RACT logo

RACT Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
8.3/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
8.0/10
Customer service
8.6/10
Claims handling
8.5/10
Trust
8.3/10
Based on 222 RACT car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Recent RACT car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Insurance

    My insurance claim was made pretty smooth and drama free when already under alot of stress after my car was damaged. I was grateful for the extra support to help me move forward with my claim

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cassandra, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • RACT Car Insurance

    Knock for knock policy in play?

    They appear to have a knock for knock policy whereby they don't follow up claims with any vigour if it involves their partners (in my case Cruising' Motor Homes). As such you will pay excess regardless of other party admitting guilt (which is what is happening in my case).

    Value for money
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Denis, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Get covered fully get comprehensive car insurance

    I got full comprehensive car insurance which is the best policy because it covers my car fully in case of an accident even if it is my fault and for fire or theft; etc.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    John, Tasmania, reviewed 4 months ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Could not be happier with this Tassie company

    I found this company after the company I was with for over fifteen years rang to say they were doubling my rates and no added benefits to soften the blow. Well I was not impressed. I rang around and I talked to friends and looked at all the offers and I came to the conclusion that RACT gave the best deal and valued my custom.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Alison we, Tasmania, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    What you pay for

    Good service and easy to work with

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Hannah, Tasmania, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RACT Car Insurance

    Be prepared for disappointment

    My car was hit by a P plater pulling out of his driving space (in his parents car and no insurance of his own). Not only was my car badly damaged (luckily still drivable) but I was injured. I have just been informed that I am not even going to get half of the crash repair quote because my car is old. Insurance, like the justice system, seems only prepared to serve the guilty.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Zanna, Tasmania, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RACT Car Insurance

    Dishonest RACT insurance company

    We have numerous cars insured with RACT. I damaged 2 rims on my car and they will not cover the repairs and have cancelled my insurance. The car has factory wheels but is larger diameter than those manufactured with( I have found that the car also has these wheels as a factory. RACT insured the car with these wheels and even inspected it. RACT dragged this on for over 30 days before informing me that they would not cover the repairs. RACT will take your money and not cover you, imagine if there was a major accident they would walk away. This has left me with a $6000.00 repair cost due to RACT incompetence and secretive actions. They sent the car back via a tow truck and delivered it to the incorrect address. The car can not be driven. I have had car insurance for over 35 years and this is the most problematic untrustworthy insurance company in Australia. We have taken our house and other cars from this dishonest insurance company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rick, Tasmania, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    A more caring insurance company would be lovely

    Our insurance Company have been very good up until our last claim. We had the oven blow up in our caravan, damaging my legs, our kitchen and blew out the side of the van. They paid for the kitchen but not the side of the van blowing out saying it was due to rot that is in the bathroom, which is 2 metres away. We discovered on our last trip away this year the bathroom corner has rot. I've disputed with the insurance company that how could the rot blow out the side of the van if it is even rotten. They have not even accessed this area! So they have said when we get it fixed we can dispute it again after we do all the work of taking off the side of the van for them to look at! We just felt that this insurance company have now turned us into a number after being with them for over 20 years and spending over $6000 a year with them and have probably made 12 small claims in those years. It would have been nice to just have something a bit more personal like a card or hamper after me burning myself quite badly. Maybe I have over reacted, as Ive now changed insurance company's but it's just been a sh@#t year as i lost my brother three months ago right in the middle of all this.. Sorry to rant lol

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, Tasmania, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Best comprehensive car insurance

    RACT are local and easy to reach in an emergency. Well priced compared to the competition and no hidden nasty surprises when you have to make a claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Bethany, Tasmania, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Ract car insurance

    Customer service is very disappointing. The staff is rude. You pay significant premiums and expect to be treated with respect. Also to my surprise, the credibility of witnesses is not of concern to them. Apparently if a party to the accident and a witness know each other is still ok. They don’t feel that there is a conflict of interest. I used to be with AMMI and decided to switch to save $50. Worst decision ever.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, Tasmania, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • RACT Car Insurance

    Great service & value for money

    RACT have been my insurers for comprehensive car cover for a few years now. They are super friendly, and only too happy to help. I am insured to the hilt and happy with the price. Won't ever change to anyone else. The Roadside option is also fantastic. Option to pay monthly is great. Thanks RACT.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Grace, Tasmania, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Ract the one you can trust when needed

    I wouldn’t try anyone else I think the price is great & they listened when I told them my car is worth a lot more than they were offering for replacement cost if it was a rite off. I told them my cars km are quite low on my Ute for it’s age & that it can carry a house on it. Roadside help is quick & I haven’t had any issues with them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sonia, Tasmania, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    If starting out I would check all policies.

    I am aware that my car insurance is not the cheapest but as I have been a member of RACT for over 50 years and have found I have always been treated very quickly and fairly I do not see the need to change now.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Annette, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Just do it.

    I left another insurer to join RACT because their prices and offers were significantly better. I had a car hit me while parked and do extensive damage, from the get go everyone I spoke and dealt with was wonderful, efficient and thorough. As a young driver and it being my first accident - this sold me to RACT.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ayla, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Friendly staff and competitive rates.

    Very competitive insurance rates. Good discounts for bundling different insurances.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Joanne, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.