Thumbnail icon for HomeStart

HomeStart Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.8/10
Price
6.9/10
Features
6.6/10
Customer service
7.9/10
Convenience
7.0/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 48 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HomeStart home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Extremely competitive interest rates.

    I would not have been able to buy a home without Homestart. I thought i was going to be a renter all my life but fortunately Homestart has changed my life. Love owning my own home.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Christine, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Good customer service but high repayments.

    There are such high repayments which keep going up periodically.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Beau, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent to use

    Great for first or low income earners needing a housing loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Helpful and can be a lifeline for housing loans.

    Great place to get a loan if knocked back by other lenders, good for older people too.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Customer service has proven to be great

    Each time a query has arisen it has been promptly answered.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Roger, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Ok.not mutch choice

    Ok.not mutch flexibility

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kay, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Excellent product and features, fantastic

    Homestart was one of the only home loan options I had as a single income family, with 4 young children. Their rates are very competitive, they allow redraw on their loans, only downfall I have experienced with them is the cpi increase each year. Altogether though I have no complaints about homestart finance, they have been great to me.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kylie, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    traped

    My bank ga've me the opportunity to own a home but the conditions on the loan could not let me get out of it easily

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Maria torrefiel, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    the best

    I like them they helped me out

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tania, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Always there for me

    when I hit a snag, I give them a call A little bit of shuffling and I'm saved from a fall. A message online or in the mail Will always make sure I don't fail

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Katherine, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great nank

    Great banking service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Duncan , , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service and alway easy to talk to

    They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Carolyn, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great honest product

    This is a great service with a structured approach to getting home loans paid off in a shorter time. It's very basic and has no gimmicks which suits us fine.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Andy, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fantastic for low income earners

    HomeStart helps thousands of people like me who otherwise wouldn't get a home loan. It's a life-changing loan provider.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Almost a top 3 bank?

    Fantastic and quick service over the phone, great internet website but not very forward in helping long term customers save money.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Cassandra, , reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.78% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.81% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 550 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.