Electricity reviews

Get the inside story on Australia’s electricity providers from people like you. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting a better electricity deal, you can read the latest electricity reviews from the Mozo community here.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent electricity reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premiums

I have had a few issues but they have been rectified within a reasonable time frame. They do not inform you about discounts even though you have been a long time customer so you have to be on high alert and ring them to get a good deal.

Full review

I have had a few issues but they have been rectified within a reasonable time frame. They do not inform you about discounts even though you have been a long time customer so you have to be on high alert and ring them to get a good deal.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Jane, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service.

AGL seems to look after its customers. You need to call them to ask them for a better rate for your electricity. Bills are easy to read, customer service is lovely.

Full review

AGL seems to look after its customers. You need to call them to ask them for a better rate for your electricity. Bills are easy to read, customer service is lovely.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Roslyn, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Power and Water

Power and Water electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Bills need to be sent faster

Not happy. It takes over 2 weeks for me to actually receive my bill after it gets printed which means I only really have 2 weeks to pay on time.

Full review

Not happy. It takes over 2 weeks for me to actually receive my bill after it gets printed which means I only really have 2 weeks to pay on time.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Nerrilee, Northern Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Easy to read billing and the customer service is fantastic.

Full review

Easy to read billing and the customer service is fantastic.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Trev, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Large bills

Their bills are too big.

Full review

Their bills are too big.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Amy lee, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good

Pretty good. They have really high prices and I believe they could make it more affordable.

Full review

Pretty good. They have really high prices and I believe they could make it more affordable.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Brooke, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Decent but only supplier

There is no alternative supplier in TAS but they are alright.

Full review

There is no alternative supplier in TAS but they are alright.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Ramona, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

No option for alternative supplier

Don't really have an option living in TAS. There is only one hydro supplier.

Full review

Don't really have an option living in TAS. There is only one hydro supplier.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Ramona, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago

Sumo Power

Sumo Power electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very happy with this company

The support I received from the team on every occasion I've contacted the company, has been well above your average level of the usual telephone contact with any company.

Full review

The support I received from the team on every occasion I've contacted the company, has been well above your average level of the usual telephone contact with any company.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Susan, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Needs improving and discounts for pensioners

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account...

Full review

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account shows. This is particularly so when you have been absent from the home for over a month and you still receive a similar account for the same time period

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

Less

Ros, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All-round the best provider

Excellent service. The best cost.

Full review

Excellent service. The best cost.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Robert, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pricing too high like with all energy suppliers

I flick a switch and the lights or device comes on. I pay monthly and can submit my own meter readings for accuracy. I receive various discounts but still feel that, like with all energy suppliers, electricity costs too much. This hits the hip...

Full review

I flick a switch and the lights or device comes on. I pay monthly and can submit my own meter readings for accuracy. I receive various discounts but still feel that, like with all energy suppliers, electricity costs too much. This hits the hip pocket especially in cold or hot/humid weather when I want to run my heater or portable air conditioner.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Chas, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy

They are ok.

Full review

They are ok.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Kelly, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Nice and friendly staff

Good company. The staff were easy to talk to and solved the problem quickly.

Full review

Good company. The staff were easy to talk to and solved the problem quickly.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Troy, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible cost of power

Their pricing is very high but they do offer payment plans.

Full review

Their pricing is very high but they do offer payment plans.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good for social security deposits

To get the benefits you have to pay on time. Otherwise you don't get the discounts.

Full review

To get the benefits you have to pay on time. Otherwise you don't get the discounts.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Janis, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good

Great service provided by Click Energy.

Full review

Great service provided by Click Energy.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Brett, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great company

I was with AGL but my pay on time rebate is far better with Alinta. I still need a new supplier for gas.

Full review

I was with AGL but my pay on time rebate is far better with Alinta. I still need a new supplier for gas.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Aleksandra, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful

Red Energy have an Australian call centre. Customer service is great and there willingness to help is very refreshing. A good provider overall.

Full review

Red Energy have an Australian call centre. Customer service is great and there willingness to help is very refreshing. A good provider overall.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Jamie, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Decent

Could be better. Late on connections.

Full review

Could be better. Late on connections.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Daniel, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Discount

I can't really fault it anything except that sometimes they can be tardy with regards to their connection time.

Full review

I can't really fault it anything except that sometimes they can be tardy with regards to their connection time.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Daniel, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

They are not too bad

Got nothing really to add. They supply the power to my house that keeps my family warm and something to use for cooking

Full review

Got nothing really to add. They supply the power to my house that keeps my family warm and something to use for cooking

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Nathan, Tasmania, reviewed 5 months ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Synergy not cheap

It is very expensive to use energy now especially with the constant price hikes from the government.

Full review

It is very expensive to use energy now especially with the constant price hikes from the government.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Catherine, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Unhappy

The rates are not competitive, I will be looking elsewhere for electricity.

Full review

The rates are not competitive, I will be looking elsewhere for electricity.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Green Friendly   0 / 10

Less

Jacquie, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

No issues with this provider

No thoughts either way on this provider. It was just the first to get back to me when I looked for power to be connected so I guess you could say they are fast.

Full review

No thoughts either way on this provider. It was just the first to get back to me when I looked for power to be connected so I guess you could say they are fast.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Carl, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.