Liberty logo

Liberty Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 28 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Liberty home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier)

    Terrible service.

    Absolutely terrible! When we tried to pay out the account and finalise our loan, after making numerous phone calls and writing emails we had no response. They make it impossible to leave, I guess there is more value in keeping us so we can keep paying all the high interest and the monthly fee.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Susan, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Not very competitive

    Stay away from Liberty. I have a SMSF home loan and am still paying over 6% interest rate. They have not passed on anything in the last 4 rate cuts, they are hopeless and refuse to pass any cuts. Not very competitive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Yoki, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Go elsewhere.

    Fail to pass on rate cuts and blame Covid. No good enough.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ian, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR 65-75%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Delayed settlements

    So they will give you a chance when other banks won't, they are good at working with if you have financial hardship and staff are friendly. Now for the bad, I purchased a property. I had to push back settlement twice because of the bank not being organised. I then sold a property that I loaned against, so they had to release it which was a nightmare. They were supposed to take a percentage but ended up taking the full amount, which I didn't find out about until settlement day. Despite calling multiple times, they didn't allow for settlement fees, so it couldn't settle that day. Anyway got pushed back twice, they had my lawyers details so no excuse for not knowing rates adjustment and other fees. I had even filled out a form to give permission for them to contact my lawyer directly. Anyway settlement got pushed back twice again, my lawyer was pretty horrified with the way I was treated, and the lack of professionalism.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jay, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Nice staff. Expensive interest rates

    Staff are always pleasant and helpful. Rates are too high and they aren’t interested in negotiating despite having 4 loans with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kristy, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Great for older customers

    Speedy approval and will lend to older Australians. Rate started at 4% and now down to 3% which is fairly competitive and very happy given that they are not a bank. Most RBA cuts have been passed on.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ned, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Stay away

    Stay away from this bank. Never pass interest cut and not ready to discuss on any option.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fredo, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier)

    Non competitive rates.

    We appreciate the bank as they give loans even though income is not high, however their interest rate is very high comparatively.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Arputha, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier)

    Horrible bank

    Horrible bank and terrible rates and fees.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Natt, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    Never do it!

    Just don’t trust this bank! Not reliable at all and they take all your money!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tahereh, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR 65-75%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Liberty came through when no other bank could.

    Liberty came through for me when other banks did not. They have been really good whenever I’ve asked for a rate decrease in line with the RBA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Candace, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR 65-75%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Competitive rate, easy to use and accommodating.

    Excellent product, great rate, very helpful team, convenient offset, only slight negative is taking funds out from Offset is slightly cumbersome and restrictive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    More interested in making money from you

    They are very greedy and do not pass on the RBA interest cuts.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Liberty Home Loan

    I will never take out a loan with Liberty again.

    Liberty are charging us 5.76% interest for our loan when I'm only being charged 3.02% on our loans with other banks, and they don't charge a $30 per month service fee like Liberty does either. On top of that Liberty sent emails to all borrowers and put a message on their website stating that they are here to help borrowers affected by the Coronavirus by 'Waiving loan fees or charges'. Yet when I asked Liberty for help I was told that they will only assist with fees if we default on the loan! So they're not in fact helping anyone financially responsible who is trying hard not to default - pathetic service and false advertising from Liberty. Get your loan from any other financial institution besides Liberty.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sally, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR 65-75%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Stay away.

    Do yourselves a favour and stay away from Liberty. I have a SMSF home loan and am still paying 6% interest rate. They have not passed on anything in the last 4 rate cuts, they are shameless and refuse to pass on anything.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Tibs, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.