Thumbnail icon for Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.6/10
Price
6.3/10
Features
6.0/10
Customer service
6.7/10
Convenience
6.0/10
Trust
6.7/10
Based on 285 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Adelaide Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Waste of time and money, Don't bother.

    I can honestly say Adelaide (and Bendigo) Bank is the most disfunctional bank I have ever dealt with. After applying for an 80% LVR home loan through one of their affiliated loans channels where I was provided repeated assurances that my financial position passed their credit assessment policy we arranged for valuations, credit assessment and all our documentation to be sent. Once it reached the bank for approval they decided at that point to tell us that they had "additional internal" policies which they did not disclose to either their affiliated loans manager nor us which meant that they could only offer to finance our home loan at an unreasonably low 60% LVR. Even worse, when we tried to engage with the bank to work out compromise options they flat out refused to entertain the idea even after escalating the matter to their executive management team. After struggling to work out a way to fund a 60% LVR loan and coming up with a solution, finally putting through a final application we were then told that the bank wanted us to pay down an additional $140k for an unrelated loan we had in order to qualify for a 60% LVR loan which we were applying for. In summary, this bank managed to waste 3 months of my life by advertising a product which they had no intention of allowing us to qualify for in its advertised form, a clear example of bait advertising, but were happy for us to waste our time and money attempting to 'apply' for. The communication and the way we have been treated throughout the loans process is nothing short of disgraceful and I hope by sharing this review it will help warn others that attempting to do business with this bank is an unnecessary waste of time and money.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Li, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Wouldn't recommend.

    Their rates and offset are OK, but their account fees are exorbitant. I'm tired of the $40 dishonour/overdrawn fees. Don't get caught by their EFTPOS fees either :-(

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tay, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    What customer service?

    It took 3 months and more emails and phone calls than I can count to refinance my three mortgages. They then gave me a higher rate than promised. Finally they agreed to a lower rate if I fixed my loans but this took more than a month of emails and phone calls. Have dealt with four customer service consultants now and all have lost documents and not returned calls. Customer service is an oxymoron where Mortgagehouse is concerned.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    No complaints what so ever

    They have fantastic to deal with. Have been there for all our needs when required.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alan, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Needs to be better

    Good customer service with people who try hard but that's about it. Disappointed with their efforts to keep me interested as a customer.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    R.j., Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Poor customer service.

    They're great if you are getting a loan but hopeless when trying to pay off part or all of your loan. They don't get back to you, you have to chase everything yourself.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartSaver (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Great option. Great rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sean, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartSaver (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Money hungry

    In ten years only I've received one RBA interest rate cut

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartFit (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Would recommend

    I think their customer service is good, they are very helpful with any questions.

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elizabeth, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    While we go through financial hardship they are helping us.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Less
    Loretta, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartSaver (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very happy customer

    Very happy with service staff as they are very competent and friendly.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Barry, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    They have great customer services.

    The reason why I like this bank is because they have great services.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Edwin, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartFix (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great products, great customer service

    Have never had any problems with Adelaide bank setting up the loan, re fixing interest rates, withdrawal facilities and contacting on the phone

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Donna, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank SmartFit (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Good interest rates

    Online banking is so old looking and clunky

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Rochelle, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Adelaide Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service

    They are easy to talk to and you actually speak to someone in Australia

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kathryn, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 30 Sep
      comparison rate*
      2.39% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 30 Sep

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 545 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.