TIO home insurance reviews

TIO
TIO's overall rating for home insurance

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.4 / 10

based on 14 reviews

Value for money

Policy coverage

Customer service

Claims handling

Trust

Full review

Recent TIO home insurance reviews

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Premiums are competitive and customer service once

It is hard to make contact by phone with them but when I have had a claim to make the process has been very efficient and fast.

Full review

It is hard to make contact by phone with them but when I have had a claim to make the process has been very efficient and fast.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maree (NT), reviewed 12 months ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fast,easy with no issues with turn around on claim

It's local, been good with all claims, fast and easy. Little capacity for face to face service though.

Full review

It's local, been good with all claims, fast and easy. Little capacity for face to face service though.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Joan (NT), reviewed about 1 year ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Local insurer who understands

Local insurer covering cyclone issues.

Full review

Local insurer covering cyclone issues.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robyne (NT), reviewed about 1 year ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They get it.

Perfect for the Territory because they are local and they understand the unique demands of living here.

Full review

Perfect for the Territory because they are local and they understand the unique demands of living here.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wes (NT), reviewed over 1 year ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Local and no fuss claims

I like this insurer as their claims process is no fuss - never have I had a claim rejected due to some hidden clause.

Full review

I like this insurer as their claims process is no fuss - never have I had a claim rejected due to some hidden clause.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Doreen (NT), reviewed about 2 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Interesting

Very flexible and local.

Full review

Very flexible and local.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Jody (NT), reviewed about 2 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Storm and surge protection

TIO provides storm and surge protection, others don't.

Full review

TIO provides storm and surge protection, others don't.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Bodil (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Covers what I need it for

We don't have that much of a choice in the NT on insurers, so you just have to deal with what you have until there is more competition by having more insurance companies in the NT. There a couple, but they don't cover cyclones, so you have to go...

Full review

We don't have that much of a choice in the NT on insurers, so you just have to deal with what you have until there is more competition by having more insurance companies in the NT. There a couple, but they don't cover cyclones, so you have to go with this insurer.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Megan (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome local company

TIO is an awesome company, they are local with conveniently located claims centres and great local branches they offer a wide range of products. Their claims centre is excellent and their staff are well trained and very helpful.

Full review

TIO is an awesome company, they are local with conveniently located claims centres and great local branches they offer a wide range of products. Their claims centre is excellent and their staff are well trained and very helpful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Briony (NT), reviewed almost 3 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Probably one of the best in Australia

Insurers needs to be local when handling customers in Central Australia. Insurers that are centralized / based in a capital city fails. TIO has good local knowledge & operations is very good business etc

Full review

Insurers needs to be local when handling customers in Central Australia. Insurers that are centralized / based in a capital city fails. TIO has good local knowledge & operations is very good business etc

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kevin (NT), reviewed almost 3 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Trusted

TIO is to be trusted as it incorporates more coverage compared with other service providers for remote areas.

Full review

TIO is to be trusted as it incorporates more coverage compared with other service providers for remote areas.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jenny , reviewed almost 3 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

It won't cost an arm & a leg to save an arm & leg

My previous insurer was not interested in making sure we had the right cover yet TIO made it easy to buy our contents insurance and to estimate the value of our assets. When my son's brand new bike was stolen from our yard, he was devastated....

Full review

My previous insurer was not interested in making sure we had the right cover yet TIO made it easy to buy our contents insurance and to estimate the value of our assets. When my son's brand new bike was stolen from our yard, he was devastated. There are some things TIO can't fix, like the anger that someone can do this to a child, and the loss of our sense of wellbeing. This was offset by the fact that they are there to at least replace the property. It did take a bit longer than expected to replace the bike but they not once made us feel at fault and explained the delays throughout the process.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jamie (NT), reviewed almost 3 years ago

TIO

TIO home insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Cover for Territorians by Territorians

They are probably not the most cost efficient. However, they cover for everything, and being a Territory Organisation means they are aware what cover Territorians need - unlike other insurance companies from down south. I love that they are also...

Full review

They are probably not the most cost efficient. However, they cover for everything, and being a Territory Organisation means they are aware what cover Territorians need - unlike other insurance companies from down south. I love that they are also very thorough in accommodating your needs and options to pay fortnightly over the year. This is such a bonus when the cost of living is as high as it is in Darwin.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nicola (NT), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Back to top