Athena logo

Athena Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Price
9.8/10
Features
7.0/10
Customer service
9.4/10
Convenience
8.8/10
Trust
8.8/10
Based on 6 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Athena

Celebrate Variable Home Loan

interest rate
2.19% p.a. variable
comparison rate
2.19% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Athena home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome provider, wished I changed lenders earlier

    I'm 5 months into my home loan with Athena and the only regret I have is not leaving my previous lender earlier. I'm a single mum and I couldn't be happier with the customer service I received. Athena made it a smooth and quick process. As stated they pass the full rate cut straight away and a bonus surprise that I didn't know about, if you pay more off your loan they give you a bonus rate dropped. Don't waste your time and money with the big banks.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sue, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great loan provider and best rates by far.

    Athena are a fantastic group who have given the best rate and great service. They have consistently dropped the rate when the RBA do it. They are always easy to deal with when I have questions as well.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ryan, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Waste of time

    What an absolute waste of time. I submitted a lengthy application. It cleary stated if you have multiple properties not to worry and it can all be handled via the team when they call you. My call was prompt the following day and apparently due to an IT error I am now supposed to submit 2 more applications for the separate properties answering essentially the same information. Not only this but I now have an enquiry on my credit file. Ill be taking this up with the FIO when i have time. Don't waste your time. I should have realised when i made my first call to the uneducated lady that couldn't assist with basic questions.

    Brendan, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great no frills home loan with a low variable rate

    Great no frills home loan with a very low variable interest rate and good customer service. Matched almost all RBA rate cuts in full. Rates stay the same for new and existing customers. Very good home loan provider.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    No frills, low cost

    No frills and very low rate home loans. Good history of passing on full rate cuts, and a guarantee that existing customers get the same deal as new ones. No fees either.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jeff, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Athena Liberate Variable Home Loan (70-80% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Simple, easy, transparent and value for money.

    There is no hidden agenda with Athena. Their rates are clearly stated, what you see is what you get. It was such an easy process switching to them. They follow up each month with a reminder of when your payment is due and how much it will be, they also pass on rate cuts straight away and if they offer a better product to new customers, existing customers are offered the same deal.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.56% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 535 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.