Electricity reviews

Get the inside story on Australia’s electricity providers from people like you. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting a better electricity deal, you can read the latest electricity reviews from the Mozo community here.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent electricity reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great discounts

I think they are offering a 25% discount at the moment for on time payment.

Full review

I think they are offering a 25% discount at the moment for on time payment.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Dickson (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive Premiums

I received a discount for paying on time

Full review

I received a discount for paying on time

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Marie (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive pricing and no surprises with billings

We have found Dodo to be efficient, competitive and easy to deal with. Bills are online and our account is direct debited so there are no late fee issues. Dodo has been a great improvement compared to our previous provider.

Full review

We have found Dodo to be efficient, competitive and easy to deal with. Bills are online and our account is direct debited so there are no late fee issues. Dodo has been a great improvement compared to our previous provider.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Heinz (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Expensive bills to pay with Red Energy

I had bills of over $1000 to pay to Red Energy.

Full review

I had bills of over $1000 to pay to Red Energy.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Colleen (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Terrific customer service

AGL are always happy to help when you call them. They also do not mind explaining things more than once to you if you have trouble understanding something.

Full review

AGL are always happy to help when you call them. They also do not mind explaining things more than once to you if you have trouble understanding something.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Mrs (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Premiums are okay but could be better

I have been charged twice, an extra fee for their accountancy mistakes. As I had no way to dispute the claim I paid it but was not happy.

Full review

I have been charged twice, an extra fee for their accountancy mistakes. As I had no way to dispute the claim I paid it but was not happy.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Green Friendly   3 / 10

Less

Wal (SA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Prompt action for faults, great service overall

Easy customer service with they are understanding of your situation.

Full review

Easy customer service with they are understanding of your situation.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Cheap rates and generous pay on time discounts

I wish the FIT was higher for solar system owners with Dodo Power and Gas.

Full review

I wish the FIT was higher for solar system owners with Dodo Power and Gas.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Ben (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly service and great comparative value.

They respond quickly and efficiently to customer inquiries.

Full review

They respond quickly and efficiently to customer inquiries.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

David (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Deceptive business practices

The misrepresented figures quoted, so I'm looking for another provider.

Full review

The misrepresented figures quoted, so I'm looking for another provider.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Lucinda (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good discounts

Had no problems

Full review

Had no problems

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Robbing environment and people alike

Another example of excessive greed being nurtured, by what is some the most incompetent and defective management to ever peddle an inferior product.

Full review

Another example of excessive greed being nurtured, by what is some the most incompetent and defective management to ever peddle an inferior product.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   0 / 10

Less

Troy (TAS), reviewed over 1 year ago

Powerdirect

Powerdirect electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums, can contact anytime, helpful

Always helpful on the phone and bills are easy to read. No problems getting on to them.

Full review

Always helpful on the phone and bills are easy to read. No problems getting on to them.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Jan (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

They are cool

Full review

They are cool

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Laura (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates and great service.

100% Australian with a local call centre.

Full review

100% Australian with a local call centre.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Saffi (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with service supplier

Will stay with whom i'm with

Full review

Will stay with whom i'm with

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Julie (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service is good but no competition

One word: Monopoly!

Full review

One word: Monopoly!

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Damien (TAS), reviewed over 1 year ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great offers

Simply energy contacted me with an offer that suits me which I think is great.

Full review

Simply energy contacted me with an offer that suits me which I think is great.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Krosty (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Maybe I'll change.

I actually thought I was getting a good deal with origin but having used your comparison tool I think I might probably change my supplier because as we all know "A penny saved means more holidays in the sun" haha!!

Full review

I actually thought I was getting a good deal with origin but having used your comparison tool I think I might probably change my supplier because as we all know "A penny saved means more holidays in the sun" haha!!

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Pat (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I have been happy for many years now.

I have always been treated well.

Full review

I have always been treated well.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Jenny (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

You get what you pay for, and in advance.

The power is supplied and providing the accounts are paid there is no fuss. Pros: are the lights and power work. Cons: so far in 17 years there has been no cons.

Full review

The power is supplied and providing the accounts are paid there is no fuss. Pros: are the lights and power work. Cons: so far in 17 years there has been no cons.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Malcolm (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good customer service and good solar feed-in tarif

I have only been with Origin for about 5 months. The change over process was straight forward from their end. I chose Origin as their solar rebates were very good.

Full review

I have only been with Origin for about 5 months. The change over process was straight forward from their end. I chose Origin as their solar rebates were very good.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Carol (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Quality product with decent pricing

Pretty good supply but electricity is expensive

Full review

Pretty good supply but electricity is expensive

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   0 / 10

Less

Montaha (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Price is very competitive.

Having been offered a big discount due to some problems in my billing when I started with a new provider, I accepted the new discount (as you would). The next bill included the larger discount along with a large price rise at the same time. Upon...

Full review

Having been offered a big discount due to some problems in my billing when I started with a new provider, I accepted the new discount (as you would). The next bill included the larger discount along with a large price rise at the same time. Upon reporting my displeasure about this, I got no compassion from them, just a statement that the prices have risen. Overall taking into account the new price, my discount was no better than before. At my persistence they did give me an extra $20 off my bill. I felt that was just to shut me up.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Anthony (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

They allow me to juggle my bills and arrange payments and they're very courteous about it.

Full review

They allow me to juggle my bills and arrange payments and they're very courteous about it.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

James (TAS), reviewed over 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.