Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Home insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
6.1/10
Value for money
6.7/10
Policy coverage
6.3/10
Customer service
6.2/10
Claims handling
5.4/10
Trust
5.7/10
Based on 251 Budget Direct home insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo customers. More about the Mozo Customer Ratings.
Mozo recommends that ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to take up any financial product offer.
Write a review

Featured home insurance from Budget Direct

Home & Contents Insurance

Fire
Yes
Theft or burglary
Yes
Storm
Yes
Flood
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct home insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Not covering important events within there policy'

    I have had insurance with budget direct insurance for over 5 years and found that they don't cover ground substance damage which can only be described as an act of God which should be covered by repterbale insurance company's and the cost of insurance went up over $700 in one year alone and don't give pensioner discount to pensioner's

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Scott, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Buildings Insurance

    Bad experience imbeciles clowns liars

    This company are bunch of clowns lying imbeciles they take your money and when U make a claim they do their dirty tricks with Excuses Not to cover Your Claim and their workers lie to the customers , Bad company bunch of clowns liars dirty tricks don't waste your money

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Not very budget friendly

    I used to have my car and contents with Budget Direct for many years, but after a small claim for accidental damage to a pair of glasses they bumped my yearly premium up by over $600. I no longer have any of my insurance with Budget Direct.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Alison, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    cheap seem to be good but have not had a claim

    Budget direct have been fine I have used them for years for multiple products however have never had to have a claim. they have been the best price that I can find for car and home insurance. I think I have talked on the phone a few times and have not had a negative experience

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Alex, Tasmania, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Save your money and go elsewhere

    2 claims and this company has tried to weasel out of both. Absolute joke. Over a week between responses, leaves dangerous areas unattended to, ignores questions. Save your money and go elsewhere.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    B, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Lousy customer service for client traveling overs

    Budget Direct failed to direct debit my house insurance while I was overseas. I suspected the problem was the expiry date of my visa card. I could not login to my BD account from overseas because they were trying to send an auhorisation code to my Australian phone which does not work outside of Australia. On online chat I gave a BD rep my updated visa card expiry date. He kept trying a direct debit with the old incorrect date, finally admitted he could not update my card details. Kept asking me to phone BD even though he knew I had no phone. Lousy customer service!

    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Greg, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Easy

    Online only excellent service. So helpful and good rates.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Carolyn, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    My fortunate call to Budget Direct was worth lots.

    My home and contents insurance went up and I did a comparison. Then I phoned Budget Direct and told them the quoted price and was thinking of changing. The customer service officer then checked what I could change and the quote was $32 cheaper than before. This was exactly what I wanted and took the offer up directly.I was ecstatic with this new price and so glad I phoned. The operator was friendly, knowledgeable and knew what I wanted. She explained everything in layman terms and the call didn't take too long. I was so grateful and happy with Budget Direct. A great insurance agency by my standards.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Robyn, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Reach out results are greater

    Price hikes are never pleasant but could be more tolerated if customer service was executed with some empathy. The paperwork is plentiful and has too much detail. the philosophy that most companies should adopt is the KISS method "Keep It Simple Stupid" Policies are becoming difficult to understand and in a lot of instances you go with the devil you know rather than a good choice

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mr, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Don't waste your time

    We are constantly bombarded with advertisements on TV for this company - so I decided to get a quote for Home and Contents insurance. After filling in my residential address I immediately received a notification that they "do Not offer insurance" in this area. Why then, do they constantly advertise in Far North Queensland if they don't offer insurance. I also checked their Car insurance - and their premium was far in excess of what I'm currently paying.

    Trust
    Less
    Ian, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Budget isn’t budget

    I’m not happy with Budget because they’re supposed to be one of the best and cheapest but they keep putting premiums up. People are finding it hard for any increase and they’re increasing premiums by a substantial amount. They’re the same as the electricity companies! Gouging everyone!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Carol anne, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Felt very comfortable

    They were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Their prices were also very competitive

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Lisa, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Budget Direct Contents Insurance

    Efficient and Affordable Home Contents Insurance

    Budget Direct offers a solid home contents insurance product that combines affordability with efficient service. As a customer, I have found their offerings to be comprehensive and their support team to be responsive. While there are areas for improvement, Budget Direct's value for money and user-friendly policies make it a reliable choice for homeowners. One of the standout features of Budget Direct's home contents insurance is its affordability. The premiums are competitive, making it an attractive option for those looking to protect their belongings without breaking the bank. The comprehensive coverage provided, coupled with the reasonable pricing, offers excellent value for money. The process of purchasing a policy through Budget Direct is straightforward and user-friendly. Their website is easy to navigate, allowing customers to customize their coverage and obtain a quote in a matter of minutes. The online interface provides clear information about the policy terms and coverage limits, ensuring transparency for potential customers. Budget Direct's customer service deserves recognition for its efficiency and responsiveness. During my interactions with their support team, I found them to be knowledgeable and helpful. They promptly addressed my queries and provided accurate information, giving me confidence in their ability to assist me when needed. Another positive aspect of Budget Direct is their claims process. It is designed to be hassle-free, allowing policyholders to file claims online or over the phone without excessive paperwork. Furthermore, their claims team is known for their promptness in handling requests, ensuring a quick resolution and reimbursement for any covered losses. However, one area where Budget Direct could improve is in offering more flexible coverage options. While their standard policies are comprehensive, some customers may have specific needs that require additional customization. By providing more options to tailor coverage based on individual circumstances, Budget Direct could further enhance their appeal to a wider range of customers. In conclusion, Budget Direct's home contents insurance product is a commendable choice for homeowners seeking affordable and efficient coverage. The competitive pricing, user-friendly interface, and responsive customer service make them a reputable provider. Although more flexibility in coverage options would be welcomed, Budget Direct's offering remains a solid option for those looking to protect their belongings without straining their budget.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Simon, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Budget Direct Home & Contents Insurance

    Service on point

    I researched a lot before signing up for my car, I have had great service, no fuss claims so far, so, why not?

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jacinta, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Budget Direct Home Insurance

    Great price and great to deal with

    I was worried that if we moved to Budget Direct we wouldn't get the same service, they had to save money somewhere in order to offer such low premiums ... I was wrong. Premiums are low, cover is great but service is excellent.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Alec, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.