Bank of Melbourne logo

Bank of Melbourne Bank account reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 190 bank account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bank of Melbourne bank account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Average Bank - expected better

    At time when we applied, gave the best home loan rates with offset account and credit card with frequent flyer points. Applying, be prepared for multiple rounds of repetitive paperwork and calls for the different accounts (loan, offset & credit card). BOM’s processes do not seem streamlined across all accounts. The challenge also was having to find a branch to go in to multiple times. Some features that should be available on the smart phone / tablet banking app are not available e.g. change of address. Unable to configure the bank’s SMS notifications e.g. to remove total bank balance from being SMS-ed back to me Feedback option on app also has never worked. Unable to apply for a new home loan online - ridiculous considering BOM already had my data on file plus current credit history. Despite me having being a long time customer with excellent credit rating and a sizeable balance, give me a home loan rate and amount that was inferior to non-bank lenders

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    So in my eyes the bank of Melbourne r the pits…

    Never have I been the victim of internet fraud through a banks lack of security n just general dysfunctional customer satisfaction process. I was targeted 3 times in a 6 month period by the same scammers. Each time they would shut me out of my account for a 3 week period, with NO ACCESS to any funds left of mine. This last time I was woken at 5:30 am n notified of fraud taken place while I was sleeping. They said they were taking action but unfortunately my account is NON accessible again for another 2-3 weeks while the fraud team investigate. I had a funeral to go to that morning n had no fuel but planned to fill up on the way there. I requested to be allowed access to 20 dollars to get me the fuel to get there n they said sorry it’s out of our hands it’s the fraud department that will decide. I got NO call back from them, was NOT able to access a cent to enable me to attend the funeral of my best friend n they had NO measure of understanding or will to try. I’ll never get over no being able to get there.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Benjamin, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Security.

    I like this bank as my account is always safe.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Angelo, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Bank Account

    love my bank

    no bank chargers

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    William, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Bank Account

    Great customer support

    I love the customer support, you are never made to feel rushed no matter how many questions you may have and they are always friendly.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Danielle, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne

    Easy to use

    This bank is super easy to use as a student! Was my first bank account and loved it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kristina, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne

    See your spending vs earnings each month.

    Pros - Love the (new? Just found it a few months ago, anyway) feature that lets you see the breakdown of your income/expenses each month and with a little bar that shows you if you spent more than you earned or vice versa at the top. Really great for keeping yourself in check. - Zero fees for keeping it running. - Aesthetically pleasing, modern interface on the app. Cons - Recently getting annoyed with how every time I make an identical payment to a bank account (just a transfer from one account to another within BOM of which I own both) I have to enter a security number. It's my own account so it's not like I'm stealing from myself? It's just a system I have to "pay myself" for being productive.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emily, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Bank of Melbourne is the BOM!

    Love Bank of Melbourne, I always get great service and support from BoM, we have most of our banking with them and our mortgage. Always get good value for money, we have our individual and joint complete freedom account with BOM along with our joint credit card account. Best feature of the complete freedom account is the visa debit card and the now zero dollar monthly fee. BOM also have an awesome banking app that allows us to do most of our banking on the go! A very satisfied customer.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ben, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Bank Account

    IVANHOE branch is efficient clean and well placed

    Went to the Bank of Melb Ivanhoe branch, very convenient and efficient branch. Moved from westpac to this branch even though they are owned by the same company. They are in best position in Ivanhoe and very pleasant branch to do our banking.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lucinda, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Simply serviced accounts

    Inexperienced branch staff sometimes unable to fulfill requests on a simple account. But very friendly staff.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nicole, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Bank Account

    Very happy.

    I like my bank as I was recently scammed and was very lucky to receive the full amount back. Very happy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janice, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Amazing Bank, my go to for cash!

    I really love this bank. The people who work there are really helpful and provide great services. The pros are that they are really close to me so no wasted petrol and that they are really kind. There isn't really a con except for the hygiene, sometimes the pin pad is dirty.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Justine, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    Easy to open and access at all times, trustworthy.

    Not needed to go into the branch did it online easy, and my card was delivered quickly. I can access my account from home, from their app and protected securely.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rachael, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account

    A very helpful person.

    Ben has been very helpful to me because he verified my ID with the ID I emailed him also he took the block off my concession account and he organised a Visa Debit Card for me as well.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matthew, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Bank of Melbourne

    Very easy to start and great customer service.

    It is very easy to access your account and add or withdraw. But I don't find the bank to be very trustworthy. If people are interested in The Bank Of Melbourne I would recommend it because is very easy to access and start.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kon, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Everyday Global Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Glide Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay, FitBit Pay, Garmin
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Edge Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Everyday Account

      account fee
      $4.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $1,800 per month or account holder is under 25
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Classic Banking Account

      account fee
      $0.00
      Payment Options
      Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayID, Samsung Pay
      interest rate
      0.01% p.a.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 109 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more bank accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.