SGIC logo

SGIC Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.1/10
Value for money
7.8/10
Policy coverage
7.8/10
Customer service
8.2/10
Claims handling
7.9/10
Trust
8.1/10
Based on 158 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent SGIC car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Dishonest and lack of knowledge.

    Hail damage on my one owner much loved pristine Golf. Taken to the referred repairer. Took a long time and many calls. Finally told me that it is repairable and booked it to be done. This was held up due to Covid. Later they phoned and reneged, saying it was a write off and a payout was to be sent and car surrendered. Horrified as the car was a rare and looked after very low mileage diesel with only external cosmetic damage. Told them I wanted to keep as is so they paid me out, deducted scrap value and told me all was fine even took my money for third party property insurance for one year as obviously not able to comprehensive it with hail damage. Drove it until rego ran out then find contrary to what they tell me I was driving illegally and the car was on the write off register. How can this happen then they have the audacity to charge me for cancelling the remaining balance on the third party insurance they sold me.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Cheryl, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Overall I highly recommend SGIC, pleasant and fast

    I've had put a couple of claims in over the years and each time I've got through to them very quickly and they have been understanding, polite and very helpful. They got the ball rolling quickly and made it all as easy as possible for me.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good fees and coverage but service could improve.

    Premiums and coverage are good, but as their call centre is overseas, the service during a claim leaves much to be desired.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Trevor, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easiest online quotes.

    Over all they have been genuine and easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Susan, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Few issues but overall good

    Few issues but overall good

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Less
    Louise, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive premiums and good service

    I have found that SGIC is an insurer that doesn't victimise me because I happen to drive an older car. In my case, a 2000 model Holden jackaroo.Other insurance company quotes were up to $150.00 more for the same cover.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service

    wonderful

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Miss, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Their charges and benefits are very competitive

    SGIC are a surprisingly good insurance provider in all aspects.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Less
    Muhammed, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    My husband had an accident interstate and they were prompt, helpful and paid out within a short time, no hassles.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lyn, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Professional and reliable service

    Good product, reasonable price, always helpful and efficient service.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Less
    Sue, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Fast and fair claim settlement

    Driving through an intersection on a day like any other, a car turned from the other side of the road and crashed into my beloved Ford Laser. Fortunately, the driver stopped and we exchanged details. At the SGIC appraisal centre they gently told me the car was a write-off (I burst into tears!). They settled the claim promptly and gave me a fair pay-out, which helped me deal with the experience and move on.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, South Australia, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive, bulk deals

    Gives special deals for more than one policy

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Shaneen, South Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Very friendly and helpful

    Good to talk to and happy to answer your questions. Quick to respond to claims. Very happy with my policy, coverage and the related costs. Would recommend them to everyone I know.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Te elle, South Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive and excellent customer service

    Pros: great customer service and support Cons: N/A

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    William, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Hassle free insurer at a good price.

    No hassle insurer, thats what you want. Painless process when when we change our car, changed the policy online at the dealer when we picked up our new car.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Long, South Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.