Bluestone logo

Bluestone Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 17 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Bluestone

Prime Home Loan

interest rate
2.44% p.a. variable
comparison rate
2.49% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Bluestone home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    High interest loan sharks.

    My mother refinanced her mortgage with Bluestone and during this time of Covid-19 they did not reduce the interest rate which is close to 7% interest on her home loan. I called on behalf of my mother as my name is on as a 3rd party contact and I was told it was not what they do - disgusting especially at this time when rates are less than 1%. My mother is a pensioner and I am assisting to pay her loan which is about $600/week. Also because she is a pensioner we cannot refinance this Bluestone loan. Stay clear away from Bluestone there are plenty of other more reasonable and fairer lenders.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rozi, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Appalling!

    As others have said stay clear of this company for mortgages. Interest rates are not competitive. Customer service is appalling. Refused to discuss rendering any assistance and put me through to the hardship department when I was reporting my payment would be 2 days late. I have been bullied repeatedly by this mob. I sold my beloved house to get rid of this noose around my neck!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Brenda, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Stay clear if you don't want to lose your home

    If I had of been around when my father took out a reverse mortgage from these guys I would have done my research. Unfortunately for a company like this they thrive on the people that don't understand a hell of a lot. When my father borrowed against the home $15000 turned into $111,000 over 5 years that he had to pay. Instead of this company taking his house, we decided to sell the house and pay out the balance. They then decided they wanted another $20,000 on top of the $111,000 to exit. This company is nothing but a money hungry company that everyone needs to stay clear off. They are disrespectful to say the least and its immoral and unethical to offer a person a loan on their home and charge such an exorbitant interest rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maisey, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Bluestone are parasites

    I had a tax debt that our then mortgager(NAB) would not refinance. I approached my long term broker who recommended Bluestone. I must add that my credit score through Equifax is 1080 and I have a near clear mortgage repayment history with NAB. I have owned my business for 30 years. I employ 5 people and thankfully we don't require any government help, yet at least. Anyway, the low doc loan ended up being an every doc loan, the process took 3 months and the original offer of 6% became 8.09% at settlement. I was promised that my variable interest rate would be revised after proving I could repay the loan in the following months. I must also add that I was charged over $9500.00 fees for the loan plus $25.00 per month. I have now worked out that I am paying an additional $6000.00 per year that I don't know what for? It isn't coming off the mortgage. My LVR is 80% too. I have emailed them numerous times and asked for a rate review without success. The latest was back in February, Covid was just picking up and after numerous emails their official reply was that due to Covid 19 Bluestone were not in the position to review rates. Plus the usual we are not a bank and therefore are not dictated to by the reserve bank. They then had the audacity to mention their covid relief measures that may be available? How dare they use this pandemic to gouge hard working Australians! So basically, steer clear. If your broker suggests Bluestone get a new broker. I am now trapped because other financial institutions are not loaning money in these uncertain times. Stay clear of Bluestone!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Loan sharks

    Don't use these loan sharks! When I contacted Bluestone to seek a review of our interest rate in light of of the Covid-19 situation they claimed that unlike most other companies they would not be reviewing their interest rates because of Covid-19. They directed us to the hardship department which we clearly indicated we did want want to do as our priority is to keep paying our mortgage and not freeze our payments which would increase the total amount we owe and not help us in the long run. When most other companies are trying to assist their clients Bluestone just want to continue to gouge its clients. An absolute disgrace in the current environment when their rates are already significantly higher than a normal bank.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nicole, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Worst mortgage company!

    Biggest mistake of our lives. We have been living a financial nightmare with them for 3 years. Our interest rate has gone up to 7.12% if not more and they also decided they wanted us to pay interest and principal on both our home and investment property. My husbands whole wage goes to them and we are still short. Also now due to the COVID-19 I've lost my job. Husband still works but until I'm making money again we have no hope. They say they can give us 3 months hardship but once thats done we have to pay more interest. These people make my stomach turn. I actually get anxiety speaking to them. Reading all these reviews makes me feel like theres no hope with this company.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jacqueline, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    A very disturbing company to deal with.

    This company has high interest and will not talk to you about anything, they do not answer phone calls. You cannot negotiate to reduce your interest. You cannot pay extra off your loan without complaining to them and having to report them. You go through a lot to do any form of business with them. If they tell you something that is wrong they will not own it and the error will not get fixed.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alison, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Stay away from these modern day crooks.

    These guys are modern day crooks. Charging fees with no notification and no communication. Then they demand these fees to be paid or they default you. Stay away all all costs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joe, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Very high mortgage rate and massive fees.

    You should only use this bank if your credit rating is so bad that you can't get a mortgage anywhere else.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tom, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    The worst service ever!

    This is the single most worst organisation I have ever dealt with. They have the worst customer service, after numerous calls to update contact numbers, mailing address and contact persons they still managed to screw this up and then have the cheek to charge me interest when they haven't even sent me statements. The last incident after numerous dramas has been that I cannot even ask for information regarding my account ie, how much would loan repayments be if I paid a lump some on my account? I was informed I had to get my Lawyer to send them a letter before they could answer that question! Go figure! Stay well away from this Company they are a major rip off

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kamaia, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Okay loaning institute as a last resort

    Charge high interest rates. Say they will drop their rates if you prove you are reliable but never do (we have been with them for more than 7 years). Charge $25 for printouts, should be free! Flexible and prompt with changing loan repayment dates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sonya, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Really BAD

    If I had known how bad they were, I would have never picked them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vargha, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    I actually have a commercial loan but that option wasn't there. I got stuck with this loan thru a marriage break but they do everything they can to put you under, there is nil customer service or any consideration for your circumstances. They charge disgusting interest rates which they get their funding thru Westpac bank. No matter what I do they have me by the neck I can't refinance they will not reduce the huge interest rate they charge so you just hang on by your fingernails until you either fall over or have no life other than work to pay Bluestone. These banks were throwing the money at you 4-5 yrs ago and now it has gone bad do they take any responsibility for their negligence in over lending. No they just put hard working Aussies out and have no care factor at all! Banks should take some of the responsibility for their lack of foresight also and the lapse in the market, it shouldn't only be on the companies and consumers that grabbed the loans when it was thrown in their face.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    Just have a look at their interest rates they must be so broke they had to raise from 0.45 to 13.47 they are getting the flick in February after I cant be penalised, after three years of torture.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Neville, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bluestone Home Loan

    There are no flexible options and interest rates are too high.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janiene, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.