Mortgage House logo

Mortgage House Home loan reviews

Overall rating
3.9/10
Price
5.0/10
Features
5.5/10
Customer service
3.8/10
Convenience
4.2/10
Trust
3.6/10
Based on 30 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Mortgage House home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from these culprits

    Worst lender in the market. I ended up paying more than 10% of my loan value as fee when i applied for equity on my existing loan. They pushed me into accepting a new loan with exuberant charges. I had no choice as the loan amount left to pay off was only 70,000.00 They victimized me and signaled me out as i went through the hardship scheme after loosing my job last year from COVID. heartless people, rude and look for every opportunity to rip you off with more and more fees. Nothing gets told upfront, it took 9 weeks to get the application approved after they advised me it's a 2 week process when i approached them for equity advise

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Leo, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Trust Ken Sayer & Mortgage House at your own peril

    I have worked in the finance industry for over 30 years and without a doubt Mortgage House is the worst Mortgage Brokering company I have dealt with on many levels: 1. Communication - The broker Ken Sayer is elusive and refuses to accept phone calls, he only makes 15 minute appointments and his team does not return phone calls and ignore requests to do so. 2. Pricing - We have 25% deposit and they are asking for a risk fee with any explanation as to why. Sounds like a simply money grab. 3. Trust & Convenience- The broker did not build any rapport, explain the process, discuss our requirements or exhibit any behaviour that he was working for our benefit. The lack of communication with loan detail is far from convenient because it leaves us wondering what is happening. 4. Customer service is non existent, it is almost as I am an inconvenience to their day. Don't they realise, the customer is the reason they exist.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Avoid.

    This firm is great at getting you in the door, but then leave you for dead. They have no interest in working with their customers to negotiate a better rate or if you are going through hardship. Their fees are a rip off and will end up costing you more than the majors. Best to avoid!

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Lucinda, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best home loans specialist in market.

    Mortgage House is a private lender. They do loans with various banks. Best part of this company is it has the best employees and owner. You can speak to him to get best review of your loan. He is very humble and support for any request put through. Secondly their staff. They are very nice people who extend excellent services. I strongly recommend to everyone who is in the market to borrow money for refinancing or new home loans. You will not be disappointed.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Nimesh, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away from this so-called lending company

    Stay away from this company in general. Extremely high class customer service (one dedicated person) to adhere to all your needs until you get your loan or refinance with them but Straight after that it is a steep downward slope Until customer service hits rock bottom. No communication whatsoever and all the funds mishandled without notifying the customer and no one person/ department to deal with. You have to keep running pillar to post to seek solutions and answers to your questions. Stay away from these guys or look elsewhere and it will easily be a better experience I am sure.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mel, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don't even look at this!

    My wife and I are retired and we have been with this lender for about 5 years. We have requested on many occasions to lower our interest rate from 4.18% to the normal expectations that other people are receiving to no avail. On top of the repayments we have to pay a facility fee of nearly $500 every year. To say we are being ripped off is an understatement. Would not recommend this establishment to anyone, be very aware of what you can walk into without due care.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    I lost my trust and patience

    I have used MH for the loan of an investment property. While the individual I was working with appeared to try to get things done for me he dishonoured several phone appointments and made mistakes which, as he admitted, were due to working extreme long days. I won't hear back for more than a week after submitting a form, and when I need a loan review and there is a holiday period coming up there is no-one doing anything until after the holidays (which can be for four weeks). I'm not using them again.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jo, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Good at sales, then leave you to walk off a cliff

    Don't bother with these guys! They lie about calling you and never keep you up to up to date even for a "quite easy" rate review. The staff there cover each other so you never get to talk with the real manager. Last minute appointment cancellations, laziness and not even proof reading emails are just some of the things you encounter. They're good at making the sale, but they then leave you to walk off the edge of a cliff afterwards. Utterly disappointed and upset.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Eric, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Fraudulent time wasters, lost $600 and a year.

    I dealt with multiple loan officers because I was forgotten by the first. Submitted all documentation 3 times because it kept falling out of date by the time they were going to submit it. They never answered my calls or emails or even attended meetings they set up that I took time out of work to attend. They verbally and in writing promised to refund my commitment fee of $600 if I did not go ahead with the loan then eventually offered me $64,000 less than my application and said if did not accept it then I would not be refunded my commitment fee of $600. So I wasted a year of applications and lost $600 when I could have had my loan over a year ago if i had went with a different lender.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Christophe, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor service.

    I have been with Mortgage House for around 4 years with owner occupied loan. I moved to Mortgage House for a special lower special rate at the time. Worst move ever, poor customer service and high lender turn over, stayed on as too much hassle to move. Lenders don't get back to you and talk to like you're an inconvenience. Figures wrong with no explanation as to why.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Louise, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan Prime (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, <80% LVR) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    No Customer Service

    Very poor customer service bordering on rudeness. We were never told that our loan with Adelaide bank would be controlled by Mortgage House and we could never get any answers. Took 7 weeks to get Mortgage House to discharge the loan to our new bank. Had to threaten them with AFCA.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Derrick, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    No customer service.

    I dealt with them for 5 years. All good at first. The set up team is ok. There was a few mistakes made, however customer service has sunk to a new low. They send dozens of emails and messages about an appointment call, only to cancel at the last minute if you do get through. It's like talking to a robot. This has brought my wife and I to the brink. We have no choice but to move.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ross, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Mortgage House Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Zero sustomer service and no one cares

    Generally, terrible customer service. Not reliable with their customer service agents' responses most of the time. However, their rate and product feature for the home loan is attractive. Be mindful which lending specialist that you're dealing with.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Toni, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad experience, no customer service at all.

    I have been with them for over 3 years. It is easy to get your loan approved from them. The problems start when you want to get them to review your rates. You will get weeks before this can be done. Also when I try to leave this mob, they keep postponing/rescheduled the appointments for settlement/bank discharge. My advice is never never get sucked in by cheap rate. I have learnt my lessons and go for reputable banks' loans now.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Philip, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan No Offset (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Bad service from the top down

    I have dealt with several employees at Mortgage house and none of them have returned calls or done what they promised without many emails and phone calls. Today I spoke with a manager and found that the poor service comes from the top down. The manager was somewhat disinterested and unapologetic. Only once I pointed out that I would not be recommending Mortgage house despite their good rates and that I would be noting their bom in able service on social media that he agreed to look into it and get back to me. This is not an institution that wants my business.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate
      2.31% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.02% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 514 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.