Thumbnail icon for Mortgage House

Mortgage House Home loan reviews

Overall rating
5.3/10
Price
6.2/10
Features
7.0/10
Customer service
5.3/10
Convenience
5.3/10
Trust
4.8/10
Based on 17 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Mortgage House home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad experience, no customer service at all.

    I have been with them for over 3 years. It is easy to get your loan approved from them. The problems start when you want to get them to review your rates. You will get weeks before this can be done. Also when I try to leave this mob, they keep postponing/rescheduled the appointments for settlement/bank discharge. My advice is never never get sucked in by cheap rate. I have learnt my lessons and go for reputable banks' loans now.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Philip, Western Australia, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Bad service from the top down

    I have dealt with several employees at Mortgage house and none of them have returned calls or done what they promised without many emails and phone calls. Today I spoke with a manager and found that the poor service comes from the top down. The manager was somewhat disinterested and unapologetic. Only once I pointed out that I would not be recommending Mortgage house despite their good rates and that I would be noting their bom in able service on social media that he agreed to look into it and get back to me. This is not an institution that wants my business.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Very bad customer service.

    Service is very bad. If i can take back my money I would rather go somewhere else. As soon as they get your business they start showing their true colours. They didn't discuss the list of fees they charge once settlement is done. I still have pending refund that I am waiting and it's well over a month since my settlement and until now no one has bothered to get in contact with me despite the number of emails I sent.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Perlita, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Beware and do your research.

    At a time when interest rates were around falling to around 4% I was paying 7.45%. 8/9/19 I requested a rate review of my variable interest rate. 9/9/19 Email was confirmed as received by Mortgage House. 24/9/19 requested an update, nothing. I was fobbed off, someone would make contact, paperwork required. I submitted my statement of financial position submitted - twice. Last statement sent 5/2/20, I received a meeting invite on 14/2/20 for a phone call... never received a call. 20/2/20 sent a follow up email - crickets again. In the meantime I was dealing with Aussie Home Loans and after a drawn out discharge process, I'm on an interest rate of 2.99% (compared to MH: 6.87% (since Mar 20), 7.21% (since Oct 19). If you are considering Mortgage House, please beware and do your research, you will not be valued nor looked after.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Erica, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Competitive simple broker

    Simple competitive mortgage broker that make the loan process simple.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Huy, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Painful, lots of harassment if you don’t sign up.

    I was interested in refinancing for their rate, however the process was very unprofessional and I went elsewhere. 24 months later I continue to be harassed by email, text and phone call. Despite telling them I don’t want to do business with them, they continue to bug me and try to make appointments. I have now had to issue them with formal cease and desist notices. Do not go with this company.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Dave, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good features, needs to work on customer service.

    Offers good flexibility and options for getting a home loan, however when you have any questions, customer service is lacking.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Jeremy, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    This is a rip off!

    Virtually no customer service and when you get a call back, they tell you things that just aren't true.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Rose, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Best loan and offset account bank in the world!

    First loan with them, best rate with an offset account, no additional charges. Got second loan with them too, beat all rates out there and refinanced my original loan to make things work for me, again with no additional charges. If you don't need lots of ATM access or a fancy web page, then definitely give Mortgage House a go.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Tracey, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    Mortgage house do a great job and as I am having financial problems at the moment they are very understanding.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Loraine, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    A fair review

    At the age of 21 on an below average income I never expected to own my own house! After completing a quick inquiry form with Mortgage House we got multiple call backs within days and just 2 months later we had settled me on our very first house! Mortgage house looked at our complicated application and talked us through what we needed to do to get a loan for our first house. Other than a mix up with the settlement date everything was smooth and very straight forward. We are looking forward to our next purchase with mortgage house.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Zachary, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Outstanding loan, featured products

    If you want the lowest Fixed Rate Home Loan in the market which comes with a 100% full offset account and a debit card for the offset account, look no further than Mortgage House. Combined with outstanding customer support, the process of applying through to settlement could not have been made any easier. Thank you Mortgage House.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Helpful, friendly, convienient

    Simple, clear statements. Easy online entry. I am able to talk to a person on the phone straight away when I needed to.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan Special (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great fixed rates and customer service!

    Great fixed rate and great customer service. Was easy to re-finance with Mortgage House. 100% off-set account even with a fixed loan! Would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Inconsistent rates and slow customer service

    Features wise, the product is great. Offset account with minimal fees. Their customer service though has been very slow in responding to my complaints about interest rates being inconsistent. Initially advertised (late 2010) at 6.89% but I later found out it was a special for loans approved before Feb 2011. Had documents in but they took two months to approve, leading to higher rate of 7.04%. Had to sign or would miss out on house. Later they did another special of 6.94% but did not apply to my account. I called to complain and they agreed to "correct to the 6.94%". It took months for them to actually action this all while promising they'd back date the change and credit the interest - which they still haven't. Aside from this everything has worked OK but I have found a better deal and swallowing the DEF to leave.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Trev, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate*
      2.41% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.52% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 541 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.