RAC logo

RAC Car loan customer reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 16 car loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent RAC car loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RAC Car Loan

    Don't do it! Worst finance I have ever used!

    Applied for a car loan, got it. The day I went to sign they advised me that they had made a mistake and my car was a couple of months out of their age limit, and I'd have to do a personal loan instead. I had already removed my plates ready for my trade in and arranged everything so I felt like I still had to go ahead. This is now costing me an extra $110 a fortnight and I am LIVID. I called them once to arrange a new direct debit date, and was told it was done but they didn't change it, so I was charged a fee for a failed direct debit and they repeatedly spam called me and emailed me being very rude. Absolute joke of a company- AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Natasha, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    So disappointing!

    Applied for a car loan and waited for their promise to have results within 7 working hours and it DIDN’T HAPPEN! Have to call them and have to tell all my circumstances and at the end being told that we can’t afford it coz we didn’t have previous loan of the certain amount! Never go to this institution as I’m afraid it will just ruin your credit history! So sad and so disappointing!

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lyn, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    stupid reasoning for refusal refinance

    Tried to get a loan I already have refinanced, they use the audacity to tell me i can’t afford it - yet i am already paying a higher repayment than what RAC would offer me. Very unhappy, have since gone elsewhere and been approved for the refinancing. wasted my time for 2 weeks.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dannii, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Unwarranted damage to credit file

    As someone who works in finance, I would hope that others would operate in the same manner as I would for my clients. Thought I would inquire about re financing a car loan through RAC, went through the application and gave all info only to be told that their policies don’t fit my current circumstance. That is all well and good, but that conclusion could have been drawn without leaving an inquiry on my credit file. The information given was enough to make a decision without damaging my credit file. I have 2 homes insured with RAC, 2 cars insured with RAC and I will be looking elsewhere for each of them as a result of this poorly handled loan application. Credit files should be the last thing to be touched on an application, it is a serious thing that can effect people’s livelihoods!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    David, Western Australia, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Great customer service. Very helpful!

    Great customer service, good prices. Would highly recommend them!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tracy, Victoria, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Good

    They are great, low interest .

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jenelle, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Very competitive, the more you have with them

    My dealings with this institute has been great, whatever I requested they were there with the answer, that was easy to understand.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Highly recommended

    Great insurance company never had a problem with claims, very friendly customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, Queensland, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Good rates, easy application, quick approval

    Rates are good if you are a member. No monthly fees, can put more money into loan. Easy to apply and get approval.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Una, , reviewed about 9 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Time consuming, poor customer service

    I had to call them twice as the first call was disconnected when the RAC lady tried to play a recording. She never called me back. When I called the second time after 30 minutes I had to go through the same process which took 30-45 minutes. Then he said I will get another call from Finance. However, luckily I managed to get a loan from Bankwest. I am fedup with RAC insurance and thinking of switching.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ti, Western Australia, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Trusted company, albeit profit driven, reliable

    I like that I can have a car loan, car insurance and mechanical callout with the same company.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christine, Western Australia, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Prompt service

    Prompt service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Very happy with RAC would recommend them

    We have car loan with RAC they were so good to us as we are on a pension they structured the loan for us as to make the payments easy the office in Mandurah were friendly and treated us well, I also have the car insured with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gary, Western Australia, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Competative rates and great Customer service

    RAC provided a seamless application service with no trouble and easy repayment options. I would definitely use them again in the future.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • RAC Car Loan

    Awesome customer service

    They were very easy to deal with and the cheque for the new car was available when requested. Their service was first class and I would easily recommend them to anyone.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Used Car Loan

      Interest rate
      6.57% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.57% would cost $35,528.12 including fees.

      Promoted
    • New Car Loan - Special

      Interest rate
      6.24% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.36% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.24% would cost $35,880.27 including fees.

      Promoted
    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      7.29% p.a.to 7.79% p.a.
      comparison rate
      8.00% p.a.to 8.50% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.29% would cost $36,387.95 including fees.

      Promoted
    • New Car Loan - Special

      Interest rate
      7.74% p.a.
      comparison rate
      8.85% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 3 years to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.74% would cost $37,153.94 including fees.

      Promoted
    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      6.57% p.a.
      comparison rate
      7.19% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Repayment terms from 1 year to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.57% would cost $35,528.12 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 202 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.