Liberty home loan reviews

Liberty
Liberty's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

3.3 / 10

based on 42 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Liberty

Recent Liberty home loan reviews

Liberty

Liberty Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service, Flexible access.

They were excellent for us as beginner home owners with a Business debt, so we paid a higher interest to get into the market. Flexible extra payments and easy redraw facility are excellent. They don't reduce your interest rate when they go down...

Full review

They were excellent for us as beginner home owners with a Business debt, so we paid a higher interest to get into the market. Flexible extra payments and easy redraw facility are excellent. They don't reduce your interest rate when they go down unless you ask.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kate, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Looks after those who the banks won't.

I had a bad credit so liberty were willing to give me an home loan when no one else would. For that they are to be commended. However the interest rate is higher than the competition. Their service is very prompt but the fee's are high.

Full review

I had a bad credit so liberty were willing to give me an home loan when no one else would. For that they are to be commended. However the interest rate is higher than the competition. Their service is very prompt but the fee's are high.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Andrew, Queensland, reviewed almost 3 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not happy

Not at all happy with their time frame of getting paperwork processed. It has cost me over $2,000 in penalty fees. Not happy

Full review

Not at all happy with their time frame of getting paperwork processed. It has cost me over $2,000 in penalty fees. Not happy

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Glenda, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Useless

Liberty finance is useless. Submitted an application for pre-approval 5 weeks ago and I'm still waiting on a response despite having all required information upon submitting application. When they do get back they only ask for the same information...

Full review

Liberty finance is useless. Submitted an application for pre-approval 5 weeks ago and I'm still waiting on a response despite having all required information upon submitting application. When they do get back they only ask for the same information to be sent again. This information was submitted again and still no response. ABSOLUTELY USELESS

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Lyn, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to do business with, good interest rates

Very helpful broker on the sunshine coast who was super efficient. It;s only early days for my refinance with liberty but so far very impressed.

Full review

Very helpful broker on the sunshine coast who was super efficient. It;s only early days for my refinance with liberty but so far very impressed.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacqueline, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

No competition in interest rates or products

Interest rates are much higher than other banks as they take advantage of people in need of refinancing, for financial reasons and they then lock them into a four year contract where they will be slogged with a non refundable establishment fee of...

Full review

Interest rates are much higher than other banks as they take advantage of people in need of refinancing, for financial reasons and they then lock them into a four year contract where they will be slogged with a non refundable establishment fee of several thousands of dollars if they choose to refinance elsewhere earlier. Also very quick to charge fees for not providing Certificates of Currency on insurance on the date it needs to be renewed even though the insurance company does not provide them to the client on the day the policy is renewed and it can take a week or more to get the certificate - no refunds on the fees though.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Leslye, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not my first choice

Too expensive and inconvenient.

Full review

Too expensive and inconvenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Judy, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Last alternative for a loan

When it's hard to get a home loan they give it to you & then gouge you

Full review

When it's hard to get a home loan they give it to you & then gouge you

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Jonis, , reviewed about 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

unable to describe more in this regards

Not easy to approach just in case of emergency, no branches.

Full review

Not easy to approach just in case of emergency, no branches.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Jeyaseelan, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Debt relief

Was given no relief during GFC instead was charged hideous interest and had to use super funds to keep home and now they won't refinance due to history, yet they are the ones that put me in a worse position.

Full review

Was given no relief during GFC instead was charged hideous interest and had to use super funds to keep home and now they won't refinance due to history, yet they are the ones that put me in a worse position.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Belindaq, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Never user second tier lenders

All lenders are supposed to be "responsible". I have just lost my business and have been trying to sell my house to clear ll Pty Ltd debt. It has taken a while to get here but I was going through a divorce etc at the same time my main supplier...

Full review

All lenders are supposed to be "responsible". I have just lost my business and have been trying to sell my house to clear ll Pty Ltd debt. It has taken a while to get here but I was going through a divorce etc at the same time my main supplier stopped supply. (Lots and lots of reasons for everything) They lent me 550K in 2012, for my house. They want to now retake it but I am loathe to let it go because it is highly undervalued, by their valuer (independent ) anyway. 530K their figure. It is not reasonable. I am getting my life together slowly but they do not let up. I accept it has been a long time between payments, but prior to that I was months ahead due to my over paying the required amount.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ray, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Rip offs with really poor customer service

High repayments ($1840 per month for a $220,000 home loan) after being ripped off for many years we have decided enough was enough. We went to the bank to refinance to get away from them and now they are doing everything in their power to stop us...

Full review

High repayments ($1840 per month for a $220,000 home loan) after being ripped off for many years we have decided enough was enough. We went to the bank to refinance to get away from them and now they are doing everything in their power to stop us going, stalling at every turn. If you want them to give you a call back don't hold your breath because they don't ever seem to return them unless they want something. I strongly recommend steering well away from Liberty all together because it really isn't worth the drama that they dish out. The worst customer service I have ever seen by far!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Melissa, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Stay away

Due to job cuts in the present market I can no longer afford my mortgage. When I tried to get help from the bank I was told I had three months to sell my house or they would. I would not recommend Liberty finance to anyone, you would be better off...

Full review

Due to job cuts in the present market I can no longer afford my mortgage. When I tried to get help from the bank I was told I had three months to sell my house or they would. I would not recommend Liberty finance to anyone, you would be better off claiming bankruptcy first.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Pete, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great value

I found their customer service exceptional, providing me with a clear explanation of options and regular updates. They provided a good value home loan suited to my unique circumstances.

Full review

I found their customer service exceptional, providing me with a clear explanation of options and regular updates. They provided a good value home loan suited to my unique circumstances.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeremy, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago

Liberty

Liberty home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Not happy with this company

Not Competitive At All.

Full review

Not Competitive At All.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Delbert, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 7 Virgin Money home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest)

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $400

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available on the variable rate facility
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $400
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 901 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist

    interest rate

    3.67% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist
    • Interest rate: 3.67% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 243 Heritage Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 522 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top