Mortgage House logo

Mortgage House Home loan reviews

Overall rating
4.0/10
Price
5.3/10
Features
5.8/10
Customer service
3.9/10
Convenience
4.4/10
Trust
3.6/10
Based on 26 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Mortgage House home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from this so-called lending company

    Stay away from this company in general. Extremely high class customer service (one dedicated person) to adhere to all your needs until you get your loan or refinance with them but Straight after that it is a steep downward slope Until customer service hits rock bottom. No communication whatsoever and all the funds mishandled without notifying the customer and no one person/ department to deal with. You have to keep running pillar to post to seek solutions and answers to your questions. Stay away from these guys or look elsewhere and it will easily be a better experience I am sure.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mel, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't even look at this!

    My wife and I are retired and we have been with this lender for about 5 years. We have requested on many occasions to lower our interest rate from 4.18% to the normal expectations that other people are receiving to no avail. On top of the repayments we have to pay a facility fee of nearly $500 every year. To say we are being ripped off is an understatement. Would not recommend this establishment to anyone, be very aware of what you can walk into without due care.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    I lost my trust and patience

    I have used MH for the loan of an investment property. While the individual I was working with appeared to try to get things done for me he dishonoured several phone appointments and made mistakes which, as he admitted, were due to working extreme long days. I won't hear back for more than a week after submitting a form, and when I need a loan review and there is a holiday period coming up there is no-one doing anything until after the holidays (which can be for four weeks). I'm not using them again.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Good at sales, then leave you to walk off a cliff

    Don't bother with these guys! They lie about calling you and never keep you up to up to date even for a "quite easy" rate review. The staff there cover each other so you never get to talk with the real manager. Last minute appointment cancellations, laziness and not even proof reading emails are just some of the things you encounter. They're good at making the sale, but they then leave you to walk off the edge of a cliff afterwards. Utterly disappointed and upset.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Eric, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Fraudulent time wasters, lost $600 and a year.

    I dealt with multiple loan officers because I was forgotten by the first. Submitted all documentation 3 times because it kept falling out of date by the time they were going to submit it. They never answered my calls or emails or even attended meetings they set up that I took time out of work to attend. They verbally and in writing promised to refund my commitment fee of $600 if I did not go ahead with the loan then eventually offered me $64,000 less than my application and said if did not accept it then I would not be refunded my commitment fee of $600. So I wasted a year of applications and lost $600 when I could have had my loan over a year ago if i had went with a different lender.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Christophe, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor service.

    I have been with Mortgage House for around 4 years with owner occupied loan. I moved to Mortgage House for a special lower special rate at the time. Worst move ever, poor customer service and high lender turn over, stayed on as too much hassle to move. Lenders don't get back to you and talk to like you're an inconvenience. Figures wrong with no explanation as to why.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Louise, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan Prime (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    No Customer Service

    Very poor customer service bordering on rudeness. We were never told that our loan with Adelaide bank would be controlled by Mortgage House and we could never get any answers. Took 7 weeks to get Mortgage House to discharge the loan to our new bank. Had to threaten them with AFCA.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Derrick, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No customer service.

    I dealt with them for 5 years. All good at first. The set up team is ok. There was a few mistakes made, however customer service has sunk to a new low. They send dozens of emails and messages about an appointment call, only to cancel at the last minute if you do get through. It's like talking to a robot. This has brought my wife and I to the brink. We have no choice but to move.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ross, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Zero sustomer service and no one cares

    Generally, terrible customer service. Not reliable with their customer service agents' responses most of the time. However, their rate and product feature for the home loan is attractive. Be mindful which lending specialist that you're dealing with.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Toni, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad experience, no customer service at all.

    I have been with them for over 3 years. It is easy to get your loan approved from them. The problems start when you want to get them to review your rates. You will get weeks before this can be done. Also when I try to leave this mob, they keep postponing/rescheduled the appointments for settlement/bank discharge. My advice is never never get sucked in by cheap rate. I have learnt my lessons and go for reputable banks' loans now.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Philip, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Bad service from the top down

    I have dealt with several employees at Mortgage house and none of them have returned calls or done what they promised without many emails and phone calls. Today I spoke with a manager and found that the poor service comes from the top down. The manager was somewhat disinterested and unapologetic. Only once I pointed out that I would not be recommending Mortgage house despite their good rates and that I would be noting their bom in able service on social media that he agreed to look into it and get back to me. This is not an institution that wants my business.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Very bad customer service.

    Service is very bad. If i can take back my money I would rather go somewhere else. As soon as they get your business they start showing their true colours. They didn't discuss the list of fees they charge once settlement is done. I still have pending refund that I am waiting and it's well over a month since my settlement and until now no one has bothered to get in contact with me despite the number of emails I sent.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Perlita, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Beware and do your research.

    At a time when interest rates were around falling to around 4% I was paying 7.45%. 8/9/19 I requested a rate review of my variable interest rate. 9/9/19 Email was confirmed as received by Mortgage House. 24/9/19 requested an update, nothing. I was fobbed off, someone would make contact, paperwork required. I submitted my statement of financial position submitted - twice. Last statement sent 5/2/20, I received a meeting invite on 14/2/20 for a phone call... never received a call. 20/2/20 sent a follow up email - crickets again. In the meantime I was dealing with Aussie Home Loans and after a drawn out discharge process, I'm on an interest rate of 2.99% (compared to MH: 6.87% (since Mar 20), 7.21% (since Oct 19). If you are considering Mortgage House, please beware and do your research, you will not be valued nor looked after.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Erica, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Competitive simple broker

    Simple competitive mortgage broker that make the loan process simple.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Huy, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Painful, lots of harassment if you don’t sign up.

    I was interested in refinancing for their rate, however the process was very unprofessional and I went elsewhere. 24 months later I continue to be harassed by email, text and phone call. Despite telling them I don’t want to do business with them, they continue to bug me and try to make appointments. I have now had to issue them with formal cease and desist notices. Do not go with this company.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Dave, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.22% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Home Loan Package

      interest rate
      1.88% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.86% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 538 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.