SGIC logo

SGIC Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 163 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent SGIC car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Timely

    Timely & easy claims.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ashley, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance

    This company is completely dysfunctional.

    Don’t go near any of the insurance brands associated with this company. Firstly, apart from the initial sales team if you ever have to make a claim you will be dealing with an overseas call centre. The 'SA-based' SGIC brand is the thinnest of facades and the current owners of the brand are trashing what was once a respected name. The reports of terrible experiences found elsewhere here are consistent with our disastrous experience. Their systems are hopelessly dysfunctional and, as mentioned by others, seems to be based on forcing unfortunate OS call centre staff to wear people down through sheer frustration so that customers give up when repeatedly no level of competent service or alternative to escape their spiral of ineffective non-action is provided. From our experience. You will never deal with the same person twice; you will have to explain the same thing over and over, in our case more than a dozen times; you will deal with unfortunate OS call centre staff who are thrown to the wolves with inadequate resources or power to resolve things (the company should be ashamed of the way these staff are used to avoid Australian senior staff having any contact with super-frustrated customers); you will not get replies to emails; you will wait to talk to people who have are not equipped to understand the case even though it has been written, drawn and explained a dozen times; if you demand to be sent something in writing it may be a text with a completely irrelevant link; you will be given contradictory advice that the staff cannot provide any backup explanation for - even after being put on hold for 10 minutes; you will not find an obvious way to talk to anyone with any capacity to get you off their exhausting call centre treadmill. Australian-based staff seem protected by the system at all costs so their call centre staff must face the music; you may get told to that your claim is finally resolved after 4 months and told to take it to an SGIC approved crash repairer and spend the time to do so; you may then be told the opposite based on a so-called new review finding that there was a breach of traffic light road rules - in an incident on an isolated country road with no traffic lights for miles around. You may then be told to provide the basic details of the incident again - approaching 5 months after the original claim; this reviewer may then send you a non-sensical letter that argues the original ‘not at fault’ decision no longer stands but does not even mention the fact a irrelevant traffic light rule was cited as the reason for the reversal of your country road incident decision; The letter may say that you have a week to contact the reviewer directly if there are any issues but where the phone number is meant to be is only xxx’s; so you may call the other overseas call centre number which answers as ‘welcome to RACV’ even though you are insured by SGIC; so you may then resort to email and the only reply you get before their deadline is an autoreply saying “thanks for your recent claim”; you may never feel so disappointed in an Australian company; you will feel very sad for the few remaining staff left in the Australian offices who must read these reports of what happens when the customers they sign up ever need to make a claim....

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rick, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance

    Competitive rates and superior, friendly service.

    It's great to get the most competitive rates from your insurer, which we have with SGIC. What really counts though is how they are when you need to make a claim. I've had 2 in the last 12 months and SGIC were absolutely fantastic in the way they handled the claims. I lodged the claim online which was really simple. Within 24 hours I had been contacted by a friendly and helpful representative. The first claim was a written off car and it was settled quickly and efficiently. The second was for a damaged windscreen. It was replaced within 3 days of lodging the claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Easy to deal with.

    They are easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Maria, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    -1 for SGIC DONT TRUST THEM

    We have four cars, business retail and Warehouse with Insurance sgic, one accident in our three yr old Mazda ute with electric brakes and seven pin tow bar,our ute was written off by a drunk driver, no fault of our own and our insurance said $12,000 was the payment figure to us....... Well that was a slap in the face, to replace what we had is now $35,000, I mean twelve years with the one and only claim. After this is done, all family members will be leaving this insurance company, thats is about fifty thousand a year bye bye......

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cheryl, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Dishonest and lack of knowledge.

    Hail damage on my one owner much loved pristine Golf. Taken to the referred repairer. Took a long time and many calls. Finally told me that it is repairable and booked it to be done. This was held up due to Covid. Later they phoned and reneged, saying it was a write off and a payout was to be sent and car surrendered. Horrified as the car was a rare and looked after very low mileage diesel with only external cosmetic damage. Told them I wanted to keep as is so they paid me out, deducted scrap value and told me all was fine even took my money for third party property insurance for one year as obviously not able to comprehensive it with hail damage. Drove it until rego ran out then find contrary to what they tell me I was driving illegally and the car was on the write off register. How can this happen then they have the audacity to charge me for cancelling the remaining balance on the third party insurance they sold me.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Cheryl, South Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Overall I highly recommend SGIC, pleasant and fast

    I've had put a couple of claims in over the years and each time I've got through to them very quickly and they have been understanding, polite and very helpful. They got the ball rolling quickly and made it all as easy as possible for me.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Good fees and coverage but service could improve.

    Premiums and coverage are good, but as their call centre is overseas, the service during a claim leaves much to be desired.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Trevor, South Australia, reviewed 12 months ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance

    Easiest online quotes.

    Over all they have been genuine and easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Susan, South Australia, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Few issues but overall good

    Few issues but overall good

    Value for money
    Less
    Louise, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance

    Competitive premiums and good service

    I have found that SGIC is an insurer that doesn't victimise me because I happen to drive an older car. In my case, a 2000 model Holden jackaroo.Other insurance company quotes were up to $150.00 more for the same cover.

    Value for money
    Less
    John, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great service

    wonderful

    Value for money
    Less
    Miss, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Car Insurance

    Their charges and benefits are very competitive

    SGIC are a surprisingly good insurance provider in all aspects.

    Value for money
    Less
    Muhammed, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great customer service

    My husband had an accident interstate and they were prompt, helpful and paid out within a short time, no hassles.

    Value for money
    Less
    Lyn, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Professional and reliable service

    Good product, reasonable price, always helpful and efficient service.

    Value for money
    Less
    Sue, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.