Thumbnail icon for Liberty

Liberty Home loan reviews

Overall rating
3.6/10
Price
3.0/10
Features
2.9/10
Customer service
4.6/10
Convenience
3.6/10
Trust
3.7/10
Based on 21 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Liberty home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Liberty Star Home Loan Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Non competitive rates.

    We appreciate the bank as they give loans even though income is not high, however their interest rate is very high comparatively.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Arputha, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Horrible bank

    Horrible bank and terrible rates and fees.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Natt, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never do it!

    Just don’t trust this bank! Not reliable at all and they take all your money!

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tahereh, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Liberty came through when no other bank could.

    Liberty came through for me when other banks did not. They have been really good whenever I’ve asked for a rate decrease in line with the RBA.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Candace, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rate, easy to use and accommodating.

    Excellent product, great rate, very helpful team, convenient offset, only slight negative is taking funds out from Offset is slightly cumbersome and restrictive.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ryan, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    More interested in making money from you

    They are very greedy and do not pass on the RBA interest cuts.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kim, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    I will never take out a loan with Liberty again.

    Liberty are charging us 5.76% interest for our loan when I'm only being charged 3.02% on our loans with other banks, and they don't charge a $30 per month service fee like Liberty does either. On top of that Liberty sent emails to all borrowers and put a message on their website stating that they are here to help borrowers affected by the Coronavirus by 'Waiving loan fees or charges'. Yet when I asked Liberty for help I was told that they will only assist with fees if we default on the loan! So they're not in fact helping anyone financially responsible who is trying hard not to default - pathetic service and false advertising from Liberty. Get your loan from any other financial institution besides Liberty.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Stay away.

    Do yourselves a favour and stay away from Liberty. I have a SMSF home loan and am still paying 6% interest rate. They have not passed on anything in the last 4 rate cuts, they are shameless and refuse to pass on anything.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Less
    Tibs, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Bad experience so we intend to move.

    Very lengthy process. Not replying back to emails. High rate in comparison to others. Lost a doc which resulted in a $560 extra expense for us. I wouldn’t recommend them to anybody.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Corey, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    High rates. Dont pass on most rate cuts.

    We have a SMSF loan. Rate is very high and failed to pass most of the rate cuts.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very informative

    Very happy with the service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Teresa, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Liberty Sharp Home Loan (LVR<65%, Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Stay away.

    They are absolute loan sharks. We have paid $13000 in interest in 6 months and only $2000 off our mortgage. They are seriously loan sharks. If only we didn’t have to use them. Stay away!

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Chantal, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Will recommend.

    This is the first time I have used Liberty and have found them to be very good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Liberty Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst lender going.

    Worst lender going - do not sign up with these guys! The RBA was issuing rate cuts yet these guys kept increasing our loan. We thankfully left them for the one of the big 4 and haven’t looked back.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Holly, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Liberty Star Home Loan Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great customer service, Flexible access.

    They were excellent for us as beginner home owners with a Business debt, so we paid a higher interest to get into the market. Flexible extra payments and easy redraw facility are excellent. They don't reduce your interest rate when they go down unless you ask.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kate, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.