HomeStart home loan reviews

HomeStart
HomeStart's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.2 / 10

based on 26 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Recent HomeStart home loan reviews

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent to use

Great for first or low income earners needing a housing loan.

Full review

Great for first or low income earners needing a housing loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce (SA), reviewed about 2 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful and can be a lifeline for housing loans.

Great place to get a loan if knocked back by other lenders, good for older people too.

Full review

Great place to get a loan if knocked back by other lenders, good for older people too.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bruce (SA), reviewed about 2 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Customer service has proven to be great

Each time a query has arisen it has been promptly answered.

Full review

Each time a query has arisen it has been promptly answered.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Roger (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent product and features, fantastic

Homestart was one of the only home loan options I had as a single income family, with 4 young children. Their rates are very competitive, they allow redraw on their loans, only downfall I have experienced with them is the cpi increase each year....

Full review

Homestart was one of the only home loan options I had as a single income family, with 4 young children. Their rates are very competitive, they allow redraw on their loans, only downfall I have experienced with them is the cpi increase each year. Altogether though I have no complaints about homestart finance, they have been great to me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kylie (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and alway easy to talk to

They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.

Full review

They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carolyn (SA), reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great honest product

This is a great service with a structured approach to getting home loans paid off in a shorter time. It's very basic and has no gimmicks which suits us fine.

Full review

This is a great service with a structured approach to getting home loans paid off in a shorter time. It's very basic and has no gimmicks which suits us fine.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Andy (SA), reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic for low income earners

HomeStart helps thousands of people like me who otherwise wouldn't get a home loan. It's a life-changing loan provider.

Full review

HomeStart helps thousands of people like me who otherwise wouldn't get a home loan. It's a life-changing loan provider.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Suzanne (SA), reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Almost a top 3 bank?

Fantastic and quick service over the phone, great internet website but not very forward in helping long term customers save money.

Full review

Fantastic and quick service over the phone, great internet website but not very forward in helping long term customers save money.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cassandra , reviewed about 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Go the extra mile for you with a smile

From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear....

Full review

From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear. They were all so friendly and wonderful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patricia (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The place to go for a loan

Homestart is an excellent place to get a loan, especially when a bank won't accept you. Homestart is fantastic and has helped me out so much to get a loan for my house. Would definitely recommend to others.

Full review

Homestart is an excellent place to get a loan, especially when a bank won't accept you. Homestart is fantastic and has helped me out so much to get a loan for my house. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elise , reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Don't do it

The idea of the loan seems good: to not pay interest on a certain portion of the loan and have lower repayments. The problems start when trying to contact Homestart. If you ring the call centre, I have ALWAYS had to leave a message and wait for a...

Full review

The idea of the loan seems good: to not pay interest on a certain portion of the loan and have lower repayments. The problems start when trying to contact Homestart. If you ring the call centre, I have ALWAYS had to leave a message and wait for a call back, which is very inconvenient as the return call is often missed due to my own work commitments and the process starts again. Now when getting out of this loan 40% of the profit must be paid to Homestart, however Homestart are the ones that do the valuation that costs you $260+ determining the payout figure. Homestart grossly overvalued my home meaning a much higher payout figure leaving me unable to refinance my home, as I had calculated the refinance on what my new bank had valued the property at (to try lower repayments and have a better interest rate). I have been trying to fight this but the complaint person is more than rude and I may have no option but to try up with the thousands I am left out myself. Also keep in mind, the longer you stay in the loan the more you will need to pay Homestart. After 4 years on this loan making every single repayment, I am left owing them more than what I even purchased the property for.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sally (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

Being a single parent, no one else would give me a home loan when I was looking for a mortgage.

Full review

Being a single parent, no one else would give me a home loan when I was looking for a mortgage.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rebecca (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

No more processing fees for mortgage repayments

I pay my home start House loan through my Bank SA branch. I incur a $3 fee for this process even though it's the only way I can pay my mortgage without a direct debit arrangement. I feel there are enough fees involved with a home loan as it is and...

Full review

I pay my home start House loan through my Bank SA branch. I incur a $3 fee for this process even though it's the only way I can pay my mortgage without a direct debit arrangement. I feel there are enough fees involved with a home loan as it is and $3 for the operator to push a few buttons is a little uncalled for.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sarah , reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great for low income borrowers

I like Homestart because we are pensioners and they were the only company that would consider lending us enough money to build a house. Even with owning the land, we could not get a building loan with any other bank as they would only give us...

Full review

I like Homestart because we are pensioners and they were the only company that would consider lending us enough money to build a house. Even with owning the land, we could not get a building loan with any other bank as they would only give us about half the amount we needed.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karren (SA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service and good loan approval conditions

Fine for us; we are an older couple starting over and my spouse is his early 60s. Most banks are nervous about older clients as they are concerned about exit strategies but we were able to secure a small mortgage without much of a fuss, just a lot...

Full review

Fine for us; we are an older couple starting over and my spouse is his early 60s. Most banks are nervous about older clients as they are concerned about exit strategies but we were able to secure a small mortgage without much of a fuss, just a lot of paperwork.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Emmie (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Home loan features and customer service

I have no dislike they have always helpful and explained things very well.

Full review

I have no dislike they have always helpful and explained things very well.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Heather (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Homestart - Good for first timers

Great to get started with their low entry fees, no branches however makes contact limited. Interest rates are higher but great for first homebuyers with their first year fixed repayments. Helped us out so much!

Full review

Great to get started with their low entry fees, no branches however makes contact limited. Interest rates are higher but great for first homebuyers with their first year fixed repayments. Helped us out so much!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tim (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent personal approach!

Customer service is excellent! Very professional and informative. Service with a smile always. Unfortunately only one branch in Adelaide and not open on Saturday mornings!

Full review

Customer service is excellent! Very professional and informative. Service with a smile always. Unfortunately only one branch in Adelaide and not open on Saturday mornings!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding customer service and peace of mind.

Homestart Finance is a lender you can trust. The bank has helped me in all stages of my loan. My finance manager is very understanding and easy to approach. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and their help at times has been invaluable....

Full review

Homestart Finance is a lender you can trust. The bank has helped me in all stages of my loan. My finance manager is very understanding and easy to approach. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and their help at times has been invaluable. Homestart has many features and is easy to understand. There are Flexible options and repayment plans. I would advise anyone to apply for a loan through this organisation because I can say you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend Homestart Finance.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Cheap rates and the service is fantastic

The way things are today prime need to no that there is someone there to help them every step of the way in purchasing a home with little deposit.normal banks want a hughed deposit. Which is not possible the way things are today. I would recommend...

Full review

The way things are today prime need to no that there is someone there to help them every step of the way in purchasing a home with little deposit.normal banks want a hughed deposit. Which is not possible the way things are today. I would recommend anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service. Helpful and flexible

Homestart was the only bank that would lend to me, enabling me to own a house.

Full review

Homestart was the only bank that would lend to me, enabling me to own a house.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Samantha (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Awful

Absolutely terrible. In the process of refinancing to move banks.

Full review

Absolutely terrible. In the process of refinancing to move banks.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor service and rates, would not recommend

Homestart was my choice of bank as they were the only lending facility which were willing to provide sufficient funds for the purchase of my home - however, their service is poor, their loans are generally inflexible and the interest is such that...

Full review

Homestart was my choice of bank as they were the only lending facility which were willing to provide sufficient funds for the purchase of my home - however, their service is poor, their loans are generally inflexible and the interest is such that after paying over 20k in the first year, my loan is actually higher than when it started! I wouldn't recommend, unless there is no other option (I would suggest simply renting until you were in a position to get a loan from one of the bigger banks.)

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (SA), reviewed over 4 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service

The staff are always friendly. They try to help and are sincere when helping you.

Full review

The staff are always friendly. They try to help and are sincere when helping you.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jacqui (SA), reviewed almost 5 years ago

HomeStart

HomeStart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and flexability

After being 'done over' by a dodgy broker we ended up seeing someone at Bernie Lewis. He found us the perfect loan at HomeStart when no other banks would lend to us due to the previous broker's efforts!

Full review

After being 'done over' by a dodgy broker we ended up seeing someone at Bernie Lewis. He found us the perfect loan at HomeStart when no other banks would lend to us due to the previous broker's efforts!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bek (SA), reviewed over 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 525 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top