TIO logo

TIO Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 15 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent TIO home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • TIO Home Insurance

    My experience with TIO has been fairly good.

    My experience with TIO has been fairly good. I like them because they have covered me for damage to my property following a natural disaster. The only thing I dislike is the excess amount that you have to pay to make a claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Wil, Northern Territory, reviewed 8 months ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Premiums are competitive and customer service once

    It is hard to make contact by phone with them but when I have had a claim to make the process has been very efficient and fast.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Maree, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Fast,easy with no issues with turn around on claim

    It's local, been good with all claims, fast and easy. Little capacity for face to face service though.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Joan, Northern Territory, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Local insurer who understands

    Local insurer covering cyclone issues.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Robyne, Northern Territory, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    They get it.

    Perfect for the Territory because they are local and they understand the unique demands of living here.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Wes, Northern Territory, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Competitive premiums

    I am a little unsure since the government sold it off to someone else

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kate, Northern Territory, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Local and no fuss claims

    I like this insurer as their claims process is no fuss - never have I had a claim rejected due to some hidden clause.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Doreen, Northern Territory, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Interesting

    Very flexible and local.

    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jody, Northern Territory, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Storm and surge protection

    TIO provides storm and surge protection, others don't.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Bodil, Northern Territory, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Covers what I need it for

    We don't have that much of a choice in the NT on insurers, so you just have to deal with what you have until there is more competition by having more insurance companies in the NT. There a couple, but they don't cover cyclones, so you have to go with this insurer.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Megan, Northern Territory, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Probably one of the best in Australia

    Insurers needs to be local when handling customers in Central Australia. Insurers that are centralized / based in a capital city fails. TIO has good local knowledge & operations is very good business etc

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kevin, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Trusted

    TIO is to be trusted as it incorporates more coverage compared with other service providers for remote areas.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jenny, , reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    It won't cost an arm & a leg to save an arm & leg

    My previous insurer was not interested in making sure we had the right cover yet TIO made it easy to buy our contents insurance and to estimate the value of our assets. When my son's brand new bike was stolen from our yard, he was devastated. There are some things TIO can't fix, like the anger that someone can do this to a child, and the loss of our sense of wellbeing. This was offset by the fact that they are there to at least replace the property. It did take a bit longer than expected to replace the bike but they not once made us feel at fault and explained the delays throughout the process.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jamie, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Cover for Territorians by Territorians

    They are probably not the most cost efficient. However, they cover for everything, and being a Territory Organisation means they are aware what cover Territorians need - unlike other insurance companies from down south. I love that they are also very thorough in accommodating your needs and options to pay fortnightly over the year. This is such a bonus when the cost of living is as high as it is in Darwin.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nicola, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • TIO Home Insurance

    Awesome local company

    TIO is an awesome company, they are local with conveniently located claims centres and great local branches they offer a wide range of products. Their claims centre is excellent and their staff are well trained and very helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Briony, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.