Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 220 home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home insurance from Budget Direct

Home & Contents Insurance

Fire
Yes
Theft or burglary
Yes
Storm
Yes
Flood
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Good value for money

    This insurance company offers more cover for less and can adapt your premium to suit your budget.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Gayle, South Australia, reviewed about 12 hours ago
  • Budget Direct Contents Insurance

    Very Unprofessional company- All lies

    Since 14th of March my content claim of washine machine of $900 still going, they asked for all requested documents, I have sent them but ever since I call them every week chase up. I get will get the consultant to call you, get manager to call you. They never do, I call them back week after. They excuse is we are so busy. Its just the matter of manager to check and ok it. You tell them its urgent, you on hardship this is adding more stress but basically they dont care about their customers at all. This is why they are so cheap because of dodgy customer service.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Yelda, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Extreme premium increase and bad customer service

    Budget Direct wanted 71% more premium for the building component of our home insurance compared to last year despite us not being in an area of risk of either flooding or bush fires, despite them increasing the insured value of the house by just 5% and despite us having been with them for six years with no claims. I phoned to ask why it had increased so much and whether they could do anything. Three times, they were supposed to phone me back and didn't. On the fourth time, they did call back but it took several more days before they said the price stood. They never did say why the premium had increased so much. I've gone with a different company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Adrian, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Budget Direct not really Budget

    I was with Auto and General until Budget Direct bought them out. I had a great insurance price but seeing Budget Direct take over my insurance went up $50.00 per month for home and contents and car insurance. It’s all inclusive. But still if it goes up again I will be looking around to change to someone cheaper.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Carol anne, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Pretty good overall

    Have had my contents insurance with Budget Direct for years, I've only made one claim in that time for accidental damage when my dog broke my glasses. Was a quick process but I had to keep contacting Budget Direct to find out how my claim was going.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Alison, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance

    Very competitive company

    I have found budget direct the best insurance company around for service and value. I recommend this company any time.for car or home insurance

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Christopher, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Will not pay out at claim time, will look to deny.

    Never made a claim I'm my life. When I needed to, budget direct denied me, fought about it and refused to pay. You pay premiums and expect coverage. They are a disgusting and greedy company that just steal your money and don't actually provide the product you are being sold. Never again Never made a claim I'm my life. When I needed to, budget direct denied me, fought about it and refused to pay. You pay premiums and expect coverage. They are a disgusting and greedy company that just steal your money and don't actually provide the product you are being sold. Never again will I ever buy a budget direct product and I will tell everyone else not to as well. It was only $500 too, so not even the full amount of what I lost, just a part of it. Do you think I wanted to restock my freezer and fridge with $900 worth of food? So I couldn't even claim for just a part of it, only a portion, which would have helped a little bit, right before Christmas, after I got evicted from my house.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Louise, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Happy with seamless process.

    Have held contents insurance with this company for 2 years so far and never had issues. Affordable prices. Recently had to make a claim to repair a fence due to wind damage and the whole process was seamless. Got a quick and successful response to cover repair.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ellen, South Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance

    Scam insurance company conning claims

    The claim is pushed to third-party building companies who con and scam the customer. Terrible company to trust with claims as they do everything possible to bully customers and not repair damages... lie cheat and scam policy holder's. A very unreliable cheep fraudulent insurance company.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Ann, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Excellent customer service and cost effective

    Have found Budget Direct to be customer focussed and cost effective.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Paul, Tasmania, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance

    Price & comparable policy coverage

    Rates are comparable. However I had an issue with a claim that wasn't handled well. It finally got sorted but took quote awhile and many phone conversations with assessors and the company. I also dislike the automatic renewal. I have requested numerous times to not have this but each time I have to go through the process of eliminating this. The reason I have continued to use them as generally they are price competitive. Customer service is generally pretty good.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Fiona, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Unreliable when you need help

    While the premiums are affordable for us, we were denied a claim when our garage ceiling started to come down suddenly as “it was due to how the ceilings were put in place at the time the house was built”. I cannot understand why we pay premiums if we can’t rely on their help when we need it. Our ceiling is currently tacked in place as a temporary measure until we can afford to fix it out of our own pocket. It is unsafe and also risks damage to the rest of the building and vehicles if it is to fall completely. I feel this is very poor from an insurance company, very happy to take our premium payments but not willing to assist us when we need them. I’m not confident in them helping us in the future if the unexpected occurs and I have it on my to do list to review other policy providers. We also advised our family and friends of their decision and have warned them to stay away from budget direct.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Deanna, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Worst company ever and disgusting claim process.

    Worst company with disgusting claim process. Never made a claim in the past for home and content insurance and our cars. Made a claim to replace fallen fence due to storm damage. Provided all required information. Couldn’t get through on the phone to them. Tried so many times, always on hold and once for 75 minutes. Absolutely disgusting service. They were happy to collect my premium straight away but took them 2 months to reject my legitimate claim. Canceled all my policies with them. No recommended at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Pete, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Earthquake denial.

    The are denying any damage to my house was caused by the biggest earthquake Victoria has ever seen. Pathetic communication and a disgusting outcome to my claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Phil, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Value for money

    We use Budget Direct for our home and contents insurance. Their price was the most competitive price that we found for what the policy covered. I liked how flexible the set up of the insurance was, as we could make decisions about what we wanted and did not want covered.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Amy, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.