HomeStart home loan reviews

HomeStart
HomeStart's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.9 / 10

based on 46 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Recent HomeStart home loan reviews

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent to use

Great for first or low income earners needing a housing loan.

Full review

Great for first or low income earners needing a housing loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful and can be a lifeline for housing loans.

Great place to get a loan if knocked back by other lenders, good for older people too.

Full review

Great place to get a loan if knocked back by other lenders, good for older people too.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Customer service has proven to be great

Each time a query has arisen it has been promptly answered.

Full review

Each time a query has arisen it has been promptly answered.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Roger, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Ok.not mutch choice

Ok.not mutch flexibility

Full review

Ok.not mutch flexibility

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kay, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent product and features, fantastic

Homestart was one of the only home loan options I had as a single income family, with 4 young children. Their rates are very competitive, they allow redraw on their loans, only downfall I have experienced with them is the cpi increase each year....

Full review

Homestart was one of the only home loan options I had as a single income family, with 4 young children. Their rates are very competitive, they allow redraw on their loans, only downfall I have experienced with them is the cpi increase each year. Altogether though I have no complaints about homestart finance, they have been great to me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kylie, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

traped

My bank ga've me the opportunity to own a home but the conditions on the loan could not let me get out of it easily

Full review

My bank ga've me the opportunity to own a home but the conditions on the loan could not let me get out of it easily

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Maria torrefiel, , reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

the best

I like them they helped me out

Full review

I like them they helped me out

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tania, , reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always there for me

when I hit a snag, I give them a call A little bit of shuffling and I'm saved from a fall. A message online or in the mail Will always make sure I don't fail

Full review

when I hit a snag, I give them a call A little bit of shuffling and I'm saved from a fall. A message online or in the mail Will always make sure I don't fail

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katherine, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great nank

Great banking service

Full review

Great banking service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Duncan , , reviewed almost 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and alway easy to talk to

They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.

Full review

They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carolyn, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great honest product

This is a great service with a structured approach to getting home loans paid off in a shorter time. It's very basic and has no gimmicks which suits us fine.

Full review

This is a great service with a structured approach to getting home loans paid off in a shorter time. It's very basic and has no gimmicks which suits us fine.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Andy, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic for low income earners

HomeStart helps thousands of people like me who otherwise wouldn't get a home loan. It's a life-changing loan provider.

Full review

HomeStart helps thousands of people like me who otherwise wouldn't get a home loan. It's a life-changing loan provider.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Suzanne, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Almost a top 3 bank?

Fantastic and quick service over the phone, great internet website but not very forward in helping long term customers save money.

Full review

Fantastic and quick service over the phone, great internet website but not very forward in helping long term customers save money.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cassandra, , reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Go the extra mile for you with a smile

From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear....

Full review

From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear. They were all so friendly and wonderful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patricia, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The place to go for a loan

Homestart is an excellent place to get a loan, especially when a bank won't accept you. Homestart is fantastic and has helped me out so much to get a loan for my house. Would definitely recommend to others.

Full review

Homestart is an excellent place to get a loan, especially when a bank won't accept you. Homestart is fantastic and has helped me out so much to get a loan for my house. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elise, , reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Don't do it

The idea of the loan seems good: to not pay interest on a certain portion of the loan and have lower repayments. The problems start when trying to contact Homestart. If you ring the call centre, I have ALWAYS had to leave a message and wait for a...

Full review

The idea of the loan seems good: to not pay interest on a certain portion of the loan and have lower repayments. The problems start when trying to contact Homestart. If you ring the call centre, I have ALWAYS had to leave a message and wait for a call back, which is very inconvenient as the return call is often missed due to my own work commitments and the process starts again. Now when getting out of this loan 40% of the profit must be paid to Homestart, however Homestart are the ones that do the valuation that costs you $260+ determining the payout figure. Homestart grossly overvalued my home meaning a much higher payout figure leaving me unable to refinance my home, as I had calculated the refinance on what my new bank had valued the property at (to try lower repayments and have a better interest rate). I have been trying to fight this but the complaint person is more than rude and I may have no option but to try up with the thousands I am left out myself. Also keep in mind, the longer you stay in the loan the more you will need to pay Homestart. After 4 years on this loan making every single repayment, I am left owing them more than what I even purchased the property for.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sally, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

Being a single parent, no one else would give me a home loan when I was looking for a mortgage.

Full review

Being a single parent, no one else would give me a home loan when I was looking for a mortgage.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rebecca, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

No more processing fees for mortgage repayments

I pay my home start House loan through my Bank SA branch. I incur a $3 fee for this process even though it's the only way I can pay my mortgage without a direct debit arrangement. I feel there are enough fees involved with a home loan as it is and...

Full review

I pay my home start House loan through my Bank SA branch. I incur a $3 fee for this process even though it's the only way I can pay my mortgage without a direct debit arrangement. I feel there are enough fees involved with a home loan as it is and $3 for the operator to push a few buttons is a little uncalled for.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sarah, , reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great for low income borrowers

I like Homestart because we are pensioners and they were the only company that would consider lending us enough money to build a house. Even with owning the land, we could not get a building loan with any other bank as they would only give us...

Full review

I like Homestart because we are pensioners and they were the only company that would consider lending us enough money to build a house. Even with owning the land, we could not get a building loan with any other bank as they would only give us about half the amount we needed.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karren, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great loan to refinance, low costs

happy!

Full review

happy!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kevin007, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service and good loan approval conditions

Fine for us; we are an older couple starting over and my spouse is his early 60s. Most banks are nervous about older clients as they are concerned about exit strategies but we were able to secure a small mortgage without much of a fuss, just a lot...

Full review

Fine for us; we are an older couple starting over and my spouse is his early 60s. Most banks are nervous about older clients as they are concerned about exit strategies but we were able to secure a small mortgage without much of a fuss, just a lot of paperwork.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Emmie, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Home loan features and customer service

I have no dislike they have always helpful and explained things very well.

Full review

I have no dislike they have always helpful and explained things very well.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Heather, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Homestart - Good for first timers

Great to get started with their low entry fees, no branches however makes contact limited. Interest rates are higher but great for first homebuyers with their first year fixed repayments. Helped us out so much!

Full review

Great to get started with their low entry fees, no branches however makes contact limited. Interest rates are higher but great for first homebuyers with their first year fixed repayments. Helped us out so much!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tim, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent personal approach!

Customer service is excellent! Very professional and informative. Service with a smile always. Unfortunately only one branch in Adelaide and not open on Saturday mornings!

Full review

Customer service is excellent! Very professional and informative. Service with a smile always. Unfortunately only one branch in Adelaide and not open on Saturday mornings!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding customer service and peace of mind.

Homestart Finance is a lender you can trust. The bank has helped me in all stages of my loan. My finance manager is very understanding and easy to approach. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and their help at times has been invaluable....

Full review

Homestart Finance is a lender you can trust. The bank has helped me in all stages of my loan. My finance manager is very understanding and easy to approach. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and their help at times has been invaluable. Homestart has many features and is easy to understand. There are Flexible options and repayment plans. I would advise anyone to apply for a loan through this organisation because I can say you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend Homestart Finance.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, South Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 2769 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist

    interest rate

    3.67% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist
    • Interest rate: 3.67% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 242 Heritage Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 505 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top