G&C Mutual Bank credit card reviews

G&C Mutual Bank
G&C Mutual Bank's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.4 / 10

based on 9 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from G&C Mutual Bank

Recent G&C Mutual Bank credit card reviews

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Tops at all functions, as I have required

I joined this Credit Union 27/5/1993. We do not have a branch anywhere near Armidale, yet every request can be carried out without any hassles what so ever, by phone or Email. Also was involved with scammers over seas and they informed me of the...

Full review

I joined this Credit Union 27/5/1993. We do not have a branch anywhere near Armidale, yet every request can be carried out without any hassles what so ever, by phone or Email. Also was involved with scammers over seas and they informed me of the scammers' intentions, and so saved me lots of money. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the Credit Union.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Allan, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Low rates and not soul less

My credit card with this bank has lower than average interest rates but lacks options such as frequent flyer points system. It feels good also to support a group that is not part of the big four.

Full review

My credit card with this bank has lower than average interest rates but lacks options such as frequent flyer points system. It feels good also to support a group that is not part of the big four.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always there for me when I need them

I have found SGE to be honest and fair and always helpful that is why I like them.

Full review

I have found SGE to be honest and fair and always helpful that is why I like them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

From personal experience I have distrusted banks since they removed the loyalty factor with longtime customers. This was about forty five years ago. I have been with credit unions since then. They do not appear to be so greedy and they emanate a...

Full review

From personal experience I have distrusted banks since they removed the loyalty factor with longtime customers. This was about forty five years ago. I have been with credit unions since then. They do not appear to be so greedy and they emanate a trustworthy feeling. Whether or not they really give better service I don't know but they seem more personal whereas banks feel cold, hard, and impersonal. I have no complaints with my Credit Union (SGE) at the moment it suits my needs, so I'll stay with it.

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jim, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I was looking for the best cash back credit card and stumbled upon the SGE gold visa credit card. It is slightly different offering as you get a seperate card which is populated with $1 every $100 spent on the credit card. this companion card can...

Full review

I was looking for the best cash back credit card and stumbled upon the SGE gold visa credit card. It is slightly different offering as you get a seperate card which is populated with $1 every $100 spent on the credit card. this companion card can be used at any eftpos. The annual fee is $100... a little high but comes with the standard gold card features and and an additional credit card and companion card for a partner. for my spending habits ($50000 a year, paid off in full each month) i get $500 back minus $100 annual fee =$400 profit :)

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, South Australia, reviewed over 8 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I can link my credit card to my debit card and to a cheque account, with a flexible limit to prevent theft. I get monthly offers of bonuses just from using the card. I can use it at almost any ATM, and when I need personal advice or assistance,...

Full review

I can link my credit card to my debit card and to a cheque account, with a flexible limit to prevent theft. I get monthly offers of bonuses just from using the card. I can use it at almost any ATM, and when I need personal advice or assistance, the regional office employees in Newcastle treat me almost like a member of their family - caring, helpful, kind and always professional. I can't fault this product, or the service I receive from SGE in all other areas.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Fiona, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Love the rewards dollars with my SGE credit card.

Full review

Love the rewards dollars with my SGE credit card.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheryl, New South Wales, reviewed almost 10 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good product overall

Full review

Good product overall

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Katy, New South Wales, reviewed about 10 years ago

G&C Mutual Bank

G&C Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

mine is really an overdraft card with a credit limit

Full review

mine is really an overdraft card with a credit limit

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, Queensland, reviewed about 10 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    American Express Explorer® Credit Card

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 50,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply).
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year.
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent. Note: point redemption rates will change as of 15 April 2019, please visit the Amex website for more information.
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 863 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $299 $149 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $299 $149 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $3.00
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    Woolworths Everyday Platinum Credit Card

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redeem your credit card points for Woolworths shopping cards
    • $50 Woolies eGift Card when you spend $150 a month for 3 months
    • $0 annual fee for the first year (saving $49)
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 14 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, minimum $5
    • Rewards description: Woolworths Money Shopping Card sent every 4 months if enough points have been accrued.
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 181 Woolworths credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    HSBC Platinum Credit Card

    HSBC Platinum Credit Card

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 22 months. Conditions apply
    • Offer available to new customers who apply by 31 December 2017
    • Earn 1 Rewards Point on every dollar you spend on eligible purchases

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 22 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $129 Refunded when you spend over $6,000 p.a

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 22 months. Conditions apply
    • Offer available to new customers who apply by 31 December 2017
    • Earn 1 Rewards Point on every dollar you spend on eligible purchases
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 22 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $129 Refunded when you spend over $6,000 p.a
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $4.00
    • Rewards description: Redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    5.6

    Based on 438 HSBC credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Breeze Mastercard

    Bankwest Breeze Mastercard

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 26 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Low ongoing purchase rate of 12.99% p.a
    • Up to 3 additional cardholders at no additional cost

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 26 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 6 months then 12.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $79 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0.0% p.a. on balance transfers for 26 months (2% BT fee applies)
    • Low ongoing purchase rate of 12.99% p.a
    • Up to 3 additional cardholders at no additional cost
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 26 months and then 12.99% p.a. (2.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $79 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 6 months then 12.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 1027 Bankwest credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 219 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top