bankwest - brilliant all round. Just not a local branch nearby.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bernie (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very good service

Very good service. Easy and convenient. No question is unanswered.

Full review

Very good service. Easy and convenient. No question is unanswered.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Julie (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and a good product as a bonus

Have nothing but good words to say about the staff at the store I deal with. They go out of their way to look after you and it's more about making sure you're comfortable and they understand exactly what you are after instead of being treated like...

Full review

Have nothing but good words to say about the staff at the store I deal with. They go out of their way to look after you and it's more about making sure you're comfortable and they understand exactly what you are after instead of being treated like you're another dollar for their targets etc.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sam (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer focus

I recently purchased a personal loan with bank west and was super satisfied with not only the product but the super friendly, helpful and proactive customer service both online and in branch. They made me feel like a valued customer and I would...

Full review

I recently purchased a personal loan with bank west and was super satisfied with not only the product but the super friendly, helpful and proactive customer service both online and in branch. They made me feel like a valued customer and I would highly recommend them as a bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Angela (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Flexible Personal Loan (Fixed, Unsecured) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Always helpful when we call

Always gives us great rates on loans. We shop around but always stay with them. Only issue is no branches in rural SA, which for the most part is not an issue. We recently bought a car and couldn't get a bank cheque so had to do an International...

Full review

Always gives us great rates on loans. We shop around but always stay with them. Only issue is no branches in rural SA, which for the most part is not an issue. We recently bought a car and couldn't get a bank cheque so had to do an International Transfer so it all worked out.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kelly (SA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy and convenient

I bank with Bank west and they are low rate, easy to use and very helpful, last month I could not pay back my loan repayment and all they did was place it on hold for me until I could make the payment and this only took around 5 mins online on...

Full review

I bank with Bank west and they are low rate, easy to use and very helpful, last month I could not pay back my loan repayment and all they did was place it on hold for me until I could make the payment and this only took around 5 mins online on their chat portal.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kayla (WA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 29.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 31.95% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    IMB Bank Secured Personal Loan (secured by vehicle up to 6 years old, Fixed)

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval

    interest rate

    7.39% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.74% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.39% would cost $36,224.29 including fees.

    • No monthly fees
    • Flexible terms from 1 - 5 years
    • Fast online conditional approval
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $250
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 5 IMB Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    RateSetter Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.46% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.23% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $75.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 8.46% would cost $11,432.64 including fees.

    • Low rates for borrowers with good credit
    • 1 min rate estimate, simple online application
    • No exit fees, no early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $75
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $2,001.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV Personal Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    interest rate

    7.49% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.04% p.a.to 16.15% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.49% would cost $36,439.75 including fees.

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Residential Property, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $25,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 RACV personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    7.65% p.a.to 21.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $0.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 191 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top