Travel Insurance Direct logo

Travel Insurance Direct Travel insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 107 travel insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Travel Insurance Direct travel insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Gets the job done, hassle free.

    I have yet to make a claim but they're nice, quick and easy to purchase even for short journeys and send reminders before and after.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Shayn, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Affordable insurance with suitable coverage.

    TID were very competitive on pricing and it was very easy to get a quote via their website. When I had questions their customer service team responded in a timely manner. Like every insurer make sure you read the fine print so that the insurance you select covers you for what you need. It was easy to add on additional extras if you required additional coverage.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Vaughan, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Complete Waste of Money

    I chose to go with Travel Insurance Direct (TID) for my trip through Central and South America in 2019. I decided to go with them because they had competitive pricing, however I later learnt why they are a cheaper choice. Unfortunately while in Peru I had all of my most important personal belongings stolen from my accommodation. Although many of the items were completely irreplaceable, I had some small peace of mind knowing I had travel insurance. I was wrong to let this give me any peace of mind. Never in my life have I ever experienced such poor customer service. I experienced huge delays in responses to my emails (sometimes months), they spelt my name wrong, they requested documentation for a medical condition which I did not have and was not claiming for which later turned out to be another careless mistake made by the claims officer, part of my offer was calculated using the incorrect currency, my phone calls were completely ignored on multiple occasions and worst of all I was offered as little as 25% cover for my items. I would have been better off saving the money I spent on insurance. They also dragged my claim out for well over a year. If you actually want to be covered when you travel I would strongly recommend against TID!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    T murphy, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Decent level of cover

    Used this insurer a few times in the past. Its great for singles/couples who want a decent level of cover for insurance. I made a mistake with the dates of one of my policies in the past and although the team were nice and somewhat helpful, nothing could be done on their end to extend the policy. Would be great if they had a feature to extend a policy as sometimes things change and trips are extended or in my case a wrong number was entered.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Chiara, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Process was simple and quick

    I needed to make a claim. Process was simple and money back to me quickly. I was pleasantly surprised.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Alice, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Traveling dependence, comfort and security

    TID are a good company you can depend upon.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Anoop, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Competitive premiums

    No fuss insurance. What more can you ask for.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Great customer service and discounts

    Fortunately I've never had to make a claim. It was easy to apply online and their follow up emails were instant. I have always paid way in advance of our departure date and when the time came for our trip, they sent us a lovely text with our policy number and wished us a safe trip. I've used Travel Insurance Direct a number of times now. Each time we use them we get a discount.

    Value for money
    Less
    Debbie, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Good deals

    I WANT TO DO INSURE FOR TRAVEL

    Value for money
    Less
    Mary, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    The website is easy to use

    This provider gives us the right amount of cover at an affordable price.

    Value for money
    Less
    Amanda, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Easy to use and competitive pricing

    My mum mentioned this to me when I was going on an overseas trip and I received a discount and had a great experience! Very easy online format and great coverage.

    Value for money
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Competitive quotes and A-grade service

    Competitive quotes , great customer service and quick response time.

    Value for money
    Less
    Mitchell, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Great to claim through

    Travel Insurance Direct were fantastic to both purchase and claim through after a major car accident overseas. Their claims department actually identified additional things we were eligible for and paid more than we had initially claimed. On the down side, their Emergency assist department weren't particularly good at arranging our transport home and communicated poorly.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Vicky, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Great price, easy to acquire, efficient!

    Great price, easy to acquire, efficient! Website is easy to use.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Brendon, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Travel Insurance Direct Travel Insurance

    Amazing

    Was great. Always handy and available for contact.

    Value for money
    Trust
    Less
    Brydie, Queensland, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.